Analysis and votes v Kangaroos

• Thread starter Thread starter dominguez

I reckon your coaching staff got caught out for not doing their homework - mainly on our new style of play & youngsters who were probably the difference in the end - rather than the usual suspects (Thompson, Simpson, Archer, Grant & Harvey). We're actually a very fast side now with a lot of running machines. Something we've never been.

I think that is a mistake a lot of the teams who finish near the foot of the table. They go all out to win the nab cup the next year and in doing so give opposition clubs a good look at their structures and game plan. In many ways it is best to take the Sydney approach of playing one nab cup game, then trialling things in the practice games away from the cameras.

From todays west-

Connolly said some key players, including captain Matthew Pavlich, were likely to be rested for Saturday nights clash with hawthorn.

From todays west-

Connolly said some key players, including captain Matthew Pavlich, were likely to be rested for Saturday nights clash with hawthorn.

Which is what should be done. Most of our blokes in our best 22 that have played both matches should be rested for a week, have a run next week and then a 2 week break before round 1. Time to give Tarrant a run, put Campbell at FF and a few kids as crumbers.

You are joking aren't you?

My nanna could play with a bit more intensity than he did today.
He frustrates me no end and needs to learn from guys like Browne who value the fact that he can play for this club.

What about johnson,murphy,mcpharlin,mcarr,gilmore,peake none of those players has had two good games either yet headland is singled out again.

I'm with you!! Headland was good last week! Problem with Headland, McPharlin, Johnson and even Gilmore to some extent is that they always look laconic and like they're half trying. Murphy, Peake and M Carr have done very little so far.

M Carr had better start off 2007 with a bit more urgency than he did in 2006. We can't afford to carry him for 6 weeks.

Which is what should be done. Most of our blokes in our best 22 that have played both matches should be rested for a week, have a run next week and then a 2 week break before round 1. Time to give Tarrant a run, put Campbell at FF and a few kids as crumbers.

It might be a good idea for Pavlich to play to build some chemistry with Tarrant. With the benefit of hindsight Pav should have sat out yesterdays game. Murphy needs to play this week, he's had 2 poor games (3 if you count the intraclub) and needs to find some confidence.

If Solomon or Farmer get suspended they should play this week. If through some miracle they get off then they should have a rest this week, and Farmer should be told to settle down or there will be consequences.

I'm with you!! Headland was good last week! Problem with Headland, McPharlin, Johnson and even Gilmore to some extent is that they always look laconic and like they're half trying. Murphy, Peake and M Carr have done very little so far.

M Carr had better start off 2007 with a bit more urgency than he did in 2006. We can't afford to carry him for 6 weeks.

Jlo could be added to that list too.Peake and johnson seem to be playing out of position so it might hurt their impact on the game.

You will definately finish Top Four. Agree with Hedland where is his head at. My dream is for you blokes to knock off your more feted Perthites in a preliminary final and go on to win the Granny - see them gloat over the "History of the Dockers" film then

We are fighting to stay alive in Melbourne literally that is why we have to keep winning. Good luck for the real season

I share your dream Contra and good luck with the rest of the NAB cup.

See you on the 15th July.

It might be a good idea for Pavlich to play to build some chemistry with Tarrant. With the benefit of hindsight Pav should have sat out yesterdays game. Murphy needs to play this week, he's had 2 poor games (3 if you count the intraclub) and needs to find some confidence.

The biggest change to the team for this year is the addition of Tarrant, and it should create some different startegies up forward, through the midfield and off the half back line. Tarrant and Pavlich are the keys to that, and hopefully they can gell quickly, but you'd think it will take some time. I would rather have seen Pav rested yesterday and bring in the reserves. i also think that Murphy needs a bit more responsibility put on him, which that may have done. Assuming next week Tarrant is not going to play the full match, I'd have both Pav and Tarrant in the squad and give them half a game on field together, and I'd have as much of the rest of the forward line on as well.

I think that is a mistake a lot of the teams who finish near the foot of the table. They go all out to win the nab cup the next year and in doing so give opposition clubs a good look at their structures and game plan. In many ways it is best to take the Sydney approach of playing one nab cup game, then trialling things in the practice games away from the cameras.

spot on dom.If we had to play them season proper over there I would be very confident of a win after yesterday

IMO you can only get 100% fit,so if it takes twelve weeks to achieve that why start 16 weeks out(whatever it is)they're not going to get match fit till they play another team so what is the point of them starting so early?anybody know why?

I'd like to see the majority of the round 1 team out there this weekend - if they need a rest give it to them the following week when no doubt the AFL will be sending us to a football wilderness. Keep the travelling down for the senior players and give a few of the younger guys a bit more exposure to it.

Does anyone know if Warnock has recovered from his injury yet?

If they need a rest give it to them the following week when no doubt the AFL will be sending us to a football wilderness. Keep the travelling down for the senior players and give a few of the younger guys a bit more exposure to it.

Yeah good point. I'm tipping a trip tp Kangaroo Island.

IMO you can only get 100% fit, so if it takes twelve weeks to achieve that why start 16 weeks out(whatever it is)they're not going to get match fit till they play another team so what is the point of them starting so early?anybody know why?

100% applies to all areas of life except for sport, where you can give 110%. :D

The players need a strong fitness base before they start playing 100 minutes. Schammer may struggle to return even if he starts training in april because he won't have those miles in his legs.

someone from freo has a sense of humor or someone in t.v land has no idea
the team they put up before the start of the game

B-jlo grover solomon
HB-jcarr mcarr walker
C-crowley headland drum
HF-farmer pav peake
F-browne mcpharlin mundy

ruck sandi haze bell
inter-dodd johnson hayden muphy duff gilmore
:D :D :D

spot on dom.If we had to play them season proper over there I would be very confident of a win after yesterday

IMO you can only get 100% fit,so if it takes twelve weeks to achieve that why start 16 weeks out(whatever it is)they're not going to get match fit till they play another team so what is the point of them starting so early?anybody know why?

The extra time on the track was as much to do with reprogramming the players by drilling the new game plan into them, knock out the bad habits from last year - plus an element of punishment for sucking so much last year.

And for anyone who thinks Tarrant is the messiah - think again. If you get 3 top shelf games out of him per year you should be happy. He aint a key forward. Forward flanker who may kick 4+ goals two or 3 times per season.

Without his dopey mate from Essendon you could expect better - but by round 6 he will be your new whipping boy.

Bookmark it.

Has any Freo supporter EVER expressed particularly high expectations of Tarrant? If he can be a good solid marking half forward flanker and take a bit of heat off Pavlich he'll be good value. We already have a messiah thanks, he's won 4 all australians at 24 years old, he just wasnt trying very hard yesterday. And Kangaroos for bottom 4 - bookmark that

What's the deal with grover? Is still trying to regain form after his injury?
i think grover needs to play on the number1 guy was in AA form last year b4 the injury playin on the number1 forward, since then mcpharlins had the job and as some players do just play better on better opponents, must say didnt have much luck today tho, couldve won us the game if we had a few more seconds

Perhaps you should read the whole thread. this an anlysis thread. I thought we were allowed to make comments positive and negative :confused:

players who need to have a good hard look at themselves after that:

Solomon (???????)
Headland (non exeistent twaddle, no presence no guts)
McPharlin (disinterested)
Farmer (taking his angry pills again)
Mundy (Lazy looking)

And for anyone who thinks Tarrant is the messiah - think again. If you get 3 top shelf games out of him per year you should be happy. He aint a key forward. Forward flanker who may kick 4+ goals two or 3 times per season.

Without his dopey mate from Essendon you could expect better - but by round 6 he will be your new whipping boy.

Bookmark it.

Maybe we'll bag him so much that he'll retire after one terrible season, costing us two first round picks and lots of $$$$$$. ;)

In all seriousness though, I am a bit worried that a lot of our less clued-up fans will get sucked in by the Tarrant = superstar hype.

The last thing we need is a heap of nuff-nuffs on his back if he doesn't take 20 marks and kick 4 goals every game.

If he takes some pressure off Pav, gives us another target and bobs up with a few goals now and then I'll be satisfied.

In all seriousness though, I am a bit worried that a lot of our less clued-up fans will get sucked in by the Tarrant = superstar hype.

The last thing we need is a heap of nuff-nuffs on his back if he doesn't take 20 marks and kick 4 goals every game.

If he takes some pressure off Pav, gives us another target and bobs up with a few goals now and then I'll be satisfied.

That's the problem with the increase in members. Not long ago every member was a passionate Freo supporter and would stick by their team regardless. There seems to have been a real increase in negativity at our home games lately (the treatment of Schammer last year was an example). Part of it is because football fans, and not necessarily Fremantle fans, have taken out memberships in recent years to get their footy fix.

Aslong as he performs at a reasonable level Tarrantula shouldn't have any problems though. If you bump into him just remind him not to read the papers or listen to 6PR.

Hopefully people have learnt from Croad, who had a reasonable first season and still copped a load of criticism (not from supporters on game day but in the west and on radio). If Tarrant averages around 15 possessions and two goals a game I'll be happy.

Dam bandwagoners.You don't have to get the ball to have an impact just as long as they work together to create space and chances for each other.

It's weird, but my favourite Freo season so far is 2001. I loved watching us lose for some reason, maybe just because we were consistent. That and everyone else jumped off the bandwagon.. hehe.

I hope 2007 is my favourite year.... maybe I just need to spike the Freo water with some Ben Cousins juice to get them interested in football again. :)

Haha if you loved watching us lose hopefully this wont be your new favourite year.