Strategy Aggressive reset

Time to put on my aggressive reset hat for a moment.

In: Kelly, Hopper, Balic

Kelly, Hopper, Cunnington are our starting mids. Balic starts at half forward.

Move to defense: Wags, Jed. They can work with Marley and our new defensive coach (no, not you green).

Move to midfield: Clarke, Mountford, LMac, Garner (in parts). JMac to wing (infinitely better forward of centre, especially with his kicking for goal outside 50).

Move to forward: Ziebell.

Waite is given another year while Larkey develops. We will need to draft another key forward is McKay moves back permanently. Especially with daw and wood always injured.

Thompson is given another year given EVW and Nielsen have barely stayed fit since they were drafted

Gibson is given the role jared moore had - development coach and VFL captain. Good to have around the club because his work ethic is unmatched. He leads by example with his work rate and it pushed fordham, wagner, hibberd, and wood to work on their endurance more.

Tell Goldstein to snap the **** out of it and get back to his 2015 form or he'll be playing the VFL all year.

Work on getting ahern, jacobs, and wright back and on the field.

2019 premiers.

This is the type of thing i'm looking for.:thumbsu:

I'd like someone to produce where this Rockliff/toxic thing comes from. I think folks heard it somewhere and just regurgitate it because they don't rate him highly as a player. It's lazy thinking.

I have only ever heard about it in relation to shit stirring the opposition.

You can give me that in truck loads.

I'd like someone to produce where this Rockliff/toxic thing comes from. I think folks heard it somewhere and just regurgitate it because they don't rate him highly as a player. It's lazy thinking.

I have only ever heard about it in relation to shit stirring the opposition.

You can give me that in truck loads.
Overblown. The entire club was toxic. The players isolated themselves in groups. The new recruits had no one to turn to. Leppa was just trying to keep his job and that caused further fractions. Completely different now. They have united under fagan. Rockliff voiced his opinion as a leader should during that period and he was hung out to dry.

That is fact. I know 1 person that worked there and 1 that still does.

Will we be in t
he finals next year? Probably not

We would be giving a spot on the field to a guy over a player that we otherwise could develop

We could throw the money at a trade for someone more fitting to our long term strategy

We could bank unused cap dollars for a future year

He would not be dependable game in game out , hardly someone we need with a developing list

Regardless of cap space we need to still be frugal with dollars

If you think gc would not want some return trade wise you are kidding yourself
We would be giving a spot on the field to a guy over a player that we otherwise could develop
Gary would be an overall benefit to the young squad. Football isnt just about sunday. 1 spot in the side wont prevent the young guys from getting plenty of rotations.

We could throw the money at a trade for someone more fitting to our long term strategy
Probably the best argument - if we can find a star trade that fits long term this year then we should definitely go for it.

We could bank unused cap dollars for a future year
We can't bank it. Someone on here said its actually the opposite this year, new rules day we need to spend 105% TPP due to us going way under this year.

Putting it in gary for a year allows us to not worry about it for a year, gets us a special player, and we go again for long term trade target next year.

He would not be dependable game in game out , hardly someone we need with a developing list
He played 14 games for GC, averaged 33 disposals and is unhappy living up there and wants to come back. Now if he joined you would imagine it would be under happier circumstances than in GC. I agree it would be a risk due to injury, but not because he isn't 'dependable'. I back our culture to make him a happy little master while he was here.

Regardless of cap space we need to still be frugal with dollars
We have to spend, its not about being frugal. The AFL may fine us.

If you think gc would not want some return trade wise you are kidding yourself
We pay out his contract. We have a need to put out a lot of money, paying it out helps us reach that cap min. This is no different to what clubs in the US do nowadays to help meet the same kind of rules.

Overblown. The entire club was toxic. The players isolated themselves in groups. The new recruits had no one to turn to. Leppa was just trying to keep his job and that caused further fractions. Completely different now. They have united under fagan. Rockliff voiced his opinion as a leader should during that period and he was hung out to dry.

That is fact. I know 1 person that worked there and 1 that still does.

Of course it is. The toxic thing is utilised by people that are too lazy to think for themselves.

Apparently he had a crack at a few senior teammates that were slacking off when Brisbane were getting regularly pumped.

This doesn't make him "toxic", it makes him a leader.

I know JZ has a lot of respect for him.

Gary would be an overall benefit to the young squad. Football isnt just about sunday. 1 spot in the side wont prevent the young guys from getting plenty of rotations.

I honestly believe that if giblet doesn't get his way and end up back at Geelong, then he won't play anywhere at all. He's not the maturest of blokes.

Of course it is. The toxic thing is utilised by people that are too lazy to think for themselves.

Yeah Rockliff having his Capt taken off him as a tough club decision (because he's a complete *wit), was because "people were too lazy" to think for themselves.

Interesting :thumbsu:

I honestly believe that if giblet doesn't get his way and end up back at Geelong, then he won't play anywhere at all. He's not the maturest of blokes.
He seems to come across well when he speaks, pretty humble, maybe a little bit quiet. I don't know him much though - what makes him seem immature?

Cunners, JZ, Dumont, Higgins, Clarke, Mountford, LMac, Simpkin, Jacobs (please), Ahern, #4 pick...

It's not a top four midfield, but it's one that should improve next year.

2018 isn't the be all, end all. If there's no young, elite talent to bring in this year from other clubs, we regroup, front-end the crap out of Brown's contract and reload next year. No shortcuts. Three years of top draft picks. Do it properly.

Yeah Rockliff having his Capt taken off him as he's a complete *wit, was because "people were too lazy" to think for themselves.

Interesting :thumbsu:

I hope we draft him just to keep you in a 12 month supply of fresh misery.

He seems to come across well when he speaks, pretty humble, maybe a little bit quiet. I don't know him much though - what makes him seem immature?

Hiding behind cars is not the act of a strong person.

I think he's a little "out there." Strikes me as a little boy with amazing genetics.

If the amazing happened and he decided to come to us for a year or two, then all good and well, but I reckon the odds are minuscule of this actually happening.

One second you want me on ignore, the next second you're following me around like an ugly girl that got knocked back at the dance.

I own you.

Lol. I just find you funny/interesting, with heaps of footy knowledge.

No dramas.

I asked you to put me on ignore, i'll repeat that request as i don't ignore my fellow North brethren :thumbsu:

Hiding behind cars is not the act of a strong person.

I think he's a little "out there." Strikes me as a little boy with amazing genetics.

If the amazing happened and he decided to come to us for a year or two, then all good and well, but I reckon the odds are minuscule of this actually happening.
I think players dodging media is par for the course. Perhaps he just didnt have his mobile phone on him :) Media beatup.

Cunners, JZ, Dumont, Higgins, Clarke, Mountford, LMac, Simpkin, Jacobs (please), Ahern, #4 pick...

It's not a top four midfield, but it's one that should improve next year.

2018 isn't the be all, end all. If there's no young, elite talent to bring in this year from other clubs, we regroup, front-end the crap out of Brown's contract and reload next year. No shortcuts. Three years of top draft picks. Do it properly.

Exactly this. Might even add Garner for some midfield time and Macmillan on the wing.

Re contracts we could look at McDonald and Preuss for some renegotiated front ended contracts. I'd feel comfortable with Simpkin as well. Nothing crazy just 1/ 2/3 year extensions with proportionally large front ends. We seem to be very good at this , just no one to spend the benefits on (yet).

Time to put on my aggressive reset hat for a moment.

In: Kelly, Hopper, Balic

Kelly, Hopper, Cunnington are our starting mids. Balic starts at half forward.

Move to defense: Wags, Jed. They can work with Marley and our new defensive coach (no, not you green).

Move to midfield: Clarke, Mountford, LMac, Garner (in parts). JMac to wing (infinitely better forward of centre, especially with his kicking for goal outside 50).

Move to forward: Ziebell.

Waite is given another year while Larkey develops. We will need to draft another key forward is McKay moves back permanently. Especially with daw and wood always injured.

Thompson is given another year given EVW and Nielsen have barely stayed fit since they were drafted

Gibson is given the role jared moore had - development coach and VFL captain. Good to have around the club because his work ethic is unmatched. He leads by example with his work rate and it pushed fordham, wagner, hibberd, and wood to work on their endurance more.

Tell Goldstein to snap the **** out of it and get back to his 2015 form or he'll be playing the VFL all year.

Work on getting ahern, jacobs, and wright back and on the field.

2019 premiers.
Amen Brother!

No recycled old bottles from other clubs, just new top end talent, I couldn't agree more.

Passive resets don't work and draft picks are overrated.

Adelaide never did a "proper rebuild", neither did Geelong or Sydney, and unless GWS win the flag one of those teams will be taking home this year's premiership with almost zero top-10 picks.

The Bulldogs never made moves that were conducive to a "proper rebuild". Shaun Higgins and Josh Hill were the only players they moved on that still had good football left in them, and both were situations where they would've left regardless of the team's intent to win. In the interim they brought in experienced players from other clubs (Crameri, Hamling and Biggs) and drafted mature-age players to fill in the gaps. In 2013 the year everyone is begging we replicate so that we can find our Bontempelli, they were led by Ryan Griffen, Matthew Boyd, Adam Cooney, Daniel Cross, Will Minson, Daniel Giansiracusa, Dale Morris and Bob Murphy on their way to 8 wins and a % of 85.15. Had the Bulldogs aggressively rebuilt and done it "the right way" they wouldn't be 2016 premiers.

If you add to your list every year as if you're trying to win the flag, eventually you will. While we should continue not selling our high draft picks, we should be doing everything we can to be as competitive in 2018 as possible. In my opinion, our biggest needs next year are a small-forward who actually kicks goals, an inside mid capable of elite-pressure/clearance work, and a mid with class. Even if we cheap out and go with for example Liam Ryan, Matt Hanson and Harley Balic, that's still a massive step in the right direction. While trying our hardest next year without a massive injection of talent will likely only get us to 13th-11th, the gap between pick 1-3 and 6-9 isn't worth developing a losing culture over.

Passive resets don't work and draft picks are overrated.

Adelaide never did a "proper rebuild", neither did Geelong or Sydney, and unless GWS win the flag one of those teams will be taking home this year's premiership with almost zero top-10 picks.

The Bulldogs never made moves that were conducive to a "proper rebuild". Shaun Higgins and Josh Hill were the only players they moved on that still had good football left in them, and both were situations where they would've left regardless of the teams intent to win. In the interim they brought in experienced players from other clubs (Crameri, Hamling and Biggs) and drafted mature-age players to fill in the gaps. In 2013 the year everyone is begging we replicate so that we can find our Bontempelli, they were led by Ryan Griffen, Matthew Boyd, Adam Cooney, Daniel Cross, Will Minson, Daniel Giansiracusa, Dale Morris and Bob Murphy on their way to 8 wins and a % of 85.15. Had the Bulldogs aggressively rebuilt and done it "the right way" they wouldn't be 2016 premiers.

If you add to your list every year as if you're trying to win the flag, eventually you will. While we should continue not selling our high draft picks, we should be doing everything we can to be as competitive in 2018 as possible. In my opinion, our biggest needs next year are a small-forward who actually kicks goals, an inside mid capable of elite-pressure/clearance work, and a mid with class. Even if we cheap out and go with for example Liam Ryan, Matt Hanson and Harley Balic, that's still a massive step in the right direction. While trying our hardest next year without a massive injection of talent will likely only get us to 13th-11th, the gap between pick 1-3 and 6-9 isn't worth developing a losing culture over.

I agree. No point waiting for success to come to you, you have to go out there and get it. And to be fair, we are putting ourselves amongst it.

Strategy Aggressive reset