Andrew Mackie

• Thread starter Thread starter ciaobella

Re: Mackie MUST be dropped

Mackie could rack up 25 disposals, be damaging on the counter attack, hold a few marks and people would still find a way of bagging him.

FWIW there was one instance on Friday (an overhead mark in blustery conditions) where I thought he could've gone harder.. Not going to start a thread about it though

it must have the angle of the tv camera, because it looked awfully like he squibbed it

Mackie could rack up 25 disposals, be damaging on the counter attack, hold a few marks and people would still find a way of bagging him.

FWIW there was one instance on Friday (an overhead mark in blustery conditions) where I thought he could've gone harder.. Not going to start a thread about it though

Mainly I think due to his ability to squib out of a marking contest when he is in front of a pack.

A group of us lost count the amount of times that he seemed to be running on the spot to get to a contest, to then just get there as the opposition had already marked. He looks at the ball, then player and then pulls out of it every single time.

If it happened once, we'd say ohhh well, but three, four, five...... every game he does it and every game we lose a goal on that play.

That is why I cannot stand the guy. No backbone, no heart.

I realise that we need outside players to gain those inside 50s from the middle of the ground, but, when the heat is on, he melts to the pressure and doesn't put in hard enough.

Of the group of guys around me last night, everyone of them had the same view. He regularly pulls out of contests, which often cost us on the scoreboard.

24-25 possessions, 5 defensive marks, I don't think so!
If you want to call him a squibb whats' that make Varcoe?
Andy Macks stats proove he's not a pea heart, but yes, he's the run and carry type defender, not your big hard body type.

you're hilarious....and bringing varcoe back into it? funny how mackie gets off on the "he's the run and carry type defender" technicality yet varcoe isnt allowed to be a "run and carry mid".

he pulls out of contests, even the neutral pies supporter next to me was pointing it out.

maybe get to a game and open your eyes.

you're hilarious....and bringing varcoe back into it? funny how mackie gets off on the "he's the run and carry type defender" technicality yet varcoe isnt allowed to be a "run and carry mid".

he pulls out of contests, even the neutral pies supporter next to me was pointing it out.

maybe get to a game and open your eyes.

Hilarious?...I guess thats one word for it.

Meto's vendetta continues..he just can't help himself.

Pathetic.

We have enough players on the list that aren't big hard body types; yet, are quite happy to put their body on the line.

Mackie doesn't do it week in week out and it shows. Like the contested possession against Davis last week, he often pulls out of the contest, where he becomes a turnstile.

Sorry, he picks up a lot of possessions, I'll give you that, but he often goes missing when the pressure mounts and he has to make the hard call.

So sad that we are 8 and zip, soon to be 9, and all some posters can do is complain, hate on premiership heroes and try and assume they know more than our match committee and coaching staff. So sad. STFU you flogs, and enjoy the continuing ride!

Mackie should not get dropped.

Is a valuable addition to our team and nit picking a few mistakes glosses over the fact that he uses a high number of possesions off the back flank very effectively.

Hasn't been great, but has been far from poor. Most teams would kill to have Mackie in their defense!

Unbelievable !

Watch the game again boys !
Most of our team kept getting caught out of position all night on Friday.

But Mackie was in the right position to spoil time and time again.
Easily his best game of the year. He was critical in many, many plays.

9 contested possessions.

7x 50 rebounds
2x 50 entries.

Now is it just me or does it take someone who is playing well to create like that AND not get caught out when our team turns the ball over?

A group of us lost count the amount of times that he seemed to be running on the spot to get to a contest, to then just get there as the opposition had already marked. He looks at the ball, then player and then pulls out of it every single time.

He did do this. A lot.

Unbelievable !

9 contested possessions.

7x 50 rebounds
2x 50 entries.

Now is it just me or does it take someone who is playing well to create like that AND not get caught out when our team turns the ball over?

vc, you cant call out varcoe for gliding and not putting his body on the line and be happy with mackie doing the same thing.

If we are going to drop Mackie, who do we replace him with?

Gillies is a similar height but I would not be surprised if he was playing local footy somewhere within the next couple of years.

So sad that we are 8 and zip, soon to be 9, and all some posters can do is complain, hate on premiership heroes and try and assume they know more than our match committee and coaching staff. So sad. STFU you flogs, and enjoy the continuing ride!

It's constructive to have such debate, that's life mate. If we didn't debate anything, the world and BigFooty would be a boring place.

Of course we are all happy that we are 8-0, but to be complacent is not a way to win a premiership.

Unbelievable !

- Watched the game again, didn't see many spoils. Waite smashed him numerous times in marking contests. Had front possie in front of Betts, lost that too.

9 contested possessions.

7x 50 rebounds
2x 50 entries.

Wow. Unfortunately, this is the point. When the ball needs to be locked down in a 50-50 call, Mackie can't defend because he can't put his body on the line.

I did watch the game again, I'd say 3 or four of those rebound 50s were just clearance kicks, like the one in the last quarter from the kick in that went straight to a Carlton player.

I know what I'm seeing, I'd defend Mackie to the hilt if he just put his body over the ball more, as when he doesn't, we lose the ball and often have goals scored against us. If he does do what some of you are saying, why was he dropped last year and the year before that? Exactly the reason stated here.

We can use the stats all we like, being an outside player of course he is going to rack them up. But for a backline player to have zero tackles, in such a game is alarming.

I bet there is a lot of people out there who are saying the exact same thing. Alas, we can just debate it until the cows come home. I only hope that he either learns to put his body on the line, or we find someone else who can. In close games against the Pies, possibly in the finals race, I'd hate to see him be a turnstile and Leon Davis cruises through Mackie's jelly arm grip again.

We will see I guess. I am very happy with the start, I just hope that to be a better team, players like Mackie see their inefficiencies and improve.

vc, you cant call out varcoe for gliding and not putting his body on the line and be happy with mackie doing the same thing.

Yeah I can. He is having 25 disposals and taking care of an opponent.

And we all know varcoe can be a demon tackler. Mackie is not.

The issue for me is varcoe is not tackling or trying to dispossess the opponent. And that's pretty much my only grief with him.

I only .......

All you said was fair enough. I'm just not sure Mackie can ever be a complete one on one player.

He is too lightly framed and is moved aside fairly easily.

Yeah I can. He is having 25 disposals and taking care of an opponent.

oh no, not the meto possession defence.

look, i dont think he should be dropped but you should get back to going to the games and see what the german and myself are talking about. i think that crunching he got in his first season has made him hesitate on the field at times.

i think he really needs to be moved up field, maybe to a wing. his long kicking into the f50 could be devasting.

Gawd, don't associate me with meto