Opinion AFLX

Most of my thoughts from last night have already been conveyed hereabouts.
Game itself is meh- basketball with kicking and handbaling. But still worth a look.
Rioli- looks the goods, excited to see what he can do with a sustained run this year.
Petro was the real surprise packet. I knew he was quick and he certainly is, the goals he kicked indicated that perhaps his skills aren't as bad as I've been led to believe. Reckon we have a good one there. He also did a fantastic run down tackle and hit with some ferocity.
Venables wasnt too bad but not outstanding but he put on a couple of ripper hits and I think the proper game where physicality is a requirement is where he will be better suited.
Nelson seems to be dumb as dog shit unfortunately. I like his endevour but that's it. Not a game to judge blokes on but still worries me from what I saw.
Duggan still gets caught with the pill too much for mine although generally he was good.
Allen is a raging beast, He will absolutely iron out some dudes before his career is through.
Watson is a silky mover but some rubbish disposal.
10 points for a 40m kick is ridiculous. Goals to be kicked from within the 40m arc would be a better rule.
The split screen interviews idiotic and distracting. Couldn't hear what the interviews were about over my vocal swearing at the dumb ****ers that came up with the concept.
The best part of last night was that WCE did the right thing and stuck it up AFL house by playing only about 50 games of combined experience and in doing so made it interesting for us by showcasing some of our young exciting talent. If we had our regular players playing, I probably wouldn't have bothered.

While other sides tended to go for the 10 point plays West Coast looked like they'd been coached to hit up targets inside 40, which is probably a more useful gameplan to practice. I was impressed by how well the young players set up and the forward pressure we applied, they still got burned on the rebound but that seems unavoidable for AFLX.

It was just a training drill with flashing lights but I'm still glad to have seen something at least. Looking forward to JLT.

3 in the first and 2 in the second.

So 5 goals in half a game of footy, not bad.

From reports his skills at training have been poor but he sure knows where the goals are and uses his n pace.

Can see a defensive forward role would suit him really well. Chases and tackles,pick up 12-15 possessions a game and kick two goals is all tou would ask. Then he would nail a good game here and there.

Endurance?
Excited by him, we havnt had anyone with that kind of pace in a long time, its why i was also excited by the Jetta trade but the campaigner barely gets out of 2nd these days. Pet to win GF sprint this year?

Give him #30
Whilst there is a Spangher resemblance I trust you are seeing some P Matera traits. When Matera first started out, he too looked a bit ungainly, often overrunning the ball when bouncing and going for a run just like Petro did last night. Not saying he will reach those lofty heights but Petro was pretty exciting to watch. May suit the wide open wings of Optus Stadium (and, hopefully the MCG). It took Matera a while to hit his straps and he was a bit older than Petro when he was drafted ..... early days but I think we have something to work with here.

There was a bit of the Chris Judds about Petruccelle when he burst through and kicked one on the run. Something about the kicking action - it looked awkward as he was going so fast when he kicked it but it just sailed through.

I'm very excited about what we have there.

He's a unique mix of speed, core strength and long limbs - so might be a good mark as well. Also goal sense, which helps.

He is a good mark as well. Takes some very nice contested marks in this highlights package:

I'm not sure why the earlier post is bagging Brayshaw. Guy had nine possessions and four inside 50's in 20 minutes of footy. He looked composed and strong. I reckon recruiting the kid will be a coup for us.

Whilst there is a Spangher resemblance I trust you are seeing some P Matera traits. When Matera first started out, he too looked a bit ungainly, often overrunning the ball when bouncing and going for a run just like Petro did last night. Not saying he will reach those lofty heights but Petro was pretty exciting to watch. May suit the wide open wings of Optus Stadium (and, hopefully the MCG). It took Matera a while to hit his straps and he was a bit older than Petro when he was drafted ..... early days but I think we have something to work with here.
Funny you say that because he looks like a mixture of Matera and Spanger

The coverage was absolutely awful I thought.

It's a brand new game for everyone and they pushed the actual game aside to do interviews and crosses for chit chat. How is anyone supposed to get into the game like that? The commentary was also woeful - a huge opportunity to have some mature commentary to introduce people to the concept, explain the rule differences and at least have a crack at describing the different tactics teams could try to implement to score or defend. Instead we get JB and Co just trying to generate faux atmosphere with oohing, aahhing and a sprinkle of hyperbole.

The game isn't great but the coverage didn't give it much of a chance, I thought, to even try to get you engaged with the action. Really poor by Ch7
100% agree with this other than to say I thought the game as a concept is trash to watch (may be ok to play). Impossible to get into the game with the crosses for interviews and warm ups while the game was playing but even without that, watching an egg boil was more interesting.

As I said earlier, Just needs to work on running technique. Will never be fast but could be faster than priddis/mitchell etc. Absolute magnet though and real intensity. Really happy with our draft last 2 years even if Ryan and Oallen amount to nothing.

Watson is slowly creeping into danger territory. His disposal and decision making was poor in WAFL last year. Has plenty of tricks but needs to improve that if he is ever going to make it.

I remember a lot of praise for his disposal 12 months ago. Now it's his weakness.
What gives?

When he was kicking out yesterday after a point or goal he was fine but as soon as he had some pressure he went to water .

I watched the games last night and thought Watson did pretty well. Then I saw these comments and re-watched the crows game keeping an eye on his disposal. His disposal was solid if you ask me. Set up some goals by hand and his kicking was good especially down back. Only had 1 missed kick, when he was trying to do a 50m pass on his wrong foot.

Opinion AFLX