Preview AFLW 2018 R5 v W. Bulldogs (Sunday, 4th Mar, 2.35pm, @ Ted Summerton Reserve (Moe))

AFLW - R5 | COLLINGWOOD vs WESTERN BULLDOGS

DATE: Sunday 6th March
GATES OPEN: 11.00am (TAC Cup Youth Girls curtain raiser between the Gippsland Power and Oakleigh Chargers will kick off at 11.30am)
FIRST BOUNCE: 2.35pm (EDT)
WHERE: Ted Summerton Reserve (Moe)
ADMISSION: Free entry
TICKETING INFO:

CAR: Only 90 minutes from Melbourne and just off the Princes Freeway, Ted Summerton Reserve can be accessed by Wirraway Street then Vale Street (closed to traffic) where the ground is located.
PARKING: Gold coin donation
  • Apex Park, Moe
  • Bristol / Hawker Street Reserve
PUBLIC TRANSPORT: Moe train station is only 850 meters or a short 10 minute walk away, a free shuttle bus will operate between the station and ground

TV: http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches/broadcastguide
Live on: Fox, AFL app (no free to air this week)

RADIO: SEN, AFL Nation

CLUB INFO:

LAST TIME:
2017 Round 4 - Whitten Oval

http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches/match-centre?matchid=100640403&competitionid=10064
http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/02/25/pies-break-aflw-drought-to-dash-dogs-hopes/

COLLINGWOOD 5.2 (32)
W. BULLDOGS 2.7 (25)

PREVIEW:
Sunday sees Collingwood host the Western Bulldogs in Moe as part of an initiative with the LaTrobe Valley to play more sport in the region. It's a good move and I hope the region and boarder Collingwood fans get behind the concept.

Last week seen the 'pies play with increasing confidence as we gained the upper hand against Melbourne ultimately recording a surprising upset win. The joy amongst the group was obvious both late in the game and during the song.

Hope backed up her improved showing against GWS with a lively performance even if she was a little inaccurate. It appears her role has changed slightly at times being front and centre rather than deep in the pack. Bonnici was finally utilised as a tagger in 2018 completely shutting down the dees key play maker. Combing with Eva late in 2017 tagging was a role that seen Bonnici play some of her best footy last season and it's a pity we didn't do enact such a role earlier in 2018. With most other teams relying on 2-3 main ball winners the use of a tagger helps offsets our weakness in the middle and for mine was one of a number of aspects that helped us win games late. Concern around Schleicher's wrist seen Garner moved back during the match and such was her showing she remained there even when Schleicher was cleared to return to the field. With Molloy, Duffin and now Garner moving to defence a clearer direction of classy ball users behind the ball is starting to develop. Bernardi's significant improvement thanks to increased fitness certainly helps and allows us this flexibility. Hopefully these players can settle into their new roles for the remainder of the season.

With no change it seems we're finally on the path to stability and it's pleasing that last week's group has been rewarded. Also rewarded is Stratton who's edging closer to a debut after being named emergency for the first time. Overlooked is Casey, who misses the squad entirely despite having served her one week suspension.

Round 3 2017 seen a narrow loss, but that first interstate trip to Brisbane really galvanised the group and seen us record our first win the week after against the 'dogs; while Alice Springs was our second interstate trip in 2018 can the win against the dees bring about a similar reversal in form?

TEAMS:

COLLINGWOOD

B: Emma Grant 5, Ruby Schleicher 18, Iilish Ross 21
HB: Chloe Molloy 2, Cecilia McIntosh 20, Melissa Kuys 9
C: Amelia Barden 38
HF: Sarah D’Arcy 4, Jasmine Garner 43, Stephanie Chiocci 17
F: Meg Hutchins 25, Moana Hope 23, Christina Bernardi 6
Foll: Emma King 60, Jaimee Lambert 13, Brittany Bonnici 8
Int: Holly Whitford 28, Sarah Dargan 46, Lauren Tesoriero 7, Jess Duffin 27, Caitlyn Edwards 1
Emg: Kristy Stratton, Bree White 33

NO CHANGE

WESTERN BULLDOGS

B: H.Wildes 17, L.Birch 18, N.Callinan 10
HB: H.Scott 22, A.O'Connor 4, A.Gogos 36
C: E.Blackburn 2
HF: B.Lochland 1, L.Spark 11, M.Conti 8
F: K.McLeod 6, B.Toogood 28, K.Rennie 24
Foll: T.Ernst 19, E.Kearney 5, K.Lamb 27
I/C: J.Bruton 35, A.Utri 23, L.Bailey 13, N.Ferres 16, E.Mackie 25

In: E.Mackie
Out: B.Hunt

This is a Interesting Game.

We are coming in with Confidence from Beating Melbourne

BUT

We are playing the Dogs who are on Top of the Ladder.

IF we can play like last week we should give us a Chance of 2nd Huge Upset

It’s such a pile of s**t that this is being played in Moe. I live 10 minutes from the Whitten Oval and was hoping to take my girls.

Blame the Dogs Selling the Game I guess to Moe

Nope, it was us who "sold" the game. We've had more than a few matches (preseason, netball) in the LaTrobe Valley in recent years.

This partnership was announced recently, so expect more games down there.

http://www.latrobevalleyexpress.com.au/story/5216447/magpies-are-nesting-in-valley/
The Collingwood Football Club has announced a landmark partnership with the Victorian Government which will bring the side's AFL, AFLW and netball teams to the Latrobe Valley for a number of major events across the next three years.

Earlier details:
https://www.premier.vic.gov.au/big-win-for-sport-across-the-valley/
https://lva.vic.gov.au/85m-investment-world-class-sporting-facilities-valley/

Then that be Pathetic as that should be at Vic Park then but Eddie is more Worried about the Collingwood Brand the Collingwood Football Teams

I reckon it's a good thing we're reaching out to our supporters in regional areas. More of it I say!

At least you don't have to travel from say Cairns to watch your team play ;) I'd be stoked if the Pies were playing the equivalent of Western Suburbs to Latrobe Valley away. Couldn't get me there quickly enough!

Nope, it was us who "sold" the game. We've had more than a few matches (preseason, netball) in the LaTrobe Valley in recent years.

This partnership was announced recently, so expect more games down there.

http://www.latrobevalleyexpress.com.au/story/5216447/magpies-are-nesting-in-valley/

Earlier details:
https://www.premier.vic.gov.au/big-win-for-sport-across-the-valley/
https://lva.vic.gov.au/85m-investment-world-class-sporting-facilities-valley/

Great initiative by the club!

AFLW - R5 | COLLINGWOOD vs WESTERN BULLDOGS

DATE: Sunday 6th March
GATES OPEN: 11.00am (TAC Cup Youth Girls curtain raiser between the Gippsland Power and Oakleigh Chargers will kick off at 11.30am)
FIRST BOUNCE: 2.35pm (EDT)
WHERE: Ted Summerton Reserve (Moe)
ADMISSION: Free entry
TICKETING INFO:

CAR: Only 90 minutes from Melbourne and just off the Princes Freeway, Ted Summerton Reserve can be accessed by Wirraway Street then Vale Street (closed to traffic) where the ground is located.
PARKING: Gold coin donation
  • Apex Park, Moe
  • Bristol / Hawker Street Reserve
PUBLIC TRANSPORT: Moe train station is only 850 meters or a short 10 minute walk away, a free shuttle bus will operate between the station and ground

TV: http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches/broadcastguide
Live on: Fox, AFL app (no free to air this week)

RADIO: SEN, AFL Nation

CLUB INFO:

LAST TIME:
2017 Round 4 - Whitten Oval

http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches/match-centre?matchid=100640403&competitionid=10064
http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/02/25/pies-break-aflw-drought-to-dash-dogs-hopes/

COLLINGWOOD 5.2 (32)
W. BULLDOGS 2.7 (25)

PREVIEW:
To be posted

TEAMS:

COLLINGWOOD

WESTERN BULLDOGS

I hope we smash em'!

At least you don't have to travel from say Cairns to watch your team play ;) I'd be stoked if the Pies were playing the equivalent of Western Suburbs to Latrobe Valley away. Couldn't get me there quickly enough!
I might as well be living in Cairns, such is the chance of me travelling to Moe.

I reckon it's a good thing we're reaching out to our supporters in regional areas. More of it I say!

Agree, it's just a shame they've decided to go east instead of N-NW

I might as well be living in Cairns, such is the chance of me travelling to Moe.

I'm in Bendigo and I've travelled to Geelong, Shepparton, Ballarat, Wangaratta and Casey Fields (what a God forsaken venue) to watch our men's preseason and VFL games. Not too sure I'd do the same for AFLW yet though and that's always going to be their issue. A time may well come when people are sufficiently invested to do that though.

I've been giving Moe some serious thought, but probably won't. The late Sunday afternoon finish doesn't help. Still, hopefully our Gippsland fans turn out in force.

As for Casey, it's a shocker. Been to several VFL games there. I'd almost rate Olympic Park higher, and that's saying something!

What’s putting me off traveling on Sunday is our preseason match in Moe the week after. I get that the club may have wanted two stand alone events, but it’s a pity they weren’t a double header or at least a few weeks apart.

Then what Happens there Supporters in Melbourne Then?

The seniors travel 5 times a year, so you get 17 home and away games in Melbourne. Plus pretty much the entirety of the VFL season. And then theres the womens season. A JLT game or training camp here or there is important to show regional and interstate supporters they matter. Currently our club is decidedly lacklustre at this. Hopefully the recent changes with the CEO and following the review change this.

Then what Happens there Supporters in Melbourne Then?

All AFL home games and majority of away games. Pretty much all the VFL fixtures, home and away. Most AFLW home games. Training and intra-clubs. The club's headquarters.

You are not being short-changed here, son...

No excuses for getting lost on the way... the Moe Centrelink line is viewable from space.

en-17-01-09-Venezuela-Homicides.png

In all seriousness...

I wouldn't have chosen Moe over Traralgon.... but its good that Gippsland is getting some attention from the AFL.

Teams

COLLINGWOOD

B: Emma Grant 5, Ruby Schleicher 18, Iilish Ross 21
HB: Chloe Molloy 2, Cecilia McIntosh 20, Melissa Kuys 9
C: Amelia Barden 38
HF: Sarah D’Arcy 4, Jasmine Garner 43, Stephanie Chiocci 17
F: Meg Hutchins 25, Moana Hope 23, Christina Bernardi 6
Foll: Emma King 60, Jaimee Lambert 13, Brittany Bonnici 8
Int: Holly Whitford 28, Sarah Dargan 46, Lauren Tesoriero 7, Jess Duffin 27, Caitlyn Edwards 1
Emg: Kristy Stratton, Bree White 33

NO CHANGE

WESTERN BULLDOGS

B: H.Wildes 17, L.Birch 18, N.Callinan 10
HB: H.Scott 22, A.O'Connor 4, A.Gogos 36
C: E.Blackburn 2
HF: B.Lochland 1, L.Spark 11, M.Conti 8
F: K.McLeod 6, B.Toogood 28, K.Rennie 24
Foll: T.Ernst 19, E.Kearney 5, K.Lamb 27
I/C: J.Bruton 35, A.Utri 23, L.Bailey 13, N.Ferres 16, E.Mackie 25

In: E.Mackie
Out: B.Hunt