List Mgmt. Archer, Brady & The Board

Aug 16, 2009
North Caulfield
It’s weird but I have always felt up until season 2017 we were a well-managed football club both on and off field. We fought outside our weight division and in general were well respected in the wider footy community and public. During the early Scott years particularly I felt we were stable. Perhaps delusional but I would go to the game every week feeling confident of a win or at the very least a competitive loss.

Off field I felt confident we would be ok and that we would either turn a small profit or small loss and understood that was mainly because we sold those 3 games to Tasmania which kind of made us immune from big financial fluctuations.

We had good on field leaders in Harvey, Drew, Spitta and Spud that drove standards. Brad had his faults on game day but I believe he did right by the club as a leader off it. We competed. We weren’t in contention but really only a few teams are each year. I didn’t feel like I was a member of a small club. It was a refreshing period post the gold coast merger years.

Since 2017 I have felt the club has taken advantage of the members. Decisions have been made that made no sense either on or off field. Bad decisions. Decisions that not even me the most one eyed of supporters can look past and dismiss.

I was happy to hear that Brady was taking over and that we were making sweeping changes. I support the playing list being cut and the coaches being sacked. I hope like hell the board supports him and that he has a strategy. I hope the strategy is communicated clearly to the members. I reckon new are entitled to that. Footy has moved to a place where the media and the narrative is almost as important as what happens on field. I don’t like it but sadly that’s where we are. We need to be strong focused and clear in our message. It can be announced on our time frame but I hope we do it. Now isn’t the time for a board ructions or bickering we need to all get behind the club and the club needs to deliver the members hope and a clear plan which may not be achieved but a plan none the less. Sorry for long rant.
Please send this to the club. a good read.

Rad Roo

Aug 2, 2017
Absolutely brilliant, archer + brady + new board beats any superstar recruit. I like the new stalinist approach to root out internal issues. The delisting is ******* huggggggggggggeeeeeeeeeeeeee. It sends the signal that only those who got the skill, work ethics, talent and constitution will be staying on the list. Also, only those who fits the modern game will be on the list. The people bitching and whinging are those who can't see past the current or that they are stuck in the past. North needs to move into a professional organisation. In a professional organisation, underperforming members need to go. For too long, north has been too comfortable of a place hence no one is leaving which means no new talent is coming in. Too much staleness at the club before this year. A ruthless purging is needed just like the ones back under Stalin. Purge the rank of disloyal/incompetent/weak members, what's left will make the whole team far stronger.

Rad Roo

Aug 2, 2017
turning over the 11 delisted players imo wont make a hell of a lot of difference in the teams competitiveness as if they were up to it they would still be on the list, BBB and Higgins on the other hand will make a lot bigger difference, plus there will be a recall of the blokes that were not available for a lot of the games this year. not saying we are going to slay it but wouldnt be surpriced if we could string together half a dozen wins next season as opposed to 3 this season.

The 11 you have mentioned belong are regularly injured, out of form, cannot get into best form. Brown is not suited to our gamestyle. Higgin Polec are good players but at the wrong age profile and at the wrong club. Could get 3 second rounders which could then be turned into a future first. 2021 draft heard will be strong, so if we finish somewhere down the bottom, we could once again get a top 3 pick and then another first rounder.

Yep, way too much smoke for mine.
It's the sort of smoke you get from smouldering, wet, African pasture grasses that won't ignite. It's really thick - heavy, acrid and you don't want to get caught in it cos it stinks and makes it hard to breathe but there is * all flame involved.

I wonder how many other CEOs and Chairmen went to the hub? Not sure that this is important at all.
Didn't we sign a new sponsor during the season, as everything was going pear shaped?

That would be Amarfio's doing wouldn't it? Sounds like the sort of thing a CEO should be commended for. Not canned for.

hehehehehe, quite often, the fake ones are usually the first to point their fingers.

Fake ones call the club Norf and suggest it should relocate.

Jul 21, 2019
I have footage from the board room :
Jade: Glenn, Please don't sack me

Archer: I won't sack you Jade

Jade: Oh Christ Thank you

Archer: Brady, Sack this piece of s**t

Brady :
Frank_Lopez_Death.gif

Not sure if it's Arch, the board or Brady but something stinks

Archer is a board member, he doesn't have the power to sack the janitor let alone the senior assistant coach. The only real employment decision they make is the appointment of the CEO.

That isn't to say he hasn't directed someone who does have the authority to sack Jade to do so, but it is not like he has gone rogue and is doing things and nobody can control him. Ultimately, this would have had to be done with the approval of the CEO and I think if Ben felt strongly enough about it, he would have confronted the board over it if they were overstepping their authority.

I'd also be surprised if Brady wasn't involved prior to the termination. Perhaps he wasn't because there would be a conflict of interest being Jade is his brother, but I would be surprised if he wasn't aware of the decision and why it was done.

Colbys Boots

Premium Gold
Oct 3, 2017
Archer is a board member, he doesn't have the power to sack the janitor let alone the senior assistant coach. The only real employment decision they make is the appointment of the CEO.

That isn't to say he hasn't directed someone who does have the authority to sack Jade to do so, but it is not like he has gone rogue and is doing things and nobody can control him. Ultimately, this would have had to be done with the approval of the CEO and I think if Ben felt strongly enough about it, he would have confronted the board over it if they were overstepping their authority.

I'd also be surprised if Brady wasn't involved prior to the termination. Perhaps he wasn't because there would be a conflict of interest being Jade is his brother, but I would be surprised if he wasn't aware of the decision and why it was done.

You do understand that a CEO is answerable to the board and not the other way around, right?

Obviously...

But CEOs sometimes clash with the board of directors and they have to be on the same page. If you do not trust the CEO to be the one to make the calls then they have chosen the wrong CEO.

The board is there to determine the direction/policy/etc, selecting top executives and measuring results, reviewing/holding the executives accountable, these are typically not full time roles.

Board members do not have any powers of an executive, there are clear reasons for a division of power/authority as well as role and function. A CEO and the executive should have the ultimate say on who gets hired and fired in the lesser ranks of the organisation, because it has specialists in place that make those calls.

The half-arsed nature of our coach appointments should be evidence enough as to why they shouldn't be making employment decisions in general.

Perhaps a pointless exercise however I thought I would call the club (still on hold actually - caller number 8 in the queue after 20 minutes) to politely ask what the hell is going on with our club right now.

Like the majority of our members and supporters right now the silence from our President, our Board and North administration in general in light of the relentless, toxic, destructive rhetoric being thrown at our once proud club is heartbreaking and fills me with a degree of rage. Members deserve better. Caroline Wilson’s latest comments around the viability of our club (yet again) needs to be smashed out of the ball park. Whether the club thinks her comments (or other ‘media’ types) are worthy of response are really not important.

We need an administration that shows strength, is up for the fight and shows that we aren’t to be pushed around like the scrawny kid at the back of the room (I’m still on hold after 25 minutes, 3rd in the queue).

Perhaps a pointless exercise however I thought I would call the club (still on hold actually - caller number 8 in the queue after 20 minutes) to politely ask what the hell is going on with our club right now.

Like the majority of our members and supporters right now the silence from our President, our Board and North administration in general in light of the relentless, toxic, destructive rhetoric being thrown at our once proud club is heartbreaking and fills me with a degree of rage. Members deserve better. Caroline Wilson’s latest comments around the viability of our club (yet again) needs to be smashed out of the ball park. Whether the club thinks her comments (or other ‘media’ types) are worthy of response are really not important.

We need an administration that shows strength, is up for the fight and shows that we aren’t to be pushed around like the scrawny kid at the back of the room (I’m still on hold after 25 minutes, 3rd in the queue).

I imagine many within the club (at high levels) would’ve received calls directly from North connected folk of the ilk of Corey McKernan in the past 12 hours mate.

Themanbun

Apr 19, 2019
So when people here criticised certain decisions (yet to be seen if rightly or wrongly), others often responded with something like "trust Brady, Brady knows what he's doing."

Now we find out that it wasn't Brady behind those decisions?

Orange Peanut

Feb 6, 2013

Looking forward to hearing the result.

So when people here criticised certain decisions (yet to be seen if rightly or wrongly), others often responded with something like "trust Brady, Brady knows what he's doing."

Now we find out that it wasn't Brady behind those decisions?
I struggle to believe that tho.

I am sure they talk this s**t thru and make decisions based on what they are deciding is the best direction for the club. Most of the time.

I don't know Rawlings obviously but everything about him that I've seen over the years fits with what has been happening in terms of gutting the list, restructuring the footy dept. etc etc.

He definitely comes across as competent, intelligent and capable. And he seems capable of being responsible and controlling a situation. I don't see why these decisions aren't coming from him.

And I dunno if I fully trust Rawlings' direction myself.

But he seems completely committed to it and so I'm prepared to give him enough rope ... to either hang himself or make some bootstraps that he can drag us up to several flags with.