Andrew Maher -"Melbourne tanked the game"

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

I hate this time of year: mercenary sides tank, Ego driven Richmond wins, supporter hopes rise, afore-mentioned tanking sides get the cream, RFC gets less then whats left. The only time I hate more is when we begin paying the price 5 weeks into next season. We had our win, now lets just save ourselves for Hawthorn then go to sleep until draft time.

naaa, you see the team cant pick and choose. Like today we play to win but tomorrow we dont play to win, can never be the case. By the way you put it, you are suggesting that there are pre-programmed robots playing out on the ground, who dont have a choice. ;)

You've spent this thread arguing that they have just picked and chosen when they have won, now you're saying they can't. Which is it?

why would they play awesome footy, beat the pies and the crows then decide "nah thats enough wins, lets start losing". that just doesnt make sense.

Sounds conspiratorial but believe me all you need is 1% drop in focus across the organisation for a losing 'meme' to spread. All the Managing group has to do is allow it to happen by example. WTF was pudgy pickett doing in the side anyway?

give the conspiracy theories a rest cogga, at least this one anyway, you're chasing your own tail;)

relax dude, you cant expect it to be the case where we all come in here and agree on eveything that is thrown up for debate can you?
Give you the tip, the only time that will occur is when we are at Punt Rd on the Saturday night after the Saturday arvo, partying with the cup.
Then we will all agree that we are the best side in the comp, because its the only time we are talking about a fact. ;)

Melbourne tanked a game after winning 2 in a row?
Richmond destroyed melbournes confidence in the first 20 minutes of the game, once that was done and the tigers didnt slow down in the second half the game was over. Melbourne had no choice but to get thumped.

Looking through the stats and watching the game, there was some quiet players, but I cannot think of one player for the tigers who played badly.

It's simple. Melbourne had just won 2 ripper games and were full of confidence coming up against the bottom place side. I think that is where the problem lies. They were over confident and thought they had won the game before a ball was bounced. Don't think they realised the affect N.Brown was going to have on his teammates and the game. No doubt every RFC player walked taller with Browny playing. Not tanking at all. They brought Fatboy Pickett because they thought he would intimidate our younger players, and also Yze because he has always ripped us!!

yeah it is "simple" isnt it? Lets have it again? They were full of confidence after having won 2 ripper games, even though they were still lagging in second last place and the snow was falling in Falls Creek.
They had seen us in Freo, seen us against the bummers, and after all that, they only looked at the cats game as a pointer to how we were playing. Correct?
The also didnt realise the affect a superstar of the comp would have on the game.? Man, 10 minutes in and he had 5 or 6 disposals already. By quarter time he had leather poisoning and a goal. Kind of think that was enough of a realisation dont you? So when did the penny drop do you think? I mean, there were 3 quarters of footy left, they were playing the bottom side, kind of think they had ample time to realise and act on their realisation dont you? And now they are half a game in front of us.

Get onto the bookie boys, they will be coached by a fav son next year. And the members will come flocking back. ;)

Or they become the Darwin Demons ;)

i woudl suggest that if it hasnt happened yet, Garry will be having quite a few lattes in the coming weeks. And you can add a Connelly to the equation as his right hand man. If they arent pulling out all stops to get that happening, then as Sammy says, you can board up the club and sell it to cash converters. Anything less and they are toast.
A team with a list like the dees, should be firmly entenched in the 8. Even with the injuries. It took time for the nuff nuffs to wake up, but when they put their faith in a coach who had the "foresight" to suggest that a Ross Funcke was a required player in his team, then frank that "foresight" by swooping on a cement legs holland as well, well??? do i go on any further? And he lasted 10 years? LMAO....sheesh, some boards will never learn will they. ;)

Gardner was interviewed on AW before the game and he was talking finals, they had the game already won.....then they got the pants pulled down and copped one without vaseline.

Couldnt happen to a better club, except maybe hawthorn

i woudl suggest that if it hasnt happened yet, Garry will be having quite a few lattes in the coming weeks. And you can add a Connelly to the equation as his right hand man. If they arent pulling out all stops to get that happening, then as Sammy says, you can board up the club and sell it to cash converters. Anything less and they are toast.
A team with a list like the dees, should be firmly entenched in the 8. Even with the injuries. It took time for the nuff nuffs to wake up, but when they put their faith in a coach who had the "foresight" to suggest that a Ross Funcke was a required player in his team, then frank that "foresight" by swooping on a cement legs holland as well, well??? do i go on any further? And he lasted 10 years? LMAO....sheesh, some boards will never learn will they. ;)

Cogga - two words for you mate. Kent Kingsley.

All board make mistakes. Even the Tigers.

LMAO, dude, the only ones that understand the skills that Ross Funcke possesed are tigers and dees. Believe me, "mistake" is an overstatement. ;)

Some people are so quick to criticise others when they most likely don't possess an ounce of sporting ability themselves!