All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread

Based on the recent drop off of cases and the fact that 4700 of the 6600 people that have recovered, I’m not sure that we will have to wait until the 18th July because hopefully by the end of May we will have no new cases and no infected people and hopefully the footy season can start
I agree I think we will be back in June

I’m on the other side. I don’t think we will play at all. It will take a month of zero new cases before they will even think about letting sports competitions start up again, where they could possible have 300-500 people in one area. The AFL isn’t starting until June with no crowds. Why would they let local footy have crowds?

I don’t think there will be crowds at local footy either.I think there will be restrictions and protocols around game day and training. Sanitisers, no access to change rooms apart from players and officials, no shared water bottles etc. this virus will be around for a long time and life won’t return to normal for 18months or more. This is going to be our new normal.

Well you simply can’t play then. Every player would have to play for free because there there will be no canteen, no bar, no gate receipts, no memberships. Who pays for the grounds, umpires, footy, trainers? When there is no income coming from anywhere. No sponsor will sign up because there will be no crowds to advertise to, these games aren’t televised. You can’t play local footy with no crowds

Unless t
I have a feeling we will not be back in 2020 and I hate writing that or even thinking it.

11 May there will be relaxation of some restrictions but as we are hitting winter they will be scared to open up fully. Massive restrictions on crowds will stay. I was told there is discussions at AFL-Vic and Cricket Vic level to not start cricket season until after Melbourne Cup weekend. This would be a positive that you would hope works out and may help. A 1 Jul start would enable 13 game season and finals...1 Aug means 9 game season and finals. I feel these are our best outcomes.

We cannot control crowds and its very impractical to play without crowds. I think they will allow juniors to start up as they will see it as much more important getting kids back out there (which is true) and they can control crowds with timings and fixturing.

AFL-Vic and leagues are getting hammered by Clubs scared to play a shortened season as they cannot see it as financially viable and dropping threats like they will fold if they have to play. This has resulted in the recently released 75% salary cap drop and the possibility of even bigger cuts over the coming years whilst Clubs try and rebuild. All a drop in salary cap will do is make some Clubs to head to the shops for more paper bags. I can understand some people worried but that should not effect players and Clubs that are keen and have resources to play (or hope to)

In the end however this is bigger than local footy and in this Country we have done well but having a spouse that works in the industry this is probably a long way from over.

Still a long way to go. Hope all Big Footy lads have not been hit too hard with restrictions work or family wise. Stay healthy.
Tbh the way things are going now its very possible we will start sport. This situation can change virtually instantly though so one bad cluster and that would all change really.

Any club not wanting to go ahead probably Are the same clubs that can only attract players with big money offers.

Will Deer Park blokes be happy to play for half pay? Doubtful.

Teams like Panther, Lower, Boro ect where they had a large number come through there junior programs and will be much more likely to play for the love of the club will benefit the most while deep pocket clubs not so much.

Well you simply can’t play then. Every player would have to play for free because there there will be no canteen, no bar, no gate receipts, no memberships. Who pays for the grounds, umpires, footy, trainers? When there is no income coming from anywhere. No sponsor will sign up because there will be no crowds to advertise to, these games aren’t televised. You can’t play local footy with no crowds

You would think if the AFL is not going to allow crowds at games for the whole season and if they start in mid June to July, then there is no way the government is going to allow local sport to commence with crowds unfortunately. Am also of the thinking that with no crowds allowed at games then just abandon the season. There was a story that the Eastern league had a vote to abandon the season and vote was 60% for, don't know if that is correct or not

Yep i agree plus they cant really control people attending regardless

From the NFNL

The Victorian Government are meeting on the May 11th to discuss the ongoing lockdown and restrictions as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic. As a consequence of this meeting, all metropolitan leagues will be meeting on the 12th May to discuss their options based on this government’s press release. At this stage there may be a likely scenario that the 2020 Season may commence around mid-June / mid-July.

The NFNL has an option of continuing the season in to October, so a season start of mid-June may see more than the originally planned 9 games being played. At this stage however, it has not been decided how many games will be played and any decision on more than 9 games would have a large impact on the new season fixture. The number of games that the women’s competition and netball competitions will play may also be decided at the same time.

At this stage we don’t know what social distancing laws may be in place when (if) the season commences and this will also have an impact as almost all income outside of sponsorship is driven by crowds at home games.

Extremely thorough, read the relevant bits to me and my sporting interests last night.
Not gunna be as easy as "let's go" there's a lot of hoops and hurdles in that document about what needs to be in place at clubland before engaging anyone about returning to train etc.

I was hopeful but not anymore. Imagine a club cluster. Could be 20/50 blokes easily not to mention who they play. Add their partners as well or house mates.

Seems far to risky looking at the meat works factory

Yeh 10157z gunna be difficult based on the readings hey.
I've spoken to folk from clubs across 4-5 leagues past few weeks, some are very concerned about 2021 should 2020 go ahead as it wont be a "free" year of footy, still financial commitments, for some without sponsorship ... before a team can run out.

Some (and I'm starting to agree) were thinking of maybe using theri clubs as a social/community connection in the interim to generate some cashflow, train or exercise, have a few drinks, meals, raffles etc all within whatever social distancing/crowd restrictions are in place.

Hypothetically, if that was an option to guarantee my club a future, rather than going into the red for a condensed lop sided 6,8,10 season to fend of boredom then I think I'd vote for the long road.

Yeh 10157z gunna be difficult based on the readings hey.
I've spoken to folk from clubs across 4-5 leagues past few weeks, some are very concerned about 2021 should 2020 go ahead as it wont be a "free" year of footy, still financial commitments, for some without sponsorship ... before a team can run out.

Some (and I'm starting to agree) were thinking of maybe using theri clubs as a social/community connection in the interim to generate some cashflow, train or exercise, have a few drinks, meals, raffles etc all within whatever social distancing/crowd restrictions are in place.

Hypothetically, if that was an option to guarantee my club a future, rather than going into the red for a condensed lop sided 6,8,10 season to fend of boredom then I think I'd vote for the long road.

Listening to Richard Colbeck there is every chance that we will confronted by the same ongoing issue in 2021 or until a Vaccine which is extremely unlikely.

After listening to Richard Colbeck on SEN yesterday and thoroughly reading the guidelines to reboot sport my opinion is when May 11th rolls around and restrictions shall be eased we will be able To return to training but must be split into groups of 10, AFL club were forced to train in this manner leading into round 1 so it is very possible to return to train.

The second point or Level C indicates the next stage will see community sport return to full training with contact and a return of competition. Reading the guidelines around spectators. There is no clarity around how many supporters will be able to attend but is does indicate that spectators would be required to demonstrate social distancing, avoid contact with players and avoid social Clubrooms and unnecessary touching or contact with surfaces.

The government has ruled mass gathering at stadiums due to the closed in spaces but a crowd of 250-300 spaced around a football oval in my opinion is no worse than what has been happening at Bunnings on Saturdays.

I think under these guidelines there is some scope for crowds under strict protocols to attend games. That would be a great result if so!

Whether it is 2020 or 2021 there is going to be extreme challenges in returning to community sport and it won’t ever look the same. Players expecting big money will be in for a rude shock and clubs will need to look at new revenue models with less reliance on big sponsorship. Possibly for the better in the long run which may actually even things out and possibly save some battling clubs.

Listening to Richard Colbeck there is every chance that we will confronted by the same ongoing issue in 2021 or until a Vaccine which is extremely unlikely.

After listening to Richard Colbeck on SEN yesterday and thoroughly reading the guidelines to reboot sport my opinion is when May 11th rolls around and restrictions shall be eased we will be able To return to training but must be split into groups of 10, AFL club were forced to train in this manner leading into round 1 so it is very possible to return to train.

The second point or Level C indicates the next stage will see community sport return to full training with contact and a return of competition. Reading the guidelines around spectators. There is no clarity around how many supporters will be able to attend but is does indicate that spectators would be required to demonstrate social distancing, avoid contact with players and avoid social Clubrooms and unnecessary touching or contact with surfaces.

The government has ruled mass gathering at stadiums due to the closed in spaces but a crowd of 250-300 spaced around a football oval in my opinion is no worse than what has been happening at Bunnings on Saturdays.

I think under these guidelines there is some scope for crowds under strict protocols to attend games. That would be a great result if so!

Whether it is 2020 or 2021 there is going to be extreme challenges in returning to community sport and it won’t ever look the same. Players expecting big money will be in for a rude shock and clubs will need to look at new revenue models with less reliance on big sponsorship. Possibly for the better in the long run which may actually even things out and possibly save some battling clubs.

Yeh it's possibly achievable at adult aged, senior community level sports as it's often only 2-3 games on a day (or less) ... some junior sports though I'm highly sceptical, football especially due to the amount of teams, parents etc that congregate at some of the massive clubs.

A lot of parents sook now about trivial stuff.
Imagine tyrying to police the one's who only ever see themselves and their kids' perspective let alone all the potential new measures ... we could see some truly fantastic volunteers lost before 2021 if things don't run smoothly.

Good point around Bunnings and crowds, only sticking point is footy crowds won't be deemed essential. That is also why the app is so important, restaurants who are looking to open up under new guidelines, will give you two options if you wish to dine there, show us the app or leave your details with the owners. If there is an outbreak again then it can be quickly traced.

Have a listen to Dr. David Hughes who was on SEN Monday during the Whatley show. He is the chief medical officer for the AIS and lead the team that put the "rebooting of sport" framework in place. He was very optimistic about all sport in some form coming back online as soon as it was safe to do so. There is 3 levels;

Level A - where we are currently in
Level B - groups of 10, minimal/accidental contact
Level C - going back to as normal as possible with strict new hygiene practices in place

Interesting he could see community sport coming back at level b, but it wouldn't be how we would remember local footy in terms of training, the recommendation is you turn up, you train and you leave. No socializing in the change rooms, no Thursday night meals, washing footy's, bring your own water bottle etc. And these will be the new norm going forward.

Whatley asked him what would a junior coach do if he had 18 players, the Dr responded they could split into two groups of 9 and train at each end, so there is some flexibility with the rules.

I think most players will just want to come back and play even for significantly reduced dollars, some will chase as much coin as they can get. Others will prefer to work. But i believe the majority of players across all divisions and standards want to play footy again. But this is a lot easier said than done from a club admin perspective, there is revenue to be made, expenses to be paid. It will take a big buy in from the individual player to work as a collective and assist the club to get through the next 6 - 18 months.

I can’t see football going ahead. What happens if a player tests positive On a Sunday after playing a side?

will the season be called off because of a player testing positive?

Cedar meats has opened my eyes at how bad this could get.

Yeh it's possibly achievable at adult aged, senior community level sports as it's often only 2-3 games on a day (or less) ... some junior sports though I'm highly sceptical, football especially due to the amount of teams, parents etc that congregate at some of the massive clubs.

A lot of parents sook now about trivial stuff.
Imagine tyrying to police the one's who only ever see themselves and their kids' perspective let alone all the potential new measures ... we could see some truly fantastic volunteers lost before 2021 if things don't run smoothly.
Doona i agree with you volunteers at all clubs are under huge pressure just trying to get clubs to run and be financial with out then having to worry about policing crowd numbers with no authority to disperse any people over the allowed figures

I am over listing to the whining and whinging of the AFL and them bleating on about getting footy back. They have no concern for the flow on effect to Country and Community football .If you speak to people who are connected with clubs nearly all of them are not wanting to come back this year as the ability to meet financial requirements to run the clubs is so unclear on where the money is going to come from . From an outsiders perspective the lack of noise out of those drop kicks at AFL Vic is deafening. Here are some concerns I have heard being asked .
Is there going to be a new salary cap
What is it going to be
When will it be implemented
Are player contracts going to have to be renegotiated or do they get declared null and void
Are leagues going to reduce affiliation fees for seniors and juniors as its a vastly reduced season.
Who is going to pay for umpires
Who is going to police crowd numbers if we are allowed to have any crowd at all.
Can clubs have player meals on a Thursday night
This is just some of the question I have heard from city clubs and country cubs

I am over listing to the whining and whinging of the AFL and them bleating on about getting footy back. They have no concern for the flow on effect to Country and Community football .If you speak to people who are connected with clubs nearly all of them are not wanting to come back this year as the ability to meet financial requirements to run the clubs is so unclear on where the money is going to come from . From an outsiders perspective the lack of noise out of those drop kicks at AFL Vic is deafening. Here are some concerns I have heard being asked .
Is there going to be a new salary cap
What is it going to be
When will it be implemented
Are player contracts going to have to be renegotiated or do they get declared null and void
Are leagues going to reduce affiliation fees for seniors and juniors as its a vastly reduced season.
Who is going to pay for umpires
Who is going to police crowd numbers if we are allowed to have any crowd at all.
Can clubs have player meals on a Thursday night
This is just some of the question I have heard from city clubs and country cubs

I have little idea of AFL funds AFL VIC and inturn funds local leagues. But safe to safe to say if the AFL doesn't play there is even less money to share around.

I will have a go at answering questions based on what i have heard;

new salary cap - yes
Based on a 9 game season for div2 - $32k
It will be implemented when the season starts
Unsure about contracts, my thinking it would be you would base what the player was going to receive based on a full salary cap for 18 games and prorata the amount base don new salary cap for 9 games. The contracts to be negogiated but if a player wants to leave for more money then he should be cleared as long as no equipment/money is owed.
Unsure about fees - probably dependant on AFL and AFL vic
Policing of crowd numbers i assume will come down to the club
Thursday night meals will not be allowed whilst level B restrictions are in place

Whilst level b remains in place, players have to turn up to training, train in groups of 10 and then go home. No using changerooms/showers etc.

My friends employed across the game haven't worked for 7-8 weeks now, and until the AFL competition commences there's actually no revenue stream to filter back to AFL Vic let alone the below layers such as the Regional Hubs, then the leagues etc etc.
As much as we all get frusrated at times by lack of transparancy from City Hall, first and foremost the AFL must start as there is so many jobs across the industry reliant on it.

Personally I just would like to see many of my friends actually re-instated in their jobs before anything sporting related at our levels become even a glimmer of consideration.

I get everyone trying to come up with ideas to appease ‘social distancing’ but my thoughts are this (may be wrong).
19s - Ressies - seniors , that’s min.66. Players from each club , using the same change rooms , the same showers , the same toilets - now we add to the mix 2-3 coaches per side , 2-5 trainers used for 3 games on the day , runner ,team manager - All are in close proximity no matter what ‘conditions’ are set in place.
Add 6- 7 umpires each game , so about 164 people will be involved on that oval , sweating , spitting , bleeding and of course ‘TACKLING’ on game day..
Now out of that 164 (haven’t included a single committee member or supporter yet , we’d guess throughout the week each one has at least come in contact with (shops, servo , work ) let’s say 20 people - so 3000ish...
My point is ‘ if ‘we play this season , then it would have to mean EVERYTHING is back to status quo.. training , Bars , canteens , supporter numbers & functions = All systems go!
Any other option is just ludicrous..
All or nothing & believe me I’m praying we get to play...

I get everyone trying to come up with ideas to appease ‘social distancing’ but my thoughts are this (may be wrong).
19s - Ressies - seniors , that’s min.66. Players from each club , using the same change rooms , the same showers , the same toilets - now we add to the mix 2-3 coaches per side , 2-5 trainers used for 3 games on the day , runner ,team manager - All are in close proximity no matter what ‘conditions’ are set in place.
Add 6- 7 umpires each game , so about 164 people will be involved on that oval , sweating , spitting , bleeding and of course ‘TACKLING’ on game day..
Now out of that 164 (haven’t included a single committee member or supporter yet , we’d guess throughout the week each one has at least come in contact with (shops, servo , work ) let’s say 20 people - so 3000ish...
My point is ‘ if ‘we play this season , then it would have to mean EVERYTHING is back to status quo.. training , Bars , canteens , supporter numbers & functions = All systems go!
Any other option is just ludicrous..
All or nothing & believe me I’m praying we get to play...

All valid points, simply if we get back to playing footy this year it will be very different.

Under 19s may play at different venues, the ressies starting earlier and a bigger gap between ressies and senior games. Certain amount of players in the change room at a time. And can’t be all in the rooms at once.
Aside from using the toilets, you won’t be able to shower.

The playing aspect is almost the easier part, the difficult part is crowds, if they are allowed how are they managed, minimising contact around serving food and drink (eftpos no cash) if no crowds are allowed and the bar/canteen isn’t run how does the club make money.

All valid points, simply if we get back to playing footy this year it will be very different.

Under 19s may play at different venues, the ressies starting earlier and a bigger gap between ressies and senior games. Certain amount of players in the change room at a time. And can’t be all in the rooms at once.
Aside from using the toilets, you won’t be able to shower.

The playing aspect is almost the easier part, the difficult part is crowds, if they are allowed how are they managed, minimising contact around serving food and drink (eftpos no cash) if no crowds are allowed and the bar/canteen isn’t run how does the club make money.

Lots of standing room around a football oval with social distancing applied surely it’s not worse than the scenes I saw at Bunnings last weekend and then at shopping centres.

Have 2 seperate areas of service for canteen (take away and no different to cafe’s) and bar sale points.

The big issue is player being prepared to play for next to nothing or a base payment of $100 max. They simply have to be prepared to give something back to the game. If they need to work then they should pursue that or otherwise clubs can be flexible around what arrival times are necessary for games. Everybody played junior football for the social element and love of the game

No entry to social rooms and change rooms only accessible for players and officials.

Longer gap between 19’s, seniors and reserves to allow for players to leave the area before being next group of players to enter.

Umpire taking a pay reduction

Council to reduce fees or as I understand to wipe them for the year.

League fees reduced with the unnecessary extras removed (league presentation and events)

Players to provide there own strapping and tape instead of clubs paying for it.

We need to be prepared to Work towards finding solutions an a community.

Even with Scomos plan we wouldn’t reach 100 people until mid July (if we started tommorow) if everything went perfectly. Not to mention Victoria is at least a month behind the other states

100 isn’t enough to run a footy comp.

Sorry but it’s clear after today’s announcement football is done for the year. I’d rather a year off and reload properly than some half assed attempt

Even with Scomos plan we wouldn’t reach 100 people until mid July (if we started tommorow) if everything went perfectly. Not to mention Victoria is at least a month behind the other states

100 isn’t enough to run a footy comp.

Sorry but it’s clear after today’s announcement football is done for the year. I’d rather a year off and reload properly than some half assed attempt

Disagree, community sport is listed in stage 2. There will be the ability for local footy to be played with restrictions in place, as well as sacrifices made by players and clubs alike. But whilst this may be the case in other states Vic government look to be more cautious than other states.