Anthony Rocca: 2 weeks .....

Gary Shadforth

Veteran Hawthorn Hawks - Muston and Savage Player Sponsor 2010 Hawthorn Hawks - Smith and Savage 2011 Player Sponsor Hawthorn Hawks - Beau Muston 2009 Player Sponsor Hawthorn Hawks - Beau Muston 2008 Player Sponsor Hawthorn Hawks - Beau Muston 2007 Player Sponsor
The big fella customarily plays big one on us. Are you one of those who would prefer opposition at full strength?

I'm one who says if a team is a premiership contender it needs to be able to cover missing players within its depth.

For me, Rocca's absence doesn't mean much.

Re: Anthony Rocca: 1 week .....

I rekon we can cover him and it will still be a very close tight match.
I mean I woiuld love him to play but it is no great loss.
Ben Reid may be an inclusion for him, he has been playing well at Willy and I think he is ready.
Will Franklin be back for you guys this week?
With Rocca out we should still be able to give you a good tight contest we just need some backmen back.

Good Luck for the match ahead, it's going to be a cracker

Thanks, nick and may the best team on the day win.

I read where Buddy is available.

I rekon we can cover him and it will still be a very close tight match.
I mean I woiuld love him to play but it is no great loss.
Ben Reid may be an inclusion for him, he has been playing well at Willy and I think he is ready.
Will Franklin be back for you guys this week?
With Rocca out we should still be able to give you a good tight contest we just need some backmen back.

Good Luck for the match ahead, it's going to be a cracker
Yep buddy is back. Clarko said he would have played againist the blues if it was a final.

Reid ey? how old is he now?? Would like to see him debut, seems like a real prospect.

i have seen reid in the vfl, looks promising, reads the play quite well too. good hands...
rocca being out should help the hawks chances heaps. carn the hawks! :)

That is good news for you guys.
I am still waiting for the news that one of Clement, Presti and O'Brien are back but I don't think I will be hearing it for another week or two.

I have been really impressed with Wakelin lately so he may get him, but I doubt it as he will not be able to keep up with him and Buddy is just to big for him, I wouldn't be surprised if young Goldsack got the job to start, he has been playing great football and playing on Franklin might take him that step further, but Franklin is one of the elite forwards in the game at the moment and it would be a tough ask for Goldy to take him as Buddy will be rearing to go after missing last weeks clash against Carlton.

Im really looking forward to this game, 3rd vs. 4th, should produce one of the matches of the year.

Yep buddy is back. Clarko said he would have played againist the blues if it was a final.

Reid ey? how old is he now?? Would like to see him debut, seems like a real prospect.
He is 18, at 196cm he is a big bloke and is performing well at Willy, I rekon he is ready to debut, he is qick too he was in the top 10% at the NAB AFL Draft Camp

Reid = GUN. People are w@nking on over Polak, but in a couple of years Collingwood will be vindicated in this deal.

Polak is playing the loose man, which is why he looks good. Reid is absolute quality IMO.

Thanks mate

Its good to see other teams supporters seeing that Reid has been playing great football, not just us Pies supporters that are seeing it

I would rather beat their full strngth side but since that is not gonna happen due to Buckley/Presti/Clement etc out we might as well play them as weak as possible :D

That is good news for you guys.
I am still waiting for the news that one of Clement, Presti and O'Brien are back but I don't think I will be hearing it for another week or two.

I have been really impressed with Wakelin lately so he may get him, but I doubt it as he will not be able to keep up with him and Buddy is just to big for him, I wouldn't be surprised if young Goldsack got the job to start, he has been playing great football and playing on Franklin might take him that step further, but Franklin is one of the elite forwards in the game at the moment and it would be a tough ask for Goldy to take him as Buddy will be rearing to go after missing last weeks clash against Carlton.

Im really looking forward to this game, 3rd vs. 4th, should produce one of the matches of the year.

2nd vs. 4th

Rocca to contest the 1 week

Just said on SEN, Rocca and Pies to contest the 1 week

hope he does get off, dont want to hear excuses if we win

I think it's pretty safe to say that Rocca WILL play, the tribunal has been nothing but consistant this season in overturning decisions. And so it it should in this matter - there was nothing in it against the actual rules of the game.

That said, Rocca turns into a bloody world beater two out of every three times we play Collingwood so between him and Cloke and their smalls, our defence probably faces it's most daunting test so far this year.

Re: Rocca to contest the 1 week

I hope he gets off as well...didn't deserve the suspension in the first place. If that was one of our boys I'd be absolutley ropable :mad:
I hate how soft our game is getting...I don't recall being put off playing footy when i was a kid because of its physicallity!!

The AFL needs a reality check...

Yeah but what if he is the difference and Collingwood wins? If I was a hawks man I would be hoping he is rubbed out.

Firstly because he deserves it.

Secondly because 4 points is 4 points.

I hope he gets off as well...didn't deserve the suspension in the first place. If that was one of our boys I'd be absolutley ropable :mad:
I hate how soft our game is getting...I don't recall being put off playing footy when i was a kid because of its physicallity!!

Agreed. Not because I want to beat their best but it was simply accidental contact as a result from an attempted fair bump. High contact, free kick and nothing else.

Yeah but what if he is the difference and Collingwood wins? If I was a hawks man I would be hoping he is rubbed out.

nup, want him to play. He plays well against us and we need to keep improving and face the challenge - we're a better defensive side than last season and with him out there we get to see just how much - bring it on.

That’s all very well, but the point is he hit him in the head and from then on Dempsey’s contribution to the game was minimal. If this was Chris Judd or Scott West on the receiving end they’d be calling for Rocca’s blood. If you are going to bump a bloke, that is fine and within the rules but every players know if they don’t get it right they have to suffer the consequences. Let’s be honest hawks fans. Our chances of beating the pies are greater if he doesn’t play. I want the four points.

As long as Dawson doesn't play it doesn't matter if he gets off or not, I hope that Rocca doesn't get off mainly because I don't like him..

I'd be really surprised if Rocca got off. It was clearly head high contact.

Having said that there is an argument that it will show where we are at by having him in their team.

Then there is the other side of me that thinks if we can stay in the top four it would be a great result. So if he gets rubbed out then it's going to help our chances.

The reality is we have to face the team that is available/selected. All teams have to deal with supension and injuries and play who is selected on the oposition team list.

I agree, Mr TACHawks. When players are disqualified for soft touches the fans are robbed of what we pay lots of good money to see, stars in all of the teams.

But the AFL as an [dis]organization are too dumb to realize that angle of thought.

Bring on the AFL National Union for Supporters' Rights.

If every AFL fan in Australia put in $2 per year for membership (x 1/3 of Australia's population = *8,000,00) there would be $16million per year to set up and get a national office/committee going. With that amount in the coffers, full-time staff would be affordable to get such a movement off the ground.

Anyone want a well paid job?

What I am on about is that there is nothing like people power folks to get such a fascist be-all-and-end-all power broking mob like the AFL to do right by the real owners of the game - the fans.

Now I will step down from my soap-box.

Note:

* 8,000,000 million is just over one third of our national population, an estimation of the support of Aussie Rules.

cant agree! our game is getting to soft and above all i like the Hawks rising to the challenge of the big games, we need the experience to go anywhere when it comes to playing finals

Rocca will probably still get the week. He's gotta remember what happened to his now ex teammate in Blake Caracella when he was hit in the neck and was forced out of the game due to that injury. That's why Rocca was cited on video because it looked like that he made contact to Dempster's head.