• VA,

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • Christian boy,

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Squarehead

Votes: 2 50.0%

Quite an interesting show, seems like at any stage any one of them could drop off or win the thing.

Amazing that Chris for all his inconsistencies has landed the most fish and doesn't appear to be wasting away physically. It's his mental state that could end it for him.

Mike the ingenious crafter of kayaks, shelters and possum traps hasn't caught a bit of food and looks resigned to starve it out - he's probably already burned too much energy for that.

Money is on Kate atm, seems able to land a few fish and stay mostly out of trouble. I don't think her reluctance to eat marsupials will cause an issue because I can't actually see anyone catching one.

Previews have shown hippie-chick chowing down on something fairly large, with red meat and ribs. Not sure if it's a fairly large fish, or a wallaby of some kind. Either way, it's significantly bigger than anything we've seen caught so far.

Mike seems to have been discouraged pretty quickly after one fishing foray in his kayak.

Off into hibernation he goes.

As StingBitten posted, their moods fluctuate a lot and it almost wouldn't surprise me if any dropped out at any time, except maybe for Gina.

I always get the feeling that when they show the footage of them starting to talk about missing their families that it's the beginning of the end.

For that reason are Gina and Chris the two most likely to stick it out the longest?

Is it bad luck that Mike hasn't caught anything? Or has he wasted too much time making kayaks and advanced animal traps?

The others seem to be sitting by the lake all day until the nibbles appear.

Is it bad luck that Mike hasn't caught anything? Or has he wasted too much time making kayaks and advanced animal traps?

The others seem to be sitting by the lake all day until the nibbles appear.

I mean, the clips we saw of him kayaking last night barely showed a line in the water, which makes it hard.

Trout are very shy fish that are spooked easily. Mike is better to put out some set lines, out deep using his kayak and securing them to dead trees out in the middle. Paddle out the following day and reap the rewards.
They have to stay within sight of any lines they set, in case they catch a platypus or some other protected species. Setting overnight lines in deep water is not an option.

Having said that, I'm not sure that his tactic of putting the line in, then paddling to provide a moving bait, is the right way to go. Then again, I'm sure he's forgotten more about fishing techniques than I will ever know.

On SM-X205 using BigFooty.com mobile app

They have to stay within sight of any lines they set, in case they catch a platypus or some other protected species. Setting overnight lines in deep water is not an option.

Having said that, I'm not sure that his tactic of putting the line in, then paddling to provide a moving bait, is the right way to go. Then again, I'm sure he's forgotten more about fishing techniques than I will ever know.

I grew up fishing in Tassie - it's funny hearing contestants, this guy in particular, complain about all the tree stumps and dead sticks. They're the snags that you want to be fishing.

The issue he's having isn't access, it's sleepy fish and a lack of time with hooks in the water. The kayak wasn't a good use of a week.

Doesn't happen often but I was proven right, what a way to piss away time and resources.
Too much reading from army boy and not enough doing.
When anywhere near water you must always have fire ready in case you get wet.
I wouldn't have worn clothes in canoe in case of falling in.

Has it ever worked for a contestant? Usually they're massive time sinks that end up distracting them from doing something much more beneficial and end up achieving nothing towards a victory.
Yeah, nearly as useless as fish traps.

I reckon I've seen 50 of those things constructed across a million seasons of Naked & Afraid + XL, Alone, Dual Survival etc and I don't think there's ever actually been a fish landed.

Yeah, nearly as useless as fish traps.

I reckon I've seen 50 of those things constructed across a million seasons of Naked & Afraid + XL, Alone, Dual Survival etc and I don't think there's ever actually been a fish landed.
The guy who won Alone S1 had quite a bit of success with one he built using a coke bottle, which he found washed up on his beach. He cut the top off, and reversed it. Caught quite a few smallish fish.

But yeah... he's the only one who I can recall having success with the design - and he didn't waste hours/days building it.

Is this guy for real? He’s that worried about a couple of tiny punctures underneath his pants?

I’m almost certain that, if I went on a show like this, it’s my hyper clumsiness that would cost me. But if we’re worrying about superficial stuff like that I wouldn’t make it out if the boat.