fugitive

Aug 3, 2002
Brisbane Lions
Just heard on the radio that Adelaide is going to start one of the hot favourites for next year's flag.

Does anyone agree? Is Carey going to make much difference?

Originally posted by fugitive
Just heard on the radio that Adelaide is going to start one of the hot favourites for next year's flag.

Does anyone agree? Is Carey going to make much difference?

With the 3rd youngest list in the league this year, to finish in the top 4 and this year and with the addition of Carey next year (the only weak link in the side is a tall marking forward) the team should be a good team with a really good opportunity to take the flag, but they must have luck with injuries and suspensions aswell!

Most definately deserve to be ONE of the favourites. They are a bit stiff not to be playing in the GF this week, as I believe they are a far more complete unit than the Collingwood side that beat them on the week end, however the Pies deserve to be there this year. I would rate their mid-field as equal with either BL or Port's, and a very under-rated forward line too. Even if the Carey trade turns out to be a fizzer, they will still push fora top two spot.

Re: Re: Are crows favorites for next year?

Originally posted by PrideofSA

With the 3rd youngest list in the league this year, to finish in the top 4 and this year and with the addition of Carey next year (the only weak link in the side is a tall marking forward) the team should be a good team with a really good opportunity to take the flag, but they must have luck with injuries and suspensions aswell!

Having the 3rd youngest list means absolute bugger all when your top 22 is infact rather old. Only three or so over your young 'uns, in Doughty, John**** and Ladhams, are getting a run, so I think your point is disproved right there.

Further, if one of your midfielders is off-loaded in whatever trade, if defeats the purpose of getting Carey. Your guys can't even kick to a key forward with your fab 4 midfielders in anyway.

Re: Re: Are crows favorites for next year?

Originally posted by PrideofSA

Adelaide have one of the youngest squads, but name their good young players? errm...Johnco(k... that's about it. And he's a Port boy ;)

If Carey plays for Adelaide next season, still an "if", he won't make much of a difference to their forward line. He wasn't very good in his last year of AFL footy and 2 years to get fat and slow won't help.

Since when does one player make a team a premiership favourite? I wouldn't be surprised if the Crows finished outisde the top 4 next year. Carey will not be as good as he was. Everyone expected Lockett to be better than he was (I know Carey has only been out for 5 months) but he still hasn't had the game experience. Don't get me wrong, Carey will still be a great player, but not as good as he was at the end of the 2001 season.

Adelaide have an awesome midfield. They have a top classed defender in Ben Hart, and an under rated forward in Mark Stevens. Adding Carey to that list looks very promising, but we will have to wait to find out how good they go.

IMO - Brisbane have an icredible list. There is no way no Brisbane will NOT start favourites for the flag next year.

Don't worry, they will be favourites over here in Adelaide. Of that I hold no doubt. They are favourites most years.
Everyone is agreed that Carey will make the Crows a 5 goal better team, but in view of the fact they lost to Brisbane by 12 goals in a final it would appear they still have plenty of work to do, Carey or not.
I think the biggest danger facing the Crows is the expectation that they have recruited Carey circa 1999 when he was at his peak. He may still acheive that standard, only time will tell.
However, there must be some doubt when you consider he will be 33, just missed an entire year, and hasn't played hisa best footy in 3 years due to chronic shoulder injuries.
I also feel that although Smart and Bickley are continuing, they are also on a downward trend. The actions of Bickley in striking Wakelin was out of character for a player of his integrity, but in keeping with a player frustrated in trying to keep pace with the game.
There are no certainties in football so we will all just have to wait and see. For my money, Brisbane should start favourites even if they don't win on Saturday.

If the Lions win the flag this weekend, I would have to say Brisbane would be favourites.

Carey will be good for you guys, but if anyone thinks Carey = flag, then they are dreaming.

Re: Re: Re: Are crows favorites for next year?

Originally posted by Zombie

Adelaide have one of the youngest squads, but name their good young players? errm...Johnco(k... that's about it. And he's a Port boy ;)

If Stiffy is the only good youngster in the 3rd youngest team...HOW THE F*CK DID WE FINISH 3RD?????

Idiot

They will finish in the top 4.

You can't finish 3rd and go down the ladder if you get Wayne Carey. The only way they won't make the top 4 is if they have Carlton like injuries from this year

Re: Re: Re: Re: Are crows favorites for next year?

Originally posted by King Crow

If Stiffy is the only good youngster in the 3rd youngest team...HOW THE F*CK DID WE FINISH 3RD?????

Idiot

Because your starting 22 consists of old blokes. All of, well most of, your young deroes, don't get a game. The fact that you have the 3rd youngest list means nothing if said youngsters aren't on the field.

Geelong however, had plenty of youngsters out on the field consistently this season. They will improve next year more than the Crows.

Get your collective hand off it.

Re: Re: Re: Are crows favorites for next year?

Originally posted by Zombie
If Carey plays for Adelaide next season, still an "if", he won't make much of a difference to their forward line.

He's a perfect fit for Adelaide and his precence alone will make Scotty Welsh a better player and give their crumbers more confidence.

Brissie deserve to be favorites, but Adelaide should be very competitive.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Are crows favorites for next year?

Originally posted by sog35

Because your starting 22 consists of old blokes. All of, well most of, your young deroes, don't get a game. The fact that you have the 3rd youngest list means nothing if said youngsters aren't on the field.

Geelong however, had plenty of youngsters out on the field consistently this season. They will improve next year more than the Crows.

Get your collective hand off it.

How stupid considering only Bickley and Smart are the only older types on the list. I guess U can add Hart who is a very old 28.

All our core players are peaking, and are around the 24-26 yr old mark. Is that old?

Originally posted by Goldenblue
If the Lions win the flag this weekend, I would have to say Brisbane would be favourites.

Carey will be good for you guys, but if anyone thinks Carey = flag, then they are dreaming.

Absolutley spot on.

As I have been saying on the Adelaide board we are 3 - 4 key position players short. We need to recruit/develop some big, strong key defenders and a full forward. A couple of back up ruckman for Biglands and Clarke are also required IMO. We need a good crop of big blokes to improve.

Jerome

Depends on what they have to trade for Carey.

Originally posted by oh_my_hat
Speaking of Adelaide I just heard that Beinke just retired. Hasn't he only been around about 5 minutes and now he's chucking it in?

Recruited in 1998 for the 1999 season. He was originally tried out to replace Modra. Kept getting injured and wasn't always a selectors favourite. His injuries have frustrated him all year. He was going to retire mid year but the club talked him out of it.

All the best Bryan!

Jerome

You are joking, we should not be favourites at all.

I said in a thread on the AFC board that I reckon next year will be an absolute electric year for the competition because of a heap the clubs gelling together all at the right time. Yeah it's early days I know but I'm thinking what with the Bulldogs, the Swans and Carlton getting a bit of new direction will send them up and Freo and the Saints will continue to build, I reckon there will be multiple teams jostling for positions in the top 2, 4 and 8 week in week out. I could be wrong though but I do think pretty much all the teams will have good patches throughout the year and any team that's going to go through a bad patch had better hope it's not at a stage when a few groups are firing.

That said, we are in a lot of danger if we lose sight of things we'll slide down fast because of the amount of clubs getting the four points each week.

To elaborate

Brisbane will again be favorites, Collingwood, Port, Adelaide, Essendon will be close behind....

Remember, a favorite is only that because fools part with their money!

(I had 10 on a Hawthorn/Newcastle Quinella, 10 on The Pies (a faith bet...looking good for 850) 10 on Bucckley, Ackermanis, and Crawford for the Brownlow......)

Smokey

The Crows favourites....i dont think so. Win or lose on the weekend, the Lions will start favourites for next season. If they lose, the punters will assume it was just a bit of Collingwood luck and no doubt will jump back on the Brissie bandwagon at the start of next season. However, Brisbane WILL win there second straight and start red hot favourites next season.

Carey doesnt make a team a favourite, he may have done 4 or 5 years ago but now he is a shadow of his former self. He will help out Adelaide but they wont be faves...thats my opinion anyway.

Are crows favorites for next year?