Oct 13, 2001
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Lions
JA quoted in the paper this morning:

"I don't know what it is, there seems to be a mentality that if the crowd is against you, the 50/50's don't go your way.

I'd like you to dig out the count and where they were. Theirs were in front of their goals and ours were out on the boundary.

...they've got to do something about it. That's just my personal thoughts and they're only my thoughts, not of anyone elses at the club"

GOT IT IN ONE AKA!!!

The umpiring yesterday was pathetic.

He's wrong about one thing though - his views were NOT his alone. The 1800 or so that went to the bash at the Southbank Piazza were totally gobsmacked by somme of the amazingly partisan "decisions" made during the game.

The free awarded to Molloy when HE pulled Leppa to the ground was a joke.

I could go on about a few other specific incidences but apart from those, the whole game was badly over-umpired. You would have thought that common sense would have applied in a GRAND FINAL on a wet day .....but NO.... tiggy touchwood frees were the order of the day and the "push in the back" rule reigned supreme, especially if there was any suggestion that it happened in front of the Collingwood goals.

The twits that umpired the AFL GF did a huge disservice to the image of the game. Decision making was obviously slanted Collingwood's way AND they had far too much influence overall.

Surely the AFL could NOT have been happy with the soft, inconsistent and officious whistlebowing that dominated the showpiece of the game.

AKA will probably get fined for "bringing the game into disrepute" or something.

Personally, I reckon the 3 Stooges in white have a lot more to answer for if they are going to get all worried about the reputation of the game!!!

I agree wholeheartedly Luthor.

I posted this on the mainboard.

"If thats the best umpires we have got at Senior level, then we are screwed as a competition. If you can not react well under pressure and make correct decisions, then you are a bad umpire

We need umpires who react well under pressure 1stly.If the players have to, why can't the umpires.

We had an umpire watching the match with us yesterday.We nearly lost the TV, he threw something at it in rage. The decisions against Brisbane in the 1st half were ludicrous, laughable even.
Players taken high in Brisbanes goals, but no free for Brisbane.
They couldn't buy a goal. This particular umpire has watched the replay a few times, and made notes and has already sent something off to the AFL about the low standard of umpiring, when decisions were wrong. They affected the whole GF.

It was looking like a GF was going to be decided by bad umpiring decisions. Then that would have been the worst thing for footy.

As for Rocca's goal, my girlfriend was behind those goals, and it was definately a point. The goal umpire made the correct decision.

The TV commentators did make a point that who ever is playing Collingwood in Round 1 will be very lucky. Quite a few , 3 at least should be done on Video."

The difference between Good Footballers and Great footballers is how they play under pressure in Finals matches. The same can be said for Umpires.

Those 3 especially James should never be allowed to umpire any Finals Footy again.

It's a good thing that goal umpire had the intestinal fortitude to call that decision as he saw it rather than be conned by Rocca and the baying of the crowd behind the goal.

Today,I spoke to a St Kilda supporter who was at the game and was also sitting directly behind that kick. He reckoned it was cleaely a point, missing narrowly (but clearly missing) to the near side.....NO question.

Now I happened to also read in the paper this morning that Rocca was still whinging after the game about being robbed and how it was "in by 2 feet".

If Aka is going to get fined by the AFL for his comments, surely A.Rocca should get the same treatment.

I wouldn't like to bet on it though!

What ever happened to protecting the man going for the ball?

All year I have listened to "expert" commentators explaining why players over the ball or in possession of it, were getting frees(sometimes really soft ones) when collected high by opponnents. As I understood it, the fairness of the bump, hip and shoulder or whatever was totally irrelevant if if got the player anywhere near the head region!!!???

From now on the umpires should be forced to submit to each team before each game,a list of which rules they are going to apply and which ones they are going to forget all about.

It beggars belief that McRae couldn't get a free for that incident while during the same game they were blowing the peas out of their whistles for anything that resembled a push in the back.

Then again the umpiring of that GF just about beggars all belief anyway.:confused:

Yep, Brisbane were hard done by.

You have really got to admire Akermanis. He says it how it is. He isn't scared of saying things the AFL may frown upon, unlike so many other players. He is a great character; great for the game. I can't stand when people start complaining about him but I guess you can't please everyone. He is a champion.

Originally posted by Maverick
The umpiring was woeful....it almost cost us a grand final.

It almost cost YOU a Grand Final?!

You don't give a 50/50 free kick that will decide a GRAND FINAL to a player 15 metres out 25 minutes into the 4th when it is a 3 point game.

Thank god. The other threads I have seen here have not mention the god awful umpiring. It was the worst I have seen in ages and that is saying alot given the current climate.
If I was Leigh I would have had my cheque book out at the press conference, asking how much to make it out for then have a real go at the umpiring.
:mad: :mad:

I can't believe you people.

You have just won a Grand Final and your complaining about the umpiring! Jesus, you can't have it all your own way!

You have been spoiled rotten on success since 1999 and you still have to find something to complaing about!

I really can't believe it.
Isn't basking in back to back flags enough for christ's sake?

Sorry to upset you Nick but we are sick of crappy umpiring, B2B or otherwise.

If that was a 50/50, Fraser's in the third quarter was a 40/60, Lockyer's downfield in the second quarter was a 10/90 and Molloy's in the second quarter was a 0/100.

"Interstate" teams always get a raw deal with umpiring in Melbourne.

Check out the stats for frees for and against for non-Vic sides Playing in Melbourne. They ain't pretty.

Surely the "interstate" teams don't all inexplicably find ways to break the rules more often when they play in Melbourne.?

Take the rose coloured glasses off Nick. At the Gabba, we have been crucified by Umpires in the past.

But on GF. it was supposed to be the best umpires. When in fact they all had a shocker.

On Sportswatch, Dunstall, Roberts, mcAvaney and Wallace, all brought up the bad umpiring. Dunstall even going on to say, he thought it was going to the 1st GF decided by bad umpiring in Colingwood favour.

I'm yet to hear a neutral commentator or fan say "jeez Collingwood were stiffed by the Umps". I think that a fair indicator - listening to what neutral people say.

No one is neutral when it comes to Collingwood. Love 'em (sickening) or hate 'em (hell yeah!)
Lions got the frees in my opinion. That Lynch free wasn't 50-50 in wasn't there at all. Lynch backed into the player and pushed his own player (Brown?) away. There should have been 1 of 2 free kicks in Collingwood's favour just in that contest. No, instead they decide the Grand Final in one decision. And IMO, Rocca got the goal, not that Ch.10 showed any replays!
I am saying this as a hater of Collingwood and I hope that you can see that I would have no reason to lie!

Originally posted by saiak
Lions got the frees in my opinion.

Collingwood did too . . . just at a different stage of the game. Many of which have also been called into question.

That Lynch free wasn't 50-50 in wasn't there at all. Lynch backed into the player and pushed his own player (Brown?) away.

Actually, Wakelin was deliberately impeding Lynch's ability to engage in the marking contest, without having his own eyes on the ball. That just cannot happen.

There should have been 1 of 2 free kicks in Collingwood's favour just in that contest.

Pfft . . . you're on drugs or something?

No, instead they decide the Grand Final in one decision.

Hardly. You're either an absolute idiot, or haven't been watching much football if you think the game was decided purely on that incident.

And IMO, Rocca got the goal, not that Ch.10 showed any replays!

Not according to the latest replay that they have. At any rate, what makes you so sure it was a goal?? Were you hiding in the goal-square at the time?

I don't know about others but I find Jason Akermanis to be a breath of fresh air in a game that appears hell bent on ridding itself of its' characters and its' sense of humour.
I find it refreshing to find a player who is prepared to say what he thinks and not bow to this insipid political correctness the AFL demands of its' people.
Jason, I may not always agree with what you say, but I defend to my death your right to say it.
As for the umpires, they are getting worse. It's high time these people where made accountable for their performances, as are coaches, players, administrators ... and yes, even spectators.
It must be nice to be paid a small fortune to do a job and not have to answer to criticism of any kind.
What I don't understand about umpires is why they just don't pay free kicks, in other words, umpire by the rules. They are looking straight at a player being held by another and it is "play on". The rule book says it's a free, but the umpires say it isn't. Whoever's decision it was to give sole responsibility to umpires to determine interpretation of the rules needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

Originally posted by luthor
JA quoted in the paper this morning:

"I don't know what it is, there seems to be a mentality that if the crowd is against you, the 50/50's don't go your way.

I'd like you to dig out the count and where they were. Theirs were in front of their goals and ours were out on the boundary.

...they've got to do something about it. That's just my personal thoughts and they're only my thoughts, not of anyone elses at the club"

GOT IT IN ONE AKA!!!

The umpiring yesterday was pathetic.

He's wrong about one thing though - his views were NOT his alone. The 1800 or so that went to the bash at the Southbank Piazza were totally gobsmacked by somme of the amazingly partisan "decisions" made during the game.

The free awarded to Molloy when HE pulled Leppa to the ground was a joke.

I could go on about a few other specific incidences but apart from those, the whole game was badly over-umpired. You would have thought that common sense would have applied in a GRAND FINAL on a wet day .....but NO.... tiggy touchwood frees were the order of the day and the "push in the back" rule reigned supreme, especially if there was any suggestion that it happened in front of the Collingwood goals.

The twits that umpired the AFL GF did a huge disservice to the image of the game. Decision making was obviously slanted Collingwood's way AND they had far too much influence overall.

Surely the AFL could NOT have been happy with the soft, inconsistent and officious whistlebowing that dominated the showpiece of the game.

AKA will probably get fined for "bringing the game into disrepute" or something.

Personally, I reckon the 3 Stooges in white have a lot more to answer for if they are going to get all worried about the reputation of the game!!!
Well said

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
It almost cost YOU a Grand Final?!

You don't give a 50/50 free kick that will decide a GRAND FINAL to a player 15 metres out 25 minutes into the 4th when it is a 3 point game.
Was also a free there to Browny in that same incident (if it's the Lynch free you're referring to), so justice was done any which way you look at it.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Was also a free there to Browny in that same incident (if it's the Lynch free you're referring to), so justice was done any which way you look at it.

Not to mention Simon Blacks goal that was disallowed after the umpire who was behind Luke Power at the time, paid a throw and the ball was brought back.

TV replays showed otherwise. Good to see umpires guessing in Grand Finals when their line of site is impaired.

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
But when the Lions play at the 'gabba, they get good umpiring nearly every week.
You might well think that, but these are the free kick stats from the last few years.

Brisbane Lions 1999-2002
All "Home" matches (incl. Finals)
Frees for: 823 (16.1 per game)
Frees against: 902 (17.7)
All "Away" matches (incl. Finals)
Frees for: 765 (15.9)
Frees against: 874 (18.2)

In other words, statistically we don't receive any real umpiring advantage at home. 0.2 frees for per game more at home is hardly significant. And we average almost two frees down at home comparing for and against.

I know it's commonly thought that Brisbane gets a good run at home, but the figures show that as far as frees go it doesn't make a lot of difference if we play at home or away.

I always thought we got a good run with the umps in Melbourne, and up here we are worse off.

Maybe the decisions just look poorer live.

. That Lynch free wasn't 50-50 it wasn't there at all.

Have another look at it - Wakelin wasn't even looking for the ball, he was virtually tackling Lynch.

What about the free against Lynch a little later - the ball spilled to Aka who was heading into an open goal. Had a close look at that one too - Wakelin fell over - end of story. But was awarded a free.

Someone has already mentioned the Power "throw"

Plenty of other things against Brissy too.

On the other side - a finger nail "touched" call against Tarrants "goal". See plenty of those which don't get called. Roccas "5th" - wasn't there, but it must have been close. The White-Tarrant matchup in the last few minutes - now that was a 50-50, only thing in Whites favour is he was at least facing the ball (unlike Wakelin a few mins later).

Basically I thought t was over-umpired. I reckon the umps really believed it was going to erupt so went out with pre-emptive whistles. Sorry - there are only melee's if Essendon play. The first free's were so soft - quite out of character with umpring all season. The after disposal against Scott (from which Coll goaled) was absolutely terrible. Couln't believe that in a game where umps were picking up every (real & imagined) infraction, theyd miss the Licuria-Aka incident - maybe Aka is really out of favour with the maggots??

Cheers

Fatty

Aka....tells it like it is