AFLW 2017 - R3 - What have you liked, learnt or hated?

I reckon the AFL are in part running a social agenda, but all this particular social agenda does is give female footballers a decent run at it.

Something that most other sports have had for many years.

There is also nothing wrong with a social agenda that promotes equality.

BTW i did hear a story from Brad Hardie about a certain womens team who was receiving jumper presentations from a AFL footballer who attempted in good faith to give a peck on the cheek to a footballer on presentation of the jumper and apparently all hell broke lose - claims of sexist behaviour and other stupid things.

Common sense is the key.

I think the real agenda is the AFL attempting to grow the game, nothing wrong with that either.

That would not surprise me, everything a bloke does is sexist these days apparently.. ;)

Taking a huge amount of resources (money, infrastructure etc) created by one groups work (men's VFL/AFL) and giving it to another group(AFLW) without them having contributed to creating those resources is a very socialist like mindset.

Give me a break, you're reading things into it which aren't there. That's on you, not the AFL.

The fact the CLUBS applied for licenses in the women's league shows they are more than happy to devote their resources to the development of the game in this area. No clubs were forced to apply for licenses, many clubs applied which were denied licenses and at least two clubs (Melbourne & Footscray) took it upon themselves to field teams and develop the game years before the AFL agreed to the implementation of AFLW.

Socialist agenda, get a grip.

Give me a break, you're reading things into it which aren't there. That's on you, not the AFL.

The fact the CLUBS applied for licenses in the women's league shows they are more than happy to devote their resources to the development of the game in this area. No clubs were forced to apply for licenses, many clubs applied which were denied licenses and at least two clubs (Melbourne & Footscray) took it upon themselves to field teams and develop the game years before the AFL agreed to the implementation of AFLW.

Socialist agenda, get a grip.

The triggering. That's on you, not me.

THE AFLW didn't contribute anything to it's start up. It all came from the AFL and it's partnerships/stake holders. It's the biggest free kick in Australian sporting history. Not because it was earned, but because it suits their social agenda.

The triggering. That's on you, not me.

THE AFLW didn't contribute anything to it's start up. It all came from the AFL and it's partnerships/stake holders. It's the biggest free kick in Australian sporting history. Not because it was earned, but because it suits their social agenda.

Triggering, please.

Their socialist agenda to spread the game and create a league for women so that in the future talent pathways will be open for everyone. Wow what an evil organisation :rolleyes:

This doesn't affect you one way or another so nor sure why so many people feel the need to oppose something that has no impact on them whatsoever. Even if the AFL did use their existing networks to support the league, so what? The fact it opens up another avenue to grow the game in support and participation is only a good thing. The AFL as you may be aware, is the governing body of the sport as a whole, not just the AFL competition.

The fact it is supported enthusiastically by the clubs and supporters and clubs like Geelong are getting pretty annoyed at being left out in the cold says that there is enough support for it at club level to be successful.

It validates my point of view that people are losing interest.
Your point of view originally was that there would be no interest. If you're now contending a drop in interest as validation, I could have validated you 3 months ago, as peak interest was always going to be at the start.

I find it interesting that people who maintained no one would care, now maintain that while interest is higher than they ever thought it would be, the fact it isn't as high as it was is validation.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

The NAB was already a 'Major Partner' of the AFL sponsoring the Rising Star, Draft, Draft Combine, Under-16s and Under-18s and Auskick. The 3 million a year isn't new. They have just switched the NAB naming rights from the pre-season comp to the women's comp.
No, this is your classic 'true' but misleading statement. The AFL had 2 products to sell, AFLW and the preseason comp. The existing customer for the preseason comp switched to the new product, and the AFL then found a new purchaser for the old product.

Whichever way it's sliced and diced, they had 1 product and 1 customer, now they have 2 products and 2 customers.

The AFLW bought in 'new' income, even if the sponsor of the AFLW was an old sponsor.

Girls Play Footy‏@GirlsPlayFooty
Mo Hope has come under fire on social media for Collingwood's poor season, but the blame cannot fall on one player. http://[NB: girlsplayfooty domain has been taken over by spammer.]/2017/02/mo-media-mo-problems.html …

C5OycZ6UkAAGdSr.jpg

Triggering, please.

Their socialist agenda to spread the game and create a league for women so that in the future talent pathways will be open for everyone. Wow what an evil organisation :rolleyes:

This doesn't affect you one way or another so nor sure why so many people feel the need to oppose something that has no impact on them whatsoever. Even if the AFL did use their existing networks to support the league, so what? The fact it opens up another avenue to grow the game in support and participation is only a good thing. The AFL as you may be aware, is the governing body of the sport as a whole, not just the AFL competition.

The fact it is supported enthusiastically by the clubs and supporters and clubs like Geelong are getting pretty annoyed at being left out in the cold says that there is enough support for it at club level to be successful.

Who said it was evil? See, I knew you were triggered. I said nothing about it being good, bad or indifferent.

You're one of those people who's just sitting there waiting to be offended.

You of all people with your club should know their policy of taking from the rich and giving to the poor is in operation. That's a socialist policy.

No, this is your classic 'true' but misleading statement. The AFL had 2 products to sell, AFLW and the preseason comp. The existing customer for the preseason comp switched to the new product, and the AFL then found a new purchaser for the old product.

Whichever way it's sliced and diced, they had 1 product and 1 customer, now they have 2 products and 2 customers.

The AFLW bought in 'new' income, even if the sponsor of the AFLW was an old sponsor.

What a lot of baloney. The NAB signed up to sponsor several AFL products as part of a package. They didn't tip in any extra money for AFLW. They just nominally switched over some of the money they give to the AFL to a different naming right.

Who said it was evil? See, I knew you were triggered. I said nothing about it being good, bad or indifferent.

You're one of those people who's just sitting there waiting to be offended?

You of all people with your club should know their policy of taking from the rich and giving to the poor is in operation. That's a socialist policy.

Youre the one who sees socialist conspiracies everywhere yet im the one who's triggered. Haha whatever helps you sleep at night mate.

I guess when you called it a "socialist agenda" you meant it to have a positive connotation :rolleyes:

What a lot of baloney. The NAB signed up to sponsor several AFL products as part of a package. They didn't tip in any extra money for AFLW. They just nominally switched over some of the money they give to the AFL to a different naming right.
And the AFL ended up with more money when JLT replaced NAB in the pre season comp.
How is this difficult? Pre season, the AFL had the naming rights to sell for 1 comp, the NAB cup.

Now it has 2 naming rights to sell, and it sold both. Now you say that the AFLW part doesn't count?

If JLT had previously sponsored something else for the AFL, would it not count either?

Lots of AFL sponsors are recycled pre existing sponsors, does that all not count?

Seriously, the AFL cannot sell the naming rights to JLT unless NAB moved to AFLW.

What accounting standard is this, that you just disregard spending by a customer.

It seems like your just twisting in the wind to find a way to not credit the AFLW with something.

And the AFL ended up with more money when JLT replaced NAB in the pre season comp.
How is this difficult? Pre season, the AFL had the naming rights to sell for 1 comp, the NAB cup.

Now it has 2 naming rights to sell, and it sold both. Now you say that the AFLW part doesn't count?

If JLT had previously sponsored something else for the AFL, would it not count either?

Lots of AFL sponsors are recycled pre existing sponsors, does that all not count?

Seriously, the AFL cannot sell the naming rights to JLT unless NAB moved to AFLW.

What accounting standard is this, that you just disregard spending by a customer.

It seems like your just twisting in the wind to find a way to not credit the AFLW with something.

The AFL has devalued the men's pre-season competition so that it has almost zero worth. There's no winner or trophy. It is held in a series of remote locations that attract very small crowds. You have to pay entrance to attend. It's not on free to air TV. What did JLT pay for the sponsorship of this sham tournament?

Contrast this with the women's comp. Free entry. Gave away the TV rights to free to air with games scheduled at prime time. Massive hype by the AFL and all its media cronies.

I'm sure all this was explained to NAB before they switched their naming rights to suit the AFL agenda.

Youre the one who sees socialist conspiracies everywhere yet im the one who's triggered. Haha whatever helps you sleep at night mate.

I guess when you called it a "socialist agenda" you meant it to have a positive connotation :rolleyes:

Do you herp when you derp?

I never said anything about a conspiracy I simply said that's the model they roll with at the AFL. And it is, it's a socialist like agenda. From being involved in any cause they can get their hands on down to equalisation of the clubs.

It's your brain that gets triggered and reads tones into words on a screen.

Taking a huge amount of resources (money, infrastructure etc) created by one groups work (men's VFL/AFL) and giving it to another group(AFLW) without them having contributed to creating those resources is a very socialist like mindset.

It's not 'the men's AFL' it is 'the AFL'.

They're the governing body of the sport of Australian rules football.

Taking from one group and giving to another?

They aren't giving it to anyone else, they're just spending their money differently to how they have traditionally done so.

The AFL has devalued the men's pre-season competition so that it has almost zero worth. There's no winner or trophy. It is held in a series of remote locations that attract very small crowds. You have to pay entrance to attend. It's not on free to air TV. What did JLT pay for the sponsorship of this sham tournament?

Contrast this with the women's comp. Free entry. Gave away the TV rights to free to air with games scheduled at prime time. Massive hype by the AFL and all its media cronies.

I'm sure all this was explained to NAB before they switched their naming rights to suit the AFL agenda.

Well their media cronies will be wishing now they'd ponied up some cash for a multi year broadcasting deal, because given the numbers we've seen, when they ask next year it'll cost ten times as much. Whether it was cronyism, caution or cunning, it's a strategy that is going to pay off in spades.

Likewise, once they start charging admission, they'll have a ready made audience who have spent a season or more getting emotionally invested with a club (or the game in general). More of a razor blades/drug dealer strategy than socialism. More power to them.

1. what the AFL has done with the mens pre season has zero to do with the AFLW, unless you are thinking feminist conspiracy.
2. AFL hypes its product and positions it in the market to be attractive to sponsors. * me, what cheating bastards, they should give the money back.

Seriously, what the * is your point? AFLW does not deserve sponsors? Because their main sponsors is a pre existing AFL sponsor it doesn't count?

The 3 million a year isn't new. They have just switched the NAB naming rights from the pre-season comp to the women's comp

I rent a flat to someone, then invest in a second flat to rent. My first tenant decides he prefers my new flat, and offers to take over that lease instead. I agree, he moves to the new flat, and starts making payments on that, and I rent the old flat to someone else.

Does the payment on the new flat not count? Its not `new` money (what the * is new money?)
Are you arguing my new flat has not bought me a new tenant, on the basis that the person in the new flat is a pre existing tenant, and therefore doesn't count.

So I have 2 flats, but only 1 real tenant, and 1 real rental income, plus 1 not real (non new tenant, and a non new rental income).

How do I explain that to the taxman?

DOES MY NEW FLAT MEAN I NOW HAVE 2 RENTAL INCOMES?

If BHP use some of the profits of their existing profitable mines to set up a new mine expected to be unprofitable for the first few years, does this make BHP socialist?

BHP would never be so stupid as to start up a mine without having done years of research and preparation before they opened the mine.

That is what the AFL have done.

There was zero need for a league to be so hastily created outside of wanting to push a social barrow. If it was about good business far more research and ground work would have been put into it before its inception.

BHP would never be so stupid as to start up a mine without having done years of research and preparation before they opened the mine.

That is what the AFL have done.

The VWFL has been around since 1981. The league has had 35 years to prepare. Stop making out this happened overnight.

There was zero need for a league to be so hastily created outside of wanting to push a social barrow.

Actually, Id argue with the WBBL underway to good results, and the W-league at a relatively weak point, league dragging its feet, and the Sevens getting a boost from the Olympics, this was probably the perfect time to launch a womens competition.

oh and the social case was pretty compelling - and seemingly producing results, theres plenty of stories out there of increased womens participation and interest in the game as a result. Media have reported on increased sponsor interest.

If it was about good business far more research and ground work would have been put into it before its inception.

How do you know it wasnt?

The VWFL has been around since 1981. The league has had 35 years to prepare. Stop making out this happened overnight.

Actually, Id argue with the WBBL underway to good results, and the W-league at a relatively weak point, league dragging its feet, and the Sevens getting a boost from the Olympics, this was probably the perfect time to launch a womens competition.

oh and the social case was pretty compelling - and seemingly producing results, theres plenty of stories out there of increased womens participation and interest in the game as a result. Media have reported on increased sponsor interest.

How do you know it wasnt?
Outersanctums latest podcast has an interview with St Kilda president Matt Finis, who at one point said, when they approach new sponsors now, one of the first things asked is details on whats happening with the womens team.

I think the AFLW will turn into one of the greatest ROI initiatives the AFL has done, of course, critics will say, if they do not have crowds 10k paying $20 a pop to watch them, it failed.

So many, still not getting it.

Do you herp when you derp?

I never said anything about a conspiracy I simply said that's the model they roll with at the AFL. And it is, it's a socialist like agenda. From being involved in any cause they can get their hands on down to equalisation of the clubs.

It's your brain that gets triggered and reads tones into words on a screen.

You believe introducing a Women's league is evidence of a socialist agenda. It seems you also believe being involved in "causes" (such as treating others as equals regardless of their gender, race, religion or sexual orientation) is socialist. By inference you believe having a socialist agenda is a bad thing.

I dispute all of your contentions and you really should develop a better understanding of terms before you throw them around, it doesn't reflect well.

Turned the crows one on for 5 minutes but like women's 20/20 I find it hard to watch, when your used to fast play, speed of movement and good skills.

Did you give the WBBL the full 5 minutes as well? Maybe you missed the sixes being hit onto the roof, direct hits runouts from boundary throws and some amazing catches then. Either that or you're just intent on running it down 'cause it fits your agenda. From the many comments you've posted regarding the AFLW, it's obvious you don't like it, you've stated and restated that ad nauseum, so why are you still here?

YouTube or it didn't happen