Mega Thread COVID-19 Carlton & the AFL - NO POLITICS/NO RELIGION/NO CONSPIRACIES ETC

Aged care. They need more nursing staff, so something had to give. It was not performance related.

I have no clinical background to be redeployed into another more urgent role.

Am better off than some who don't have a partner still working and some reserves to fall back on. Reckon there are going to be plenty in much more trouble than me in the very near future.
That's tough. Hopefully your luck turns around soon, Jab.

Leaving aside the reasons for suspending the season, do people really want to watch this version of footy?

Top-up players, shorter games, games on every night, no crowd/atmosphere?

And then likely new, even more bizarre alterations and rule/fixture changes when things worsen further down the track ("Okay, so Freo have some positive tests and can't continue in the comp... We'll remove all points from Freo games and readjust ladder positions accordingly!")?

No, a cancelled season is definitely preferable to one in which the games themselves are compromised.

If they're going to cancel round 1, I'd suggest a 5 week delay with the hope to have a 17 round season, if things improve between now and then.

Leaving aside the reasons for suspending the season, do people really want to watch this version of footy?

Top-up players, shorter games, games on every night, no crowd/atmosphere?

And then likely new, even more bizarre alterations and rule/fixture changes when things worsen further down the track ("Okay, so Freo have some positive tests and can't continue in the comp... We'll remove all points from Freo games and readjust ladder positions accordingly!")?

I think that has become a further issue.

From my viewpoint the tit for tat regarding whether they should play or not is based on proper games with normal conditions (and no positive tests).
If there was a 5 or 6 week break at some point (preferably coinciding with a more general shutdown), I could live with that. The fixture is adjusted to play everyone once, but still under normal conditions.

We can't have a game on a Wednesday night, off a 4 day break, with one side having 10 top-up players and the other side none.

Nice sentiments BC and I dare say, shared by many here.
I think many who make light of self isolation do it/will do it as a means of helping to stay ok mentally. 👍👍

I’m all for shits and giggles and hope they continue. Sometimes people may hide behind them. And if they are and need help we’ll I’m here to offer what little I have.

Given that scenario, without any further input from anybody, the short answer is yes I would cancel.

BUT what if Krooz etc. after consultation, said we are no different to Bankers, Receptionists or Carpet Layers, and we don't want to be treated differently. Yes, we have underlying issues that may put us at higher risk, but we don't want to lose our livelihood. It's a balance from my perspective, in regard to how AFL players are treated in comparison to the rest of society. The decision should really rest with them (at this stage).
Then the response - to Krooz - is that he is not the person most qualified to make that decision. He's a footballer; he's not a doctor, or a specialist. Whether he wants to be treated differently or not, he isn't the one who gets to make that decision, and by making that decision potentially endangering everyone involved.

That's the thing for me. If it was merely risk for myself, I could perhaps justify taking on the risk; extrapolating that to AFL players, if it was solely them at risk, then it should indeed be their decision. But it isn't solely them, just as it isn't solely me; we have to coexist with countless others as a part of society, and as a consequence we need to be able to take their safety into account.

We have a duty of care to each other.

Then a full paragraph of maybe, somehow, somewhere

If it was that simple Scomo would have shut the country down without a second thought, and by extension Gil would have shut the AFL down.

The fact that these meetings between relevant parties are taking so long suggests there is a bloody lot to consider.

If the AFL waits until after their discussion with the players to announce the postponement of the AFL season AND then puts it on the players then I'm going to be livid.

They better not dare put this on the players for being human in the situation.

The NRL has essentially slapped Cam Smith for saying what the players need to say for their loved ones.

No, a cancelled season is definitely preferable to one in which the games themselves are compromised.

If they're going to cancel round 1, I'd suggest a 5 week delay with the hope to have a 17 round season, if things improve between now and then.

I was thinking exactly the same thing. Also gives the AFL time to sort out a plan for its rights holders re lost revenue.

Channel 7 are still advertising our season opener against Richmond on Thursday night, so at the very least a decision has not been made, my gut feeling is that round 1 (at the very least) is going ahead, behind closed doors.

They'll continue advertising until an announcement is made.

Pulling advertising before the announcement just creates more panic.

Business as usual until otherwise stated.

National Coronavirus Information Hotline
1800 020 080

Some very helpful links:-

Official Govt Coronavirus App now available on the App Store

Official Govt Coronavirus App on Google Play for Android

New Government WhatsApp feature

New Stay at Home Directions - Victoria (PDF)

Coronavirus (COVID-19) and your rights

Worldwide Stats

fJ7zcuz9

05dd81add57f9123bacc14d893e9f6269bc73159.jpg

NED-1370-COVID19-Identifying-the-symptoms_eeboNAzC.jpg

NED-1067-Reduce-risk-of-coronavirus_cpkvhkt8.jpg

NED-1439-Flu-v-Coronavirus_LEKXTuhdk.jpg

EUaWyt4XQAAL1QV

EUlyJthUcAE-QXr

REAL TIME REPORT:-

COVID-19 in Victoria - Updated Daily:-

SBS multilingual Coronavirus news and information portal:-

NED-1910-How-COVID19-spreads-by-air_XKB_F-dT4.jpg

Problem there is that evidence seems to be suggesting people can carry and pass on the virus before/without showing symptoms. So waiting for a positive test could just result in the comp being canned after half the players have already been exposed directly on the footy field.

But we're going on another tangent now - it's gone from "let the players decide" to "don't let the players decide, wait for a positive test then cancel it". That's a fair 180, to my eye, which probably sums up where most of us are at - minimal real knowledge or understanding and just spitballing ideas. Its a footy forum, so that doesn't surprise me in the least.

From a footy perspective - I'd rather no season than a heavily compromised one. Especially given the upside if things subside and footy is possible later in the year is for some significant fan service in the way of big marquee games as a priority.

I can't find the link but there is now a study showing people are infectious 2.5 -2.9 days prior to symptoms.

Some asymptomatic but still infectious. Some superspreaders as well.

The numbers we are seeing now are from infections a week or more ago. Actually number with disease is way way higher than positive tests being reported.

Footage today of an Italian lady whose husband died of coronavirus the day before is now positive herself but being sent home anyway until she needs hospital care.

I’m all for shits and giggles and hope they continue. Sometimes people may hide behind them. And if they are and need help we’ll I’m here to offer what little I have.

Have you got any toilet paper?? I'm prepared to swap a late model SUV for it..

....must be 2 ply 😆

Worst case scenario, us regular folks would be drafted into the AFL. Not a spectacle anyone wants to see, telling you now.

A mate of mine some years back had the idea that’s how the Olympics should be run, ordinary peeps getting balloted every four years, like being drafted into the army, to represent your country. I think it’s a great idea and would make the Olympics way more watchable.

Easiest idea I coukd think of simply hit the pause button right now.

Essentially scrap the double up games and bye weeks. 17 round season, 4 weeks of finals and if you can push it back into October that buys you into mid may to kick off the season which is when this peak is supposed to have passed.

End of October GF might as well play it in Marvel if you can't get the G by then.

No point going overboard and taking away something people love especially after the s**t we has a nation have already suffered through recently.

Easiest idea I coukd think of simply hit the pause button right now.

Essentially scrap the double up games and bye weeks. 17 round season, 4 weeks of finals and if you can push it back into October that buys you into mid may to kick off the season which is when this peak is supposed to have passed.

End of October GF might as well play it in Marvel if you can't get the G by then.

No point going overboard and taking away something people love especially after the s**t we has a nation have already suffered through recently.

If there still another eight to ten weeks before it peaks, May maybe too soon. They can’t really play until transmission is down to double digits - like China right now. And we know it’s taken them five months to reduce the spread having shut the place down.