apologist vs ????

• Thread starter Thread starter beatnik

Perceptions, perceptions, perceptions. It is what 99.999999999999% of all this bellyaching (on both sides) is about.

Perhaps, but how do we know who's perceptions are closer to the truth?

If you believe Michel Foucault argument that every social act involves a shift of power, you can probably see why things have devolved so much.

Every post is a clamour for power, for example the constant picking on Grimreepah emerges as a grab for the power we've lost by our inate envy over his post count.

The perception of a powerful bullying clique has arisen as a response to a lack of power felt by a minority group. The fight to address this power balance has given rise to the idea of a clique because its natural for the powerless to apply a singular label or categorization to those they perceive as their oppressors. It makes the prospective quest to address the power inequity clearer in the mind and clarifies the nature of their perceived oppression.

"Everyone's out to get me!"

"The government is corrupt"

"Typical Collingwood supporter"

Or Karl Marx's concept of the Proletariat and the Bourgoise.

In the real world, this is fixed by a little thing called democracy.

i always thought that someone who 100% backs a person or entity no matter what the context of the criticism was an 'apologist'

but lately it seems the term is being used to describe anyone who defends the club or players against unfounded criticisms

i guess we all like to consider ourselves as 'somewhere in the middle' of the bell curve but it got me to wondering exactly what the opposite of an apologist was?

would the term 'hater' be a reasonable polar opposite? (i.e. a hater = someone who sledges the club and players no matter the context or criticism)

your thoughts?
Apologist - defends the club even if they are in the wrong
Haters - will slag the club regardles

This ends my last ever post in this board

Thankyou for nothing and Goodnight

Well apologist relates to apollo which can be attributed to the vital sustaining force and so the opposite to that is the opposite it self so you have enemy, adversary, antagonist, attacker, foe, rival, competiter and contestant.
why I am here I don't know however
I love you roostersgal4eva

Apologist - defends the club even if they are in the wrong
Haters - will slag the club regardles

This ends my last ever post in this board

Thankyou for nothing and Goodnight

Please don't go roosters.You have been on this board for a very longtime, and I have all enjoyed your posts and interactions over the years.

Also re the hit and run thing. Maybe people post over a cuppa, and then move on to their days work or other commitments, I do that all the time. A busy life, which this forum is a component of.

Also I thought when the new mods came on board, we were all told to draw a line in the sand, and move on. I have changed the way I post as requested, but by reading some of the posts here, it seems that that is not ever going to be enough for some posters.A shame really.Aka gate was over a year ago.

I think we need to remember that each of us is a wholistic being with dignity and rights, and that each individual is unique.I think we need to try to be empathetic and understanding of each other. The process starts within ourselves. A journey of self awareness of ourselves.We all can't agree,we all have feelings and are passionate about one thing in our Lions footy club.No one supporter is better than an another, we all bleed maroon, blue and gold.

Up here we don't have restrictions on how long we can shower for, so I am entirely capable of maintaining my dignity.:)

Isn't your definition of a shower loading the entire family into the back of the ute and driving through a car wash.

carwash.JPG

"Who wants wax?"

Isn't your definition of a shower loading the entire family into the back of the ute and driving through a car wash.

We can wash our car any day of the week.:)

So can I.

I live in the Redland Shire biznizzle. We can pretty much do anything except run a waterslide park in our backyard.

Also re the hit and run thing. Maybe people post over a cuppa, and then move on to their days work or other commitments, I do that all the time. A busy life, which this forum is a component of.

I'd imagine quite a lot of us here are in the same boat, re:time. But if i can't take the time to post a coherent argument, then I generally don't. As i've said before opinion without substance is just graffiti on a forum like this. We don't have anything to express ourselves except the English language so we should all have the courtesy to explain why we think what we think (this is also the reason why we're encourage proper use of grammar, spelling and punctuation). Like you did with your above post. Of course a paragraph complete with footnotes, an abstract, etc, is usually not required. A line here or there may be fine, as long as you can explain it soon after, aprticularly it's against the grain of what most other people are saying.

If I went onto another team's board and said so-and-so can't coach I'd probably be banned from that board, but if I took the time to explain why I thought that and did so in a calm and rational manner, then at least I may get heard if not agreed with. But if I went on and posted one line how I think the same coach is a legend I'd be greeted with open arms.

If you believe Michel Foucault argument that every social act involves a shift of power, you can probably see why things have devolved so much.

Every post is a clamour for power, for example the constant picking on Grimreepah emerges as a grab for the power we've lost by our inate envy over his post count.

The perception of a powerful bullying clique has arisen as a response to a lack of power felt by a minority group. The fight to address this power balance has given rise to the idea of a clique because its natural for the powerless to apply a singular label or categorization to those they perceive as their oppressors. It makes the prospective quest to address the power inequity clearer in the mind and clarifies the nature of their perceived oppression.

"Everyone's out to get me!"

"The government is corrupt"

"Typical Collingwood supporter"

Or Karl Marx's concept of the Proletariat and the Bourgoise.

In the real world, this is fixed by a little thing called democracy.
Everyone involved in this is guilty of projecting motivations onto others. Gangs minorities and mods.

Makes it easier to oppose peoples opinions if you can just write them off without having to properly address what they actually say.

To quote the greatest political scientist of all time (Obi-Wan Kenobi)

...You're going to find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view...

It would appear that you are encouraging me to abandon my reality.

Just finished running the eyes over this thread again, if Forrest Gump’s momma can think life is like a box of chocolates, I’m going to suggest this board is like a plate of Nachos. A sometimes-stylistic embellishment of saucy salsas, corny chips, fruity avocados, sour cream and fiery peppers.

In English and without exception.
I’m still reading of misconceptions, preconceptions, cool receptions, interception and of course misperceptions but hey, is this really surprising? Generally, the only things we all have in common are our love of the Lions and the access to this forum.
So please, when you’ve something to say, speak clearly and understand that your opinions are just that. Remembering, that sometimes these may not be the opinions of the majority. In these instances insure you justify your opinion with substance.
I’m not a highly regular poster but do want it to be known, I do enjoy reading well-constructed “discussion” threads.
Just quietly, I also get a bit of a giggle out of some of the lighthearted comic strip type banter.

Yeah, life and more to the point this forum, would bore me if every "meal/post" were a literal meat and 3 veg. Keep dishing it up. :thumbsu:

As my wise and mystical spiritual guide once told me, sorry Weevil, I speak of Coyote, “clarity is the path to inner peace”.
Dare I add, “don’t honk the honk, if ya can’t tonk the tonk.”
If all else fails, then use the get out of jail card of “Oh well, of course, everything looks bad if you remember it” – yeah, more Simpson quotes.

Just finished running the eyes over this thread again, if Forrest Gump’s momma can think life is like a box of chocolates, I’m going to suggest this board is like a plate of Nachos. A sometimes-stylistic embellishment of saucy salsas, corny chips, fruity avocados, sour cream and fiery peppers.

In English and without exception.
I’m still reading of misconceptions, preconceptions, cool receptions, interception and of course misperceptions but hey, is this really surprising? Generally, the only things we all have in common are our love of the Lions and the access to this forum.
So please, when you’ve something to say, speak clearly and understand that your opinions are just that. Remembering, that sometimes these may not be the opinions of the majority. In these instances insure you justify your opinion with substance.
I’m not a highly regular poster but do want it to be known, I do enjoy reading well-constructed “discussion” threads.
Just quietly, I also get a bit of a giggle out of some of the lighthearted comic strip type banter.

Yeah, life and more to the point this forum, would bore me if every "meal/post" were a literal meat and 3 veg. Keep dishing it up. :thumbsu:

As my wise and mystical spiritual guide once told me, sorry Weevil, I speak of Coyote, “clarity is the path to inner peace”.
Dare I add, “don’t honk the honk, if ya can’t tonk the tonk.”
If all else fails, then use the get out of jail card of “Oh well, of course, everything looks bad if you remember it” – yeah, more Simpson quotes.

200px-Simpsons_Coyote.png

1) i have ignored Homer Jr and Campbell's posts as Mad Dog and other mods have requested

2) as Weevil requested, i have invited Homer Jr to share his perspective with me so that I might try to understand it better and find some common ground - no response

3) i also shared my perspective and asked him to empathise with my frustration - no response

4) while i have no control over whether this thread becomes the forum for discussion on the 'old' topic, i won't let anyone imply that i have not followed the amended guidelines without asking for some direct evidence

this whole thread had nothing to do with campbell, Homer Jr or 'aka gate' anyway, it was a response to a 'new' member who had coined the phrase very recently

5) i feel i am being picked on ;) :p

peace

Reckon this thread has about run it's course.

I think the board rules and guidelines should be pretty easy to follow. I think that posters who continually apply tags to others will probably be asked to change their style. If they can't, well we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.

As two "men" once said:

Be excellent to each other