Angus Graham

• Thread starter Thread starter Truetiger

hes no good simple as that, been saying it from day 1 when some ppl like you were saying he could be the next dean cox, we have to give him a chance :D

I'm not saying he'll be Dean Cox, in fact I'm not saying he'll be anything. All I want is for the kid to get a decent chance as a ruckman next year, hopefully without injury.

If he's no good or has another interrupted year without a decent senior game, turf him and no worries, we gave him a real chance to prove himself. Right now all we would be doing to throwing a 21 year-old ruckman out on the street when barely any ruckmen at 21 can hold a spot in any AFL team at the moment.

I know who I'd rather keep on the list if was a decision between Graham, Casserly, JoN and Petts. Let me give you a hint, it's not the latter.

The guy is a monster if only he can just keep he's feet instead of a going to ground alot i think he'll be ok

I love how everyone wants to delist the 21 year old ruckman whose first year on the senior list was hampered by injury. :rolleyes: Give the guy a chance to prove himself with a full uninterrupted preseason FFS before we say he's going to be no good.

so what? u reckon we give him 5 years to see if he is still shit?

thats been richmonds problem for years now - we waste time on players who quite clearly cant cut it.

Graham is not every going to be much of a ruckman. I would prefer us invest in another bloke and give him a go then persist with something that looks no good.

was absolutely useless on saturday:thumbsd:

He said one year actually.

that would make it his 4th year at the club

and in that time he has proven what exactly?

how many "Bests" games has he played at coburg in that time?

would much rather see him cut than meyer, collins, casserley or polo

I'm not saying he'll be Dean Cox, in fact I'm not saying he'll be anything. All I want is for the kid to get a decent chance as a ruckman next year, hopefully without injury.

If he's no good or has another interrupted year without a decent senior game, turf him and no worries, we gave him a real chance to prove himself. Right now all we would be doing to throwing a 21 year-old ruckman out on the street when barely any ruckmen at 21 can hold a spot in any AFL team at the moment.

I know who I'd rather keep on the list if was a decision between Graham, Casserly, JoN and Petts. Let me give you a hint, it's not the latter.

Keeping him on the list though is keeping a good young kid off the list. Graham has to go as simple as that

I hate Graham!!!!!!
He isnt good in any particular role and doesnt seem up to it. I'd prefer Cartledge over him in the ruck cuz at least he does SOMETHING out there :thumbsu:!

bloody hell. lay off the kid! ive been reading this thread since it started but never commented. how about you all go for a run around the block rather than sittin on your ass and bagging the shit out of some kid that all you hyped up. hille wasnt good in his start of his career everyone wanted to let him go now look at him. the same might not happen to gus but its worth a bloody shot to see if he can make it. instead of bloody delisting every 20-22 year old that havent showed much. and then when there in that age group its goodbye because they are not up to it or to slow

You tell em patto_man.

bloody hell. lay off the kid! ive been reading this thread since it started but never commented. how about you all go for a run around the block rather than sittin on your ass and bagging the shit out of some kid that all you hyped up.

just came back from my run around the block - and i still think he isn;t good enough

not good enough = find someone who is

so what? u reckon we give him 5 years to see if he is still shit?

thats been richmonds problem for years now - we waste time on players who quite clearly cant cut it.

Graham is not every going to be much of a ruckman. I would prefer us invest in another bloke and give him a go then persist with something that looks no good.

was absolutely useless on saturday:thumbsd:

I guess it's nothing like wanting White cut after only his 2nd year on the list, hey? Because yeah he clearly had no hope of becoming a player after such a short time on our list did he Astro? Your opinion, not mine. :rolleyes:

Players take time, especially ruckman, hell if Hamish McIntosh/David Hale/Darren Jolly/David Hille was at Richmond you would have been calling for their heads for at least a year before they became AFL ready ruckmen in the competition.

Yet again, people citing Saturday as the reason Gus should be cut. It's like no other players ever have average games and players should only be judged by their one bad game even if they've been more than ok for the previous 5.

1 year more, not 5, with a likely full pre-season under his belt before we evaluate whether to chop him, like I said. Then we will get a clear view on where he is at. You don't pull out of a long-term project before you see whether it will truly flower or wilt. If you want to pick a new one and put another 3 years into a raw rookie listed project ruckman who will have no hope of playing anything more than Coburg reserves next year then good for you but I'd rather see the final result of the initial project first.

'Gus Graham will not and should not be delisted this year, if he doesnt show the goods next year I'll have no problem in nominating his for a delisting along with JoN, Cass, Meyer, Collins, King and Cogs if dont lift their game to a consistent AFL standard.

Players take time, especially ruckman, hell if Hamish McIntosh/David Hale/Darren Jolly/David Hille was at Richmond you would have been calling for their heads for at least a year before they became AFL ready ruckmen in the competition.

except Gus has shown absolutely nothing in the three years compared to any of those blokes mentioned above - an thats saying something cos those blokes took a while. Some of those blokes mentioned above also had stellar junior careers and were taken with high picks, and some of them also were capable of playing forward (and not being outmarked by blokes half their size) - while they developed.

you can say the same think about ben marsh, trent knobel, tristan cartlidge, cain ackland, kepler bradley, jason laycock, ted richards and a plethora of other medicore ruckman that never made the grade.

fact is ruckman take time, but not matter how long you wait, some players are just not up to it. Graham for me looks to be part of that crew. Doesn't look like a footballer, lets himself be out muscled by smaller weaker players, moves slowly, plays dumb footy, does not even understand how to drop forward and be a threat - or drop back and fill the hole. He is a terrible mark, his kicking is poor and is handballing worse and doesn't seem to have to type of demeaner or aggression which is needed to be a successful ruckman.

couldn't care less how long Dean Cox or David Hille took to develop - they are not Gus Graham

except Gus has shown absolutely nothing in the three years compared to any of those blokes mentioned above - an thats saying something cos those blokes took a while. Some of those blokes mentioned above also had stellar junior careers and were taken with high picks, and some of them also were capable of playing forward (and not being outmarked by blokes half their size) - while they developed.

you can say the same think about ben marsh, trent knobel, tristan cartlidge, cain ackland, kepler bradley, jason laycock, ted richards and a plethora of other medicore ruckman that never made the grade.

fact is ruckman take time, but not matter how long you wait, some players are just not up to it. Graham for me looks to be part of that crew. Doesn't look like a footballer, lets himself be out muscled by smaller weaker players, moves slowly, plays dumbly and doesn't seem to have to type of demeaner or aggression which is needed to be a successful ruckman.

couldn't care less how long Dean Cox or David Hille took to develop - they are not Gus Graham

Graham looks like being pa

Of course you can look at it the other way but you dont half do a job. Ruckman get to where they can be at 22-23 years of age and after coming from a rookie it's going to be a tougher road.

I'm happy to cut the cord then but not this year after a 2007 where he got a game for us at the end of the year after a good season but broke his ankle which essentially ruined most of his 2008 trying to play catch up in his development. We arent going to agree though so that's how it is and agree to disagree, apart from one last thing . . .

Since when was Teddy Richards a ruckman??! ;)

Of course you can look at it the other way but you dont half do a job. Ruckman get to where they can be at 22-23 years of age and after coming from a rookie it's going to be a tougher road.

I'm happy to cut the cord then but not this year after a 2007 where he got a game for us at the end of the year after a good season but broke his ankle which essentially ruined most of his 2008 trying to play catch up in his development. We arent going to agree though so that's how it is and agree to disagree, apart from one last thing . . .

Since when was Teddy Richards a ruckman??! ;)

meant guy richards - that crap ruckman who wallace & miller were gonna recruit;)

Give Gus another year I say. As someone mentioned earlier, our ruck stocks aren't exactly blooming so he is filling a need on the list. Whether he is good enough only time will tell.

If we delist him the best option would be to draft another ruckman with the pick he creates in the draft, but I can't see that ruckman being alot better than what Gus is now.

meant guy richards - that crap ruckman who wallace & miller were gonna recruit;)

Ah yes. Collingwood were the ultimate clinger with him.

On the Senior List for 7 or 8 years and took 4 seasons to get a debut game.

Give Gus another year I say. As someone mentioned earlier, our ruck stocks aren't exactly blooming so he is filling a need on the list. Whether he is good enough only time will tell.

If we delist him the best option would be to draft another ruckman with the pick he creates in the draft, but I can't see that ruckman being alot better than what Gus is now.

its this attitude which drives me mental

its that attitude which kept us recruiting rubbsh like Knobel and Marsh and Ken Kingsley.

Why on earth would we want to keep Graham on the list, a bloke who has shown nothing - and cut a bloke like Meyer, Polo, Connors etc - players who are showing something

people do realise we need to cut at least 3,4 or possibly 5 players this year?

Tivendale
Hyde

and then who??:confused:

its this attitude which drives me mental

its that attitude which kept us recruiting rubbsh like Knobel and Marsh and Ken Kingsley.

Why on earth would we want to keep Graham on the list, a bloke who has shown nothing - and cut a bloke like Meyer, Polo, Connors etc - players who are showing something

people do realise we need to cut at least 3,4 or possibly 5 players this year?

Tivendale
Hyde

and then who??:confused:

We don't need to cut Meyer, Polo and Connors. Tivers and Hyde to be delisted. King, JON and Casserly to be shopped around and if we can't find a good enough deal delist.

I have seen Angus Graham playing for Coburg, He does looking promising in some games and other games he doesn't. Do we really need to keep him on our list.
We need a ruckman that can take big ruckman of the afl on. eg. Dean Cox Aaron Sandlands etc.
Angus Graham doesn't make that grade.

i'd like to give him another year only because our ruck stocks arent the greatest, if we could pick up say warnock i'd be happy to let the big fella go.

Don't get too cocky, PHX. I don't think I've said much against or for Gus throughout his career, and he has a while to go yet...