Blues_Brat

Sturt
Someone on the SFC guestbook said that Jarman has publicly stated that he would love to coach Sturt.

8 wooden spoons didn't stop me from supporting the Blues.

This would be my worst nightmare increased 1000 fold and the only thing that could turn me away from the club.
mad.gif

I felt the same way a fw years ago when there was talk of Port picking him up!

Here's the story about his coaching ambitions from the Sunday Mail - he'd certainly be more 'interesting' at press conferences than G.Ayres:

It could be a classic case of tears of a clown for Andrew Jarman, certainly if football officials at the top level don't start taking his skills on offer seriously.

The former Crows champion and two-time Magarey Medal winner may have created a joker's persona for himself through his radio work and TV ads, but the man wants football officialdom to look beyond the clown's mask and see his true worth.

And right in his sights are the coaching positions at Sturt and the Crows, although he will concede an assistant's role in the AFL arena, for the time being.

There is no doubt Andrew Jarman was considered one of the best going around when playing for the Crows, a champion with flair able to pull off the seemingly impossible in front of an adoring crowd.

He has always been seen as a man on the field who had moments of brilliance, but then off the field, possibly lacking credibility through his antics.

It is a situation that has turned around to bite him on the proverbial, and he wants those in control to look beyond a perception.

"I have a big desire to get into the top level of football in terms of coaching, and that includes the AFL," he said.

"I think today's kids and players just aren't educated enough to be honest, and with the experience and success I've had as a footballer I think I can contribute.

"When you have Malcolm Blight coming out and saying half his players actually don't have skill level and they are playing AFL footy, that's a real concern.

"I accept a lot of people who don't know me well see me as a clown, but they don't see there is a serious side to me.

"The persona I have out there is obviously the lovable larrikin, the clown, the idiot, but I do have another hat, where I'm a family man and I take my coaching seriously and I love looking at the game from a different aspect." About three years ago, Jarman went back to his roots, his first club Gaza and played his heart out, inspiring his teammates to lift their game and win.

Last year, as playing coach at Gaza, he got his A2 Amateur League side into the grand final and won the first premiership for the side in nearly 70 years.

"It's been a good journey and I'm pleased with my own efforts. Gaza has been a place where I started my schooling for coaching, not wanting to jump in the deep end like others," he said.

"I feel I'm ready, I feel I'm a player's coach and I can get inside their minds.

"What I would do differently is have a policy where you would see a lot more skill, plus provide good footballers, get the kids to enjoy their footy to the point they want to bleed for you.

"One club I would love to get my hands on is Sturt. They have got so much and coach Phil Carman has done a wonderful job, but since they played a grand final, they have gone downhill.

"In the AFL, well, the Crows obviously, but I would be prepared to take an assistant's job for a while.

"I haven't been out knocking on doors, which is something my brother Darren reckons I should do, but I feel I'm ready to be taken seriously, I want to coach in the top league."

Thanks for that GD.

Who would have thought that Phil Carmen would make a good coach? Although I haven't been around the club much over the past few years, Phil has been a revelation. There is no reason why Andrew Jarmen couldn't be successful. The best coaches aren't always the most obvious, in fact it might be time to get some real skills back into the club which we haven't had too much of since the Oatey days.

Is there something I don't know about the future of Phil?

Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
Someone on the SFC guestbook said that Jarman has publicly stated that he would love to coach Sturt.

This would be my worst nightmare increased 1000 fold and the only thing that could turn me away from the club.
mad.gif

He has done very well with Gaza.

It will be an unknown until he is given a chance.

He did have the best handball in the business.

If it annoys you Blues_Brat it can only be positive.
smile.gif

Originally posted by Jars458:

He has done very well with Gaza.

It will be an unknown until he is given a chance.

He did have the best handball in the business.

If it annoys you Blues_Brat it can only be positive.
smile.gif

Best handball? Most dubious handball you mean. Jarman was one of the worst offenders of the "Crows Throw" as it became known as.

You said in another thread..

Group abuse sessions are unbecoming and really bring down the SANFL discussions to farce.

Your dig smacks of hipocrasy me thinks. I nearly said in the Port Power board the other day that youre as stupid as easty, thanks mate, you've said it for me.

I would be horrified if Andrew Jarman were given the coaching job at Unley. The man is a fool. I can't beleive he is going on about kids education!! The guy was a total drop kick at school and has the IQ of a turnip.

Jarman was a clown on the footy field alright. Doubtful if he was the 'clown prince', there is nothing regal about the turd.

Andrew Jarman thought he was going to be the next Mark Jackson. The difference with Jars and Jacko is that Jacko is actually not as stupid as he appears, he is a fairly astute business man who made the most of his onfield persona. Jacko merely acted like an idiot.. Jarman IS an idiot.

Your dig smacks of hipocrasy me thinks. I nearly said in the Port Power board the other day that youre as stupid as easty, thanks mate, you've said it for me.

B]

Nothing wrong with a bit of one on one but whole groups of people against one is a bit harsh

I am still to see any evidence to put forward to say I am stupid.

If I am stupid you are off the Kelvin scale to use a temperature metaphor.

Jarman did not throw the ball he was a master of the quick hands. Get some videos slow them down and you will see.

You may hate the Jarmans but at least try and have some impartiality.

mad.gif

I have a VERY strong feeling that it would take more than Andrew Jarman coaching Sturt before you'd turn away!
biggrin.gif

mad.gif

Typical soft Sturt supporter, leaving the club because they don't agree with the coach.

mad.gif

This would be the best thing ever for a supporter like me!!! The abuse possibilities is endless

I respect Andrew Jarman efforts on the field for the Club (well most of them, when he did what he was told and had his act together).

However he was his own downfall and really needs to ADMIT that. Stop blaming Blight and stating in Inside Footy he still doesnt know why he was sacked.His preperation and attitude at times were disgraceful (turning up over 10 pounds overwieght at preseason training for season 1994, playing shit footy and being protected by KG in 94, hitting a cameraman in 96 amongst other things)

However, refusing to play for the club after he was dropped in 96 is unforgivable. That really bloody hurt and I reckon as long as John Reid is at the Crows A Jarman, McGuinness and McDermott have no friggin hope of getting a coaching job there.

It's a real shame, we do need a decent skills coach.

Jerome

I think the comments supporting Jarman as a league coach are very convincing. If I was a Sturt supporter I would support the move. Carman has done an excellent job since he has been with you but perhaps it needs someone new to take you to the next level. I think he has credibility from the field and has matured since retirement.
If Williams left Port next year and Poole wasn't ready I would support Jarman as the coach.

Originally posted by Blues_Girl:
I have a VERY strong feeling that it would take more than Andrew Jarman coaching Sturt before you'd turn away!
biggrin.gif

You don't realise the extent of my hate towards him.

Typical soft Sturt supporter, leaving the club because they don't agree with the coach.

Soft??? Hardly, I didn't 'agree' with Rick Davies in 89 but I stuck by them through the dark years. It's not that I don't 'agree' with Andrew Jarman. I just cannot accept him as coach.

Loved Phil Carmas column today.

"Still my job, Jars", was the headline.

Best bit:

"I nearly choked on my bacon and eggs on Sunday morning when I read the Jaramn feature in the Sunday Mail. And that was just when I read the headline 'Take Me Seriously'."

Hear, hear.

Soft??? Hardly, I didn't 'agree' with Rick Davies in 89 but I stuck by them through the dark years. It's not that I don't 'agree' with Andrew Jarman. I just cannot accept him as coach.

Phil Carman got stuck into Jars in today's Advo saying he would be coaching until 2004 and that in the last four years Sturt have won as many minor round games as Port

Fair enough from Phil I think.

He said he nearly choked on his eggs and bacon and that was only when he read the headline that Jars wanted to be treated seriously

You have to laugh.

biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

------------------
"It's all about appetite.. and they're both hungry"
Dennis... September 1998

Originally posted by Jars458

Nothing wrong with a bit of one on one but whole groups of people against one is a bit harsh

When you've been around for a bit longer (not trying to insult you by saying that or anything, but anyway), you will see Easty's true colours, and see what we mean.