ROUND 3 VS ESSENDON

Kicks: 7
Handballs: 2
Marks: 3
Tackles: 5
Goals: 1
Behinds: 1

Whilst he only had 9 possessions, I thought Walker was good on the weekend.

He started on Hird and then drifted forward and kicked that WONDERFUL goal from the pocket.

He also had a stint in the midfield and did ok.

I think this weekend he will get an important job, maybe even on Judd.

It's great that Tex has been able to kick a goal every match to date this year. Seems to miss the easier goal but get the more difficult goal. Hopefully he will continue to be apart of the goalkickers!

ROUND 3 VS ESSENDON

Kicks: 7
Handballs: 2
Marks: 3
Tackles: 5
Goals: 1
Behinds: 1

Whilst he only had 9 possessions, I thought Walker was good on the weekend.

He started on Hird and then drifted forward and kicked that WONDERFUL goal from the pocket.

He also had a stint in the midfield and did ok.

I think this weekend he will get an important job, maybe even on Judd.

It's great that Tex has been able to kick a goal every match to date this year. Seems to miss the easier goal but get the more difficult goal. Hopefully he will continue to be apart of the goalkickers!

Just goes to show.......quality, not quantity.

Played very well on Saturday, even though his possessions were lower than expected.

Only things I can really take away from his performance are that he didn't kick 2 goals-the 2nd attempt was MUCH easier than the first, and also his hit on an Essendon player in the goalsquare.

Frustration born of two things:
  1. Should have received a free kick (yeah, good luck :rolleyes: ) for the Essendon player playing the man from the front and not looking at the ball in the marking contest
  2. The Dons player giving it to him after the fact..........probably something like "with the amount of money we have paid these blokes today mate there's nop way you're gonna get that free..........we may as well leave the little leaguers out after half time because with the umps in our pocket even they would kill you.........":D
Sadly, this actually happened...........and even with the umps help those poor little kiddies just couldn't keep up with us.............:D

ROUND 4 VS WEST COAST

Kicks: 6
Handballs: 8
Marks: 2
Tackles: 7
Goals: 0
Behinds: 0

Whilst he only had one touch in the first half, he did keep Embley out of the match.

He went into the middle in the last quarter and had several clearances and shut down a rampaging Judd so whilst he didn't have a lot of possessions, he did contribute.

His tackling count continues to improve as well :thumbsu:

He disappeared in the all important third quarter and he should have been switched with Bryce. He kicked a great goal from a set shot, but he really needs to nail those goals on the run from 50 rather than running closer to goal and giving the defender a chance to close.

He needs to improve his clearance work in traffic if he wants to become a midfielder.

15 disposals - 9 kicks, 6 marks, 4 inside 50, 2 tackles, 2 spoils, 1 FF, 1 FA, 3 first disposals, 2 clearances, 1 goal, 2 misses. :(

Walker>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Thomas

Walker giving it to that little **** was priceless! :thumbsu: :)

0,1658,5482060,00.jpg

Re: Walker>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Thomas

I've been offered Andrew Walker as part of a trade deal in a fantasy footy competition. He seems to have gone off the boil a bit. I'd like your opinions on his capacity to improve.

The deal is: Seaby (R) and Matthew Carr (C, B) for Craig Bolton (B) and Andrew Walker (C, B) (whom I would accept), just to set the context.

Re: Walker>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Thomas

I've been offered Andrew Walker as part of a trade deal in a fantasy footy competition. He seems to have gone off the boil a bit. I'd like your opinions on his capacity to improve.

The deal is: Seaby (R) and Matthew Carr (C, B) for Craig Bolton (B) and Andrew Walker (C, B) (whom I would accept), just to set the context.

Walker still has HUGE scope for improvement-hasn't had a great few weeks, but he'll be back soon enough.

If we play him in the middle for a whole game, watch out. You only need to look at him in the middle this year, especially 1 quarter against I dont remember who, but he was dominant.

Re: 1. Andrew Walker - bluegal1983

He's frustrating

Well imagine how frustrated he'd be feeling, week in week out, being played in random positions, where he can't show off his talent, where he can't create for us, where he just has to lap up the ball, shut down his player... it should be the other way around, players should be worried about shutting him down.

Pagan needs to show faith in him now - it's 3 years sinc ehe started his apprentiship, and now it's time for Pagan to Walk the walk, all he has done with Walker is talk the talk.

Play the boy where he can win us games!!!

Well imagine how frustrated he'd be feeling, week in week out, being played in random positions, where he can't show off his talent, where he can't create for us, where he just has to lap up the ball, shut down his player... it should be the other way around, players should be worried about shutting him down.

Pagan needs to show faith in him now - it's 3 years sinc ehe started his apprentiship, and now it's time for Pagan to Walk the walk, all he has done with Walker is talk the talk.

Play the boy where he can win us games!!!

Hate to say it but I think that position is on the half back line.

I am just not sure he has the skills and knowledge to play in the middle just yet. I know that will come with experience in the position but I really think we need him running off half back.

Leave Simmo, Murph and Carrazzo in the guts and let Walks create play off HB.

Hate to say it but I think that position is on the half back line.

I am just not sure he has the skills and knowledge to play in the middle just yet. I know that will come with experience in the position but I really think we need him running off half back.

Leave Simmo, Murph and Carrazzo in the guts and let Walks create play off HB.

I have no problem with him being allowed to run off the half back line, even rotating with someone in the midfield if needed, however i do have aproblem when i see him standing down in the back pocket, which i've seen a few times.:(

Agreed. Walks is a player that needs to be given a job. The past few weeks he has looked lost and hasn't really had a position. This needs to be fixed ASAP.

I reckon if we can get a top 5 drat pick for him this year, we should consider it.

His disposal really hasn't improved at all, and his kicking for goal has cost us dearly at times, so I wouldn't be adverse to trading Walker if we coudl get a fairly good deal for him.

I'm sorry but my pateience is wearing thing with Walker, we may has well strike whilst we can get value for him.

I reckon if we can get a top 5 drat pick for him this year, we should consider it.

His disposal really hasn't improved at all, and his kicking for goal has cost us dearly at times, so I wouldn't be adverse to trading Walker if we coudl get a fairly good deal for him.

I'm sorry but my pateience is wearing thing with Walker, we may has well strike whilst we can get value for him.
I wouldn't even consider it. What's the chance that the guy we pick up with the pick will be a superstar? Anyway, Walker's only 20. It wasn't until Well's fifth year that he played good consistent footy, it took Goddard four years, Hodge four years, with them playing in better teams than Carlton.

Past Andrew Walker