Apathy

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

Does anyone else feel it?

I feel like the more we **** up, the less interested I am in seeing us come back from it. I just feel completely uninspired by this coaching group, because the list itself is in top shape. Pretty upset that we'd ignore both the AFL's pick for CEO (Sam Graham of AFLNSW) and PJ's pick (Mahoney) for what looks like a contentious captains call from a President who is desperate to finally be relevant.

The media around Jones' 250th seems particularly cruel now, with all his talk about "finally getting some success, and getting as much of it in as he can". The playing group has shut off, and that run of winning quarters seems a long time ago. I know the media has been pumping us up (and now deflating us) and that the outside noise was fugazi, but the effort simply hasn't been there over the past few weeks.

I just feel like we've seen it all before. A stubborn coach with backwards idea and the inability to adapt, an admin showing signs of disfunction, and a playing group that doesn't quite have the hunger. Is it any coincidence that both Pert's appointment and also the classified info in Caroline Wilson's article last week were leaked, our first big leaks since the Schwab days, given the news points to the fact that Jackson and Mahoney are clearly disgruntled? The group is young, and with a proper education will sort it out. But whether they get proper education is what's worrying me. We got a huge crowd for Queen's Birthday with so much red and blue, people finally came out the woodwork, and what do we put forward?

Am I being dramatic, or does this seem fair?

Bit dramatic. Understand the disappointment and the lean towards pessimism/negativity, given the last 10 (54) years. But would encourage you not to dwell or wallow in it. Not good for your soul. Try forgetting about footy 6 days a week. Come back for game day with as much positivity as you can muster. Give it a few weeks and see if they show signs that this is just a blip.

Should we think of this as a spectrum with passion/ obsession and apathy as the two book ends

Or more of a process - passion - obsession - disappointment - apathy - anger - going postal / wishing the club would disappear

I’m thinking it may be more of a process - can someone please create a diagram

everyone needs to calm down. if we won against geelong and saints we are sitting in second so less than a goal is the difference. every club besides richmond has had a form drop off at some point. 5 of the top 8 lost on the weekend we were 1 but before that we lost to 2 top 8 teams won 6 lost to 2 top 8 teams. Yeah we have some issues with our game plan and picking the right blokes hopefully the people in charge make some changes. the worst thing was having 6 shit teams in a row cause the cracks were covered over. losing Lever was massive but 1 player shouldnt be holding our defense together so its a blessing in disguise. I said its whoever has the least amount of hiccups on way home thatll squeeze in and already been a few upsets. This is a time to be patient raise hell next year. BTW our list still isnt that great we have **** all depth

The one thing that keeps me going is our age profile. We had 16 players with under 100 games experience on the weekend. This includes our best midfielder, our ruckman, our CHF and our key defender.

I remember reading that article from Gawn about how it took him years to really "get it" about what it takes to make it in the AFL. I reckon there are guys like Petracca and Brayshaw who are right on the cusp of that, but just need another year.

everyone needs to calm down. if we won against geelong and saints we are sitting in second so less than a goal is the difference. every club besides richmond has had a form drop off at some point. 5 of the top 8 lost on the weekend we were 1 but before that we lost to 2 top 8 teams won 6 lost to 2 top 8 teams. Yeah we have some issues with our game plan and picking the right blokes hopefully the people in charge make some changes. the worst thing was having 6 shit teams in a row cause the cracks were covered over. losing Lever was massive but 1 player shouldnt be holding our defense together so its a blessing in disguise. I said its whoever has the least amount of hiccups on way home thatll squeeze in and already been a few upsets. This is a time to be patient raise hell next year. BTW our list still isnt that great we have **** all depth

Tuilp is calm - he is apathetic! More clam than that is corpse

Never understood the comments that say 'if we beat such and such we'd be in a better ladder position'. Duh. If we won all our games we'd be on top of the ladder. But we didn't win those games. And we consistently never win the games that really matter. No matter what players we have or what coaches/system we put in place, the same results ultimately always are the same.

I agree with most of the OP. The Pert decision reeks of a need to feel relevant. We have a coach who's pig headed. It's not just the supporters now constantly asking why are we picking a side with too many talls, and playing important players out of position, the media are now asking the same questions, yet crazy Goodwin keeps doing the opposite. Our players and club always get far too ahead of itself once we become the darlings of the media. We just expect to finish top 4. Even some idiots on this forum come out and make ridiculous statements about where we're going to finish. Yet the players believe the hype and always turns a sure thing into a disastrous outcome.

The effort from our coaching staff and players against St.Kilda last round and Collingwood last round last year sums up exactly what is and what will always be wrong with this club. And us supporters simply have to cop it over and over again with our hands tied. If we were a boxer, we'd look like the end of a Rocky movie. We've been beaten around the head so many times, yet we're still standing and going to the games. Because we're inevitably trapped following this club. Most weeks aren't even enjoyable anymore. We've walked away from so many games totally disheartened, that we are simply hanging on now and following this rabble of a club for that one impossible dream. So we wait and we cop punch after punch in the meantime. Crazy..

Never understood the comments that say 'if we beat such and such we'd be in a better ladder position'. Duh. If we won all our games we'd be on top of the ladder. But we didn't win those games. And we consistently never win the games that really matter. No matter what players we have or what coaches/system we put in place, the same results ultimately always are the same.

I agree with most of the OP. The Pert decision reeks of a need to feel relevant. We have a coach who's pig headed. It's not just the supporters now constantly asking why are we picking a side with too many talls, and playing important players out of position, the media are now asking the same questions, yet crazy Goodwin keeps doing the opposite. Our players and club always get far too ahead of itself once we become the darlings of the media. We just expect to finish top 4. Even some idiots on this forum come out and make ridiculous statements about where we're going to finish. Yet the players believe the hype and always turns a sure thing into a disastrous outcome.

The effort from our coaching staff and players against St.Kilda last round and Collingwood last round last year sums up exactly what is and what will always be wrong with this club. And us supporters simply have to cop it over and over again with our hands tied. If we were a boxer, we'd look like the end of a Rocky movie. We've been beaten around the head so many times, yet we're still standing and going to the games. Because we're inevitably trapped following this club. Most weeks aren't even enjoyable anymore. We've walked away from so many games totally disheartened, that we are simply hanging on now and following this rabble of a club for that one impossible dream. So we wait and we cop punch after punch in the meantime. Crazy..
All of what you just said and we are still in the 8

I think we're completely rooted.

Then I looked at the ladder and realised that for the first time that while yes, we are completely rooted, at least we're in the top 8.

It's all very confusing

There is no fixing this unaccountable, directionless, shit-heel club.

The coach is an arrogant and egotistical fraud.

There is not a single player on the team that is willing to work hard and when shit hits the fan, instead of accepting it they should say "**** this shit" and lift.

And us supporters have to be repetitively kicked in the dick and punched in the face.

There is one thing worse than supporting a shit club and that is a shit club in denial.

Neale Daniher pleaded "Why Not us." Well I am sorry, Rev, but look at the w***ers running this club and you'll find the answer to your question.

The one thing that keeps me going is our age profile. We had 16 players with under 100 games experience on the weekend. This includes our best midfielder, our ruckman, our CHF and our key defender.

I remember reading that article from Gawn about how it took him years to really "get it" about what it takes to make it in the AFL. I reckon there are guys like Petracca and Brayshaw who are right on the cusp of that, but just need another year.
And our coach only has 37 games of experience.

Does anyone else feel it?

I feel like the more we **** up, the less interested I am in seeing us come back from it. I just feel completely uninspired by this coaching group, because the list itself is in top shape. Pretty upset that we'd ignore both the AFL's pick for CEO (Sam Graham of AFLNSW) and PJ's pick (Mahoney) for what looks like a contentious captains call from a President who is desperate to finally be relevant.

The media around Jones' 250th seems particularly cruel now, with all his talk about "finally getting some success, and getting as much of it in as he can". The playing group has shut off, and that run of winning quarters seems a long time ago. I know the media has been pumping us up (and now deflating us) and that the outside noise was fugazi, but the effort simply hasn't been there over the past few weeks.

I just feel like we've seen it all before. A stubborn coach with backwards idea and the inability to adapt, an admin showing signs of disfunction, and a playing group that doesn't quite have the hunger. Is it any coincidence that both Pert's appointment and also the classified info in Caroline Wilson's article last week were leaked, our first big leaks since the Schwab days, given the news points to the fact that Jackson and Mahoney are clearly disgruntled? The group is young, and with a proper education will sort it out. But whether they get proper education is what's worrying me. We got a huge crowd for Queen's Birthday with so much red and blue, people finally came out the woodwork, and what do we put forward?

Am I being dramatic, or does this seem fair?

Just read Wilson's article and noticed zero comments were made at the bottom. Confirmation of widespread MFC apathy?

Is it really? It's in good shape - better than any time since 2006 I reckon - but there's still gaping holes in the backline, the outside midfield and the smaller forwards.

Yeh it's a good point, most teams will drop 1 or 2 games a year against teams they'd usually beat, on the flipside most teams will win a couple against superior opposition also, we haven't done that yet, so who's to say we won't snag a couple of unlikely wins on the run home