Pickett - Wow
Fisher - nice!
Williamson - nice!
Lebois - nice
O'Brien- nice
Silvagni- yeah ok
Macreadie - so so

The rest - rusty

Probably not surprising that all the guys that did well are the types of players that actually suit this format.

No other team played as many talls as we did (SOSOS, Marchy, Macreadie) and an inside mid like Kennedy who are not suited to this game.

Imagine if we took 3 of those guys out (1 tall enough) and added in Byrne, SPS & Murphy to Dow, Pickett, Fisher, Wiliamson, Lebois, O'Brien etc.

The carry on by Brayshaw and Taylor after a ten pointer, was :rolleyes: - seriously, its only 40 metres :rolleyes:

To be fair they have clearly been instructed to try to pump up the game as much as possible...not sure what else they could say. You could tell it was forced.

They kept banging on about how the players and fans were loving it despite there not really being any evidence of that being fact.

Reckon tonight showed us a couple of things heading forward (even if we already knew them:
- Willow an absolute certainty to have first crack at Docs spot
- Dow will play round one, and could be every bit as good as SPS last year
- Fisher could improve beyond our wildest dreams this year
- We don't need O'Shea and he won't play senior footy
- Kennedy could comfortably become a 20 touch, five tackle, goal a game player this year

The carry on by Brayshaw and Taylor after a ten pointer, was :rolleyes: - seriously, its only 40 metres :rolleyes:
I really think 10 points is too great a reward for kicking a goal from 40+ metres out, particularly on a rectangular field where the angles are less acute. If the AFL persist with AFLX, they need to reconsider the value of such goals.

I was watching the whole thing in noisy pubs. I may be in the minority but I enjoyed it.
Carlton's disposal as a whole wasn't great which I just thought they were a bit rusty.
But it was probably the new game plan trying to be more attacking and that fact, by it's nature, means more risk thus more errors.
Coaches would be encouraging them to keep taking those risks because once they start to come off more consistently, the benefit for the team will be huge.

I was watching the whole thing in noisy pubs. I may be in the minority but I enjoyed it.
Carlton's disposal as a whole wasn't great which I just thought they were a bit rusty.
But it was probably the new game plan trying to be more attacking and that fact, by it's nature, means more risk thus more errors.
Coaches would be encouraging them to keep taking those risks because once they start to come off more consistently, the benefit for the team will be huge.

I enjoyed it too just quietly, but I think what I mainly enjoyed was just watching some footy and getting a sneak preview of some of the players I'm really looking forward to watching when the real stuff starts.

Liked Paddy and Fisher tonight.

They were my two bests.

Marchbank woulda been there too but for his woeful disposal.

Willow started well, then faded.

SOS and Pickett did some nice things, but not enough of them.

Polson had a bit of a shocker.

Put in Fisher for Polson and we woulda won the first game I reckon.

I really think 10 points is too great a reward for kicking a goal from 40+ metres out, particularly on a rectangular field where the angles are less acute. If the AFL persist with AFLX, they need to reconsider the value of such goals.
Should be no goals from outside 40. Have zones like netball to keep the game a bit more contested. Only allowed to score from inside 40

Yes agree with those who say Williamson looks like he can go up a notch this year

Pickett looks like he’s chaffing at the bit to show what he can do

Fisher is an exciting prospect this year too, the type of player we haven’t had since Camporeale in my opinion

Kennedy looks alright. Dow is the second coming of Gibbs just has that look of a guy who is born to play.

Got along to watch the whole night, and while it was a bit flat early, once the crowd numbers picked up a bit it actually created a better atmosphere than I was expecting.

Live commentary at the ground was reasonably good, didn't notice them getting any names wrong. For a preseason comp featuring a lot of new players, and with 6 teams involved, it made it a bit easier to follow the action. Not something i'd want to see implemented for the proper season, but AFLX and JLT could benefit from more of it.

As far as the format goes, if someone was given a mandate to develop a variation of the AFL code that can be played on a soccer pitch, they've just about nailed that. Push it out to 4x10min quarters and you've got AFL-lite on a soccer pitch with a basketball run time. The concern from an expansion perspective is potentially how shit it looks and plays with lower skill levels.

From a Carlton analysis perspective...

We took a very young side into the night, and were up against experienced players like McDonald, Melksham, Higgins, Waite, MacMillan, Atley and Cunnington.

Game 1 we appeared to have a clear directive to kick low and flat as often as possible. Penetrating kicks with little opportunity for the defenders to react and intercept or spoil. Game two opened up a little more I felt, and we adjusted to shorter, punchy kicks. Playing to win of course, but more importantly executing specific skills that are clearly a focus for development.

Player by player.

Marchbank - not a forward, and not suited to a high paced game. Not concerned, he's still a quality tall defender in the real form of the game, and our backline strength stems from a unified team approach than any one player carrying the rest. Time machine - i'd have given Plowman this spot.

Pickett - had a few outstanding moments, and looks ready for a big season. Only worry for me is that sometimes he puts on the jets and burns everyone off, and other times he jogs after an opponent that you can't help but think he could catch if he really tried. We'll see.

Macreadie - neat, composed, plenty to like. If we're looking for another forward he might be one to consider.

Silvagni - body not quite ready to do what the brain wants. His positioning in contests is great, but when he goes to nudge his opponent off the ball drop he rebounds instead. Once he gets a bit more strength in his frame he'll be fine.

Polson - looked good for me. Might be unlucky and have other quality kids go past him, but if he sticks around he'll be a better mid option than guys like Graham and Kedge have been.

O'brien - has the skills, but this year will be a development year I think. Was given kick in duties in the first game but didn't get a lot of help from teammates who sat outside the 40m arc waiting for him to kick to contests. A lead or two might have been nice...

Williamson - ripper. Composed, aware, beautiful peg, lock him in for a few more years please Carlton.

Kennedy - not a format that suits him, but great to see him get through some match time post surgery. Took a big bump to the shoulder in the second game and got straight back into it. Not expecting too much this year, but he's been a very good pick up.

Lamb - as an experienced player would have liked a little more. Will probably get games this year but will have some serious pressure coming from the 2s very soon.

Dow - exactly as advertised. Disposal was solid, which was the question mark some had on him. Wicked side step, good hands, pace and aggression, and he looked perfectly at home against the bigger bodies. Round one lock.

Fisher - have to love this kid. Maybe still a small forward, part time mid this year, but he'll be an in and under counterpart to Cripps and Kennedy in no time. One passage of play he ran backwards - backwards! - for about 8-10 paces before firing off a lookaway handpass to a teammate. Awareness and footy smarts on another level.

Lebois - liked the bits and pieces I saw, but didn't stand out enough for me. Hopefully Teague's influence can craft a forward line that he can become a genuine threat in though.

O'Shea - eh. Depth option. Not bad, not great, not part of the future.

Kerridge - made a couple of bad errors, but performed his role. Not impressed when he wilfully shirked a marking contest after seeing Majak Daw coming at him. Don't wanna get hurt during preseason...i get that...but very uninspiring from a more senior mid.

Overall I think Fisher, Dow, Williamson, Kennedy and Pickett have secured their best 22 spots in my book. Macreadie knocking on the door, and Jack may be the one that makes way at some point. Marchy not in doubt despite some wayward kicking.

O'brien and Lebois to build some reserves form. Polson to keep plugging away until an opportunity presents.

Kerridge, Lamb and O'Shea need to work hard if they want to add to their games tally.

Saw 2 mins of the North game. First time in over 40 years supporting my beloved Blues where I turned off the tv when we were in front.

One thing is for sure reading the comments ....

Why is there always a subclass of human beings who never have anything nice to say about our players?

I think everyone can get a little nervous nellie but to worry about a player cause he sux at AFLNETBALL is just beyond me.

Oh no Marchbank sux at popcorn football that will never survive, quick burn princes park down.

Got along to watch the whole night, and while it was a bit flat early, once the crowd numbers picked up a bit it actually created a better atmosphere than I was expecting.

Live commentary at the ground was reasonably good, didn't notice them getting any names wrong. For a preseason comp featuring a lot of new players, and with 6 teams involved, it made it a bit easier to follow the action. Not something i'd want to see implemented for the proper season, but AFLX and JLT could benefit from more of it.

As far as the format goes, if someone was given a mandate to develop a variation of the AFL code that can be played on a soccer pitch, they've just about nailed that. Push it out to 4x10min quarters and you've got AFL-lite on a soccer pitch with a basketball run time. The concern from an expansion perspective is potentially how shit it looks and plays with lower skill levels.

From a Carlton analysis perspective...

We took a very young side into the night, and were up against experienced players like McDonald, Melksham, Higgins, Waite, MacMillan, Atley and Cunnington.

Game 1 we appeared to have a clear directive to kick low and flat as often as possible. Penetrating kicks with little opportunity for the defenders to react and intercept or spoil. Game two opened up a little more I felt, and we adjusted to shorter, punchy kicks. Playing to win of course, but more importantly executing specific skills that are clearly a focus for development.

Player by player.

Marchbank - not a forward, and not suited to a high paced game. Not concerned, he's still a quality tall defender in the real form of the game, and our backline strength stems from a unified team approach than any one player carrying the rest. Time machine - i'd have given Plowman this spot.

Pickett - had a few outstanding moments, and looks ready for a big season. Only worry for me is that sometimes he puts on the jets and burns everyone off, and other times he jogs after an opponent that you can't help but think he could catch if he really tried. We'll see.

Macreadie - neat, composed, plenty to like. If we're looking for another forward he might be one to consider.

Silvagni - body not quite ready to do what the brain wants. His positioning in contests is great, but when he goes to nudge his opponent off the ball drop he rebounds instead. Once he gets a bit more strength in his frame he'll be fine.

Polson - looked good for me. Might be unlucky and have other quality kids go past him, but if he sticks around he'll be a better mid option than guys like Graham and Kedge have been.

O'brien - has the skills, but this year will be a development year I think. Was given kick in duties in the first game but didn't get a lot of help from teammates who sat outside the 40m arc waiting for him to kick to contests. A lead or two might have been nice...

Williamson - ripper. Composed, aware, beautiful peg, lock him in for a few more years please Carlton.

Kennedy - not a format that suits him, but great to see him get through some match time post surgery. Took a big bump to the shoulder in the second game and got straight back into it. Not expecting too much this year, but he's been a very good pick up.

Lamb - as an experienced player would have liked a little more. Will probably get games this year but will have some serious pressure coming from the 2s very soon.

Dow - exactly as advertised. Disposal was solid, which was the question mark some had on him. Wicked side step, good hands, pace and aggression, and he looked perfectly at home against the bigger bodies. Round one lock.

Fisher - have to love this kid. Maybe still a small forward, part time mid this year, but he'll be an in and under counterpart to Cripps and Kennedy in no time. One passage of play he ran backwards - backwards! - for about 8-10 paces before firing off a lookaway handpass to a teammate. Awareness and footy smarts on another level.

Lebois - liked the bits and pieces I saw, but didn't stand out enough for me. Hopefully Teague's influence can craft a forward line that he can become a genuine threat in though.

O'Shea - eh. Depth option. Not bad, not great, not part of the future.

Kerridge - made a couple of bad errors, but performed his role. Not impressed when he wilfully shirked a marking contest after seeing Majak Daw coming at him. Don't wanna get hurt during preseason...i get that...but very uninspiring from a more senior mid.

Overall I think Fisher, Dow, Williamson, Kennedy and Pickett have secured their best 22 spots in my book. Macreadie knocking on the door, and Jack may be the one that makes way at some point. Marchy not in doubt despite some wayward kicking.

O'brien and Lebois to build some reserves form. Polson to keep plugging away until an opportunity presents.

Kerridge, Lamb and O'Shea need to work hard if they want to add to their games tally.
Now this is a report I can get behind .... not potting one player, treating the game as is, positive.

Well done.

Plus the man knows a good forum name!

Didn't feel that way about it, but he certainly moved the footy on at pace.

Definitely keen to see your reaction to Paddy's year ;)

I think he missed one or two easy kicks (as did quite a few of the guys blowing out some cobwebs) but I like the way he arches his back before he kicks.

No injuries was the best player for us last night, but all in all pretty good hit out for the young ones, Pickett very good in the second game, Dow looked fantastic in both games.

Polson did a few nice things. He's got a bullet kick, but at AFL level he's going to have to be far more involved which will take time.

Like Cuningham last year, he'll probably spend the first half of the year fine-tuning his game and bit-by-bit increasing his production. He looks like he's a added a bit of size.

Was pretty impressed with Willo too. Looks confident

Huh??? Ok then Marchy is a worry because he missed targets in a practice game. Give me a break. Every pre season people read too much into practice games... fact or fiction???

It was the BigFooty knobs at their finest line. Could have argued your point without it.

AFLX