AGM Report

• Thread starter Thread starter HBF

Nah, that was a mate of mine from talkingcarlton, I was the ugly bloke sitting next to him, directly behind you.

Sorry but I didn't see you :( I only noticed him because he walked in straight after me.

Next AGM, come and say hello! HBF and I don't bite :)

Great report HBF and many thanks for posting it. Can i ask if there were any questions to the board as to how they are going to handle the contracts of our young players(eg:Murphy), so that we avoid what happened with Thornton and Russel last year?

No questions were raised at all about the contract negotiations of the younger players.

Nah, that was a mate of mine from talkingcarlton, I was the ugly bloke sitting next to him, directly behind you.

You should have tapped me or BG on the shoulder and said G'day FG. We did mention BF a few times during the night.

Great write-up HBF - much appreciated by all members who can't get there...:thumbsu:
Hopefully the 2007 version will be in December - then I could be a chance to get there...

What was the format for taking questions - were they directly from the floor, or did you have to go off to the side to get to a microphone? The only reason I ask is that I hope it was completely transparent...no screening of questions...

Thanks again - HKB

Great write-up HBF - much appreciated by all members who can't get there...:thumbsu:
Hopefully the 2007 version will be in December - then I could be a chance to get there...

What was the format for taking questions - were they directly from the floor, or did you have to go off to the side to get to a microphone? The only reason I ask is that I hope it was completely transparent...no screening of questions...

Thanks again - HKB

Where I was sitting didn't allow me to see the people asking the questions, but anyone with a question was invited to "go up to the guy with the microphone". There was no screening of questions, and that is why we had people asking about the same things a few times over.

I didn't get there, but my father and two of my brothers did. According to them Malouf was an embarrassment mumbling and stumbling all night and apparently forgot the name of the new sponsor. Mind you they do not like Malouf so any little thing he did wrong would be intensified by them. Anyone there back up their claims about this? Was MM really that bad?

He did forget the name of the new sponsor and he did mumble throughout the evening :thumbsd:

Where I was sitting didn't allow me to see the people asking the questions, but anyone with a question was invited to "go up to the guy with the microphone". There was no screening of questions, and that is why we had people asking about the same things a few times over.

thanks - good to hear.:thumbsu:

Great report HBF

Are you are journalist by any chance?
icon7.gif

Sticks had to stop the questions at some stage, but like I said, I reckon the voting question was asked about 3-4 times in various ways, and the ground re-development was asked a couple of times as well.

What sort of questions would you have asked sticks?

Marketing Questions...Target Groups for Membership drives...Lapsed Memberships what are you doing in this area???
Carlton has 200k supporters accross Aust, Why do we only have 25-30k members...?

Other revenue alternatives, apart from PP stage 3...What are your plans???
Debt consolidation, how can we stop this debt from rising...

How can Mitchel and Pagan work together after the dramas last year?

Just those sorts of questions HBF...

Marketing Questions...Target Groups for Membership drives...Lapsed Memberships what are you doing in this area???
Carlton has 200k supporters accross Aust, Why do we only have 25-30k members...?

Just those sorts of questions HBF...

it would have been good to hear that
particularly on alternate revenue streams... that is going to be the key financial management question for all footy clubs (particularly Melbourne based) going forward.

it would have been good to hear that
particularly on alternate revenue streams... that is going to be the key financial management question for all footy clubs (particularly Melbourne based) going forward.

I agree HKB...especially with so many Melb clubs way ahead of us in those areas already!

MM said that they are always working to get more members into the club, but conceeded that some of our membership packages did not rival other clubs. He said that if ANYONE out there had any ideas, to get in touch with the club.

He said that he wasn't aware of a "blockage" whereby members/supporters are not getting their ideas heard. Anyone who falls into this boat should contact MM directly.

The club is again looking at ways of getting revenue into the club, other than via the normal ways. The is going to be a major focus of the board, as well as stoping the debt from getting any further out of hand.

This question was not asked by anyone during the night.

MM said that they are always working to get more members into the club, but conceeded that some of our membership packages did not rival other clubs. He said that if ANYONE out there had any ideas, to get in touch with the club.

He said that he wasn't aware of a "blockage" whereby members/supporters are not getting their ideas heard. Anyone who falls into this boat should contact MM directly.

The club is again looking at ways of getting revenue into the club, other than via the normal ways. The is going to be a major focus of the board, as well as stoping the debt from getting any further out of hand.

This question was not asked by anyone during the night.

Didnt think that question would be asked..

I think in future a member delegate should be appointed so the real questions are asked...Next year all BF Carlton posters should get a list of questions together and nominate someone (like your good self) to ask these questions!

I would have thought Carlton people/members would have had them ready for months

Happy the changes to the board have been made, lets get on with the real business of winning games...

^^^^ I believe that BG1983 started a thread whereby she would take some questions that BF posters had for the board, but i'm not sure what happened to that.

I'll be going again next year, and am happy to ask questions on posters behalf, but the panel don't like getting 2-3 questions from one person, let alone a dozen.

Maybe we could get one of the mods to sticky a thread later in the with questions that they would to be put to the board, and then we can pick out a few of the more pertinent ones.

^^^^ I believe that BG1983 started a thread whereby she would take some questions that BF posters had for the board, but i'm not sure what happened to that.

I'll be going again next year, and am happy to ask questions on posters behalf, but the panel don't like getting 2-3 questions from one person, let alone a dozen.

Maybe we could get one of the mods to sticky a thread later in the with questions that they would to be put to the board, and then we can pick out a few of the more pertinent ones.

Thanks again for the post HBF...being up on the sunny gold coast can be a pain sometimes... Im down in a week tho and will bust my chops to get to a training session!

That's great that you might be able to show up at PP and support the boys. I think there are a couple of us going to an Intra Club game next Wednesday, if you are in Melbourne at that time.

Would love to see the Intra Club Match but dont think ill be down till the Friday night...
Im down for a week so should get to one session atleast...

I did start a thread and it didn't get a lot of interest.

Perhaps we can get a few questions together now and email Malouf and see if we get a response? I will compose the email if anybody wants to throw some questions into the ring????