Coach Alastair Clarkson III - new NMFC senior coach until at least end 2027 - NMFC board approved AC to start 1/11 amid ongoing HFC racism investigation

Waussie

Nov 26, 2017
The question is why the * the said journalist was able to do that, while AFL who has had the report for two weeks have done FA and haven’t even assembled a team of investigators?

The other question is why the said journalist didn’t bother to contact Fagan or Clarko Bd actually conduct a proper piece of investigative journalism?

The said journalist has reported a list of questions was forwarded to both accused and the reply was not forth coming.
Now they may have decided that this was going nowhere so not worth the reply, but have underestimated how far they were prepared to go with this.
Many complaints to the AFL get swept under the table, they'd had this for over a fortnight and nothing appeared to have been done, so the journo has moved it along.
These things happen

Tiberius

Generational Talent
Sep 26, 2004
I'm not really understanding of any of this, but it would seem odd that Jackson is claiming he gave Fagan 24 hours to respond to an email and a phone message. Presumably those 24 hours were immediately following the loss of a preliminary final and season end, followed by having to get from Brisbane to Melbourne for the brownlow which was swapped from Monday to Sunday at relatively short notice. I can imagine Fagan was inundated with emails from journalists and can understand him not replying to an ultimatum at such time. It all depends what the email said I guess.

blackshadow

Hall of Famer
Sep 24, 2007
Team WADA
I'm not really understanding of any of this, but it would seem odd that Jackson is claiming he gave Fagan 24 hours to respond to an email and a phone message. Presumably those 24 hours were immediately following the loss of a preliminary final and season end, followed by having to get from Brisbane to Melbourne for the brownlow which was swapped from Monday to Sunday at relatively short notice. I can imagine Fagan was inundated with emails from journalists and can understand him not replying to an ultimatum at such time. It all depends what the email said I guess.

If the journalist really wanted a response from Fagan he would have called the Brisbane media manager.

Waussie

Nov 26, 2017
Dustin Martin and Daniel Rioli both lived with Damien Hardwick.

It’s really common.
I think the point is they may host these kids, but the kids do still have contact with partners and family, the accusations are they weren't

Hatchy1992

Oct 10, 2010
Dragon Island
North Melbourne AFLW, Dortmund
None of the ABC stories match Jed. I wish that people would do 5 seconds of thinking before dragging him into this.

Jed's partner Nicky was openly 4 months pregnant when he was traded to the Hawks. He didn't quit footy after leaving Hawthorn.

Those two facts rule him out from any of the stories.

Edit:

See the article below that announces the trade and mentions that they were expecting a child. The hawks were well aware.

I wish they would leave our Jed alone.

Le Grille

Feb 14, 2005
It's moments like this that I wish I had the wit of Le Grille so I could come back with a pithy retort ;)

Take some time out SoS, have a minty

Nah... He's good in situations like this. He'll know I'm not taking the piss.

All good man.

I was trying to make the funny.

I did not :$
Ahem
What have I done or not done now

But at anyrate I’d have two word regarding that appointment

Billy Not Really

Apr 7, 2018
Licking windows at the back of the bus.
If you're a busy guy, and anyone who has to correspond with a handful of people per day constantly whether its verbal, email, written or otherwise. 24 hours notice to levy a measured response which by the way should be handled by a media manager and then needed to be discussed at club level or at the very least with an attorney to measure the level of defamation this may cause if true or false....

24 hours to respond is absolutely * all time and when you factor in when it was sent as mentioned above like in Fagan's case, that's even less. And that's not even factoring in hours of sleep in a day.

Grogg

Nov 24, 2012
Womb with a view
Ahem
What have I done or not done now

But at anyrate I’d have two word regarding that appointment
Nuffin GN.

SoS said something about "ït's moments like these", I said "have a minty" to make the funny. You know the old minties ad

People stopped, stared , scratched their heads, said "huh?" then walked away.

The end.

Shinboner1

Aug 13, 2020
Write next year off. Our preseason is f’d. Along with all the optimism .

And even if Clarko gets off, I don’t see him operating the same way and I don’t see him being a success with us.

Either way, it’s a shambles.

I’m out. Hope you all enjoy AFL and what it’s become. North’s given me some good times, few and far between though, but this has been too much.

See ya’ll in the next sport. Take care.
Ice Cube Friday GIF

Devington

Jun 4, 2013
I wouldn't call it a great effort, but it does sound like a genuine one. Meaningless detail to nitpick over IMO.

SpiderBurton22

Mar 17, 2012
Caught in the web.
Not if he didn’t speak to him.

You said the best way to contact Fagan was through the media manager which is 2nd hand. Who's to say he would have passed it on. He tried ringing Fagan directly

I get people are trying to discredit the journo but to try this route is ridiculous, you're better off focusing on the time he gave him to reply which seems very short.

LuvtheKangas

Premium Platinum
Mar 11, 2006
I wouldn't call it a great effort, but it does sound like a genuine one. Meaningless detail to nitpick over IMO.

You said the best way to contact Fagan was through the media manager which is 2nd hand. Who's to say he would have passed it on. He tried ringing Fagan directly

I get people are trying to discredit the journo but to try this route is ridiculous, you're better off focusing on the time he gave him to reply which seems very short.

It's either not very genuine or not very considerate / appropriate of a football journalist to provide a 24 hour window to Fagan that was probably Fagan's most busy, unavailable 24 hours this year.

Devington

Jun 4, 2013
It's either not very genuine or not very considerate / appropriate of a football journalist to provide a 24 hour window to Fagan that was probably Fagan's most busy, unavailable 24 hours this year.
He made two attempts at direct contact. Yeah, 24 hours isn't a long time but I'm assuming it's the standard for this kind of thing. You want to give them a chance to reply without giving them much of an opportunity to ruin the story before it publishes.

It just doesn't seem like a particularly important detail in the story.

berniemccarthy

Aug 15, 2009
Hazey relax - it’s a Pretty good theory but I believe this text has been doing the rounds today as another mate of mine got it too. I haven’t heard anything in relation to this but I can say that Jed Anderson has no issue with Clarko and I reckon most of what is there is pure speculation given that the AFL and Hawthorn didn’t receive the report until a week and a half ago which is well after the timeline for the Sheedy stuff and when we appointed Clarko. Great story but the timeframes give away that its utter rubbish.
These blokes have a big Q on their handles as well ? FFS.

Rod Stroker

Hall of Famer
Oct 9, 2003
Singapore / 30,000 feet
Eagles (NFL), Suns (NBA)
The club needs to come out and announce who our coach will be.
This is on top of already being without
a CEO
Several recruiters
Several assistant coaches

Tiberius

Generational Talent
Sep 26, 2004

How AFL clubs handle media is just one of many things I know little about, but surely no afl coach is going to answer a direct call to their personal phone from a journalist. That would be a slippery slope to 500 calls a day. There has to be protocols in place to contact a coach through the club and any journalist must know this. I expect. But of course I wouldn't actually know. Fagan might have a 24 hr 1800 number for 24 hour journalist access. It's not like they'd abuse it.

speedy

Sep 5, 2001
Melbourne, VIC
Or maybe the person is too emotionally invested in the NMFC? I’ve been a member since 1993. These last few days have been emotionally draining for me and questioning my involvement.

It’s not like it’s just one bump in the road. For North supporters its a continual battle with one obstacle after the other. Threat of relocation, lousy fixtures, ridicule, etc, etc. Even in our best era, we had do deal with a merger attempt.

I’ve been thinking, it’s just a f***ing game, it shouldn’t be this hard. Why should I let it emotionally effect the rest of my life? You can call me weak or what ever, but I wouldn’t begrudge anyone walking away from this.

Life should be fun for the most part. Following a football team should be fun.

LuvtheKangas

Premium Platinum
Mar 11, 2006
He made two attempts at direct contact. Yeah, 24 hours isn't a long time but I'm assuming it's the standard for this kind of thing. You want to give them a chance to reply without giving them much of an opportunity to ruin the story before it publishes.

It just doesn't seem like a particularly important detail in the story.

Well, it's important given the emphasis put on the assertion that Fagan was given a right to respond. In practical terms, he was simply unable to do, so it's a cheap assertion from the journo, IMO.