Apathy

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

I think people need a reality check of where we are at. The team is still young, we played on the weekend 2nd most amount of players between 18-24, we've been 2nd in that age bracket most rounds this year, only the Western Bulldogs play with more players under 25. Not only that our most talented players are within that group, Hogan, Oliver, Brayshaw, Petracca, Lever ect…

Look at Richmond's list 4-5 years ago when they first cracked back into finals, they were playing with majority of players between 18-24, and their most talented, Cotchin, Riewoldt, Rance and Martin were all in that age bracket. From their first final in 2013, the players aged between 18-24 only 2 (Vickery and Morris) didn't make their premiership team and they were all aged between 25-29, majority of Richmond's premiership team was aged between 25-29.

Richmond had 3 years in a row losing finals and then missing altogether in 2016, their were calls to rebuild again as the players didn't have the hunger, sack Hardwick he can't adapt, people trying to take over a dysfunctional board, but in the end they stuck to their long term plan, and now they are reaping the rewards.

Reality is we are going to have to be patient, we are still probably 3-4 years away from being a serious contender, we could do a Western Bulldogs but unlikely, the best chance we have at a premiership is to stick with what we are doing.

Should we think of this as a spectrum with passion/ obsession and apathy as the two book ends

Or more of a process - passion - obsession - disappointment - apathy - anger - going postal / wishing the club would disappear

I’m thinking it may be more of a process - can someone please create a diagram
Sounds like a journey

I think people need a reality check of where we are at. The team is still young, we played on the weekend 2nd most amount of players between 18-24, we've been 2nd in that age bracket most rounds this year, only the Western Bulldogs play with more players under 25. Not only that our most talented players are within that group, Hogan, Oliver, Brayshaw, Petracca, Lever ect…

Look at Richmond's list 4-5 years ago when they first cracked back into finals, they were playing with majority of players between 18-24, and their most talented, Cotchin, Riewoldt, Rance and Martin were all in that age bracket. From their first final in 2013, the players aged between 18-24 only 2 (Vickery and Morris) didn't make their premiership team and they were all aged between 25-29, majority of Richmond's premiership team was aged between 25-29.

Richmond had 3 years in a row losing finals and then missing altogether in 2016, their were calls to rebuild again as the players didn't have the hunger, sack Hardwick he can't adapt, people trying to take over a dysfunctional board, but in the end they stuck to their long term plan, and now they are reaping the rewards.

Reality is we are going to have to be patient, we are still probably 3-4 years away from being a serious contender, we could do a Western Bulldogs but unlikely, the best chance we have at a premiership is to stick with what we are doing.

I reckon we've been in the most amount of 18-24 players constantly over the last 10 years.

What shred of evidence is there that this time will be any different? I see a talented team who thinks they've already made it

I reckon we've been in the most amount of 18-24 players constantly over the last 10 years.

What shred of evidence is there that this time will be any different? I see a talented team who thinks they've already made it
I think the fan base also thought we had already made it. We've had a reality check the last few weeks. We haven't played finals for 11 years, we are currently in the top 8 and what are questioning the direction we are heading in? Were people expecting this team to be a contender at the start of the year?

thats what i dont get we are exactly where i and probably 99% of the board thought we were gonna be yet people are wanting the coach sacked and we'll never make it we are no good. upsets are happening every week that was our first for the year. collingwood were on par with us so not counting that as an upset

We've been patient for 54 years. How much longer can the supporter base take, huh? How. Much. Longer. We are one of only three* teams not to have an AFL Premiership. If we jagged one in the late 90-mid 00s we can afford to be patient because we would have had some form of recent success. Fact is that the performances against Collingwood and St Kilda are inexcusable and unacceptable due our drought.

*5 if you include Gold Coast and GWS.

We've been patient for 54 years. How much longer can the supporter base take, huh? How. Much. Longer. We are one of only three* teams not to have an AFL Premiership. If we jagged one in the late 90-mid 00s we can afford to be patient because we would have had some form of recent success. Fact is that the performances against Collingwood and St Kilda are inexcusable and unacceptable due our drought.

*5 if you include Gold Coast and GWS.
Having a long drought doesn’t mean Goodwin can flick a switch and suddenly we are a perfect team. The current admin, coaches and players aren’t the reason we didn’t jag a premiership in the 90’s and 00’s. The current group still has a long way to go, years to go. No point expecting anything sooner just because it’s been 54 years.

thats what i dont get we are exactly where i and probably 99% of the board thought we were gonna be yet people are wanting the coach sacked and we'll never make it we are no good. upsets are happening every week that was our first for the year. collingwood were on par with us so not counting that as an upset

Hey mate (and I don’t mean that in the way that actually means campaigner)

I thibk everyone thought bottom of the 8 so agree with you there.

But people look ahead at the fixture and Don’t see enough likely wins for us to finish where we are right now, hence the importance of winning those games we “should” and the disappointment of dropping St Kilda

As you say, upsets can happen but personally I have my doubts given our junior coach and lack
Of on field leaders ( just my opinion)

Anyway whatever, it’s just footy! I’m going on holiday for a couple of weeks so don’t need to bother with this crap

But people look ahead at the fixture and Don’t see enough likely wins for us to finish where we are right now, hence the importance of winning those games we “should” and the disappointment of dropping St Kilda

As you say, upsets can happen but personally I have my doubts given our junior coach and lack

Anyway whatever, it’s just footy! I’m going on holiday for a couple of weeks so don’t need to bother with this crap
how many times have you tipped 9 this year? talking about should win games. can look as far ahead as you like but i thought sydney geelong freo roos and dees would win this week and collingwood would win by 15 goals. 4 of those were must wins yet didnt. could easily see crows beating tigers, dogs beating hawks, bombers over pies, giants over eagles this week all upsets that could happen. most are no good for us but upsets will happen every week and we'll win a game or 2 we shouldnt.

forgot to mention hope you enjoy ya holiday ya ****ing prick

We are going to struggle to get to 12 wins, in a season where 13 might be necessary. I have us either just scraping in, or just missing out, but probably missing out. It basically it comes down to luck with other teams like last year. In essence, we haven't advanced much on last year, other than getting on a bit of a run against lowly teams and getting a bit excited for a while. There are still changes needed to get to the next level. I don't think our assistant coaches are up to it. e.g.. Max Rooke as a forward coach. Why? Troy Chaplain at all? Why? Goodwin has some good aspects, but he needs to confront himself and look at some of his stubborn ways. He needs to learn to be more flexible and faster to react - also to put his biases against/for certain players aside. eg. Frost should have had a run by now, surely, not just the rookies.

I get the apathy. Over the years, I have refined my strategy to being a Melbourne supporter. I do allow myself to get angry at our constant BS, but I draw a line after the weekend is over. I either shut out all thoughts on football, or I force myself to be philosophical about what football really means in my life and to the world. You have to keep perspective. You have to have other, more important, things in your life. Unless you are a player or coach and it's your livelihood, football should not be the most important thing in anybody's life. Football apathy is a sign of perspective shifting. It's a message that there are other areas of life that need to be addressed more than football and that you are becoming more aware of that fact. Not a bad thing, really. Football is just a game. Enjoy it when you can, otherwise, look after your life.

100% this. Very well put :thumbsu:

everyone needs to calm down. if we won against geelong and saints we are sitting in second so less than a goal is the difference. every club besides richmond has had a form drop off at some point. 5 of the top 8 lost on the weekend we were 1 but before that we lost to 2 top 8 teams won 6 lost to 2 top 8 teams. Yeah we have some issues with our game plan and picking the right blokes hopefully the people in charge make some changes. the worst thing was having 6 shit teams in a row cause the cracks were covered over. losing Lever was massive but 1 player shouldnt be holding our defense together so its a blessing in disguise. I said its whoever has the least amount of hiccups on way home thatll squeeze in and already been a few upsets. This is a time to be patient raise hell next year. BTW our list still isnt that great we have **** all depth
Raise hell next year. That should be our motto. Year in, year out!

Honestly, the Queens Birthday game was shit.

We dominated Port on their home turf. They kicked 4 goals from free kicks. 2 from 50 meter penalties and 2 from marks that shouldn't have paid (as Gussy's wasn't) that's 8 of their 11 goals and still only scraped past us.

St Kilda game we lost by 2 points, that's the best they've played all year and they kick 3 goals from 50 meter penalties, two of which the media have said shouldn't have been 50 meters.

If we can scrape wins over the Dockers and Doggies and figure out the puzzle that is our back line without Lever in the meantime. We are back on.

Given the talent and development this team has I think we've been disappointing. Other clubs are able to turn it around a lot quicker than we can, there's something nqr at Melbourne.

Having said that we're currently in the top 8. I really think all those easy games we played in a row contributed to us being unconditional. We lost our hard edge and stopped the high pressure acts. This loss to the Saints could hopefully be the turning point but we really do look lazy and arrogant at times

I think we are just slow and other clubs have worked out how to expose that. Bet your bottom dollar Frost comes in this week for Petty. Spargo and Jeffy would be huge chances also. It looks like we’re picking Lewis ahead of Vince, but I’d be taking Bernie ahead of Tyson. Similar leg speed but Vince is way better in every other category. He’s a good spark for the team too.

you actually think they are gonna make the changes needed? Wagner Vince will come in for Petty and ANB or some shit. i dont reckon once i have gone great changes i like those. the no change weeks were a thank **** our team didnt get worse

All of you need to stop moaning and pull your heads in. The club and the players aren't the problem; you guys with your wild notions of winning games, playing finals, enjoying football, etc are the real issue here. Learn to love losing and bask in the misery of your fellow man.

Would be extremely frustrating but they're playing alright and Freo will be without Fyfe/Sandi.
And just got pumped at home by Brisbane.