reg_lower91

May 7, 2007
Watsonia F.C.
I brought this up vaguely in the other thread but thought it deserved its own. I reckon we should start this guy at CHF next year, at least in the NAB cup. He has the height, maybe not so much the body type but he has a great athleticism about him. This way, if we do start him at CHF, we can rotate him in to the ruck position and he may be able to gain some useful experience.

Thoughts?

As I responded in the other thread, I would think Aisake will ruck off the bench and get a run in the forward pocket. Rookie CHFs suck. It's an incredibly tough position to play, especially with our forward line built around Fev.

I think throwing Aisake there is throwing him to the wolves. He'll have no idea where to go, even if he DOES have the athleticism to get himself there.

I say play in forward pocket and as second ruck. Give him a taste at the top level. Then go away and work on ruckwork and around the ground stuff.

As I responded in the other thread, I would think Aisake will ruck off the bench and get a run in the forward pocket. Rookie CHFs suck. It's an incredibly tough position to play, especially with our forward line built around Fev.

I think throwing Aisake there is throwing him to the wolves. He'll have no idea where to go, even if he DOES have the athleticism to get himself there.

I say play in forward pocket and as second ruck. Give him a taste at the top level. Then go away and work on ruckwork and around the ground stuff.

what's the harm in training him through pre-season as a CHFman? it surely can't hurt to trial him at CHF in the NAB cup...

I brought this up vaguely in the other thread but thought it deserved its own. I reckon we should start this guy at CHF next year, at least in the NAB cup. He has the height, maybe not so much the body type but he has a great athleticism about him. This way, if we do start him at CHF, we can rotate him in to the ruck position and he may be able to gain some useful experience.

Thoughts?
Absolutely ridiculous to think that a kid who had been playing AFL all his life could come in and play CHF in the AFL in his first year let alone an Irishman who is still very much learning the game and the art of reading the play and running to the right spots could play CHF at an AFL club. Wake up to yourself mate. So he has height and athleticism, yep that is all you need to play CHF in the AFL, lets recruit Craig Mottram he is tall and very athletic !!! Absolutely dillusional to suggest that Aisake could play CHF forawrd this year. It is probaly the hardest spot on the park to play and you are earmarking an Irishman yet to play a single game to hold down CHf. Have you ever actually played the game ???? If Aisake is our CHF we are in for a long year !!!!

Jesus christ mate,, calm down. I posted my opinion and a simple no would have done. Don't have to jump all over my back u psycho!

Agreed. It's way too much too ask/expect - particularly at this early stage of his development.

Jesus christ mate,, calm down. I posted my opinion and a simple no would have done. Don't have to jump all over my back u psycho!
Not jumping down your throat mate, just think some of the statements being made are slightly optimisitc. It is easy to read through our list and say Harlett can play CHF or FB, Aisake can play CHF and swing in the ruck. He can play there and he can play there and so on... The reality is except for the midfield area of the ground where we have plenty of options if everyone is up and going, the rest of our list still needs plenty of time and patience to develop and grow together. Chris Judd and a full year from Nick Stevens isn't going to make us worldbeaters overnight. We should expect improvement but not miracles this year... I think some posters of the Carlton variety are setting themselves for a big fall from grace with all the spruiking and big calls that are being made before a football has even been kicked. The wheel has tunred but we still have along way to go !!! It has to be remembered we are coming from a long way back and it will take time for this group to consitently win games of football.. We haven't won many gmaes of late let alone consecutive games and when we have won, they have generally been by slender margins.. So lets just cool our jets a little bit and enjoy the ride, but don't expet too much too soon !!!!

i aint expecting too much mate. i simply stated that we should trial Aisake up CHF to see if he can handle it. I never said he'll go down there and kick ten goals. It's just that he has the hieght and the athcleticism to hold down a firm spot in our forward line, and CHF is where i think we struggle a bit. I simply said that he could go down there as it could teach him a thing or two. I know we have a long way to go, and a couple of players in the draft doesn't change that. And that's why we should be mixing things up a bit and trialing our list in different areas, extending their limits. Just think, if we trial Aisake down there in NAB and he does do well? Then we have a player who can rotate through the CHF position and the ruck as well! That would really help us!

Hey Reg,

Not a bad suggesting as a trial. Don't think the other guy should have stuck it to you for having a suggestion. Personally I have been wondering if he could play CHB with perhaps his brother next to him on a back flank. Plenty of options for CHF and FB with Hartlett and Cloke options for CHF and Jamison and Hartlett for FB with Setanta as a third FB option.

Really looking forward to Aisake's debut. He is an absolutely incredible athlete. Moves like a bigger version of Buddy Franklin. Being groomed as a ruck but his athleticism means he could play virtually anywhere. Saw him play a few Bullants games, where he was actually playing the role of a link-type midfielder, and on the wing. Was almost as though he forgot he was 202cm. :)

can anyone who has seen more than i obviously have tell us what's he like compared to big brother? what's his kicking like in fact his skill level in general?

Kicking is a lot more natural than Setanta. He's a left-footer. Actually has very good distance and accuracy. He's very fast. Agility similar to Buddy Franklin. Seems quiet, but has an aggressive streak when provoked. Think he's been suspended a few times already for striking. :)

Thoughts?
Some of you blokes talk way too much footy, and the ideas on here are getting ridiculous.

Are you serious with that comment. This site should be shut down from Nov to Feb. This is a joke.

Some of you blokes talk way too much footy, and the ideas on here are getting ridiculous.

Are you serious with that comment. This site should be shut down from Nov to Feb. This is a joke.

must be wrong with posting an idea these days,, guys like you seem to be on ur period or something... maybe you just shouldn't come on this site between november andd february? then you wouldn't have to see this "joke".

Kicking is a lot more natural than Setanta. He's a left-footer. Actually has very good distance and accuracy. He's very fast. Agility similar to Buddy Franklin. Seems quiet, but has an aggressive streak when provoked. Think he's been suspended a few times already for striking. :)

so he is like his brother then? :p

must be wrong with posting an idea these days,, guys like you seem to be on ur period or something... maybe you just shouldn't come on this site between november andd february? then you wouldn't have to see this "joke".
Its good for comedy reasons.

There are some smart decent knowledgable people on here, that provide good comments and insight, thats why I come on here. Its just getting harder to sort thru the crap.

Its good for comedy reasons.

There are some smart decent knowledgable people on here, that provide good comments and insight, thats why I come on here. Its just getting harder to sort thru the crap.

how's this crap though? i reckon it's quite a decent idea... and if it does happen then you're the one that's gonna look like the dick head

Really looking forward to Aisake's debut. He is an absolutely incredible athlete. Moves like a bigger version of Buddy Franklin. Being groomed as a ruck but his athleticism means he could play virtually anywhere. Saw him play a few Bullants games, where he was actually playing the role of a link-type midfielder, and on the wing. Was almost as though he forgot he was 202cm. :)
:rolleyes:

In his time in the Bullants reserves he was trialled up forward and down back and was a lot better down back.

I could see Aisake given a go at FB if we draft Kreuzer.

Setanta CHB, Aisake FB.......worth a look IMO

A mate of mine who is a Saints supporter called me one Saturday afternoon while watching a Bullants game on TV.

He was absolutely beside himself over Aisake's game. He told me this guy is going to revolutionise the game when he finally makes it onto the AFL stage -all the attributes usually associated with pacy midfielders in a 202cm body!

Aisake at CHF in '08?