Are Essendon better now, or this time last year?

• Thread starter Thread starter rewind

rewind

Just wondering, would you say Essendon are more surer of winning the flag this year then they were at the same time next year.

I just saw Chris Hefferman on Talking Footy and if all the Essendon players are like him, I think it is more of a sure thing this year.

He said that if anyone thinks that "yeah the flags ours" they just think back to that dark say in September 1999.

Plus I think our talent is deeper now and everyone has to work harder to keep their spot.

Can't agree. Doesn't mean I don't think you're nearly as good and a good thing for the flag.

But this year they have to remind themselves about 99, whereas last year they didn't have to remind themselves, it was seared into their consciousness.

I know you've had more injuries but you've lost 2 games, did nothing in the pre-season, got 69 points down on Sat, etc. The hunger isn't quite the same. The game you lost last year was basically because you panicked, whereas this year more about complacency.

Having said all that, I'm not risking any money on anyone else winning:(

There is no such thing as a sure thing. If you believe this you are stupid. I meet stupid people every day!

Originally posted by Croupier
There is no such thing as a sure thing. If you believe this you are stupid. I meet stupid people every day!

Great first post, having a go at people without reading their posts properly. :rolleyes:

Have a look in the mirror when you meet those stupid people.

What rewind was asking was whether they were surer than last year, in other words, more likely. Didn't say they were a sure thing as such (I know those words were used, but only relatively).

the only sure thing is us finishing on top and being able to control our own destiny. us beating north in the finals if they dare come up against us is also a sure thing.

we are not as good as we were last year, BUT the gap between us and other teams is probably larger this year simply because there is no equivalent to the Carlton of last year.

while "experts" think they have figured us out, the opposite is true. we have learned to deal with pressure. games like v cats and v roos were matches that we would have probably lost is times gone by. we are dealing with pressure and winning. if other teams are so good, and essendon's superiority is falling, why are we 4, 5 and 6 games and 30-40% clear of most teams?

the lions and port are of no threat to US in MELBOURNE, although carlton and hawthorn are probably our only dangers.

i think essendon have more challengers this, having already been beaten by sides that i beleive will make the top 4, it's true that essendon have more depth tis year, but i'm sure they had it last year, but didn't have to use it. essendon will proabbly win the flag but i think they had more of a chance last year, especially considering that carlton, their no.1 challenge last year, had many injury worries close to and during finals time.

Originally posted by red+black

we are not as good as we were last year, BUT the gap between us and other teams is probably larger this year simply because there is no equivalent to the Carlton of last year.

Good point, I didn't think of that.

Thanks Fat Red. Nice to know there are some smart people out there.

I meant last year at this time people were saying we were a sure thing, they are saying the same this year.

All I was wondering is do you think we are a more "surer" thing this year.

rewind,

I think last year was a freak year. We had virtually no injuries all year (of any seriousness), we didnt just beat teams week in week out, we hammered them by big margins more often than not, and to top it all off probably played our very best footy at the perfect time- in the finals. We had emerging players hitting their best form, and veteran players like Bewick, Wallis who wanted a piece of the action as well- it all just was a perfect blend. Everything went according to plan.

This year is different. We've been tested alot more, had more injuries and used alot more unproved players (who I might add have been proving themselves damn quickly though)- we've lost more games;) and have lost quite a bit of experience with retirement and injury. As rosy as things are- they arnt running along as sweetly as last year. I'm completely satisfied that the side is perfectly placed right now, but in answer to your question- I dont think this years outfit is as good as last years was, at this time of the year. And to be honest, I dont think we'll ever be as good as the Essendon 2000 team was....like I said it was a freak year where everything fell into place.

Originally posted by Fat Red

Great first post, having a go at people without reading their posts properly. :rolleyes:

Have a look in the mirror when you meet those stupid people.

What rewind was asking was whether they were surer than last year, in other words, more likely. Didn't say they were a sure thing as such (I know those words were used, but only relatively).
Didn`t know that there is a difference between sure and surer?

I think that Essendon are favourites, but less likely to win it than last year, when they were extraordinarily fortunate with injuries.

The beauty of sport is the unexpected things that can happen - and this is especially so in Finals footy, where it is a "one-off" event. Doesn't matter if a team would beat its opponent 9 out of 10 times, if the 1 time it doesn't is in an Elimination, Preliminary or Grand Final.

As I've said in previous posts, I wouldn't write off Brisbane and Hawthorn as winners and I could see Carlton and (don't laugh) on their day Collingwood, Bulldogs and Kangaroos beating Essendon if they could get that far.

This year it has not only bled, it has been shown to haemorrhage; in fact it is a borderline haemophiliac case.

Before the end of the year someone will stick a knife in and it will die.:D

Originally posted by choppy
This year it has not only bled, it has been shown to haemorrhage; in fact it is a borderline haemophiliac case.

Exactly!

Essendon in 2001 are just as good as Essendon in 2000. Having said, that, even the best team can have a bad day, and Essendon have lost twice in 2001. The measure of how good the Bombers are, is not in how poor we played when we lost, but on how good we played when we won. Our best footy, in 2001, is just as good as our best footy in 2000.

Injuries to key players, have meant that we havn't fielded as dominant a team "on the field", but when we have been at full-strength, or close to it, we have been just as awesome as last year. We were never going to be able to repeat a 21-1 season, but it is quite possible that we could go 20-2, which, given the circumstances, is even more impressive.

The gap between us, and the rest appears to have widened, partly because the defection of Aaron Hamill to St.Kilda has meant that the Blues are a touch weaker than they were in 2000. The Blues don't have theat extra forward high-marking option that they had in 2000, but their overall class stipulates they will still be a challenger.

Overall, I believe we are just as good as team, when we play at our best and hopefully, the club will perform to that optimum level in the finals.

Originally posted by choppy

exactly what I thought after Sunday's Game... they pannick when pressure is exerted... just like any other team.... last year they only got pressured once... and lost that...

Originally posted by Rooboy 96
exactly what I thought after Sunday's Game... they pannick when pressure is exerted... just like any other team.... last year they only got pressured once... and lost that...

Ha ha ha ha . We only got pressured once in 25 games, eh? You idiot!

We copped severe pressure more than any other team (everyone was gunning to knock us off) and we responded 24 times out of 25

I don't think Essendon are any worse this year than last. The other 15 teams have just improved (well some have) and have gone a little closer to the standard Essendon have set.

Statistically they haven't improved if your judging by how many games they have lost, but that doesn't mean much at the end of the day - just ask any Freo supporter :D

Rooboy 96 abuses Dan25 and has a sook by saying....
you are the first to always step in and cry about people hanging **** on you... fuking hypocrite...

I don't cry about people hanging sh*t on me. I cop it left right, and centre, on bigfooty Rooboy, and it doesn't bother me one bit.

You're a big sook mate.

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha

but at least I'm not a 25 year old virgin...

Always fun arguing with such an intelligent intellectual such as youself, Rooboy. :rolleyes:

Tell me, where do you come up with your humour? You're still trying to work out where that 69 point lead went on Sunday aren't you?