News Alberton Oval Redevelopment

Stuck my head over one of the deck's panels a couple of Sundays ago, and saw the 13m collage, and some parts were finished, ie bar areas, but other areas still had fair bit of work to do to finish it off.

Most people flick through family photo albums, but Erin Phillips stood before a vast wall of childhood memories to turn back the clock.

After a homecoming like no other at the ground where she grew up, Phillips toured The Precinct at Alberton where some of Port Adelaide – and her family’s – most treasured moments are captured in a 13-metre-wide collage. Hours before, Phillips made history of her own by announcing she would join Port Adelaide as the club’s inaugural AFLW player.

Flanked by her five-year-old son Blake, the league’s most decorated champion walked the length of the wall finding family members and memories amongst the faces of all-time greats.

"It’s really special," she said pointing to an image of her father Greg Phillips leading Port Adelaide on a victory lap around the old Football Park after snaring the 1992 SANFL Premiership against Glenelg. "Obviously seeing the team photos is really cool. I was there that day in ’92. "There are so many good memories here. We used to walk to games as we didn’t live too far away from West Lakes."

The venue was designed around a giant staircase that takes visitors from the downstairs Port Store and interactive museum – designed to emulate a locker-room – to the upper-level bar, kitchen, and event spaces.

A glass keg room, wine closet, meat-smoker, central fire, giant television screens, and huge trophy cabinet are among other features.

*Bookings for The Precinct at Alberton are now being taken. For all private event enquiries please email functions@pafc.com.au

220427-Mural-with-Erin-Phillips-5-.jpg

220427-Mural-with-Erin-Phillips-2-1-.jpg
Teal looks over-represented.

Black and white will be heavily represented down stairs where all the trophies will be stacked up.

Was told that the club is hoping for The Port Club / Precinct to open 2nd week of June. I was also told the Club 1870 event there should be last week of May or 1st week of June before any official opening.

2nd week of June means people can come and have a look during the next couple of Magpies home game after any official opening if it doesn't get delayed again. Magpies play Centrals at Elizabeth on 1th June, and Monday is the Queen's Birthday holiday. SANFL released Rds 11-15 schedule the other day.

ROUND 11
Sunday 19 June

Port Adelaide v Norwood | Alberton Oval | 1:10pm

ROUND 12
Saturday 25 June

Port Adelaide v Glenelg | Alberton Oval | 2:10pm

I got my email invite to the first Club 1870 event this year last night. I was expecting it to be at the precinct but it was for a pre game function at AO before the Sydney game on 18th June. Usually have an event before a Maggies game not a Power game and I was a bit surprised.

So I reckon the Precinct has been delayed again as I was told a few weeks ago, by someone who volunteers for the club all year round and is a club 1870 member that we would have the event at end of May or first week of June.

The email did say;
A Night at the Precinct
We will host our second Club 1870 event at the brand-new Precinct at Alberton. It is very close to completion, we're excited for you to see it!

Date to be confirmed

Got an email invite from the Club last Monday for a function on the 23rd June (6pm to 8pm) and a chance to view the new "Precinct" facilities.
Canapes and local bevo's - not sure if we have to pay for the drinks or not?

Thought it may be good to go and have a nose around - then read a bit further down and it stated that it would be "hosted by David Koch"!!!

Two hours of Kochie blabbering on? :sadv1:

Still thinking it through, but I may pass on this glorious opportunity.

Of course he may tell us all how wonderful our coach is, and that we are in the process of securing his unique talents for another extension shortly :sick:
which may cause some projectile vomiting amongst the guests o_O

Got an email invite from the Club last Monday for a function on the 23rd June (6pm to 8pm) and a chance to view the new "Precinct" facilities.

Thought it may be good to go and have a nose around - then read a bit further down and it stated that it would be "hosted by David Koch"!!!

Of course he may tell us all how wonderful our coach is, and that we are in the process of securing his unique talents for another extension shortly :sick:
Please don't miss an opportunity to go and hive Koch an earful

Go and get on the grog, a bit of Dutch courage and go and confront him why he is only interested in a pass mark stable season and not a very high distinction season of winning a flag.

Golden opportunity to obnoxiously laugh at everything he says.

Take a #hinkleyout sign

Just went to book a spot for saturday. Minimum of 4 people and $75 a head to be on the deck for the SANFL game... anyone know if thats just entry or?

A comment in the assistant coaches thread that a host of ex-Port players were given special guided tours of the new development, reminded me I was going to post something in here.

After the AFLW game vs the Bulldogs I met up with my brothers good mate in the bar upstairs, who has been a long time sponsor of the Magpies.

My brother's mate said his mate who is an on site project manager/foreman, got him to dig out the new interchange box areas and his mate explained what they have done on the Williams stand. Some of the things he told me;

• The girls have taken over the Magpies players change rooms.
  • The Magpies players area is over on the eastern side with the Power players.
  • The gym area has gone and that is players meeting area and admin rooms for the W program footy ops people.
  • The oppo change rooms have been upgraded to bring them into line with AFL's certificate 3 level for the oppo W players.
  • The SANFL oppo players will use the rooms. No more cold showers for them, thanks to the AFL.
  • Part of the Player facility will be torn down starting mid October.
  • Quiet a few people will be working from one long portable hut, not lots of individual ATCO huts like 1996-98.

They completely messed up the redevelopment of the boxes. The design means you can longer stand behind them on the wing and get a decent view of the ground. Has made a popular viewing spot unusable. Will need to be fixed before the Maggie’s games start again…

Richo in his CEO message addressed the new pub and the big shed. Someone asked in another thread if we members can get a tour like some past players got, and there is a link below where you can register to get a tour.

Looks like MG will get naming rights not GFG as I suggested yesterday. Lockhart Road

THE PRECINCT AT ALBERTON

‘The Precinct at Alberton’ was packed all day during our first AFLW home game
, with our members and supporters enjoying their new facilities, particularly the expansive deck.

We’ve been open for a couple of months now and learning to operate at its best, but it’s certainly living up to our expectations, as we welcome more of our people back to their club.

In just the first six weeks, we exceeded total trade in the bar and kitchen that we did over a whole 12 months in the old facilities pre-COVID!

ALBERTON OVAL RE-DEVELOPMENT

The new facilities within the Fos Williams Family Stand were fully operational for our first AFLW game. The heritage listed grandstand, originally built in 1903, has been carefully renovated in consultation with the City of Port Adelaide Enfield Council and its heritage advisor to ensure the unique heritage aspects are retained whilst providing elite player, coaching and media facilities.

It’s been an incredible transformation and something we are very proud of, turning Alberton into one of the premier AFLW match day venues in the country. The feedback from the AFL and the Western Bulldogs following Round 2 certainly enhanced this view.

We haven’t had a chance to open the new facilities to our members, but we will be planning some guided tours over the next month when training nights allow. You can register your interest here.

With the western side of the oval now complete, our focus shifts to the east and the re-development of the Allan Scott HQ and MG High Performance Centre, including the expanded training field.

Demolition and construction will commence in October, with Sarah Construction
awarded this project through a competitive tender process. The team at Sarah Construction have done a wonderful job with the Williams Stand and we look forward to working with them on this exciting next stage.

Importantly, we are working to an 11–12-month construction timeline, so the disruption to football is limited to only one season. Importantly, the new facilities in the Williams Stand will be football’s home from November as we all vacate the ASHQ building.

We’re hoping the admin and new coaching and football facilities will be complete by April 2023. By the time the next AFLW season starts, this stage of the re-development should be complete, and we will finally see our exciting vision for the Alberton Oval precinct brought to life.

The doing more than 12 months trade in 6 weeks piqued my interest from that email. That's some serious additional revenue.
Richo in his CEO message addressed the new pub and the big shed. Someone asked in another thread if we members can get a tour like some past players got, and there is a link below where you can register to get a tour.

Looks like MG will get naming rights not GFG as I suggested yesterday. Lockhart Road

THE PRECINCT AT ALBERTON

‘The Precinct at Alberton’ was packed all day during our first AFLW home game
, with our members and supporters enjoying their new facilities, particularly the expansive deck.

We’ve been open for a couple of months now and learning to operate at its best, but it’s certainly living up to our expectations, as we welcome more of our people back to their club.

In just the first six weeks, we exceeded total trade in the bar and kitchen that we did over a whole 12 months in the old facilities pre-COVID!

ALBERTON OVAL RE-DEVELOPMENT

The new facilities within the Fos Williams Family Stand were fully operational for our first AFLW game. The heritage listed grandstand, originally built in 1903, has been carefully renovated in consultation with the City of Port Adelaide Enfield Council and its heritage advisor to ensure the unique heritage aspects are retained whilst providing elite player, coaching and media facilities.

It’s been an incredible transformation and something we are very proud of, turning Alberton into one of the premier AFLW match day venues in the country. The feedback from the AFL and the Western Bulldogs following Round 2 certainly enhanced this view.

We haven’t had a chance to open the new facilities to our members, but we will be planning some guided tours over the next month when training nights allow. You can register your interest here.

With the western side of the oval now complete, our focus shifts to the east and the re-development of the Allan Scott HQ and MG High Performance Centre, including the expanded training field.

Demolition and construction will commence in October, with Sarah Construction
awarded this project through a competitive tender process. The team at Sarah Construction have done a wonderful job with the Williams Stand and we look forward to working with them on this exciting next stage.

Importantly, we are working to an 11–12-month construction timeline, so the disruption to football is limited to only one season. Importantly, the new facilities in the Williams Stand will be football’s home from November as we all vacate the ASHQ building.

We’re hoping the admin and new coaching and football facilities will be complete by April 2023. By the time the next AFLW season starts, this stage of the re-development should be complete, and we will finally see our exciting vision for the Alberton Oval precinct brought to life.

They completely messed up the redevelopment of the boxes. The design means you can longer stand behind them on the wing and get a decent view of the ground. Has made a popular viewing spot unusable. Will need to be fixed before the Maggie’s games start again…
Isn't this also the case at Adelaide Oval? Modern boxes are just huge and get massively in the way.

News Alberton Oval Redevelopment