Aflq News Part 2

No disrespect to Aspley but is there any other recruiting news?

A few clubs maybe flying under the radar...

What have Broady, Labrador, Morningside etc been up to?

I have mail that Gibson is not playing at Morningside next season...

Pantic brothers have ventured down the coast and landed at broadbeach. heard tim notting is down at labrador. aaron rogers - ex sydney/melbourne listed player is at morningside.

gibson is likely to land at coorparoo kings. few junior team mates play and with his dad coaching, fair chance that is where he will end up.

Pantic brothers have ventured down the coast and landed at broadbeach. heard tim notting is down at labrador. aaron rogers - ex sydney/melbourne listed player is at morningside.

gibson is likely to land at coorparoo kings. few junior team mates play and with his dad coaching, fair chance that is where he will end up.

you'd think thats a backward step for Gibson. Seemed to be doing quite well at morningside. should still give it a crack to see whether he could make a rookie list somewhere? He wouldn't be that old, and he won't get that opportunity if he plays in a 3rd div league.

Welcome to Labrador Spida great pick up = hope he still has it. The game wins. They sem to be on right path.
Aspley, over it, how many of these profiles are the Coaching staff themselves defending themselves- coach the team please. Or maybe Tucker and Perkins - boring.
Shame about Jarjoura, hope Southport balance up ok. Plenty of country vic boys running around at training.
M/side quiet achievers maybe = no money and no need. Rogers a good player you would think.
M/Gravatt got Turton back apparently. Young Thomson will be handy if thats true. Same as the Panthers - no cash to waste.
Has Smooha gone to NT Thunder?
Redlands have created sustainability = Clouston, Dzufer, Weightman, Williams, O'Shea. Hackett to start with, thats well done. Smokeys i reckon.
We should have another good one at Magpies shortly we hope.
Broadbeach losing Dickson will hurt - have they got anyone
Will Burgoyne play for NT after St Marys stint?
Who are the coaching panels around the clubs - who is helping who?

Welcome to Labrador Spida great pick up = hope he still has it. The game wins. They sem to be on right path.
Aspley, over it, how many of these profiles are the Coaching staff themselves defending themselves- coach the team please. Or maybe Tucker and Perkins - boring.
Shame about Jarjoura, hope Southport balance up ok. Plenty of country vic boys running around at training.
M/side quiet achievers maybe = no money and no need. Rogers a good player you would think.
M/Gravatt got Turton back apparently. Young Thomson will be handy if thats true. Same as the Panthers - no cash to waste.
Redlands have created sustainability = Clouston, Dzufer, Weightman, Williams, O'Shea. Hackett to start with, thats well done. Smokeys i reckon.

You would think with Knobel doing a lot of the ruck work, old Spida will provide a few of the defenders in the comp with a few headaches up forward. If nothing else, it will be a great boost nationally for the comps profile, bit like when Mark Jackson was running around at Kedron!

Burgoyne still lives in Adelaide - only flies in for the game/weekend. apparently signed for a country team in adelaide

smooha isn't signed with thunder - only plays for tiwi bombers in the local comp i recall

not much coverage of the thunder side this season compared to last year

One of those signings wouldn't be Matt Shir from Wodonga Bulldogs???

Very handy player if true

Word has it from down south that he is relocating for work commitments. Aspley may be his preferred club with all the other O and M players at. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Redlands have lost eagle and marguccio, thats about 120 goals from last season, very hard to replace

from all reports he is a very good footballer. handy pick up for the hornets

Was confirmed in the border mail yesterday that shir has agreed to terms with Aspley. Looking at the O and M forum it looks like Cal McLay is set to join Aspley. Was the dominant ruckman in the comp last year for Albury (helps when you have Ben Fixter and Chris Hyde x richmond net to you) and was the leagues O and M ruckman in representative footy. . .

Anybody got an idea about the whole Aspley - O&M league link?? Seems the majority of their recruits are coming out of this league

More importantly, has anyone got any idea how much more than the QAFL Salary Cap they are spending?

Go close to beating Southport's overspend I reckon. :D

More importantly, has anyone got any idea how much more than the QAFL Salary Cap they are spending?

Do you think the league will actually worry about that if it means a competitive Aspley outfit for 2010????:D

Redlands have lost eagle and marguccio, thats about 120 goals from last season, very hard to replace

Clouston, Williams, O'Shea, Ghirardello, Dzufer, Weightman and Manzone all recruited as players who can go forward so hopefully they will be ok but replacing any player of the calibre of Eagle is always hard.

How about labrador, redlands and NT for that matter, they all seem to be attracting high quality recruits which im sure dont come cheap. We all know you dislike aspley oddball and it clearly comes out in your posts. Aspley is a club that is trying to improve on an ordinary first season in the QAFL. i say welldone for being proactive and seeking out quality players that will improve their list and club.

Clouston, Williams, O'Shea, Ghirardello, Dzufer, Weightman and Manzone all recruited as players who can go forward so hopefully they will be ok but replacing any player of the calibre of Eagle is always hard.

cant see any of them kicking 80 odd goals. but their is a good mix in their, not sure who Ghiradello is?? is MAnzone the young fella who played a few games at aspley last year?

williams i reckon will be a good pick up. if he gets good suply which he should at redlands he will kick plenty. clouston is good pick and so is dzufer. i don't weightman, if he doesn't get any time in the midfield he might crack the shits again and leave

How about labrador, redlands and NT for that matter, they all seem to be attracting high quality recruits which im sure dont come cheap. We all know you dislike aspley oddball and it clearly comes out in your posts. Aspley is a club that is trying to improve on an ordinary first season in the QAFL. i say welldone for being proactive and seeking out quality players that will improve their list and club.

From the sounds of it NT have recruited and absolute ripper in Goodes' brother from North Ballarat. It will be interesting to see how all these new players gel together, especially Aspley. It is an absolute credit to the people of Mt Gravatt and Morningside that despite clearly being behind the eight ball (in regards to financing big money recruits) that they continually perform each year.

cant see any of them kicking 80 odd goals. but their is a good mix in their, not sure who Ghiradello is?? is MAnzone the young fella who played a few games at aspley last year?

Ghirardello is a power forward recruited from Canberra along with Will Overs who is a CHB.

Manzone was GC listed last year and still training with them. Smart midfielder/small forward but still small at this stage and needs a bit more size. Could still be more than handy as a FP specialist though...

Ghirardello is a power forward recruited from Canberra along with Will Overs who is a CHB.

Manzone was GC listed last year and still training with them. Smart midfielder/small forward but still small at this stage and needs a bit more size. Could still be more than handy as a FP specialist though...

Trent played a handful of games at Aspley last season. he is still very light, maybe not ready for senior footy just yet..

From the sounds of it NT have recruited and absolute ripper in Goodes' brother from North Ballarat. It will be interesting to see how all these new players gel together, especially Aspley. It is an absolute credit to the people of Mt Gravatt and Morningside that despite clearly being behind the eight ball (in regards to financing big money recruits) that they continually perform each year.

labrador definitly will not spend over the cap... southport are the ones u need tpo watch, hughes pheifer,putt,payne,and many more plus there already money hungry players in obrien and james and the like.. might have a few part time groundskeepers i think, old cotter is as sly as they come

The defense rests it's case your Honour.

Just for the record, Aspley have recruited Interstate (not cheap), Redlands have basically gone local and Labrador 'might' get Spider for 12 games.

Southport have always been spending big, my point is the Hornets must now be in the Sharks ballpark. I'm not criticising Aspley - I just made the point that they are spending big. AND I am making the point that the loss of Tapp, Williams and Argus would indicate they don't always spend their money wisely. A few bucks more their way and you start to build a culture.

In two years time (or less) lets check how many of the boom recruits are still there. :rolleyes:

As I have said before have a look at what the Panthers and Vultures do on basically no funds.

The defense rests it's case your Honour.

Just for the record, Aspley have recruited Interstate (not cheap), Redlands have basically gone local and Labrador 'might' get Spider for 12 games.

Southport have always been spending big, my point is the Hornets must now be in the Sharks ballpark. I'm not criticising Aspley - I just made the point that they are spending big. AND I am making the point that the loss of Tapp, Williams and Argus would indicate they don't always spend their money wisely. A few bucks more their way and you start to build a culture.

In two years time (or less) lets check how many of the boom recruits are still there. :rolleyes:

As I have said before have a look at what the Panthers and Vultures do on basically no funds.

im sure notting, spider, knobel and shattock are not cheap. most of aspleys recruits are 24yrs or under so hopefully these guys will stick around as most players from interstate move up here for the lifestyle, there are many ex-vic players still running around in the qafl and have been for a few years.
maybe tapp, argus and williams left a bit early might be regretting it now. have heard on the grapevine that nt have not delivered on promise of employment yet. thats a bit concerning for these young guys.
anyway time will tell, at least aspley will field a competitve outfit in 2010, and im sure that is what the league wants and needs.

if you don't spend all of the salary cap, too be honest you won't compete at all. aspley should improve on last year and last year they were clearly better than a 3 win team.

southport are always going to spend big after a dissapointing year like last year and that's a given and the problem they might have in the end, will they gell.

good on labrador for going out and getting players. but 2008 comes too mind when you look at this and we all know what happened than. i doubt spider will even make it to 10 games

mt gravatt and morningside are good every year because they have first choice at the best under 18's every year and their recruiting staff are the best in the league. they always un known players ebvery where and they always seem too fit in and make a difference