Anyone here from Hobart?

Ando727

Dec 12, 2009
Hobart
My family is considering a relocation to Hobart at some stage. Just wondering if anyone here lives there and can tell me about the different suburbs and good/rough neighbourhoods. Places to live/not to live. PM is cool too if you prefer.

Would prefer to keep it informative rather than insulting if possible. Although I realise that might be a big ask. ;)

I'll have more specific questions once I establish if anybody from here actually lives there.

Cheers.

My family is considering a relocation to Hobart at some stage. Just wondering if anyone here lives there and can tell me about the different suburbs and good/rough neighbourhoods. Places to live/not to live. PM is cool too if you prefer.

Would prefer to keep it informative rather than insulting if possible. Although I realise that might be a big ask. ;)

I'll have more specific questions once I establish if anybody from here actually lives there.

Cheers.

Not a Dee but I grew up there mate and have family there. Visit 5-8 times a year - feel free to PM me any questions you have.

Cheers.
I love Hobart. I lived there for about 6 months but it was back in 1995 so I think you might be better off with more recent sources. I lived in Sandy Bay which is lovely and very central and old. Lots of beautiful sandstone cottages and so forth. My sister lives in Mount Stuart in Hobart which is a nice spot. She is a principle fiddle in the Tassie Symph so rock along to a concert or two.

Wherever you live you’ll keep fit. Hobart is very lumpy - every move involves hill walking.

Hobart is a great city. It's quiet and laid back and has great history. Not sure what your family are like or what they're into, or even why they're considering it, but it's a much slower pace than Melbourne and Sydney (I've lived in both states) and to me that's really important.

A lot can be said about a laid back environment, it's conducive to lower stress levels and promoting a less hurried life. That's my opinion.

Hobart is a great city. It's quiet and laid back and has great history. Not sure what your family are like or what they're into, or even why they're considering it, but it's a much slower pace than Melbourne and Sydney (I've lived in both states) and to me that's really important.

A lot can be said about a laid back environment, it's conducive to lower stress levels and promoting a less hurried life. That's my opinion.
That's a huge part of it. Lower stress and quieter life. I've reached the point where I've had a gutful of what Melbourne is offering. The traffic is beyond a joke. It takes hours to get anywhere, people are getting more stressed, more rude, more competitive. I find myself getting very frustrated and swearing at people in traffic who can't even hear me. Melbourne is getting to big, too fast. Which is a shame because I loved Melbourne only 5-10 years ago. But having a city grow by 300k plus people a year is really taking its toll on this great city. I'm not sure how much more I can take, or want to take. It's a big move though, leaving friends, family and work to start again, but sometimes you've got to make a change and let something new into your life. (won't be seeing much of the Dees though).

I'm just wanting to relax a but more. I'm in the sort of work that is transportable, although will take a while to get established. My Mrs is an accountant and can probably pick up some work gradually. And the summer being less intense is a big plus.

That's a huge part of it. Lower stress and quieter life. I've reached the point where I've had a gutful of what Melbourne is offering. The traffic is beyond a joke. It takes hours to get anywhere, people are getting more stressed, more rude, more competitive. I find myself getting very frustrated and swearing at people in traffic who can't even hear me. Melbourne is getting to big, too fast. Which is a shame because I loved Melbourne only 5-10 years ago. But having a city grow by 300k plus people a year is really taking its toll on this great city. I'm not sure how much more I can take, or want to take. It's a big move though, leaving friends, family and work to start again, but sometimes you've got to make a change and let something new into your life. (won't be seeing much of the Dees though).

I'm just wanting to relax a but more. I'm in the sort of work that is transportable, although will take a while to get established. My Mrs is an accountant and can probably pick up some work gradually. And the summer being less intense is a big plus.

I reckon you're doing the right thing. Grew up in Sydney and have been living in country / regional areas for the last 5 or 6 years. There's pros and cons to both sides of the fence, but I can live better and more affordably away from the big cities, plus I find small towns a lot friendlier and more inclusive places.

Was looking at a couple of jobs near Launceston not too long ago - have heard good things about Tassie so would have been keen to chase those up if they'd eventuated. Plus one for there not being crocodiles and murderous jellyfish down there either.

Mate, I hear you! Traffic is a joke, everything and everywhere is busy, and the stress levels and general competitive nature of people really gets to me. Everyone I work with always looks or wants a 'one up' where they can get it, and sitting in a car fighting against Toorak Tractors and Trams just isn't fun.

I live in a nice suburb in a nice home, but ultimately I'd like to be retired in a quiet city in a quieter town. The rat race is overrated and I really find people far less tolerant and pleasant. Financial stress is everywhere, the emphasis on 'efficiency' is everywhere, so why not put yourself in an environment where the basics are much more pleasant?

And to be honest, moving away from friends and family isn't that bad. I don't really like people anyway bar my immediate family so socialising isn't a priority for me. I am pretty selfish other than prioritising my kids immediate family (if they need it), so the less people to deal with the better.

Human interaction is grossly overrated. Probably why I like BF so much!

We moved to Torquay 5 years ago for that very reason... it's great for the family, and not to far if you want to commute to the western suburbs for work.

Rock on dude - good move. I grew up in Hobart and can tell you where the good stuff is. That being said, i've been outta tassie now for over 15 years.

Why not go to Ballarat or Bendigo then?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Yep I'm a Hobart boy, haven't lived there since 2010 but I still visit my old man/mates a few times a year. A beautiful, quiet, safe, cheap, enjoyable city to live in, with amazing food and drink culture.

I love the North Hobart/West Hobart/Mt Stuart area for best suburbs to live in.

Hi mate, I have been here for almost 3 years. Although we now live about 30 minutes south of Hobart. Happy to answer any questions you may have.

You have timed your trip exceptionally poorly. It was beautiful the week before!

If by beautiful you mean it was starting to get pretty effing hot coming in to summer, you would be correct.