Past Andrew Walker

Saw a stat that Walker leads Carlton for metres gained.

Dud.

Delist.

If you're going to use such a simple, individually irrelevant stat as the be-all and end-all in an argument about his value to the team, you have to expect responses like this.

Does it take into account metres lost? ie, is it metres gained less metres lost = actual metres gained or is it simply metres gained?

Had a terrible year in my opinion.

The fact we pulled the pin on surgery early though suggests he was under duress for quite a bit. Brilliant footballer when fit.

Yep, agree with all of the above.

Walker had a shocking season be it due to injury, poor form, lack of confidence or a combination of those factors.

Wasn't able to shake the knee injury but I refuse to believe that the injury is at fault for his consistent failure to hit a team mate 15 metres away on the switch. Happened far too often this season and if anything I think that can be put down to a simple lack of concentration which is a worry.

Depending on the moves we make this off-season with regards to our playing I'd like to see him moved into the forward line again. I just think when you have a player who has shown himself capable of contributing 40 odd goals you'd want to be sure he's elite elsewhere on the ground to justify moving him away from that role. Walker down back at his best is excellent, sure, but elite? Definitely not.

It's unlikely to happen but that would be my approach to the situation.

I can actually see some merit in moving him on but my preference absolutely would be for him to stay. He's contracted for a few more years yet so clearly that's the most likely outcome.

Was watching Barkers press conference and they asked about walker and got me interested in how many games he has played and so on. So looked up his stats and the biggest thing that stands out is his 2011 season, kicking 56 goals. his next best is 16 goals in 2012 and 10 in 2007.

For the life of me I cannot work out why he wasn't kept as a medium forward. Surely he could go forward again next year (if still going around) and kick 30 goals. Been a bit of a waste since 2011 (2013 was a very good year) but for a side lacking scoring options surely he would be perfect. Anyone clear on why the move was made to go down back again? I cant remember

Was watching Barkers press conference and they asked about walker and got me interested in how many games he has played and so on. So looked up his stats and the biggest thing that stands out is his 2011 season, kicking 56 goals. his next best is 16 goals in 2012 and 10 in 2007.

For the life of me I cannot work out why he wasn't kept as a medium forward. Surely he could go forward again next year (if still going around) and kick 30 goals. Been a bit of a waste since 2011 (2013 was a very good year) but for a side lacking scoring options surely he would be perfect. Anyone clear on why the move was made to go down back again? I cant remember

Under Ratten we preferred guys who could defend well over guys with good skills. Duigan and Laidler.

MM preferred players who could run and carry the ball in defense like Heath Shaw and Hertier Lumumba. Walker and Simpson. Tex doing the job on Milne in the last round of 2012 obviously gave MM the idea to play him as a full time HBF.

Only really played a half of footy on Friday but should be better for the run. Only a handful of disposals and a couple of marks from the big fella.

Really would be good to see him play roughly 20 games this season after only having played 26 games in the previous 2 seasons.

I think he's set for a productive year up in our forward line and would expect to see him line up there come round 1!

Reckon he'll be fired up for this one. Has always played with a bit of passion and might see some vintage Tex this weekend.
Would love to see him line-up next to Jack.

And swap jumpers with him after Jack spots him up with a kick inside 50 right on the siren and Walker converts for a 1 point victory.

Fairytale stuff here, but imagine Tex and Sosos both play against the filth this week, and if as some have suggested here that Tex hangs up the boots after his 200th, when the final siren blows, Tex removes the famous No1 gurnsey and hands it to Sosos in front of the member section, would be a sight to behold.
PS i don't think he will hang em up btw, not yet anyway, and congrats on the 200th Tex.

Great effort. Had his ups and downs but I think his downs were often exaggerated and his ups under-rated. Should have been AA once as a forward and once as a half back. Should have won mark of the year for his immortal screamer.

I remember he kicked a goal against Collingwood where he ripped the ball from Reid's arms on the boundary line in the forward pocket, somehow twisted inside him with the ball in one hand and then around to run into goal and it barely rated a mention. Yet Gresham kicked one similar on the weekend but if anything not as good and its streamers and fireworks and brassbands everywhere.

Very good footballer who had a lot of bad luck with injury, played in some awful teams and was not always best served by his coaches.

Past Andrew Walker