Andy Otten

• Thread starter Thread starter Gets!

No offense to Brodie but other than him this year it always seems to happen to crucial players! Adelaide Crows Ligament it is!

2010 Otten
2009 Martin
2008 Burton
2006 Hentschel Biglands
2005 Hudson

Plus Modra, Rehn x3 Tregenza... think Im missing some. Did Koster do one?

Koster did one when at Footscray.

Nothing - nothing - can make the hard work, toil, sweat and effort of a boiling hot preseason harder to take than a season ending injury to a young team mate. Talk about taking the wind out of your sails.

Did he? Cant find any info but looking at finalsiren.com, he missed half the season in 96 (first year at crows) and didnt return until rnd 3 1997. Just have the feeling it was an acl.

Nah you are right, it was at the Crows, but was against Footscray at Western Oval from memory. I think another player may have got a biggish injury that day, and it was the beginning of the end of the Crows season that year.

I'd like to see our ACL numbers against other AFL Clubs. We just always seem to have one on the go. Is it just bad luck?

Dunno if it would be more than a lot of other clubs. Port has had Primus x3, Francou x2, Bond x2, Wilson x2, Kingsley x2, Paxman x1, Lade (Broken leg) x2, White (broken leg) 2 years out, French (broken leg) x1 and knees to lesser lights like Darren Fraser, Elijah Ware, Adam Morgan.

Maybe its Footy Park :D Maybe its a good idea we move to Adelaide Oval!

I'd like to see our ACL numbers against other AFL Clubs. We just always seem to have one on the go. Is it just bad luck?

Terrible news for such a young and promising player.

You guys seem to get a pretty raw deal with the long term injuries, but I reckon we may be on par with you. I think we lost Pat Garner to three knee reconstructions over 4 years, Richard Hadley had two in a row, we lost Bradshaw with an ACL in 07, Anthony Corrie and Joel MacDonald also had em' between 06 and 07 to name a few. Bloody rotten injuries.

Anyway, best of luck for Andy's recovery.

Dunno if it would be more than a lot of other clubs. Port has had Primus x3, Francou x2, Bond x2, Wilson x2, Kingsley x2, Paxman x1, Lade (Broken leg) x2, White (broken leg) 2 years out, French (broken leg) x1 and knees to lesser lights like Darren Fraser, Elijah Ware, Adam Morgan.

Cheers Macca, glad you put that up, was trying to remember ports, didnt get past primus and francou. Ironic Kosters came vs the dogs huh.

Nah you are right, it was at the Crows, but was against Footscray at Western Oval from memory. I think another player may have got a biggish injury that day, and it was the beginning of the end of the Crows season that year.
Reckon Tregenza did his at Western Oval too, a year or two before perhaps.

But over the last 5 years how many have you had? We would be leading the league in the ACL count over that time, or close to leading.

Really terrible news for one of the real success stories of 2009. Unfortunately, for someone so young, we probably won't see him back to his best until 2012.

I knew we did a deal with the devil for the sublime football we played in 2005.:thumbsd:

But over the last 5 years how many have you had? We would be leading the league in the ACL count over that time, or close to leading.

Really terrible news for one of the real success stories of 2009. Unfortunately, for someone so young, we probably won't see him back to his best until 2012.

I knew we did a deal with the devil for the sublime football we played in 2005.:thumbsd:

Glad to see you comprhend other posts. Clearly you took no notice of kizzel or the fact that we've had more knee injuries in the 90's than the naughties.

You're a GUN Otto! Chin up.

3874000086.jpg

:( Disappointing news certainly for the lad .......but he's young and he's done it where he won't be coming back mid season and that's good.

Will effectively have two pre-seasons b4 he plays next

On the bright side it opens the door for us the next "Otten" to come thru

Stevens would be the front runner

Hentschell next as Craig always chose to throw Hentschell down back in a crisis so he must really rate his ability to read the play

Next is Davis and don't count out McKernan playing his first season in that BP

At least the coaching committee has a full PS to factor replacements into their thinking ......better than these things happening mid season ......that can really upset a lot of planning