Anyone else shattered for GWS

Im sure it probably would be a better option for you but compare apples with apples, is it the same as staying with mummy and daddy and driving down the road to the Holden Centre??

Brisbane's scenario now is similar to what our was in the first few years but unlike us they havent been able to keep their players. If they had kept their high draft pick players they would have been more successful but its not easy when youre constantly pillaged by other AFL sides.

Why dont you drive up and try and get a rookie contract. Sounds like a great gig just playing with your mates snd getting paid wads of cash??
It's no different to a player being forced to play in WA, SA or Queensland. Not every player plays in Victoria believe it or not, and those who do aren't all from Victoria.

My point is players can get stuck playing in those places and are completely isolated in comparison in my opinion. There might only be a handful of players their age, and there's no guarantee they'll stick around. Plus if you get drafted to a side like Brisbane, where is the light on the other end of the tunnel? At least in Shiel's case there was going to be a light at the end of the tunnel.

Regardless, Brisbane's situation doesn't compare. They've been around for years, they don't have any extra concessions that will help them rise back up the ladder, they're run poorly, their facilities aren't great (and aren't temporary) and their leadership has all sorts of issues. GWS is unlike any other example in the league. They're basically like a college sports team. All brought together at similar times and all grow as one. The only difference is the losing part, and I've already said that's offset by the successful path the team is clearly heading down. Living alone interstate on your own as a young footballer isn't unique to GWS players.

It's not arrogant or ignorant to ask that every club play on as level a playing field as possible.

Sure you are around now. Yeah you've had obscene startup concessions.

Time to fix it. No more extended list. No more COLA. No more Riverina. Keep your Sydney Academy discounts.

Then people might get off your backs and even develop a tiny amount of respect for any success GWS gets.
Actually I think all the interstate clubs should be entitled to a little bit of zoning. Maybe a voluntary mini-draft for each state so potential draftees can avoid the main draft and remain in their home state if they choose to. One pick per team. Those who miss out head to the main draft.

It's no different to a player being forced to play in WA, SA or Queensland. Not every player plays in Victoria believe it or not, and those who do aren't all from Victoria.

My point is players can get stuck playing in those places and are completely isolated in comparison in my opinion. There might only be a handful of players their age, and there's no guarantee they'll stick around. Plus if you get drafted to a side like Brisbane, where is the light on the other end of the tunnel? At least in Shiel's case there was going to be a light at the end of the tunnel.

Regardless, Brisbane's situation doesn't compare. They've been around for years, they don't have any extra concessions that will help them rise back up the ladder, they're run poorly, their facilities aren't great (and aren't temporary) and their leadership has all sorts of issues. GWS is unlike any other example in the league. They're basically like a college sports team. All brought together at similar times and all grow as one. The only difference is the losing part, and I've already said that's offset by the successful path the team is clearly heading down. Living alone interstate on your own as a young footballer isn't unique to GWS players.

I cant keep arguing with you because you miss the point.

Where GWS is today in 2016 is a completely different place to where is was in 2012.

Dylan was there then and nothing you say can appease what he dealt with. It was absolute s**t but he stuck it out and then stayed on rather than taking massive dollars to go to Richmond or Carlton.

The kid went through a lot and deserves everything that comes his way.

All your other references are not relevant to this point.

We have had 2 instances of posts being copied outside our board by Bulldogs supporters rhat I know about.Once onto the Bulldogs board so it could be mocked.
Our board has been constantly trolled by abusive Bulldogs supporters, where for the first time the game thread had to be locked. We were then trolled on other threads by Bulldogs supporters. It was our first PF but consistent with outcome after our H/A game against yoir club, albeit less volume.

This isn't about the game, it was a great and deserved win by the club, and I would argue with anyone who disagrees .

I laugh in contempt at at a Bulldogs supporter criticising our posts though.
I had a crack at some of my fellow Bulldogs supporters both on the GWS board and on our board for being so disrespectful when they visited you guys. I was not referring to anything posted on your board though. I'm referring only to posts on this, the AFL board.

Your supporters are happy to be ultra defensive and attack the poster whose opinion you don't like and your supporters have been happy to try to defend claims they've made which are clearly factually incorrect. These are choices you've made and you'll have to live with the consequences. Behave like whiny bitches who can't back down when they are wrong and be treated accordingly.

I had a crack at some of my fellow Bulldogs supporters both on the GWS board and on our board for being so disrespectful when they visited you guys. I was not referring to anything posted on your board though. I'm referring only to posts on this, the AFL board.

Your supporters are happy to be ultra defensive and attack the poster whose opinion you don't like and your supporters have been happy to try to defend claims they've made which are clearly factually incorrect. These are choices you've made and you'll have to live with the consequences. Behave like whiny bitches who can't back down when they are wrong and be treated accordingly.
Look at cause and effect and tell me I haven't been personally attacked in this thread?
Overall frankly I am disgusted with the your clubs posters and rate them the least civilised on BF. That took some effort as I now prefer Port Adelaides supporters and I have a strong dislike for their club that dates to the Magpies.
Tell me you dont respect our supporters it's water off a ducks back. You need to respect yourselves before you can respect anyone else.

Absolute rubbish. The only reason we got an equalization distribution was because of a poor stadium deal

The stadium deal was poor because you are the Bulldogs. The Bombers negotiated a good stadium deal because Etihad wanted us more than any other club. The bigger and more successful clubs are better able to negotiate better deals, because of historical success which was earned. That's business. That's the real world. That's capitalism.

and crappy recruiting zones that didn't allow us to build a proper list. Give me generous recriuting zones like Essendons

Essendon's recruiting zones were terrible. In the 1970's, Hawthorn and Carlton easily had the two best recruiting zones and this was reflected in the success of those clubs. Essendon was rubbish in the 1970's and one of the reasons was because we didn't have a prosperous recruiting zone.

we could have multiple premierships instead of handouts any day.

The reality is you have had more handouts than any other Victorian club. That's not a criticism - it's just an observation and a statement of fact.

Rubbish
You had a go at GWS posters and said we needed to show

Look at cause and effect and tell me I haven't been personally attacked in this thread?
Overall frankly I am disgusted with the your clubs posters and rate them the least civilised on BF. That took some effort as I now prefer Port Adelaides supporters and I have a strong dislike for their club that dates to the Magpies.
Tell me you dont respect our supporters it's water off a ducks back. You need to respect yourselves before you can respect anyone else.
I'm not sure what your first point was - some editing problem there it seems.

As to your second point, it seems you are a good hater. You hate Port Adelaide but now hate us even more. Good for you.

I'm unaware of what you are referring to when you claim I said I don't respect your club's supporters. In fact I said the opposite didn't I? I said that I admire GWS supporters and I berated those Bulldogs supporters who disrespected GWS supporters.

I also said that if you want others to respect you, then you can't act like whiny bitches and should also admit when you are factually wrong. Your call, if you want to be whiny bitches then I guess some disrespect might come your way.

You guys were saying you were being disrespected - I have never said that I don't respect anyone on BigFooty, ever.

Shattered for GWS? Not in the slightest.
Their premiership will come, this much is certain. The AFL has near made it impossible for them to not win one soon.
As much as it could be a good thing for the game as a whole for GWS to win a flag, I would have been more shattered if they won it in their first attempt at a finals series.
Let them feel a bit of real disappointment first, as I am sure losing the prelim would have hurt more than the lean years at the beginning.
Now that they have had a taste of what it feels like to lose a final and to truly understand the anguish that comes with it, I have no issue with them winning it next year.
I know their success pisses a few people off but they are a good team to watch and next year will only get better.

Shattered for GWS? Not in the slightest.
Their premiership will come, this much is certain. The AFL has near made it impossible for them to not win one soon.
As much as it could be a good thing for the game as a whole for GWS to win a flag, I would have been more shattered if they won it in their first attempt at a finals series.
Let them feel a bit of real disappointment first, as I am sure losing the prelim would have hurt more than the lean years at the beginning.
Now that they have had a taste of what it feels like to lose a final and to truly understand the anguish that comes with it, I have no issue with them winning it next year.
I know their success pisses a few people off but they are a good team to watch and next year will only get better.

I'm inclined to agree. Failures build culture and character.

That being said, it wasn't much fun getting consistently belted by 100+ thrashings in the first 3 years.

I agree that getting belted each week, week in, week out would take its toll. I also agree that failures, although disappointing can build character.
I don't think that you guys would have really appreciated the magic of winning the flag, without the heartache that comes from the loss.
It may be stupid to say but I think the team will be better for the loss, than to win it on the first try.
You will certainly only improve and when that flag inevitably comes, the fans will enjoy it more.

The cliche about character building losses is actually true I think, provided that you learn from your losses and then correct that which needs adjustment. Unfortunately my club has a history of not always being able to recover and make the necessary adjustments following the brutal losses of the past. So, failure only builds character if you respond to it in the right way. Your clubs' rise up the ladder following the early beltings suggests that the club, and players, learned a lot in those early years.

Knowing a bit about the character of your Coach, I'm sure your club will review the game and the season with brutal honesty. I don't reckon you need to have any sleepless nights about the Prelim loss. Success is just around the corner for GWS.

I'm not sure what your first point was - some editing problem there it seems.

As to your second point, it seems you are a good hater. You hate Port Adelaide but now hate us even more. Good for you.

I'm unaware of what you are referring to when you claim I said I don't respect your club's supporters. In fact I said the opposite didn't I? I said that I admire GWS supporters and I berated those Bulldogs supporters who disrespected GWS supporters.

I also said that if you want others to respect you, then you can't act like whiny bitches and should also admit when you are factually wrong. Your call, if you want to be whiny bitches then I guess some disrespect might come your way.

You guys were saying you were being disrespected - I have never said that I don't respect anyone on BigFooty, ever.
I used the word dislike you tranlated that into hate and then extrapolated that into I am a good hater. Cant see the problem?
You didn't address my question.
I did make an error which I edited.
No point in going further so I wont be in this thread anymore.

Cross town rivals, but yes the Giants were good things beaten this year.

If Stevie J. was not suspended, if Callan Ward was not concussed - they'd have beaten the Doggies, and then us in the GF. No doubt in my mind.

They would be shattered. But watch out next year, they will be red hot, and my early pick for the flag.

some don't have the luck of being groomed for success in their first couple of years. many would be lucky to
have everything thrown at them.. you get the drift...

Why bother arguing either way ?
This comp is compromised each and every game, be it $ / ALF intervention / draft / teams not playing each other twice etc etc
Nothing will change anytime soon.
10 teams still in Victoria is a HUGE issue and until that is resolved we will continue to be a compromised comp.

To say they have no concessions is rubbish. The Bulldogs are the Victorian club to have benefitted most form the socialised competition. The fact that the money from the TV rights (mainly generated by the big clubs like Collingwood, Essendon, West Coast etc) is split up and redistributed benefits clubs like the Bulldogs. The fact that there is a salary cap benefits the Bulldogs because it means that the big clubs, who would ordinarily be able to pay their players 5 times more than the Bulldogs can only pay the same amount.

The Bulldogs are the great beneficiaries of concessions and handouts - it's just that the handouts are hidden in the Robin-Hood money-go-round of the AFL's equalisation measures

What draft / on field list concessions have the Dogs received? Please tell us? How many academy kids do they have? Extra first round draft picks?

Sure they get distributions from the AFL in $$ but some sucker has to play all those dud time slots so that Collingwood and the Swans get prime time every week.

Has GWS and the expansion clubs received concessional funding? Yes they have, bucket loads.

How about when the AFL finally owned up that was not only allowing the COLA but was also funding it......o_O

If you are going to add to debate it would be great if you thought through what you are actually saying.

It's not much fun, but it's nothing in comparison to what plenty of other fans have endured in footy's history.

Yeah nah. Would've felt shattered for the dogs though. GWS will have a crack at it for the next 5 years. The Bulldogs might not be able to due to GWS's dominance. I hate GWS and GC because they got everything, early draft picks, academies, COLA, money etc, while all the established clubs got screwed over by the AFL. Richmond couldn't go for a traditional rebuild due to the lack of draft picks available. The club did make some serious mistakes in the rebuild, and where we are now is pretty much our own fault, but bloody hell, the AFL didn't make it easy for us. It will be GWS and Sydney dominating forever and a day, because the AFL wants to grow the sport there. Here's a hint fellas, if they don't go to watch their own sport, why would they go to ours. You might get a slightly larger TV audience for their games, no more. Meanwhile clubs who've earnt their money will get stranded at the bottom of the ladder because we're all die-hard supporters who would never leave their team. It's a kick in the pants, the AFL saying 'yeah we can afford you guys to stay at the bottom'. Nothing will change unless we all just stop watching, maybe then the AFL will realise it needs to either ditch the "equalisation" thing, or actually make it equalisation.

Actually I think all the interstate clubs should be entitled to a little bit of zoning. Maybe a voluntary mini-draft for each state so potential draftees can avoid the main draft and remain in their home state if they choose to. One pick per team. Those who miss out head to the main draft.
You are kidding aren't you?

I am pretty sure it's time to go the other way. No COLA. No academies. No draft concessions. No father/son. Rotate the GF. No more special games for VFL clubs. Equalize the fixture. Equal travel games for everyone. No traditional perks or support for expansion clubs. In fact, let's stop equalisation programs and financial concessions as well.

Make it a big free for all.

I am pretty sure that's the only way to stop the stream of Victorian tears flowing north across the borders.

The Western suburbs of Sydney are not the fastest growing area in Australia - that is a complete fabrication - they are not even the fastest growing area of Sydney. And Melbourne is growing faster than Sydney is and the west of Melbourne is growing faster than is the west of Sydney.

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/lookup/3218.0Media Release12014-15

It's a pity that the AFL doesn't invest a fraction of the money it has into Western Sydney to help grow the game in an area that poses similar challenges for our code to that of Western Sydney. In fact, the Western Bulldogs have contributed $6.5M as their pro-rata share of the $100M so far spent on GWS, so the AFL has in effect diverted money out of the west of Melbourne to fund the west of Sydney.

I'm not against the establishment and funding of GWS but I am against the bullshit that I read on here justifying the piss poor execution of the strategy by the AFL. The concessions granted to GWS and the subsequent incompetent application of "rules" governing how those concessions can be applied are what makes me and many other AFL supporters angry.

Good on you and the GWS supporters who regularly appear on BigFooty for being passionate about your club. I admire you. Your support for your club is great for our game and I hope that GWS is a successful. But let's make sure that we embark on this expansion journey well informed and with our eyes completely open to the intended and unintended consequences of this momentous development in the game's history.

What we don't want as a code and can't afford is a botched implementation of the expansion strategy which results in the alienation of the heartland footy fans. Nor do we want to neglect the challenges of growing the game in the west of Melbourne and the south of Brisbane and in rural Australia. The Gold Coast and Sydney's west are critically important for the game but are not the only areas of Australia that the AFL Commission should be concerned about.
I agree with you. But tomorrow we have a public holiday so we can watch a bunch of kids be driven down a street. I think Melbourne will be fine.