All Australians 2001

Danny Chook Fan Club

Feb 8, 2001
This is a bloody hard job, with so many quality midfielders and not quite so many good CHBs and CHFs.

Anyway, my picks with my justifications:

Backs: Ben Hart, Jonathan Hay, Simon Beaumont:
Hart is a model of consistency in the backline, hardly ever beaten. Hay beats out Fletcher in my view. He's played 13 games and by my estimation has given up 13 goals. And kicked six himself. Beaumont has had a fine season for the Blues, and can play back.

Half Backs: Darren Jarman, Jade Rawlings, Jason Johnson:
Jarman ever so barely over Joel Smith, both are having fantastic seasons. Rawlings gets the nod over Darren Gaspar for giving a bit more going the other way. Johnson has been Essendon's best player this season, and as such should be the first player picked. He's shoved onto a "best-fit" HBF because he's got excellent defensive skills as well as brilliant ball winning ability.

Centres: Simon Black, Brett Ratten, Nick Stevens:
There's so many quality midfielders going around, but these three are amongst the very best. Black and Ratten are the best two inside midfielders going around at the moment, and Stevens starred during Port's great early run.

Half Forwards: Joel Bowden, Brad Ottens, James Hird:
Bowden get this spot ahead of the three highly rated midfielders on the bench because he actually plays here. Ottens is the best of a poor bunch of centre half forwards - who else is there? John Barker perhaps? Hird picks himself.

Forwards: Chris Tarrant, Matthew Lloyd, Andrew McLeod:
Tarrant is second on the goal kicking and has been consistently amongst the Collingwood best. Lloyd is a no-brainer (oh, be nice!), and McLeod just beats out Gavin Wanganeen. Perhaps out of position, but too good to leave out.

Ruck: Matthew Primus, Michael Voss, Ben Cousins:
Primus was the driving force behind the early Power surge (note my brilliant sub-editorial skills there), and has dominated more games from his position than any other player in the league. Voss goes in ahead of Nathan Buckley on the score of consistency, and Cousins is simply flying.

Interchange: Peter Everitt, Nathan Buckley, Scott Camporeale, Scott West:
Everitt has been the second best ruckman, just ahead of an injured Steven King. Buckley, Camporeale and West have been very good, just below the midfielders selected on the ground.

Apologies to quality players like Shane O'Bree, Brent Harvey, David King, Josh Francou, Wayne Campbell, Chris Grant and Nathan Brown. It's a tough job this year.

Good to see a non Saints supporter recognise how good the Spider has been this year. He heas run himself into the ground in many games this year, and his tapwork is excellent. It is very easy to forget what a good footballer he is, when he has the public facade of a fool and a hooligan

Nice to see the recognition of Cousins. He certainly deserves to be in there. Buckley i think is marginal, hasnt played enough games and only the one against Adelaide was a real standout game. But there are plenty of games left so he could still get there, but knowing the selectors they already have Buckley Hird Lloyd and Carey in.

And when Cousins doesnt make it ill ask why and they'll say "Who's Cousin's"

Stupid selectors.

Originally posted by jod23
Buckley i think is marginal, hasnt played enough games and only the one against Adelaide was a real standout game.

He has missed a grand total of 2 games, while carrying an ankle injury all year! He has been best on ground for a number of games including Fremantle (lazy 46 possies), Carlton (although award given to Porter), Port Adelaide and Adelaide. His contributions against the Bulldogs, Richmond, Kangaroos, St Kilda and Geelong were still well above average. He remains the premier midfielder in the league. Even in a "bad" game like against Hawthorn, he still got 22 or so posessions and kicked four points which he could easily converted. Marginal???

Unfortunately, Bucks will be the All-Australian vice-captain again, despite being the most consistent footballer of the last decade. Hird has had a good year and as we all know, there isn't nearly enough sunshine to shove up his arse.

Cousins will make the team easily Jod, but if I had to pick my midfielders it would be Buckley (Centre) with Ratten and Voss following. Primus is a given for the ruck!

Pretty good side....I think there was a thread on this 3 or 4 weeks ago and my team was fairly different to that, but all the players listed by DCFC deserve to be there.

The only change I would definitely make is Akermanis for Hart, I thnk he's had a better season. And maybe Nathan Brown at the expense of Camporeale. But I agree on the inlclusions of Everitt and Cousins.

Other players who may go close include O'Bree, Joel Smith, Yze, Hardwick and Shannon Grant.

Thats not too bad of an All Australia squad Danny Chook Fan Club.
Anyone knows that picking the All Australian side is a hard Job.
Its good to see you get some left footers in that side to, I counted about 6 left footers.
Your interchange bench in my opinion are players that play in different posisions which is good.
West usually plays in the center. Buckley plays at HF and sometimes HB, Everitt plays in the Ruck and Camporeale plays as Rover or on the wing. I would probably rate this side 8/10.
Not a bad effort at all mate!
WELL DONE! Cheers...

Originally posted by FIGJAM

... He remains the premier midfielder in the league.

Not quite!

Try "... He remains one of the premier midfielders in the league behind Michael Voss.

Buckley has been more reliable than Bowden, so I would reverse their positions.

I would also include Gaspar at the expense of Rawlings based on reliability.

Voss should be Captain.

Originally posted by TigerTank
Not quite!

Try "... He remains one of the premier midfielders in the league behind Michael Voss. Voss should be Captain.

B U L L S H I T!!!!!

On stats alone:

Buckley - 12 Games, 229 Kicks, 62 Marks, 88 Handballs, 9 Goals

Voss - 14 Games, 205 Kicks, 51 Marks, 130 Handballs, 13 Goals

Average:

Buckley - 19 Kicks, 5.2 Marks, 7.33 Handballs = Total of 26.42 possessions per game.

Voss - 14.6 Kicks, 3.6 Marks, 9.3 Handballs = Total of 23.93 posessions per game.

Now if you are trying to tell me TT, that two of Voss' handballs to passing players, are in any way even remotely comparable to 4 or 5 precision kicks to targets from the best kick in the AFL, then you are a complete and utter idiot! In fact all of Nathan Buckley's effective posessions are more constructive than Voss'.

And don't come back at me trying to justify your nonsence by saying that Voss does more one-percenters or goes in harder into packs, because that will just confirm the fact that you haven't seen him play! I will just redirect you to the Carlton/Collingwood game, which exhibits Buckley's unparalleled ferociousness at the football.

Why is it that Nathan Buckley has to do 20% more than anyone else in the competition, to receive the same recognition?

My only dispute with your team DCFC is that Gaspar has only improved from last year and has not lowered his colours whatsoever to any legitimate :D forward this year!

Originally posted by CJH
My only dispute with your team DCFC is that Gaspar has only improved from last year and has not lowered his colours whatsoever to any legitimate :D forward this year!
Actually, The Great One played forward for his first three years on our list, so he is a legitimate forward too, so there :p

On that note, didn't you think that was a silly match-up by the Richmond coaching staff? Kellaway was the obvious choice from the time DC went forward.

B U L L S H I T!!!!!

On stats alone:

Average:

Buckley - Total of 26.42 possessions per game.

Voss - Total of 23.93 posessions per game.

Now if you are trying to tell me TT, that two of Voss' handballs to passing players, are in any way even remotely comparable to 4 or 5 precision kicks to targets from the best kick in the AFL, then you are a complete and utter idiot! In fact all of Nathan Buckley's effective posessions are more constructive than Voss'.

And don't come back at me trying to justify your nonsence by saying that Voss does more one-percenters or goes in harder into packs, because that will just confirm the fact that you haven't seen him play! I will just redirect you to the Carlton/Collingwood game, which exhibits Buckley's unparalleled ferociousness at the football.

Good to see you've still got those black & white goggles on, FIGJAM. Voss is a more complete player than Buckley. Voss creates from handball. Buckley doesn't. Ever seen Buckley go in, get the ball, get swung around in a tackle, and still find an open team-mate with precision? Occasionally, but not CONSISTENTLY like Voss.
Best kick in the AFL? Thats why he's kicked 9.14 to Voss 13.7. Sure, Buckley can kick 55m to targets, but he misses targets (including goals) 45m and under more than expected. Voss, on either side, can be relied upon to hit a target up to about 45m. Granted, however, Buckley has the edge from 50m onwards. (Except set shots at the Gabba!). Unparalleled ferociousness? Whatever. I suppose thats why Voss has 68 Hard Ball gets to Buckley 43. Plus Voss has Simon Black to compete with as well, who is his equal in this area. TigerTank also said he should be captain. Haven't seen Vossy go for a leadership course because he can't handle his team-mates properly!
Buckley may be a supreme player, but so is Voss.

I said Buckley was marginal and i heard something about him being injured for this weeks game to so that could be 3 games he has missed. What if he misses another couple down the stretch, thats a lot of footy to miss out on. But Buckley is a class player and if he plays enough games should be a certainty for AA. Captain should be Hird though, the guy is a freak, i saw him kick a checkside 40 out with concussion!! He is the reigning Premiership captain so there should be no doubt.

B U L L S H I T!!!!!

Why is it that Nathan Buckley has to do 20% more than anyone else in the competition, to receive the same recognition?

He doesn't.

Can't you just understand that when we watch Voss we think to ourselves "heck, why can't he play for us!" just a little more than we do when watching Bucks?

For Hawk fans, we have seen Chick nullify Buck's effectiveness, whereas Voss absolutely dominated.

Stop being so friggin touchy.

You disappoint me greatly FIGJAM.

Of all the Collingwood supporters on Bigfooty, I always considered you the smart one* - the one who actually knew something about football.

Unfortunately you have proved yourself as silly and myopic as the rest.

If counting stats is your model on who is the best footballer in the league then obviously you regard Wayne Campbell as the fourth best player in the competition - and better the Buckley.

Michael Voss is the most complete footballer in the game. Let me spell it out for you.

Buckley may get a lot of possessions - but so does Voss.

Buckley may be a beautiful long kick - but so is Voss.

However:

Voss is an accurate short kick - Buckley isn't.

Voss is (with Ratten) the best handballer in the league - Buckley isn't even in the picture.

Voss is just about the hardest ball player in the competition.

Voss makes an average team into a consistent finalist. Where are Collingwood's finals over the past 5 years?

So far, we have Richmond, Hawthorn and Brisbane supporters spruiking Voss, but only one-eyed Pies spruiking Buckley.

Buckley is good - Voss is better.

The defence rests!

* A few others like Nick and Joel might also have claims.

Well said TT, after seeing Voss destroy us twice this year (once in Ansett Cup, once in Brisbane) I think he is pretty close to the best player in the competition.

The thing that impresses me so much about Voss is the way he can read the ball off a pack everytime and he is impossible to tackle. Plus I've seen Buckley tagged out of a game by both Chick and Richard Vandenburg, something I've yet to see happen to Voss.

Buckley vs Voss

How did an All Australian team discussion turn into another Collingwood bagging session? You guys need to learn to hack the fact Buckley is on par with Hird as the comps #1 player.
Voss is an unbelievable player, but does not have the consistency of Buckley.
They are also slightly different players, Voss does more in and under work Bucks is more a ball carrier
As for AA Team, O'Bree and Fraser have been great but Bucks will be our lone player in the team I think, should be VC .

I think you are been a bit harsh on Shane O'Bree there, until 2 weeks ago I hadn't seen him play a bad match all season. If he manages to get back to his early season form for the rest of the year he would have to be an outside chance for AA. The problem is the depth of quality midfielders he would have to displace to get a spot.

Lockyer24,

It is NOT a Collingwood bagging session. Don't be ridiculous. Just because I think that Michael Voss is the best player in league - better than Buckley, Hird, Richardson, Koutoufides, Primus, Colbert - is that anti-Essendon, anti-Richmond, anti-Carlton or whoever as well? Of course it isn't.

What you fail to understand is that Voss is both a ball carrier (as you describe it) AND an in-and-under player. He is the complete footballer. Voss is Buckley and Ratten at the same time!!

I wish that Voss played for Richmond.

How could I possibly rate Buckley as best when Duncan Kellaway towels him up every time they play on one another?

The only thing that can stop Voss is injury. Voss is the best player in the competition - and I am not a Brisbane supporter.

Voss

Voss is top 5 but not #1 in my opinion, Hird and Buckley share that through being consistently brilliant week in week out.

Bucks has a poor record against Kellaway Ill admit, but hey Richo has a poor record against every single opponent he plays on, hes the most overrated hack in the history of the sport.

You need to get off the Brissy bandwagon mate, 4 home wins is nothing, lets see how they go this week!

All Australians 2001