Apparently we hate Port

• Thread starter Thread starter PrideOf

beartoo said:
Hate is far too strong a word for feelings about footy. If the talkback program was as MR states in his article, then it's about time some Poower and Crows fans grew up.

Exactly, there are far far worse things happening in the world today that deserve the word "hate"

Mr Rucci you should be ashamed of yourself for even mentioning the word "hate" in this way in regards to Aussie Rules footy & its supporters, dislike or detest would have been more appropriate.

Mad Dog said:
Hate is a very strong word ....:thumbsd:
Have to agree

Someone asked me , after noticing my numberplates, if I was a Crows or Port supporter.I said Adelaide , and the next question is ''what about Port you must like them too'' . I went into my Ted Bullpit voice and ''hate hate hate hate hate Port'' but I then toned it down to '' Port are one of 16 teams the AFC need to beat to win the Premiership''

I then went onto say I keep an eye on their ladder position and take great joy when they lose, and suffer when the AFC lose and Port win...but on a week like this when both teams lose I dont care for them.

Hate? Nah I just like seeing them down , I like seeing their supporters bleeding...maybe they can bleed some of the arrogance out

We expect to win premierships... maybe it should be changed to We expect to be competitive and let our ladder position reflect our current situation

There is a difference between hating the Port Power Football Club & hating their supporters.

I have no time for their club but plenty of my mates barrack for them.

As for putting it on Steven Trigg, I still remember "who's your daddy".

People in glass houses.

PerthCrow said:
Have to agree

Someone asked me , after noticing my numberplates, if I was a Crows or Port supporter.I said Adelaide , and the next question is ''what about Port you must like them too'' . I went into my Ted Bullpit voice and ''hate hate hate hate hate Port'' but I then toned it down to '' Port are one of 16 teams the AFC need to beat to win the Premiership''

I then went onto say I keep an eye on their ladder position and take great joy when they lose, and suffer when the AFC lose and Port win...but on a week like this when both teams lose I dont care for them.

Hate? Nah I just like seeing them down , I like seeing their supporters bleeding...maybe they can bleed some of the arrogance out

We expect to win premierships... maybe it should be changed to We expect to be competitive and let our ladder position reflect our current situation

Haha.

Give us a rundown of your license plates?

Hate - never, but I love the banter.

But to me what I dislike more than Crows supporters :) ... is the opinions of supporters that have obviously not got a clue about the game.

When these happen to be Crows supporters also I generally treat their opinions with contempt ... when they are Port supporters I generally just cringe and walk away.

another hilariously inept article by this guy....best summed up by the following misrepresentation:

'Port fans are easily irritated by Adelaide's infamous slogan - "The Team for All South Australians"'

further in the article interpreted as:

'Adelaide's slogan declaring it is the only team for every South Australian is dodgy.'

Sorry, but try as I might, I cant see "the ONLY team for all South Australians" anywhere in Adelaide's slogan.

Michael, please please give it up.....you're now just making a mockery of yourself.

Mad Dog said:

Would I rather stick a fork in my eye than see another Port Power premiership ?
Do I feel nauseus each time I have to drive my daughter to her friend's place at Alberton?
Do I feel like kicking in the television each time I see Chocco or the Gimp on my screen?
Do I feel like swerving onto the footpath each time I pass a Centrelink?
Does the inane whining about premierships by another entity in another competition make the veins in my temples throb?

Sure....

but hate is a very strong word...:thumbsd:

lol. very good :D

Triggy went from bit journalist, to media manager, and then to CEO of the Adelaide football club.

given the inability of Rucci to do likewise, of course he is jealous.

Anyone hear the whinging Port Supporter on KG and Cornsey ?

This is unbelievable, when the Power was on top crows fans were thin skinned for not being able to take the insults and abuse by Port Supporters during our dismal showings at the Showdowns and other games – finally we get the upper hand and the Port supporters are crying foul – Sorry Power fans – you made your own bed – now sleep in it

I certainly dislike the Crows I wont hide away from that.

Probably what I dislike the most is those whether it is Port or Crows supporters who try to validate themselves through the achievments of their football side. Does not get much sadder than that IMO. Those who ring up and bag another side, get a life springs straight to mind.

To have your life dictated by the results of sport in general whether it be AFL or soccer or whatever I find a joke. I love my club and obviously prefer rivals to lose, as im sure most here would but I think things need to be kept in perspective. Every team has a portion of poor supporters, I suppose Im just not one who goes and gloats and trys to make an issue out of things, I'd rather just enjoy the wins and when your losing support as best you can.

Banter is great and we all love it, but some people get too wrapped up in the hype.

All I can see is that Rucci is the one that

"cant handle the truth"

When Port were up, all we heard was that Port were growing and the AFC were shrinking in both sponsorship dollars and interest in the state. Rucci was predicting in 2002 that in the next five years there would be clear signs that Port would start to overtake the AFC.

Now the truth is far different from that and Rucci can't handle it. The AFC has shown it is and will be just as good on the field as Port and that Port like every other club will have its up and down periods and wont be any more successful than any other team. Port won a flag, but where are all the people Rucci ??? Where is this juggernaut that you predicted ??? His years of predictions are all falling down around him and he cant handle it. I have no doubt that AFC will continue to clearly be the no 1 team in SA.

Rucci is sinking to new depths this year and proving to be a sook and a massive hypocrite that can dish it out, but sooks when it comes back to bite him.

Mad Dog said:

Would I rather stick a fork in my eye than see another Port Power premiership ?
Do I feel nauseus each time I have to drive my daughter to her friend's place at Alberton?
Do I feel like kicking in the television each time I see Chocco or the Gimp on my screen?
Do I feel like swerving onto the footpath each time I pass a Centrelink?
Does the inane whining about premierships by another entity in another competition make the veins in my temples throb?

Sure....

but hate is a very strong word...:thumbsd:

very good :thumbsu:

PrideOf said:
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19312241%255E25397,00.html

Looks like the hatred/rivalry/call-it-what-you-will between us and Port Power is Triggy's fault.

I remember the Rooch pumping up the rivalry when Port was flying. Good for football in the State. Port versus the SANFL. Us and them. Now they're back below us on the ladder and it's 'not healthy'. Make up your mind, Michelangelo.

And don't make out like it's all Adelaide's fault. Your article, by omission of any mention of Port Power's role in all of this, skews the facts. Again.

The answer is simple dont read his crap i have not read a ruuci article in full for 3 to 4 years

i think one thing we need to keep in mind in the positives of his articles to the team.I am sure the footy club cultures would be able to use them to its advantages to fire up the team in some way. so keep it up rucci you dumb :D:D:D:D :thumbsu:

It's not real hatred its 'sports hatred'. During a state game we even love it when a Port player kicks a goal and 'hate' the Vics or Sandgropers or even the Tasmanians (OK we pity them) kicking goals. If its an international match, hell I even like Collingwood players.

There are ferals on both sides, probably a few more now that Rucci has incited them, but 99.9% stop 'hating' as sonn as the game's over. What does he want, no rivalry? As for Triggy inciting hatred, you wouldn't meet a more benign guy in your life. If anything he's sometimes too nice for his own and AFC's good.

Well I dont really hate Port supporters but I have no sympathy for them and really love it when they are losing all the time. I must admit I just love it when they get smashed. Back in my teens (many years ago) when I barracked for them (Magpies) I could'nt uderstand why everyone hated them. I lived and breathed them back then and who knows, perish the thought, that if they got into the AFL first I could've possibly been one of them. But thank god for the Crows, they got in first. Rucci is your typical diehard Port Adelaide supporter. Big headed, arrogant and childish. When I hear him of AA and read his articles (that doesnt happen very often anymore, if fact if it wasn't for KG mentioning his article on radio this am I would'nt even have read it) it justify's my decision to support the Crows. In him I see everything I despise about Port Adelaide. His attacks on STrigg and the AFC are obbsessive. I dont know anyone who is obbessed like he is. In fact his obbsession is quite scary. Perhaps instead of all puting in for his retirement fund perhaps we shoud be puting in for him to see a shrink.

I do think, it says something about the character of a number of their supporters that "cross town" to associate themselves with the already successful clubs.

it's no different to the Kent chapter of the Manchester United Supporters Group. nary a more reviled group in English football.

Then these same dubious characters, then claim the sort of personal affirmation as Sheeds was talking about. Put the 2 together, and it doesn't paint a pretty picture.

that said, the true Port fans have their moments. - uuggh, I feel dirty now.

Reminds me of the exchange between Riggs and Murtaugh in Lethal Weapon

Murtaugh: God hates me, that's what it is.
Riggs: Hate him back. It works for me.

That was some impressive mullet Riggs had too ... ;)

PerthCrow said:
Port are one of 16 teams the AFC need to beat to win the Premiership''

I'm struggling to find when Adelaide play the Crows in the fixture...can you help me out...? :D