Competitions All Time Draft - Vote For The Best Team

Who Has The Best Team

Great names but neither of those TI. The George part might be right. 😉

EDIT: I didn’t know until reading just now Mallee Johnson was the inaugural skipper of the legendary Melbourne City FC, the VFA’s prequel answer to the AFL’s Suns and Giants franchises. Conceived to try to get the VFA more inner city presence where the VFL was dominant, City weren’t overly successful I think it is fair to say. Zero wins in their only two seasons prior to folding around 1913. I think they played out of the old East Melbourne ground which was on the other side of the MCG to the Punt Road Oval.
I'll try this guy, but i couldn't find much on him. George William Bownas???

He was my next pick.lol . A reindeer surname.

The other player I referred to was a brilliant runner. His dominance was such the need to bounce every so many yards you ran while in possession was brought in to curb his effect. His standing in the sport and sense of fairness was such….that he himself brought the rule in, a fact that impressed no less an Australian Rules enthusiast than Arthur Conan-Doyle, he of Sherlock Holmes fame. 😱

The forerunner to what has been the greatest grandstand in wold sport was named in his honour. Just a towering figure in the history of the sport and without doubt a brilliant player in his day….and one time captain of the Richmond FC.

The “casino” recruiters on this thread can’t fit him in the top 170 so far. 😱😱😱

Horrific scenes.

He did at one time have a building in Spring St named after him as well. Quite possibly the biggest name in the sport historically, if not then definitely the second biggest.

I am shocked that even self-proclaimed recruiting great richoatthedisco has overlooked this guy. 😩😩😩

I understand what you're saying , but a lot of poster's to me seem to be from beyond 70,s to today. Opinions are amazing as I think Phar Ace g0t the steal of the draft at pick 29 in Roger Dean who is an official member of the 7 Hall of Fame Immortals of the club who were inducted for playing deeds as you stated. A very good poster said to me he wasn't top 10, but best 22. I didn't bother arguing it with him as it's all about opinion. Also some poster's don't appear to be as old as their username suggests eg. Tiger of Old :cool:as he selected Tyrone Vickery who I would rate him probably the worst player to play for us bc he had the ability, but his attitude was all wrong and therefore a team killer. You can bag the Nason's Relton's and other blokes, but they never ever were heavily invested into or expected to be stars like Tyrannosaurus Vickery.
I'm 62. I never really studied Richmond teams before my time. If I had've been doing a team in this comp. I would've started in the late 60s. Good on people that know all teams through history.
Vickery was at the club at a terrible time. He wasn't a bad kick for goal. I'd take him over Elton, Griffiths, McBean and Hampson. In fact he deserves life membership for that smack in the face he gave to some WC player. (hiring Jake King to be your debt collector was classic too).

The other player I referred to was a brilliant runner. His dominance was such the need to bounce every so many yards you ran while in possession was brought in to curb his effect. His standing in the sport and sense of fairness was such….that he himself brought the rule in, a fact that impressed no less an Australian Rules enthusiast than Arthur Conan-Doyle, he of Sherlock Holmes fame. 😱

The forerunner to what has been the greatest grandstand in wold sport was named in his honour. Just a towering figure in the history of the sport and without doubt a brilliant player in his day….and one time captain of the Richmond FC.

The “casino” recruiters on this thread can’t fit him in the top 170 so far. 😱😱😱

Horrific scenes.

He did at one time have a building in Spring St named after him as well. Quite possibly the biggest name in the sport historically, if not then definitely the second biggest.

I am shocked that even self-proclaimed recruiting great richoatthedisco has overlooked this guy. 😩😩😩
Maybe next time put your hand up and have a crack yourself instead of taking pot shots at everyone else

Good question. I would of had a choice of 4 IMO but it all depends on your strategy.

That's an important issue and comment - it is all very easy for this bloke or that bloke to say this or that, but there is big difference in isolating one pick and picking a whole team. And even then there are strategies within strategies.

Maybe next time put your hand up and have a crack yourself instead of taking pot shots at everyone else

Jeez Barunga, I was about to single your team out for particular praise especially for your inclusion of overlooked B Grade country recruit types.

But if you want to be like that, forget about it. 😂

Your point is fair, I am only having a bit of fun but also trying to highlight a couple of historical players people may not have thought about. 🤙

Jeez Barunga, I was about to single your team out for particular praise especially for your inclusion of overlooked B Grade country recruit types.

Your point is fair, I am only having a bit of fun but also trying to highlight a couple of historical players people may not have thought about. 🤙
Half these guys were retired before my parents were even born 🤣🤣 im just biting back coz im bored 🤣 I thought I knew my richmond history but I've learnt a lot by doing this.

I think MR is speaking very tongue in cheek if I think I know him at all......

Oh and I have a doozy lined up next if he isn't taken

Half these guys were retired before my parents were even born 🤣🤣 im just biting back coz im bored 🤣 I thought I knew my richmond history but I've learnt a lot by doing this.

I think that is one of the beauties of a thread like this, it allows people to explore and illuminate the extremely rich history of he club and some of its players. There are some fantastic picks of long forgotten and often unheard of players, I think that is great.

But if somebody doesn’t pick my Australian Rules whale soon I will dead set blow a gasket. 😂

I think that is one of the beauties of a thread like this, it allows people to explore and illuminate the extremely rich history of he club and some of its players. There are some fantastic picks of long forgotten and often unheard of players, I think that is great.

But if somebody doesn’t pick my Australian Rules whale soon I will dead set blow a gasket. 😂
Hopefully that's the one I've got lined up

I'm 62. I never really studied Richmond teams before my time. If I had've been doing a team in this comp. I would've started in the late 60s. Good on people that know all teams through history.
Vickery was at the club at a terrible time. He wasn't a bad kick for goal. I'd take him over Elton, Griffiths, McBean and Hampson. In fact he deserves life membership for that smack in the face he gave to some WC player. (hiring Jake King to be your debt collector was classic too).
And having Anna Kornokova as his missus was outstanding

Pick 170
Pick 170 - George BAYLISS

1639379880312.png George was Richmond’s first recognised spearhead.

A local Richmond boy he originally came to Richmond’s notice when he averaged 96 goals in the three years prior to playing in the VFL. A long left foot kick he was credited with kicking a drop kick 75.90 metres, (83 yards) against Carlton at the Punt Road Oval in 1922. Although not a strong overhead mark, he was very hard to stop when leading out. He was a member of the 1921 Premiership. In fact his career highlight came in 1921 when he contributed a couple of goals to Richmond’s 5.6 to 4.8 challenge final defeat of Carlton. The post-match champagne must have tasted all the sweeter given that he had missed the previous season’s premiership triumph with injury. He had also tasted grand final defeat at the hands of Collingwood in 1919.

In 1920 Bayliss’ tally of 61 goals was good enough to top the league list, making him the first Richmond player to achieve this honour. He also topped the Tigers’ goal kicking list in 1921 and 1922. He was a dual Victorian interstate representative.

His highest individual goal tally was 7 and he kicked it against Geelong and South Melbourne in rounds 12 and 13 of 1920 and Collingwood Round 13 of 1921 and Round 1 of 1922. He kicked 5 or more goals on 15 occasions.

He was involved in a controversial incident against Essendon in Round 7 of 1921 at the Punt Road oval. Richmond scored a behind and the football went into the crowd. Whilst in the crowd a spectator stabbed the ball with a sharp object before returning the rapidly deflating ball to the Essendon full-back. The full-back on seeing the damage tried to pass the ball to the umpire for an inspection; however, the kick went to Bayliss who grabbed the ball and kicked a goal. The umpire allowed the goal despite howls of complaint from the crowd. Richmond went on to win the match by 15 points and George finished up with 6 goals. (Keep sucking eggs Essendon!)

B: D Astbury F.Swift R.Dean
HB: D.Rowe D.Minogue(c) G.Burgin
C: S.Maxfield M Rioli Snr L.Merrett
HF: N.Roberts P.Guinane E.Zschech
F: R.Bawden R.McLean J.Titus
FOL: M.Green T.Free R.Martin
INT: G.Bayliss xxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx

You are up tiger_tough

Same mate, same!

This has been a f*n wonderful thread, thanks chaps.

would be good to be able to vote on best teams…somehow.?

Ive suggested a few ideas along those lines to _RT_ and I hope he takes them up. I think all you guys should be able to vote on each of our Draft rounds, one at a time - and from that we get yet another fairly symbolic team at the end of it I reckon.

Pick 170 - George BAYLISS

View attachment 1296729 George was Richmond’s first recognised spearhead.

A local Richmond boy he originally came to Richmond’s notice when he averaged 96 goals in the three years prior to playing in the VFL. A long left foot kick he was credited with kicking a drop kick 75.90 metres, (83 yards) against Carlton at the Punt Road Oval in 1922. Although not a strong overhead mark, he was very hard to stop when leading out. He was a member of the 1921 Premiership. In fact his career highlight came in 1921 when he contributed a couple of goals to Richmond’s 5.6 to 4.8 challenge final defeat of Carlton. The post-match champagne must have tasted all the sweeter given that he had missed the previous season’s premiership triumph with injury. He had also tasted grand final defeat at the hands of Collingwood in 1919.

In 1920 Bayliss’ tally of 61 goals was good enough to top the league list, making him the first Richmond player to achieve this honour. He also topped the Tigers’ goal kicking list in 1921 and 1922. He was a dual Victorian interstate representative.

His highest individual goal tally was 7 and he kicked it against Geelong and South Melbourne in rounds 12 and 13 of 1920 and Collingwood Round 13 of 1921 and Round 1 of 1922. He kicked 5 or more goals on 15 occasions.

He was involved in a controversial incident against Essendon in Round 7 of 1921 at the Punt Road oval. Richmond scored a behind and the football went into the crowd. Whilst in the crowd a spectator stabbed the ball with a sharp object before returning the rapidly deflating ball to the Essendon full-back. The full-back on seeing the damage tried to pass the ball to the umpire for an inspection; however, the kick went to Bayliss who grabbed the ball and kicked a goal. The umpire allowed the goal despite howls of complaint from the crowd. Richmond went on to win the match by 15 points and George finished up with 6 goals. (Keep sucking eggs Essendon!)

Player stealer. I think someone else may have had him lined up…but no, Phar SOS steps in and steals him. 😱

Only player in the history of the sport to kick a goal with a flat footy. 😁