Opinion AFLX

I think people forget that being a key lynch pin defender isnt easy the only good ones are franchise players, Nelson isnt a lynch pin backman but got stuck playing it y'all needa relax

Agree Nelson was undersized against the Crows but giving up that rushed behind which equaled an 11 pointer was crucial.

In a regular season game he’d be pinged for it also. Didn’t show any other intention than rushing it behind.

Crows got another 10 pointer moments later and the margin was too big to get back.

Agree Nelson was undersized against the Crows but giving up that rushed behind which equaled an 11 pointer was crucial.

In a regular season game he’d be pinged for it also. Didn’t show any other intention than rushing it behind.

Crows got another 10 pointer moments later and the margin was too big to get back.

I think you'll find the shot outside 40 was touched off the boot, so it only cost an extra point, doesn't mean he shouldn't have had awareness though

27752527_1582361405222606_3840516373656497835_n.jpg

from AFL memes

So I thought I would give my summary of the AFLX

And from my experience Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
- What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2018. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
- Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
- Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
- There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
- Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
- No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.
- Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
- Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
- Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2018.
- Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
- Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
- A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
- Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.

For **** sake!!! Give it a rest

AFL receiving interest from overseas with AFL X , Fremantle and Port Adelaide mentioned as playing in Hong Kong at some stage , franchises also mentioned with entrepreneurs buying franchises ie someone like Gerry Ryan buying the St Kilda franchise also AFL see the game going to regional centres .

Looks like we might have big bash sport all of summer , if the AFL have there way .....in preseason time slots or even in November that was mentioned by Gil.

AFL want the 20/20 cricket concept and AFLX or a form of it will be here for a while .
Maybe if Benny keeps fit somehow he could be the Shane Warne of the AFLX and get a AFLX franchise contract maybe Juddy and Kerr as well ........

Oh c'mon, the ball was nearly over the line anyway and he was going forward. No way would he have been pinged in normal play and he was unlucky even in that stupid X game. In fact, the umpiring in the first game was terrible and the umps were obviously still finding their way and trying to impose the new rules. They got heaps better as the games went on and in the end it was almost watchable with fewer contentious kicks awarded

AFL receiving interest from overseas with AFL X , Fremantle and Port Adelaide mentioned as playing in Hong Kong at some stage , franchises also mentioned with entrepreneurs buying franchises ie someone like Gerry Ryan buying the St Kilda franchise also AFL see the game going to regional centres .

Looks like we might have big bash sport all of summer , if the AFL have there way .....in preseason time slots or even in November that was mentioned by Gil.

AFL want the 20/20 cricket concept and AFLX or a form of it will be here for a while .
Maybe if Benny keeps fit somehow he could be the Shane Warne of the AFLX and get a AFLX franchise contract maybe Juddy and Kerr as well ........
I just don't see the appeal as a spectator sport. I mean I understand why people would want to play it rather than the full game, but it's f****** boring to watch. 20/20 takes a game that might be considered dull to watch by some and amps everything up to make it more exciting, AFLX does the exact opposite.

We have a lot of footy including all the trade and draft periods to keep fans interested , maybe if it helps the game promotion overseas that could be the biggest gain for the AFL but it sounds like the AFL want this 20/20 concept in AFL somehow ....but it is pretty boring maybe play midweek during the season made up of developing player's in the AFL squads and past players , we can have footy every day of the week in winter :)

We have a lot of footy including all the trade and draft periods to keep fans interested , maybe if it helps the game promotion overseas that could be the biggest gain for the AFL but it sounds like the AFL want this 20/20 concept in AFL somehow ....but it is pretty boring maybe play midweek during the season made up of developing plaers in the AFL squads and past players , we can have footy every day of the week in winter :)
Yeh I do get why the AFL is pushing it, I just don't get why anyone would bother watching it. It probably got half decent ratings this week because everyone is starved of football and there was curiosity around the concept, but I think if they'd done an extra round of the JLT this week it would have done just as well if not better. It's just boring as batshit to watch, I think if you had it on at the same time of year as the proper game you'd barely get anyone watching the games at all.
The AFL obviously want to push this concept to the moon so they can take the game overseas but I honestly just think our game is one that's never going to translate to other countries on a professional level. Take the NFL for example, it's very popular all around the world but there aren't any other big professional leagues playing it outside of North America.

Oh c'mon, the ball was nearly over the line anyway and he was going forward. No way would he have been pinged in normal play and he was unlucky even in that stupid X game. In fact, the umpiring in the first game was terrible and the umps were obviously still finding their way and trying to impose the new rules. They got heaps better as the games went on and in the end it was almost watchable with fewer contentious kicks awarded

Yeah I agree that was a bullshit decision. The umps obviously agreed as well coz the exact same thing happened in games straight after and they didn't ping anyone for it.

First thoughts (hard to take much out of AFLX, and good god who cares about Zooper Goals!!#@!#):

- Nelson had an absolute mare. I've been a fan of his for a long time - and really thought he was on a good track early last year, pre-injury - but that was a shocker to be sure. Needs more game time in pre-season to blow off the cobwebs and really needs to work on his composure.

- Rioli and Pet both looked very promising. I was surprised by the latter, but not the former.

- Stupidly young team so hard to take much out of this, but I was a little deflated by Duggan.

- I was actually most happy with Venables. Didn't do much perhaps, but when he had the pill gee he looked composed. Very, very optimistic here.

First thoughts (hard to take much out of AFLX, and good god who cares about Zooper Goals!!#@!#):

- Nelson had an absolute mare. I've been a fan of his for a long time - and really thought he was on a good track early last year, pre-injury - but that was a shocker to be sure. Needs more game time in pre-season to blow off the cobwebs and really needs to work on his composure.

- Rioli and Pet both looked very promising. I was surprised by the latter, but not the former.

- Stupidly young team so hard to take much out of this, but I was a little deflated by Duggan.

- I was actually most happy with Venables. Didn't do much perhaps, but when he had the pill gee he looked composed. Very, very optimistic here.
As you say, stupid game anyway and very young team. I judge the performance a bit different than you. Thought Duggan played well and agree Nelson needed a bit more composure but put a big effort in. I was surprised by Ainsworth who looked every inch a midfielder and seemed to be able to make good position and decisions. Brander looked very agile for a big young bloke and agree that Rioli and Petracelli looked good. Karpany was pretty lost and I thought he would excel at this. MAllen was disappointing but moved well and the game probably didn't suit him. Waterman was good. Cole and Watson both looked suspect as defenders, particularly overhead but there is still time for improvement or change of plan for where they play. Venebles looked too anxious but that is understandable and he will be better with more experience around him and playing the real game. Brayshaw looked OK and can find the ball. Rotham and Burrows didn't play in the end so given that there were only 13 players and most of them inexperienced, I was happy with the effort

I just think aflx would be improved if 20m out from each goal there was a pool full of angry sharks.

Like the pool that the dare devil motor cycle rider has to jump in The Simpsons; shark, alligator, piranhas, electric eels and a lion.

Opinion AFLX