News AFL X 2018

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

Seems change for the sake of it.

Might work... doesnt really grab my interest yet...

But watch the knives come out when the injuries start rolling on...

Go Catters

I feel like the alfx is made for Blicavs make him captain we've found his true calling, seriously though it could help him to get some confidence in his game. I think the idea of this comp is exciting and I'm interested to see how it goes. I really hope we don't play our top players though. Good chance to see some fringe and younger players with a couple of senior players like Blicavs.
I've been to a fair bit of cricket over the summer and the way the bbl is put on makes it a much better experience to bring children/families than the tests or even other internationals. The AFL are clearly trying to capture some of the way cricket has evolved with the t20 comps. Some of the issues with cricket are unique to that game though such as the pitches being concrete slabs.
I miss the old pre season competition when there was a grand final and we got to get a taste of the teams and where they were at. Getting to see some young players play with senior players and actually trying to win a grand final. That 2006 pre season premiership was very special before winning the real ones it was the first time I'd seen Geelong win a grand final and it felt like a turning point.

If any of our top 18 players play I'll be disappointed to be honest.

Couple of big name injurues comp wise and it will get canned never to be seen again

I feel like the alfx is made for Blicavs make him captain we've found his true calling, seriously though it could help him to get some confidence in his game. I think the idea of this comp is exciting and I'm interested to see how it goes. I really hope we don't play our top players though. Good chance to see some fringe and younger players with a couple of senior players like Blicavs.
I've been to a fair bit of cricket over the summer and the way the bbl is put on makes it a much better experience to bring children/families than the tests or even other internationals. The AFL are clearly trying to capture some of the way cricket has evolved with the t20 comps. Some of the issues with cricket are unique to that game though such as the pitches being concrete slabs.
I miss the old pre season competition when there was a grand final and we got to get a taste of the teams and where they were at. Getting to see some young players play with senior players and actually trying to win a grand final. That 2006 pre season premiership was very special before winning the real ones it was the first time I'd seen Geelong win a grand final and it felt like a turning point.
It will be a blisteringly fast game. Blitz is the last player you would pick.

Another poster said it best when he said Blicavs is where fast attacking play goes to die.

AFLX is more suited to someone like Dangerfield.

It will be a blisteringly fast game. Blitz is the last player you would pick.

Another poster said it best when he said Blicavs is where fast attacking play goes to die.

AFLX is more suited to someone like Dangerfield.

I agree that AFLX is more suited to someone like Dangerfield, but also think that the very fit players will do quite well as well, I expect Menegola/Blicavs to do quite well if they play (Danger would be better obviously), or someone like Scully from GWS with his pace + fitness. Guess we’ll see.

There is a difference between someone who can jog for 5 k's straight, and someone who can do 5 k's of burst sprints.

Blicavs is someone who can knock over 5km in a faster time than anyone else in afl but I don't picture him as a burst player though. I couldn't even think of a time he has got the ball and sprinted it forward at speed. Maybe i'm not that observant though.

There is a difference between someone who can jog for 5 k's straight, and someone who can do 5 k's of burst sprints.

Blicavs is someone who can knock over 5km in a faster time than anyone else in afl but I don't picture him as a burst player though. I couldn't even think of a time he has got the ball and sprinted it forward at speed. Maybe i'm not that observant though.

Agreed....if anything, it will suit the faster players or perhaps even the players who have better skills, but aren't as fit.

Am I the only one who both has absolutely zero interest in this "competition" and feels it is counter-productive to the development of the game in general?
I'd rather pay to watch them train.
Not at all, failed to grab me + at this time of year, many are gagging to see some footy.

Feels like a bit of kick + giggle.

First Goal - Cockatoo
Last Goal - Hawkins
Most Touches - Ablett
Most Goals - Buzza
Most Marks - Menegola
Most Tackles - S. Selwood

Dusty concussed, out for eight weeks
Buddy broken collar bone, out for 12 weeks, re-breaks it in Rd22 out for the rest of the season
Cotchin's head knocked off by Roughead, ends his career, Roughead sentenced to life in prison
Burgoyne stubbs his toe, which is amputated due to infection
Poopooalloveryou is run over by the stretcher buggy, stretchering O'Meara off the ground
Papley is KO'ed by an umpire who's sick of this staging

Not that I'd wish any injuries on any players

AFL using Dangerfield to promote AFLX
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-01-24/aflx-fixture-power-cats-to-kick-things-off
Dangerfield - Gilligan-AFLX.png

Gilligan made a pathetic attempt at humour that Dangerfield is not suited for AFLX :rolleyes:
Gilligan: "You'll be playing, I know. It might expose you, this game. (Dangerfield scoffs) You need speed, you need strength, you've got to win one on one balls. I don't know that it's going to suit you. . ."
Dangerfield: "More of an endurance athlete than anyone"

Maybe Blitz IS the guy for AFLX? ;)

So long as absolutely no player with even a remote chance of playing this year is picked im happy. Treat it as it is, a sideshow, no top line players should be picked here.

AFL's only agenda is to make money! AFLX means new rules + a new field "will be used in an effort to bring more fans to footy". For AFLX to succeed, the guns of the league have to play. Gilligan said that all the Clubs are really excited about AFLX.

Gilligan said he's bullish that the best players will be playing + confirmed Dangerfield is playing in the first game.

Are these games being televised? For it to catch on it needs to be free to air. I'll watch if it's made available.
Yes, on Ch7 - we have BT's "Boy, Oh Boy, Woweeee" to look forward to + also Basil Zempilas

Keano Reaves - Basil Zempilas.jpg

Was reading about North's AFLX practise game on the AFL website. Excerpts from the article:

"QUICK and slick and mostly non-stop, but with something for the big boys, too"

"Three teams of 12 Roos, with either eight or nine on the field – more than the allowed seven in AFLX – rotated across nine 10-minute contests."

"Atley is the AFLX archetype: fast, bold and elusive with a decent fend-off. The likes of Dustin Martin, Patrick Dangerfield and Jarman Impey are going to love it."

"Higgins, who put his hand up to play in the round robin series in mid-February, offered fascinating instant insight into the differences from the long-form game.
He estimated he ran up to 10km across his six matches, astonishing numbers given the intensity was higher than a typical game and play was continuous with the last-touch-out-of-bounds rule."

I wonder if the coaches are up to the fact that with the speed of this AFLX that there is a great chance that there will be knee injuries.
This will be a dangerous time for what could be a bad year for some clubs.

Guess I'm the only one that will love it?

Afl is a contest and i relish any opportunity to watch it and the players show there skill.

Injuries are a by product of any sport, guess training should be banned too?

Players are competitive they want to play, let them show the skills that got them to this level.

If I'm not wrong they are paid to do that.

Anytime/Anywhere

Guess I'm the only one that will love it?

Afl is a contest and i relish any opportunity to watch it and the players show there skill.

Injuries are a by product of any sport, guess training should be banned too?

Players are competitive they want to play, let them show the skills that got them to this level.

If I'm not wrong they are paid to do that.

Anytime/Anywhere
Let's all just follow the yellow brick road...

Gilligan said he's bullish that the best players will be playing + confirmed Dangerfield is playing in the first game.

Gil doesnt pick the teams, he might like to think he's God but at some point he'll have to wake up to the fact he isnt. The clubs have no interest in losing their top line players to long term injuries in his Micky Mouse comp that is guaranteed to fail. And as a member, ill be pissed if even one of our top 18 or so players is picked to play. This is an opportunity for a few of the kids to get an extra run, nothing else. Our future success this year shouldnt be put on the line to suit Gil's marketing needs.

Let me help you all here

T20 hasn’t ruined cricket. Greedy ****eit bureaucrats have ruined cricket. Far too much cricket is played and it’s diminished the value of a win. Massively. That plus steve Waugh retiring has made the game pure filth and a complete waste of time. No personalities anymore also hurts it. Bring back the Greg Matthews and the meet Hughes and the Dennis Lillees and the mark Waugh’s. These ****ing snowflake robots we parade around the country are garbage. Shit. Not one of them is fit to go fetch Boony a stubby from the fridge. They’re all complete campaigners and cricket is a game overrun by soft, whiny, money hungry, cardboard, Plastic campaigners. **** off cricket Australia. I’d sooner watch the spuds in the NBL than your soft campaignery snowflakes who pat themselves on the back furiously for winning the Ashes - even though EVERYONE knows that the minute these weak pea hearts get to England and face a rock that’s coming down a green swinging deck, they’re in more trouble than michael j Fox trying to put on a condom. 2018 Cricket is for campaigners.

As for AFL-X .... it’s probably gonna be something we all whinge about. Until cocky kicks 5 in a game and we win. And then we’ll bloody love it. Heaps.

Gil doesnt pick the teams, he might like to think he's God but at some point he'll have to wake up to the fact he isnt. The clubs have no interest in losing their top line players to long term injuries in his Micky Mouse comp that is guaranteed to fail. And as a member, ill be pissed if even one of our top 18 or so players is picked to play. This is an opportunity for a few of the kids to get an extra run, nothing else. Our future success this year shouldnt be put on the line to suit Gil's marketing $$$ needs.

What else is Gilligan going to say? As I said in that post:
"AFL's only agenda is to make money!"
It kind of annoys me that Dangerfield was roped into the promotion, hope he was paid a fortune!

While I agree AFLX is an opportunity for the kids to play, AFL crowds want to see the guns play. Very few would be interested to see the kids play, which is a shame. Whenever I'm in Victoria, I love to go to the VFL games, to see our future players.

The JLT (?) Cup is the chance to see recruits play, why is AFLX necessary? To make $$$ for the AFL + Gilligan.

Gilligan + the AFL do not give a flying **** about injuries to players, all they care about (repeat) is $$$.

This quote from Willo sums it up well -
If any of our top 18 players play I'll be disappointed to be honest.

Couple of big name injurues comp wise and it will get canned never to be seen again

Let me help you all here

T20 hasn’t ruined cricket. Greedy ****eit bureaucrats have ruined cricket. Far too much cricket is played and it’s diminished the value of a win. Massively. That plus steve Waugh retiring has made the game pure filth and a complete waste of time. No personalities anymore also hurts it. Bring back the Greg Matthews and the meet Hughes and the Dennis Lillees and the mark Waugh’s. These ******* snowflake robots we parade around the country are garbage. Shit. Not one of them is fit to go fetch Boony a stubby from the fridge. They’re all complete campaigners and cricket is a game overrun by soft, whiny, money hungry, cardboard, Plastic campaigners. **** off cricket Australia. I’d sooner watch the spuds in the NBL than your soft campaignery snowflakes who pat themselves on the back furiously for winning the Ashes - even though EVERYONE knows that the minute these weak pea hearts get to England and face a rock that’s coming down a green swinging deck, they’re in more trouble than michael j Fox trying to put on a condom. 2018 Cricket is for campaigners.

As for AFL-X .... it’s probably gonna be something we all whinge about. Until cocky kicks 5 in a game and we win. And then we’ll bloody love it. Heaps.

standing-ovation.gif

Fantastic post!

*Yawn* who cares. It's a stupid format that could potentially end up ruining the game just like 20/20 cricket has ruined test cricket. It can **** off as far as I'm concerned!
20-20 ruined one day cricket. not test cricket. agree in the sentiments in the last sentence though. I really liked one day cricket.

Steve Waugh is overrated. Was an ordinary batsman for the first half of his career who was only in the team cos he could also provide some half decent medium pace bowling. His batting did improve in the second half of his career but he certainly wasnt at the level of Ponting, Border or Smith. He also wasnt a terribly exciting batsman. Give me Gilchrist or Dean Jones over Waugh any day of the week.

Steve Waugh did have giant money balls though. Used to cop a beating from fast bowlers and just kept plugging away despite his limitations. Took a classic catch in 89 at the MCG running with the flight of the ball with the side screen and merv approaching from the opposite direction. His batting in the world cup at the turn of the century when we were on the ropes was also phenomenal. He and Warne won that world cup single handedly.

. This is an opportunity for a few of the kids to get an extra run, nothing else. Our future success this year shouldnt be put on the line to suit Gil's marketing needs.
Bang... nailed it :thumbsu:

I'm all ok with it as a novelty and to give us a glimpse of the kids.

It'll do nothing for preparation for the real stuff though