macca231

Apr 2, 2007
Real Madrid
What are everyones thoughts on who will represent the aps side in the combined match this year. Maybe you could list some definates, some guys who are question marks, and a possible captain. Try not to just pump up mates from your school and give an honest opinion

He'd be in the team, but captain no way.

I'd have the following (assuming fit)

Caulfield - Sandilands (C), Sengstock, Yaman, Sundberg
Scotch - Jnr Rioli (V), Bowden, Strauss, Davis
Haileybury - Martin, Lynch, Vickery, Scully
Xavier - Sanfillipo, Noonan, Kennedy, Wynne, Smith
Geelong C - Henderson (V), Weddell, Curnow
Wesley - Croft, Sands, Chaplin-Birch
Melbourne - Shaw, McLardly
Brighton - Sargeant, Watts
St Kevins - Newman, Kennedy, Chivers, Cachia
Geelong G - O'Keefe, Lloyd, Austin
Carey - Lisle

Try picking a side out of that 35!
Tough call for APS selectors!!!

Lees will be looked at I reckon, has had a scorcher of a year. One AFL representative at the game said he has 'incredible vision and awareness and just knows what to do when he gets the footy'.

That's impressive.

Carey - Lisle

FB: Sargeant Kennedy Martin
HB: Watts Sandilands Shaw
C: O'Keefe Sunberg Curnrow
HF: Sengstok Henderson Lynch
FF: Wynne Jnr Rioli Yaman
R: Vickery Sanfillipo Newman
int: Lisle Cashia Croft

i know im going to get lots of critism casue i dont even think that is probably a correct team but hopefuly it will spark people who actually know there stuff to have a go. its so hard! i didnt put coft in cause i dont think hes played yet? have a go at it!

Damn that's a good side.
Not sure I could have done much better.

AGS will be very strong this year too.
Won't be hear for that game, maybe on You Tube!

haha thanks davo. its very tuff though. feel a bit bad not having croft in the startring 18 but i guess we havent seen him play htis year or had he ben playing?

Yes, Hill (SC) Lees (XC) McCarthy (StK) and Smith (HC) are all excellent.
Really tough to narrow it down.
There's 50 or so brilliant players in the APS, which is why they should account for AGS.

Having said that, they do have Cotchin, Maric, Daniher, Clifton, Grimes etc, etc.....

Yes, Hill (SC) Lees (XC) McCarthy (StK) and Smith (HC) are all excellent.
Really tough to narrow it down.
There's 50 or so brilliant players in the APS, which is why they should account for AGS.

Having said that, they do have Cotchin, Maric, Daniher, Clifton, Grimes etc, etc.....

Actually they don't have Grimes and Daniher. Daniher is St Bernards, and Grimes goes to a public school with Kreuzer. I've heard PEGS have 5 guys in the vic metro squad who should all make it, Cotchin, Maric, Joyce, not sure who else. Plus some of the big schools like PEGS, Marcellin and Assumption would have a handfull of tac players.

Good call, I'd forgotten St Bernards are in the ACC.
Don't do that side of the city.
I think Grimes goes to ACK though mate - saw him play earlier in the year.

Carey - Lisle

Big call to leave out Maric, Cotchin and Joyce from PEGS. Very biased side you have picked.

Good call, I'd forgotten St Bernards are in the ACC.
Don't do that side of the city.
I think Grimes goes to ACK though mate - saw him play earlier in the year.

If your reffering to Jack Grimes from Northern, I know he goes to school with Kruezer. I remember reading a thread from a kid at their school saying they could have two top five draft picks this year. I doubt that schools private because both of them are regulars for Northerns Tac team

do u go to an AGS school? what wud the ags side look like?

No I no longer go to school though follow TAC Cup / Herald Sun / ACC and Vic Metro squads / Cannons / Jets/ Knights pretty closely - thus my stupidity over APS and AGS. Just know of these comps via this website and the boys that try out for Vic Metro. Love all footy though.

From what i have heard, wesley have a very strong backline to hold off St Kevins, and that some of them could be contenders for the APS combined team.
What do you reckon?

From what i have heard, wesley have a very strong backline to hold off St Kevins, and that some of them could be contenders for the APS combined team.
What do you reckon?

no the performance against haileybury shows there defence is weak! you cant lose by 100 points and have a good, tight disiplined backline.
got caught running off forward players and getting caught up the ground.

Carey - Lisle

FB: Martin Kennedy(Xav) Davis
HB:Newman Noonan Lynch
C: Jnr.Rioli Sargent O'Keefe
HF: Sandilands(VC) Henderson(C) McLardy
FF: Yaman Chaplin-Birch Sundberg
ON: Jones(R) Sanfillipo Shaw
INT: Vickery Scully Lisle Curnow
UNLUCKY: Sengstock, Watts, Wynne, Hill, Lloyd

FB: Martin Kennedy(Xav) Davis
HB:Newman Noonan Lynch
C: Jnr.Rioli Sargent O'Keefe
HF: Sandilands(VC) Henderson(C) McLardy
FF: Yaman Chaplin-Birch Sundberg
ON: Jones(R) Sanfillipo Shaw
INT: Vickery Scully Lisle Curnow
UNLUCKY: Sengstock, Watts, Wynne, Hill, Lloyd

i rekon my teams better. who is jones? how is noonan in the team?

Carey Captain is a gun (Jones). Noonan is a gun too...
This is assuming their fit when time comes round for APS AGS game

APS Combined Side