Strategy Aggressive reset

Inside the top 8.

Potentually top 4 considering Geelong and Richmond hold spots there currently.

B: Williams, Tarrant, EVW
HB: MacMillan, Thompson/Neilsen, Mountford
C: McDonald, Rockliff, Kelly
HF: Garner, Wood, Higgins
F: Ziebell, Brown, Hrovat
R: Goldstein, Cunnington, Miles
Int: Preuss, Waite, Simpkin, Clarke
E: Neilsen, Wright, Jacobs, Mullet, Ahern, Hibberd, Zurhaar, Turner, DUMONT

The title of the thread is "aggressive reset". You have to give me something mate.

Where's Spitter?

I don't think the current list is strong enough to win a premiership via an 'aggressive reset'. IF we managed to bring in Kelly AND Rockliff AND we got strong development out of the younger players AND we were able to maintain a healthy list for a full year then MAYBE at a stretch we might contend.

But that's too many ifs and maybes. The far more likely outcome is we end up with a watered down version of the above and a few more years of middling finishes. Not happy about a full rebuild, but personally I think that's the reality of where we're at. I'd prefer to go back to the draft, build a really strong core and then use FA/ trading to close specific gaps in the list.

Let's be frank. EVERYONE is cuing up to beat GWS for the next 5 years.

Agreed. And I'm much more interested in winning a flag in year 5 or 6 than I am in making up the numbers in the years between.

Have you got something better?

I put him on the bench to keep the tin foil hats in check.
Lol, I'm not selling anything here...

Obviously you are pretty certain it's a viable path forward, but after being painfully slow in the midfield for quite sometime, another visit to that well is worrisome. Miles hasn't played much footy this season, is it because:

a) he is an average to good footballer
b) slow
c) Hardwick has opted for pace through the midfield
d) all of the above

Leaked images from Arden St....
SO8Dc7.gif

Is he not in your plan for 2018? Given he's contracted, and taking into account his form in the 2nd half of the year, I'd be happy enough with him in the 22 for another 12 months.

No. I don't rate him long term. I'd be very happy for him to make the necessary steps tp prove me wrong.

Agreed. And I'm much more interested in winning a flag in year 5 or 6 than I am in making up the numbers in the years between.

I'm not stating they can't be beaten. Geelong 2008 were beaten & so was scum 99.

I want us right at the head of the queue of the contenders pronto.

. Miles hasn't played much footy this season, is it because:

b) slow
d) all of the above

C

No. I don't rate him long term. I'd be very happy for him to make the necessary steps tp prove me wrong.

I don't rate him long term either. If he wasn't contracted next year he probably wouldn't get a new one. But I do think he has value in 2018 as a bridge to Clarke playing full time mid in 2019.

Possibly, but this depends on who we trade & draft.

The trouble Trent has to overcome is that he is not exceptional at any one particular discipline.

I expect if we swapped him with Matt Hanson, we would get a better result.

Lol, I'm not selling anything here...

Obviously you are pretty certain it's a viable path forward, but after being painfully slow in the midfield for quite sometime, another visit to that well is worrisome. Miles hasn't played much footy this season, is it because:

b) slow
d) all of the above

E. He's been overtaken by better players.

It happens. He was their best option for a time. They now have some better players and he's lost his spot.

I think looking at the giants is just wrong.

Accept the weaknesses and strengths of your gamestyle and list, and adjust accordingly - through trade and draft.

Going back to the draft has failed for so many clubs, Carlton, Melbourne, and you would say also GCS even though it was given so much.

GWS and the GCS were given a whole sides of top 10 picks, with all of the top end. Just trucks of them. Any 5-6 year rebuild through the draft' for us would be be picks 1-6 across a period that would probably send north broke.

There is no build through the draft. Its an absolute lie for anyone but an expansion team.

And don't look at thinks like the NBA when it comes to draft (1 guy is 20% of the team on the floor, 1 guy is 5% for AFL).

I'm starting to think you richmond sipporters wanted dusty to sign with North. Most of you haven't left our board yet. Obsessed
What's a sipporter? I am trying to provide my opinion, I think Brown is a great player, key forwards are rare, keep him on good cash otherwise he could leave.

So you think its ok to come onto another clubs board and tell them they haven't many good players! **** me I've never wished a side bombs out at finals time more than your lot. And by crikey should you do so, I'll have a sweet time over summer between cards reliving said failure.

I cannot begin to understand your collective interest in our club or state of club. If I said similar on your board I'd be carded (again)

You played 14 games against sides outside of the eight! And you still managed to be defeated 7 times. Shut up with the advice and hope and pray the wheels don't fall off, cause if they do. Sure as the sun rises in the morning I'll be there to remind you campaigners.
Ben Brown is a player I like to watch play so I was just giving my opinion on what he is worth to you guys, at the moment he is your best player

how much do you think he is worth now in the open market?

Slightly more than your club could now afford.

North: 700-800
Open Market: Who knows?

You're clogging up my thread with off topic stuff. Take it to the 2017 trade thread.

Brown is one of your few good players so I reckon its not too far fetched to give him 900k plus, he is one of the top forwards in the comp

But, but, but. According to what I thought I saw on your board Brown is our only decent player and he is going to your mob for much less than $900k a year. Wouldn't want us to over-inflate his price would you?

Strategy Aggressive reset