Opinion An Urgent Enquiry is Required into the Umpiring of Certain Matches Mid-Season 2023

Tom Delonge Wtf GIF

The Hardwick style was to intentionally infringe and hope that fewer than 50% of them were pinged, meaning 50/50 contests were skewed towards Richmond winning the ball.

I dont know if Yze does this too, or if its the older dogs unable to learnnew tricks.

Similar to Bevo getting the players to throw or drop the ball when tackled knowing the AFL didnt want more frees being paid so they would get away with it.

Coaches using the rules to their advantage.
100%, every time we play Richmond they hold our players more than any other team. A lot of the frees are holding off the ball and there are still heaps that don't get picked up.

I agree we got the rub of the green our last game playing them but there must be a reason why they keep doing it and keep getting pinged for it without writing letters to the AFL every week.

Simply put. The Tigers playing style, what Dimma did, is at fault. You can tell by free kicks stats for the team he currently coaches how bad it is .... OK Hmm

Well Richmond plays the game harder than any other team. All the other 17 teams are sweet lovey guys that never do anything on the line or go in hard. ... reckon that works ... Hmmm

Could be because the Tigers peeved the AFL umpires some time ago and it somehow got stuck in how the game is umpired. The umpiring is so clean and above board. Consistent and obvious decision making. No dodgy decision making or influence from HQ. Nothing to see here.

Time will fix this stat up. Maybe a lot of time.

100%, every time we play Richmond they hold our players more than any other team. A lot of the frees are holding off the ball and there are still heaps that don't get picked up.

I agree we got the rub of the green our last game playing them but there must be a reason why they keep doing it and keep getting pinged for it without writing letters to the AFL every week.

I am not sure when the last holding off the ball free was paid against Richmond. Do you mean when the ball is in the air towards a Richmond defender and opposition forward and the Richmond defender is out of positions and infringes by holding? Or do you mean genuinely holding away from the play?

Backs holding forwards, impeding their leads. Mids holding opposition mids around the contest. General scragging and hassling a lot more than any other team I have seen recently.

I noticed it live in 2023 from one game when I was paying attention but our game this year was at the G and you can't see what is happening on TV.

2023 Toyota AFL Season

Rd 8 Richmond won the free kick count 17-16 v West Coast Eagles.
Rd 9 Richmond won the free kick count 21-14 v Geelong Cats.
Rd 10 Richmond won the free kick count 10-9 v Essendon Bombers.

Ok 2 of the free kick count wins were by 1 free kick but there needs to be a high level enquiry conducted into how Richmond Football Club were ever allowed to win 3 consecutive free kick counts. I know this has since been corrected by the AFL, because I checked - supporting evidence in the table below. But it is not enough, we the people need to know how Richmond were ever allowed to win 3 consecutive free kick counts. This is the stand rule era after all.

Anyway for those who are interested here is the evidence proving the AFL responded to this deeply concerning crisis that was the hat-trick of Richmond free kick count wins...

MatchRichmond Free Kick Count W/L?Winning MarginLosing Margin
2023 Season
Rd 11 v PortL9
Rd 12 v GWSL5
Rd 12 v DockersL11
Rd 14 v SaintsL13
Rd 16 v LionsL2
Rd 17 v SwansL1
Rd 18 v EaglesL3
Rd 19 v HawksL2
Rd 20 v DemonsL2
Rd 21 v DogsL2
Rd 22 v SaintsL9
Rd 23 v RoosW1
Rd 24 v PortL5
Season 2024
Rd 0 v SunsL1
Rd 1 v BluesL7
Rd 2 v PowerL10
Rd 3 v SwansW1
Rd 4 v SaintsL2
Rd 5 v EaglesL9
Rd 7 v DemonsL12
Rd 8 v DockersL9
Rd 9 v BulldogsL3
R 10 v LionsL11
Rd 11 v BombersL3
Rd 12 v CatsL1
Rd 13 v CrowsL10
Total wins/losses for the 26 games period2W 24L
Total Margins for the 26 game period+2-142

Now I would like to draw everybody's attention to the very last row in the table above. I really think we should be putting pressure on the AFL over Richmond being allowed to get away with a 2 free kick surplus from the 2 free kick count wins they somehow conned out of those 26 games. We gain some solace from the 142 free kick deficit in the 24 free kick counts Richmond thankfully lost in that period, but it is not enough. We must do something about that pesky annoying 2 free kick surplus arising from the 2 matches of 26 where Richmond won the free kick count. It just doesn't look right and my heart goes out to all Swans and Kangaroo supporters, god only knows how low they must feel.

P.S. that table is 100% accurate, double checked.
Don't panic, it's all okay a redress was made last night
Adelaide 27
Richmond 17

Do you have an explanation for why Richmond are AFL #18, #18, #17, #18 for free kicks received in the last 4 seasons? Surey that would have nothing to do with the fact that Nankervis has given away 22 free kicks and received 19 free kicks this season for eg?

In fact last 2 seasons Nankervis 42 free kicks for, 45 free kicks against. St Toby.
Because where you could win a freekick for htb as an example, youre probs on the higher end of it going against you coz of a high tackle. So you have less freekicks and more against

Considering you are highly likely on the dole, you should re-watch the 2017 highlights today. Get yourself some more potato chips & dip and enjoy :thumbsu:
What's with the personal attack? No need for that. So what if they are on the dole? You like to make fun of people's current circumstances?

Richmond board.

It is time people who don't frequent the Richmond board were made aware of the astonishing Richmond free kick statistics accumulating week after week. There is no pressure, we are not winning the flag this year or even making finals no matter what. We are no threat to any contending team. So the issue can be discussed with level heads and people can hopefully come to understand that not all is as it appears in the AFL.

Richmond has LOST 24 of its last 26 free kick counts, by and accumulated margin of -142.

Richmond has WON 2 of its last 26 free kick counts by an accumulated margin of +2.

Richmond has ranked 18th 18th 17th 18th for free kicks received in the last 4 seasons.

Richmond has ranked 1, 1, 7, 1 for free kicks against for the last 4 seasons.

I will provide further statistics to put this into historic context, but these are huge outlier statistics.

When we were strong and arrogant friends of mine who follow footy closely were denying any bias against Richmond.

Now we are not so strong those same friends are saying they can see the bias, and they were only denying it before to engage in banter - as we might expect between supporters of rival clubs.

So if you don't want to discuss it, don't, but the object of this thread is raise awareness of the issue amongst general football followers. Because if it can happen to Richmond, it sure as hell can happen to another club if that suits those who work at the AFL.

Backs holding forwards, impeding their leads. Mids holding opposition mids around the contest. General scragging and hassling a lot more than any other team I have seen recently.

I noticed it live in 2023 from one game when I was paying attention but our game this year was at the G and you can't see what is happening on TV.

We have always been told the AFL is a copy cat league. So if Richmond are holding 10 x and only getting caught 1-2 x and gaining an edge, you can be certain other teams will be aware of it and copy that until the edge vanishes. If Richmond are not gaining an advantage from it they won't be doing it.

So I think this explanation is entirely unlikely. In any event I can't recall significantly more frees against Richmond for holding off the ball compared to other teams. All teams will be doing this type of behaviour to a similar extent over time.

Why don't other teams do this against Richmond then? They don't do it against Richmond to the extent that over the last 4 seasons Richmond are AFL #18, AFL #18, AFL #17, AFL #18 for free kicks received. That has absolutely nothing to do with Richmond's playing style.
Marlion Pickett over the last few years.
2020 8 for 13 against
2021 11 for 34 against
2022 21 for 28 against
2023 15 for 24 against
2024 6 for 24 against (after 12 games)

I get the way he plays is on the more physical side. Fair enough he has got a career out of it. But you can't complain about free kicks when you have a player who consistently gives away more than he earns. You are always likely to be in the negative every time you run out there with him.

Because where you could win a freekick for htb as an example, youre probs on the higher end of it going against you coz of a high tackle. So you have less freekicks and more against

So by that theory the teams conceding the most free kicks who are not Richmond should also tend to be getting the least free kicks paid to them zyzz.

Can you produce any evidence to support that theory?

2020 8 for 13 against
2021 11 for 34 against
2022 21 for 28 against
2023 15 for 24 against

I get the way he plays is on the more physical side. Fair enough he has got a career out of it. But you can't complain about free kicks when you have a player who consistently gives away more than he earns. You are always likely to be in the negative every time you run out there with him.

Marlion Pickett did not play last night.

Free kicks:

Adelaide 27

Richmond 17

It is time people who don't frequent the Richmond board were made aware of the astonishing Richmond free kick statistics accumulating week after week. There is no pressure, we are not winning the flag this year or even making finals no matter what. We are no threat to any contending team. So the issue can be discussed with level heads and people can hopefully come to understand that not all is as it appears in the AFL.

Richmond has LOST 24 of its last 26 free kick counts, by and accumulated margin of -142.

Richmond has WON 2 of its last 26 free kick counts by an accumulated margin of +2.

Richmond has ranked 18th 18th 17th 18th for free kicks received in the last 4 seasons.

I will provide further statistics to put this into historic context, but these are huge outlier statistics.

When we were strong and arrogant friends of mine who follow footy closely were denying any bias against Richmond.

Now we are not so strong those same friends are saying they can see the bias, and they were only denying it before to engage in banter - as we might expect between supporters of rival clubs.

So if you don't want to discuss it, don't, but the object of this thread is raise awareness of the issue amongst general football followers. Because if it can happen to Richmond, it sure as hell can happen to another club if that suits those who work at the AFL.
Richmond have always been rigged with AA selections too, haven't they?

And the bloody stand rule.

2020 8 for 13 against
2021 11 for 34 against
2022 21 for 28 against
2023 15 for 24 against

I think the free kick count is the least of old Marlion's worries at the moment

Your contention is strongly backed by the numbers which are astounding

But you might just have to accept the fact that you barrack for a very dirty side

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Since 2017 the team with the worst free kick percentage has been
Richmond 6 times (2017, 2018, 2021,2022,2023,2024)
Hawthorn 1 time (2020)
GWS 1 time (2019)

But since stats were kept, the Hawks have the worst percentage of all clubs

View attachment 2012628
So we feel your pain brotha!

The most interesting thing about this table for me is that Hawthorn are the only club with a percentage below 100% for home games, and we are significantly (statistically) below the next lowest club.

The Hardwick style was to intentionally infringe and hope that fewer than 50% of them were pinged, meaning 50/50 contests were skewed towards Richmond winning the ball.

I dont know if Yze does this too, or if its the older dogs unable to learnnew tricks.

Similar to Bevo getting the players to throw or drop the ball when tackled knowing the AFL didnt want more frees being paid so they would get away with it.

Coaches using the rules to their advantage.

You guys did that too. Not saying it’s a bad thing just an observation. It’s most likely where Hardwick got it from.

Opinion An Urgent Enquiry is Required into the Umpiring of Certain Matches Mid-Season 2023