Anthony Morabito

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Feel for this kid, during his first season u could tell this kid was gona be a superstar in a similar mould of Adam goodes. U have to wonder where this leaves his afl career

Would be deadset chuffed to see him run out onto the field after this, but gee it is a huge mountain to climb, both physically and emotionally. Rehab sucks balls, I can't imagine how hard it would be for him to go through it all yet again, knowing there was absolutely no guarantee that it won't break down on him in preseason 2014...

The thing which is just awful about this is Morabito genuinely had it all before him- great draft pedigree, had showed he could bring it at AFL level in his first year, was clearly headed for a big career.

At least when this sort of thing happens later in players' career that have both some dollars in the bank, and the satisfaction of some memories of having played some top level footy and lived up to what they are capable of. If Morabito can't make it past this, he'll always wonder whether he could have been AA, starred in finals footy, all those things, when the smart money says he probably could have.

If I were him I would take a couple of years off, get his body completely right, learn a trade or finish a uni degree or something, so there is a plan B available, and then have one more crack at the AFL in 2015. Anyway, best of luck to him either way, poor bugger.

Gutted for the young bloke. Nothing more tragic in football than a young player cut down by injuries. At least he knows the entire football world is behind him. Hope he can make it back.

Three reasons for a graft tear

- Misplacement by surgeon
- Untreated secondary issues in the posterior ligaments
- Too early return to high level activities

In other words Freo doctors havnt done a good job here

Hi,
Are these the only three causes for ACL reconstruction's?
Did Mora have a bone to bone graft? bone to tendon? perhaps tendon to tendon!
Do you know what tendon type was used? Allograft? Pattellar? Hamstring?
You don't know do you? your assessment is based on the little understanding you picked up on your own individual ACL treatment. Not only is your assessment incorrect, the fact Mora is a competitive athlete would automatically mean you where treated differently right down to the initial treatment assessment.
We're all gutted for the kid, perhaps leave your petty Freo finger waiving for less significant situations.

Absolutely gutted, no person should have to go through so much pain, I feel his career may play out like Coughlans, 2 kids who looked destined for superstardom but were cut down by injuries.

The pre season curse strikes again, I always cringe at this time of year.

It is absolutely terrible luck for Morabito, the FFC & and the fans.

The footage of him just prior to him doing his acl is shattering, I mean he had to quickly go on to the opposite to his team mate, and had it made it to him without any fuss, the incident probably wouldn't have occurred.

Bloody game of inches :(.

I'm hoping that he and the club go one more round in the ring, it would be a shame not to get to see what this kid could be.

All the best to him.

First saw him play live at Telstra Dome in 2009 in the under 18 championships and thought he was going to be an AFL star. 191cm mid who was as strong as a bull, fast, a good mark, and kicked goals. Had a query on his kicking, but had so much upside it wasn't an issue.

The club will obviously support him and he'll make it back onto an AFL field. His mind overcoming his physical issues will be the biggest hurdle.

First saw him play live at Telstra Dome in 2009 in the under 18 championships and thought he was going to be an AFL star. 191cm mid who was as strong as a bull, fast, a good mark, and kicked goals. Had a query on his kicking, but had so much upside it wasn't an issue.

The club will obviously support him and he'll make it back onto an AFL field. His mind overcoming his physical issues will be the biggest hurdle.

Brad Dick is the only current player that is in a similar position , Dick has had an ACL on both knees done in the past three years plus a shoulder Reconstruction , if Dick plays games for WCE this season I reckon its a huge comeback , what Morabito does now is up to him and his family , maybe Freo can Rookie list him for two - three years before maybe playing AFL again in 2015 depending on ticking many boxes . Surely the scar tissue and knee would need that amount of time plus his confidence !

Correlation does not imply causation. Even if your observation was backed up with data, it could still be any number of, or a combination of variables that are the cause of a potential rise in knee-injuries. Not too mention the vagueness of the term "sports science people".

The point was not simply about knee injuries, since every sport now rely's on sports science to tune their athletes, injuries have risen considerably. Either that or they never ever told us about anyone injured before. It does not matter which sport you look at the injuries and amount of missed matches and games has grown. Maybe its just coincidence?

AFL Fremantle confirm Anthony Morabito left the training track today with a suspected knee injury. Will undergo further medical assessment.

:(
This young man will make a return. He has champ written all over him.

Max Bailey had three, it'll work out young fella . Stay with it it looks like your club will stick right behind you all the way.

GOOD LUCK MATE.

Couldn't believe it when I found out yesterday. Shocking news. Was hoping AM would come back this year and tear it up :(

Brad Dick is the only current player that is in a similar position , Dick has had an ACL on both knees done in the past three years plus a shoulder Reconstruction , if Dick plays games for WCE this season I reckon its a huge comeback , what Morabito does now is up to him and his family , maybe Freo can Rookie list him for two - three years before maybe playing AFL again in 2015 depending on ticking many boxes . Surely the scar tissue and knee would need that amount of time plus his confidence !

I'd say gumbleton is in a similar situation as well (vast majority of his problems are back related). I reckon there's a decent chance that morabito can get back on the park again if freo persist with him, however i think the chance of him having a decent career are all but gone, which is really unfortunate because he seems like a great kid and I rate him pretty highly.

Sounds like Max Bailey all over again. Feel for the kid especially one as talented as Morabito. Hopefully it's minor and he still has a chance to play in 2013.

I'd say gumbleton is in a similar situation as well (vast majority of his problems are back related). I reckon there's a decent chance that morabito can get back on the park again if freo persist with him, however i think the chance of him having a decent career are all but gone, which is really unfortunate because he seems like a great kid and I rate him pretty highly.

Still plenty of time for him to have a decent career, he's still only 21.

The chances of him getting anywhere near his original potential must be very slim now though. A real shame for him and for Freo.

Should play a season or two with Peel before trying the AFL again , its bad luck but must have some ongoing concerns with his knee now . Hope he comes back soon and concentrates on playing WAFL and enjoys it again because injuring a knee every pre-season would be getting too tough .

Yeah some bodies just can't hold up like Gumby from Essendon and Waters from the Eagles. Sad to see him go down because he is a super talent and a definite loss for Freo.

Who could forget this goal from Morabito in the 2009 elim final. Terrible news, really is a tragedy for any football supporter to see talent like his be held back by injury.