All Australian thread 2014

Didnt give a team just the key backs Talia, Rance, Mackenzie, Hooker, H Taylor and Lonergan. They wanted 3 of the 6 and Healy went for the first three, Sheahan the first three, and Dunstal had a bob each way and said the top 4.
So the consensus is Talia, Rance, E-Mac and Hooker. What do you reckon? (Know you'll say Rance though)

Robbo's team
B: Michael Hibberd (Ess) Alex Rance (Rich) Cale Hooker (Ess)

HB: Nick Malceski (Syd) Daniel Talia (Adel) Brodie Smith (Adel)

C: Tom Rockliff (Bris) Josh Kennedy (Syd) Nathan Fyfe (Frem)

HF: Brent Harvey (NM) Lance Franklin (Syd) Robbie Gray (PA)

F: Luke Breust (Haw) Jarryd Roughead (Haw) Jack Gunston (Haw)

Foll: Sam Jacobs (Adel) Joel Selwood (C, Geel) Gary Ablett (GC)

Inter: Luke Parker (Syd), Dyson Heppell (Ess), Jordan Lewis (Haw), Jarrad McVeigh (VC, Syd)

lol Robbo lay off the piss mate. Hibberd has absolutely no chance. With injury and a dip in form either side of it he will be lucky to make the squad. Also when is the last time the vice captain was named on the bench? :confused: McVeigh has put up numbers, but hasn't been as good as last year when he made the side. No for me. And Selwood as a starting follower and named captain. No no no. Also no Rance, but that's been done to death.

It could have been a lot worse, not too bad for Robbo

Dustin Martin is surely a chance for a bench spot?

Reckon he was on track for a bench spot until five weeks ago. Has featured on the news highlights lately but his four-quarter form has dropped off, possibly due to a niggle.

Rance has been the talk of the town lately which might be a pointer to him being selected. His high numbers (for a KPD) will help, as the selectors give preference to playmakers, but while his form has been terrific he'd be slightly fortunate to get in after missing five games. Can't think of anyone else I'd push up except Cotchin for the squad of 40 (but not the 22).

Robbo's team
B: Michael Hibberd (Ess) Alex Rance (Rich) Cale Hooker (Ess)

HB: Nick Malceski (Syd) Daniel Talia (Adel) Brodie Smith (Adel)

C: Tom Rockliff (Bris) Josh Kennedy (Syd) Nathan Fyfe (Frem)

HF: Brent Harvey (NM) Lance Franklin (Syd) Robbie Gray (PA)

F: Luke Breust (Haw) Jarryd Roughead (Haw) Jack Gunston (Haw)

Foll: Sam Jacobs (Adel) Joel Selwood (C, Geel) Gary Ablett (GC)

Inter: Luke Parker (Syd), Dyson Heppell (Ess), Jordan Lewis (Haw), Jarrad McVeigh (VC, Syd)
That full forward line doesn't look half bad

Reckon he was on track for a bench spot until five weeks ago. Has featured on the news highlights lately but his four-quarter form has dropped off, possibly due to a niggle.

Rance has been the talk of the town lately which might be a pointer to him being selected. His high numbers (for a KPD) will help, as the selectors give preference to playmakers, but while his form has been terrific he'd be slightly fortunate to get in after missing five games. Can't think of anyone else I'd push up except Cotchin for the squad of 40 (but not the 22). There's half a chance Richmond could make consecutive finals series without an AA rep.
Yep. As much as I love Dusty, he's had a niggle since the second GWS game which has seen him play predominately forward, and as a result hasn't been putting up midfield type numbers. Up until then though I reckon he was in.

From R1 - R18: Averaging 26.8 disposals + 21 goals. Probably looking at a bench spot or sneak onto a HFF.

R19 (second GWS game) - R23: Averaging 19 disposals + 6 goals.

Overall: 25.2 disposals + 27 goals.

I haven't crunched any of his competitors numbers so not sure how he stacks up.

Since 1991

missed 0 games games 257 (52%)
missed 1 game 104 (21%)
missed 2 games 59 (12%)
missed 3 games 35 (7%)
missed 4 games 16 (3%)
missed 5 games 18 (4%)
missed 6 games 5 (1%)
missed 7 games 2 (0.4%)

Edit: original list adjusted for 20-game season in 1993

KPD's in the AFLCA award, with games polled/games played

44 Taylor (9/21)
36 Rance (7/17)
30 Thompson (5/21)
29 May (6/19)
26 Gibson (5/14)
22 Mackenzie (7/22)
14 Talia (7/22)
14 Hooker (4/22)

Well BF must be reading it upside down, because the bottom three are the most popular picks, in that order.

yes but i think one of the things that people think put alex rance up there is the fact that he makes up for his not always the greatest disposal via intercept marking, which for a fullback in an AA squad should be just as irrelevant as the number of goals a fullback kicks
Really? I thought that should be the only criteria, yet another reason Mackenzie should be AA, Kicked 2 for the year, couple epic bombs from outside 50, Talia, Hooker and Rance didn't even snag one.

yes but i think one of the things that people think put alex rance up there is the fact that he makes up for his not always the greatest disposal via intercept marking, which for a fullback in an AA squad should be just as irrelvant as the number of goals a fullback kicks
To say that intercept marking is irrelevant for key defenders is just ridiculous.

As far as KPF go I think I'd have:-
HF: xx Franklin XX
FF: Rough Hawkins XX
Rather than Rough and Franklin across the FF and N Riewoldt at CHF. Possibly harsh on Nick but didn't appear to me to finish the season as strongly as he started (but I'll readily admit also I didn't catch as much of the Saints as other teams).
Tough argument to say that Hawkins is a better choice than Riewoldt:
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...id1=1759&tid2=16&pid2=63&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S
Tough to pick...but no tougher than the KPD's this yr.
Numbers reflect their true roles...Hawkins SHOULD hit the scoreboard much more than Riewoldt, and Hawkins SHOULD take a heap more marks inside 50. One has played closer to goal and the other as a classical CHF mobile marking target. One has been getting good service and the other butchered. First third of the season when saints surprised and won 50/50 of their games Riewoldt/Ablett/Pendlebury were the first 3 obvious picks before you even thought about anyone else...so we can only imagine the season he would have had at a top 4 club.

Old schoolers see the importance of the marking target and will never see the point playing 2 FF's. But time marches on and maybe CHF isnt the premier AA slot anymore and picked as the best pure CHF. Still the most difficult position on the field but is more often seen as interchangeable with stay home FF's when it comes to AA. Not every time such as last yr...but if a guy is 10 behind in the Coleman they tend to favour that as a benchmark for AA at the expense of the position. Same as how inside or clearance mids can get picked on a wing or flank...they begin by picking 3 groups of guys in order based on the most important criteria (eg goals kicked for forwards) and THEN look at the lesser numbers and other factors to make up the 3 categories.

So my take on it is that IFF you already have say Franklin and Roughead to play a game of footy tomorrow...why on earth would any coach/selector pick a stay home type FF like Hawkins as well ? You'd lick ya chops and pick the mobile CHF in a heartbeat. No brainer. The CHF can even play as a KPD if u cop injuries. Also, if you already have one KPF and have a choice of Roughead and Hawkins...why wouldnt you choose the flexibility of Roughead who can help in the ruck if needed as well as doing Hawkins' role normally. Means you can play one less Ruckman to get more run off the bench. Another no brainer for me at least.

AA selection doesnt necessarily work off picking a team to play a game for you...it is far more clinical. With Richardson now on the selection panel you would imagine he's smart enough to know half a goal a game is a nothing differential between a CHF/FF...he'd prefer the genuine and flexible CHF like most of us and coaches as well...but overall i reckon they'll get around it and compromise by picking Franklin at CHF, then Hawkins/Roughead in the FF line with Breust. That is an easier compromise to make so that they can hand 3rd place mob more than perhaps none to 1 All Aust. So i'd agree with both guys up there ^^ but yes its the wrong choice in reality and mean it is weaker as a TEAM. Shows how bloody hard it is to get picked AA if your mob isnt winning games.

I'll predict this will be the AA fwd line, but yeah in reality (for a game) Riewoldt would get picked at CHF.

GRAY.......FRANKLIN...??? (harvey/parker/beams/martin etc)
BREUST...HAWKINS...ROUGHEAD

Ok I will hold you too that, it's pretty likely pendles,Selwood,hodge and danger have been lock since they committed to international rules so you will just be losing your money

Not at all actually. The IR team comes from ANY All-Australian, not just 2014. You've mentioned this a couple of times now as a selection criteria I think but when talking about Dangerfield (2012-13) or Pendlebury/Selwood/Hodge (3+) it's as irrelevant as what kind of boots they wear.

B: Cale Hooker - Eric Mackenzie - Nick Smith
HB: Brodie Smith - Daniel Talia - Nick Malceski
C: Dyson Heppell - Josh P. Kennedy - Jordan Lewis
HF: Robbie Gray - Nick Riewoldt - Dayne Beams
F: Luke Breust - Lance Franklin - Jarryd Roughead
R: Aaron Sandilands - Nat Fyfe - Joel Selwood
I/C: Luke Parker - Tom Rockliff - Gary Ablett - Brent Harvey

If Ballantyne had avoided getting suspended he'd probably be my next in along with Pendlebury, Jacobs and Rance.

I recon you have nailed it. Maybe some mids change spots but it won't vary much from what you have. :thumbsu:

Not at all actually. The IR team comes from ANY All-Australian, not just 2014. You've mentioned this a couple of times now as a selection criteria I think but when talking about Dangerfield (2012-13) or Pendlebury/Selwood/Hodge (3+) it's as irrelevant as what kind of boots they wear.

Ok then