after the 97-98 GF what was it like in Melbourne ?

chev1977

Jun 11, 2000
Adelaide, SA, Australia
Adelaide Crows
I was just wondering what it was like in Melbourne the evening after the Grand Finals of 97/98 and how was your week
smile.gif
?

Because over here in Adelaide Car horns were beeping, people lined the streets, people hanging out of cars, women were being laid left right and centre, pubs and clubs were packed, complete strangers hugged and were like best of friends, oh and not to mention my own experiances with port power supporters jumping the fence to join in on OUR CELEBRATIONS. (I lost count)

I wish I could have been there to lend you guys some support but I was having to good of a time to do that.

Prehaps I can help this year ?
smile.gif

JUST A DIG (IT'S A BIT OF HARMLESS FUN!!)

Chevy, I went over for both GF's. Not to go to the games cos they were both last minute decisions and I wasn't gunna pay $500- a ticket from scalpers. I went to experience the GF week we hear so much about. The whole week was great both years, especially '97 because all of melbourne has a soft spot for St Kilda I think.

But the GF nights were very different. Almost every where we wnt in '98 the Roo fans were aggressive and picking fights all night. In '97 though we were in our Crows gear and even Saints fans came up and congratulated us.

I think this says 2 things.

1/- Roo fans were really hurting from their loss.

2/- Saints fans were just happy to have made a GF.

This is a big part of the Roo's general success over last decade and the Saints lack of it.

No way servo! I have to disagree with you.

The Grand Final loss in 1997 was one of the most devastating moments of my life and judging by the tears flowing amongst the crowd, I doubt you could say that we 'were just happy to be there'.

Because of our lack of success, I would argue that the loss of a Grand Final for a struggling side is equal, if not worse, than a more successful club. We were not in the situation of a more successful club who could reminise over past victories. We missed a fantastic opportunity and I for one will never look back on 1997 as a time that I was just happy for us to be there.

If you get a chance, read Saturday Afternoon Fever by Matthew Hardy. He is a comedian and wrote his story about growing up in the 70s and 80s as a saints supporter, culminating in the Grand Final loss. Very funny book but shows how disappointing that loss was and will continue to be.

As an impartial supporter of a club that hasn't lost to Adelaide in a Grand Final, (only West Coast)I think I can speak for most Victorians, (I'll probably get bagged for this!!!!!!)

I went in 1997, but couldn't care less in 1998.

In 1997, I sat with StKilda supporters, front row, centre wing on the bottom level of the southern stand. Aussie took off on his run right in front of me.

There is no doubt that Victoria was hoping for a StKilda v Bulldogs fairytale GF, but the Crows spoiled that on Preliminary final day. So in 1997, we were willing StKilda across the line, when the Crows got up, that was heartbreaking to us Victorians who don't barrack for Adelaide.

In 1998, it was a bit different. I think people who don't barrack for North, were trying to be patriotic to Victoria, but secretly were hoping for the Crows to win. I had the opportunity to go, but couldn't get interested in the game, of course I watched it, but I didn't care who won either way. North had dominated the season and I think people were hoping they would crumble, which they did, similar to Essendon this year.

I think most Victorian football supporters have a soft spot for StKilda, I keep an eye on their progress and like to see them do well, I guess this is because they are a team that has had limited success over the years and people always barrack for the underdog,

But people don't seem to care less about North, I guess because everyone hates Carey, Archer, Martyn and the rest, they don't really endear themselves to you, do they?

A bit like Grant Hackett, while we all hopes he succeeds in Syndey, most people would prefer Perkins to win, wouldn't they? You just had to listen to the chants at the recent Australian sellection trials.

People like StKilda, they don't like North.

Before the Grand Final. There was a explosion at a gas plant that day...two people got killed, and with everything leading up to that day, it put football back into perspective. Some drunk teenage Crows fan abusing me while I was walking to the MCG.

The night after the Grand Final. I went to Arden Street afterwards and it was just like a wake. I remember thinking that night that after Geelong lost in '89 and '92, their players were greeted like conquering heroes. Some of the players came out, we sang the club song, and gave them our support as best we could. And we kicked the footy and kept the black humour going for as long as we could ("you know, at least we don't have to spend our money on Grand Final merchandise now or chase up every newspaper or videotape every footy show....")

The day after. I just stayed in bed with this throbbing headache (like the ones that you get after you've made some Godawful mistake) and wondering exactly where it all went wrong. I avoided the newspapers and TV for pretty much the whole week. A few friends were too scared to call me for fear of my reaction, I got a few calls of commiseration and a few that to hang shit on me.

There was a lot of antipathy towards North. The previous week, most people wanted Melbourne to beat us for them to win the flag...sentimental favourites. Then people wanted the Bulldogs to beat Adelaide and then beat us, but that came unstuck. In the week leading up to the Grand Final, people who wanted North to lose started telling me that North had to win for Victoria. I pretty much told them to get <expletive deleted> because North were playing for North, and nobody else. And we lost, and the loss is North Melbourne's and nobody else's.

Last comment. I went into town and walked by an Adelaide fan in some laneway, and I congratulated him and wished him well on his trip back to Adelaide. He gave me his commiserations and wished North better luck next year (which we did....in bucketloads).

I guess I haven't said anything about what Melbourne was like after the Grand Final, but that's what I went through after Adelaide beat us that day.

I remember going to a party after the 1998 GF and man was it flat...everyone was just so disappointed that the Crows had won again...I personally don't hate North at all. They have done very well considering they have a small supporter base and limited financial resources.

1992 was worse though, bloody Geelong - The Hawks did their bit the year before, pity the Cats couldn't do the same

1991 was very enjoyable, as the Eagles played the evil villian part to perfection, even refusing to turn up to the GF parade as it may upset them :rolleyes: Of course their supporters decided to be low key and all turned up in fluro-green caps :rolleyes:

Can't even remember who played in the '97 and '98 Grand Finals. Lost interest the week before for each. ;) :(

In '99 I was in Sydney to watch the might Melbourne Storm win its first Premiership! Now THAT'S one Grand Final that I'll never forget!!!:D :D :D

Originally posted by Shinboners

Before the Grand Final. There was a explosion at a gas plant that day...two people got killed, and with everything leading up to that day, it put football back into perspective.

'Twas the day before Shins, I know because that's the day my son was born! Went to the footy with a mate who barracks for North & we wet the bubs head a time or three and smoked the vilest of cigars :D Don't remember too much about the footy other than thinking at half time you were in trouble (missed opportunities and all that).

Back to the subject at hand, for me me those two years weren't any different to any other year my side didn't make it. After the game was over I didn't give a stuff who'd won, just wished it had been us.

One of these days you guys (Jod!) will realise (ala Shins comments) that as far as we're concerned our clubs represent themselves, not our state. If the eagles/crows/power whoever beat a vic side most if us don't give a stuff becuase as far as we're concerned it's a CLUB competition....

Two fantastic nights!

1997. We sat in the bottom of the Ponsford Stand behind the goals, and after all the presentations and the lap of honour, decided to try to get into the tennis centre for the aftermatch. No luck, so we headed to Naughton's for a few Coopers. Ran into some idiots looking for a fight, so retired home for pizza, more Coopers, and back to back watchings of the match video. Highlight of the night - pizza delivery boy knocks on the door, I answer in my Crows guernsey, in broken English he says "you very very happy man". Too right :)

1998. Watched the match from the top of the Northern Stand. Loverly. (Incidentally, at half time in 1997 I thought we had it won, whereas in 1998 I thought we were gorn). Went up to Lygon Street for a few beers at Percy's and some tucker. As pointed out by others, the gas explosion at Longford happened the previous day, so the food took ages - the poor old kitchen stafff had a gas bottle and a barbie to work with. Went down to Williamstown for more beers and some pool, then back for more beers and a video review. We were living a David King mongrel punt from Arden Street then, so we drove past the ground and saw a lot of Roos supporters milling around. Probably including Shinboners :) Highlight of the night - Percy Jones - "your mob should never have won that. I still can't work out how they did".

Anyhow, the upshot is that we ran into some idiots in 1997 but not 1998. No point attempting to draw conclusions about the merits of StKilda supporters vs Kangaroos supporters from that (in fact, the idiots were Carlton supporters) - just that idiots will be idiots, and reasonable people will be reasonable, no matter who wins, loses or draws. And as Dave so rightly points out, it's not SOO, it's club v club, and Adelaide winning the premiership probably made most neutrals in Melbourne no more or less happy than Essendon winning last year did.

After 97 and 98 it was quite simply CRICKET SEASON! And we couldn't get there quick enough! :D

Actually it was already cricket season for me a month earlier, but never mind! :eek:

Originally posted by chev1977
I was just wondering what it was like in Melbourne the evening after the Grand Finals of 97/98 and how was your week
smile.gif
?

Because over here in Adelaide Car horns were beeping, people lined the streets, people hanging out of cars, women were being laid left right and centre, pubs and clubs were packed, complete strangers hugged and were like best of friends, oh and not to mention my own experiances with port power supporters jumping the fence to join in on OUR CELEBRATIONS. (I lost count)

I wish I could have been there to lend you guys some support but I was having to good of a time to do that.

Prehaps I can help this year ?
smile.gif

JUST A DIG (IT'S A BIT OF HARMLESS FUN!!)

:)

without meaning to be trivial, the loss of the 97 grand final was like a death in the family. all my saints friends had waited so long for our moment in the sun, we had followed them through thin and thin, stood in the mud at moorabbin and shivered in that freezing hell hole at waverley watching years of crap and pathetic football. 1997 was to be our reward for the years of crap football that we put up with following our side, instead it was the biggest kick in the guts we have ever had. after the game and after 600 pots at the cricketers we all congregated at a friends house, instead of our planned gathering at moorabbin, and the atmosphere was funereal. the full range of emotions were displayed anger, sorrow, pity, hurt, frustration and a lot of booze was drunk which made everyone more emotional.

when i think of where we are now to what we missed out on in 1997, it makes barracking for the saints more frustrating than it usually is.

as far as being just happy to make the g/f. get ********ed. it was the most miserable day of my life.

on the other hand during all those horrible years of football at moorabbin the social club was easily the best in the league. the jug bar was non stop beer, the women were blonde and later at the disco drunk and easy.

ahhhh i miss those days.

Dunno, But it was great in SA

Dunno, But it was great in SA!:p

A few things stick in my memory about Melbourne the week after the GF, PARTICULARLY the media.

I remember how the Crows were given no chance in 97 by the media:eek: and then every chance of winning AFTER the event.

It was pretty special stuff. (As Bruce would say)

I followed the Roos since 1973 when I left home to go to Sydney ...until the Crows came along. I still have a soft spot for North and I got the distinct impression there were a lot of support for the Crows agin the Roos in 98:) at the "G"

I guess its history now. One thing I do know though, is that anything can happen on a given day;which is what makes our game THE best.

The euphoria still hasnt left me.....

And er...Go Crows for # 3

:eek: :eek:

after the 97-98 GF what was it like in Melbourne ?