Are we seriously that bad!!

Don't take too much notice. Your kids looked good, in particular Davey as well as a few others. Got a very potent backline with Michael and Fletcher down there, I reckon your midfield will hold their own.

In fact, I reckon both our teams will leapfrog Collingwood this year.

So did we.

All pre-season is, is just to see how good the kids will play. ;)

You have got to be Joking! Inlike your pathetic club Carlscum we didnt field our best team & used the NAB to get game time into our young players. Carlton will still be a bottom 4 side with ease & the bombers can make the 8.

Lloyd will get better & he will make all the difference.

Hard to say what the season holds, its the first serious hit out of the year, but I'd say both sides showed some good signs, in particular, Carltons young midfield, they were very impressive in the clearances.
This is an area we need to work on.
Do other think that Hille seems to have got bigger? Could this be a bit detrimental to his game?

Laycock and Bradley are no where near where they should be in my opinion. Laycock has more of an excuse then Bradley because of injury..

Bradley is like a midfielder in a kpp's body and it doesn't work.

I think Bradley is a forward but there isnt much chance of him getting there at the moment. I really didnt think he was that bad last night. Yes he made some mistakes but for whatever reason he seems to be taking the most stick despite others making more mistakes and turning it over more.

Jesus,some of you people are negative:rolleyes:

Its a pre-season game...doesn't mean sh-t. We have got 4 weeks to go to the only game that matters (rd1) and plenty of time to keep working to find the best positions for certain players.

If you want to read a postive post about the game..read on.

The Good Signs.

First bounce-Monfries gives it back to Stevens who was trying to push a younger guy around a gets a free...gives it to Stanton who drills a beautiful 35mtr pass to Scotty..good stuff.

Houli's pass to Lloyd....lovely technique...moves well.

Flectcher straight into it...jumping,punching,handpassing out of trouble and gathering the ball off the ground like he was still 21. (except those hands in the back..MM too...they will learn)

MM looking fantastic...confident....looks like him and Fletch were made to work together.

Welsh pipointing his kicks...few wayward ones but good over-all.
And to all those peanuts who said all summer he couldn't kick over 35 mtrs...what about that set shot? Foot on 50 mtr line and it sailed over the goal line..55 at least.
Should be shot for missing that 20 mtr dead in-fronter though.

Laycock took some nice grabs....Sheedy took my advice and told him to drop outside the forward 50 arc area and take some marks and bang it up further.

As soon as Lovett came on he got involved...love the lokk of him..hows that run with 4 bounces?

Jarrod waite was excellent at CHB...thats what we need!

At Qtr Time we had 13 clangers to Carltons 6..we got caught alot and miss kicked our passes.

Mcviegh went back to his imbelcile ways with back chatting umpires in a violent manner. Perhaps he will never learn? Calls himself a surfer,but arn't they supposed to be at peace with the world? Laid some good tackles but,and looks sharp.

Cole had some nice disposals but equally some bad ones..very bad ones.

Davey taking a mark and playing on immediatly and having a shot.Pace..real pace that kid.

Kepler had some great touches,took some good marks and did well I think. Fumbled it sometimes but he looks to have improved from lst season.

We could have easily won it. Lovett missing his set shot after the 3 qtr siren?
Hirdy looked good and moved ok..he survived another practice match and looks set to play rd 1..which is good.

I thought it was a scappy game from both sides and missed shots,missed tackles,getting caught with the ball,wayward field kicking and overuse of handball cost us the "game".

I was happy.

Just made me realise how important JJ is in the guts and Mr Sunbury in the back pocket OR the forward pocket.

CHB is our main concern.

Good game Bombers:thumbsu:

Week 1 NAB Cup guys. You'll have some good wins. And some of the kids are good.

What were your thoughts on Kepler Bradley. He is becoming disappointing for mine. Seems to be a very weak player. Thought he would have showed more by now.

It really was embarrasing and Kepler should've been traded last season when other clubs thought he had potential!!

We may have worked on our fitness and strength over the pre-season but judging by what I saw, that must've been the first time they've picked up the footy in 4 months.

I just look for the positives in our play and wince at the mistakes and dropped marks:p

Every team has its moments....stuffed it up moments....turning the ball over and chasing the backs of jumpers instead of attacking forward with the ball in our hands. Good teams should be tackling hard and snaring their man on almost every occasion..we didn't mostly.

Best thing about this game...the return of Lloyd.. he doesn't even look like he missed a game:)

Jesus,some of you people are negative:rolleyes:

Its a pre-season game...doesn't mean sh-t. We have got 4 weeks to go to the only game that matters (rd1) and plenty of time to keep working to find the best positions for certain players.

If you want to read a postive post about the game..read on.

The Good Signs.

First bounce-Monfries gives it back to Stevens who was trying to push a younger guy around a gets a free...gives it to Stanton who drills a beautiful 35mtr pass to Scotty..good stuff.

Houli's pass to Lloyd....lovely technique...moves well.

Flectcher straight into it...jumping,punching,handpassing out of trouble and gathering the ball off the ground like he was still 21. (except those hands in the back..MM too...they will learn)

MM looking fantastic...confident....looks like him and Fletch were made to work together.

Welsh pipointing his kicks...few wayward ones but good over-all.
And to all those peanuts who said all summer he couldn't kick over 35 mtrs...what about that set shot? Foot on 50 mtr line and it sailed over the goal line..55 at least.
Should be shot for missing that 20 mtr dead in-fronter though.

Laycock took some nice grabs....Sheedy took my advice and told him to drop outside the forward 50 arc area and take some marks and bang it up further.

As soon as Lovett came on he got involved...love the lokk of him..hows that run with 4 bounces?

Jarrod waite was excellent at CHB...thats what we need!

At Qtr Time we had 13 clangers to Carltons 6..we got caught alot and miss kicked our passes.

Mcviegh went back to his imbelcile ways with back chatting umpires in a violent manner. Perhaps he will never learn? Calls himself a surfer,but arn't they supposed to be at peace with the world? Laid some good tackles but,and looks sharp.

Cole had some nice disposals but equally some bad ones..very bad ones.

Davey taking a mark and playing on immediatly and having a shot.Pace..real pace that kid.

We could have easily won it. Lovett missing his set shot after the 3 qtr siren?
Hirdy looked good and moved ok..he survived another practice match and looks set to play rd 1..which is good.

I thought it was a scappy game from both sides and missed shots,missed tackles,getting caught with the ball,wayward field kicking and overuse of handball cost us the "game".

I was happy.

Just made me realise how important JJ is in the guts and Mr Sunbury in the back pocket OR the forward pocket.

CHB is our main concern.

Good game Bombers:thumbsu:

Mate, we dished up rubbish.

We need to start winning every game to get that winning culture back. We would have been in much better posrition for Round 1 if we had a strong hit out in the NAB Cup ( more than one game ). Micky mouse practice games over the next 4 weeks are not going to improve the one are were we are getting killed - skills under pressure.

CHB is not our concern. It's skill and application which is killing us. Turnover after turnover. Outnumbered at every contest.

Carlton should have been up by 50 points in the third quarter. We were lucky to get that close in the end.

The only positives I could take is Houli and Davey. Both looked like they can offer something over the next few years.

You can put as much spin on it as you like but all the matters is what we do out on the field and that was pretty woeful.

You have got to be Joking! Inlike your pathetic club Carlscum we didnt field our best team & used the NAB to get game time into our young players. Carlton will still be a bottom 4 side with ease & the bombers can make the 8.

No offence to Bomber fans, but I don't think Lloyd will make the difference between 15th and a top 8 spot. He's good, but is he that good?

Both our sides were horrible and you can't erase that too easily. Especially if the weakness is in the midfield - and where confidence is lacking.

As for fielding younger players... well, so did we! It's a stgrange sight seeing both Carlton and Collingwood supporters actually kinda giving props to Essendon. ;)

I guess we will see. Can't stay at the bottom forever, and hell... even if we're down there for long, the draft will eventually bear fruit and perhaps a period of dominance if we play our cards right. Would you rather that or short term success?

kelvin_sheedy;6811551[B said:
]Mate, we dished up rubbish.[/B]

I feel sorry for Essendon fans who decide to take this type of view of the team's performance in a first round pre-season cup game. But go ahead,be my guest. If all you got out of this game was....
"Houli and Davey have something to offer"..then you must be pretty hard to please. This team is full of talented players,they just need to work out where the best positions are for all these young ones.

P.S...i would have loved to have seen Gumbleton out there in the 50 zone in place of C.Johns:eek:

kelvin_sheedy;6811551[B said:
]Mate, we dished up rubbish.[/B]

I feel sorry for Essendon fans who decide to take this type of view of the team's performance in a first round pre-season cup game. But go ahead,be my guest. If all you got out of this game was....
"Houli and Davey have something to offer"..then you must be pretty hard to please. This team is full of talented players,they just need to work out where the best positions are for all these young ones.

P.S...i would have loved to have seen Gumbleton out there in the 50 zone in place of C.Johns:eek:

Given the reports of him in the Bendigo practice match he wouldnt have done much better. Nobby you are going to have to face the fact that Gumbleton wont be playing much this year. He has had an interupted pre season and he simply needs time to develop. He will be a great player but i think it will take most of this year and possibly a fair bit of next year for him to build himself up.

As for the game we did dish up rubish but you are right there where some more posatives than just two players. Didnt see anything to change my views of what our finishing position will be. Cant make the 8 if we turn it over as much as we did.

Why didn't that young Gumbleton play for Essendon? Surely you would give him a go ahead of some hack like Courtney Johns?

Was very impressed with Monfries, looked like he has put on a bit more muscle and went in a bit harder at the footy.

With all due respect, Mark McVeigh is a joke. Robert Walls summed it right up when he said he needs to get over himself.

It's very much early days for both sides and i think if Lloyd for Ess or Fevola for Carl fire then each team can beat anyone on their day.

Why didn't that young Gumbleton play for Essendon? Surely you would give him a go ahead of some hack like Courtney Johns?

You haven't watched Johns play much. If you knew much about the team you'd know Gumbleton has had a knee injury.

With all due respect, Mark McVeigh is a joke.

So was your post.

A few things -
Negatives -
GOD saying we want to win means that this loss is disappointing. They teed up to have a crack and lost to 16th. That is a bad sign.
Turn overs. We knew last season certain players turn the ball over too much. So what the fck were they doing over the pre-season. I know it is pre-season - but the fact is, last year we did the same all year. What makes anyone think it will magically change this year. Watson - as good as he is can't kick - Slattery and Bradely can't kick, Pevers, we all know about. There are more but I think we all know that.
Lloyd leading form the front giving away stoopid free kicks.
Kickiong for goal - went from a dead accurate team to an inaccurate team- funnily enough though, it is not by much. A small improvement we make a big difference as we more often than not, only missed by small amounts.
Hilles ruck work - that palm to Stanton when he was gifted the tap showed how little ruck skill he has.

Positives -
Gus, Davey, Houli, Lovett, Stants and Watson.
All kids - all play midfield - all did well at various stages. I am so gald Gus is finally being played on the ball. We drafted a midfielder, and finally he is being played there. Too many other mids we draft we trun into fwd/bwd pockets.
MM - how bloody clam is he compared to the other guys - he will bring such a calmness to the back half - it will mkae a huge difference.
Lucas - still our best fwd. When he came on he changed the game.
It is only NAB and we were missing important players - and we have to wait.

But in the end its simple - continue on like last year and be turnover merchants, then who is likely to go top 3 in the draft this year. Improve on that, and the change will be very noticeable. Skill is our major concern - not team balance.

Oh - one more positive -

hopefully McVeigh is getting his 50s out of the way now. He has a quota to fill, so lets hope he does it now in the praccy games.

Angry angry man - should be further up the ground though. Wasted down back. We need his agression and strength in the middle and up forward.

Oh - one more positive -

In case this positive hasn't been mentioned before, I quite enjoyed Koutoufidis running in to a brick wall- and the wall had number 18 on its back.

To win a few more games this year the Dons to finish off better - and the forwards need to lead at the right time, and to the right positions. Skills coach and forward coach need to lift. Hird should spend more time on the forward line directing traffic.

Maybe because he is still very skinny and has had an interupted pre season because of knee soreness. No point injuring the kid if he isnt ready to play.

I have come to the conclusion that we do not have the right side or players to play the game competitively at the moment. We clearly set out to win that game and we couldnt do it.
At different stages we had Lloyd, Lucas, Johns and Hird in the fwd line and we were too slow and those players do not excel at chasing.
WC last year relied on Lynch and mixed bag of mobile fwds while Sydney had Hall and a mobile fwd line. I reckon we are picking a side that was geared to footy 5-10 years ago.
I was disappointed in Hille and Laycock. We got very little from the centre and I am thinking with our excess of KP players perhaps we should have drafted Leuenberger or Selwood who like Gumby have a chance of being A+ players in their positions but are playing in positions where we have a greater defecit of A+ talent.
We are still a slow side. I looked at the whole field at one time and listed these players who are not quick on it: Lloyd, Lucas, Hird, Johns, Bradley, Hille, Ryder, Peverill, Welsh, Michael, Fletcher,Watson, Slattery.
Some of our talented young players do not run hard both ways- Stanton, Winderlich, Lovett, Houli. They need to watch Ben Cousins on the field!
Damien peverill should not be playing in 2007 imo.
Most of all I thought our coaching staff were reactive and did not react to our slow fwd line which was compounded by Carlton sitting their mids at hb and running at every chance. Our centre clearances were awful in the first half and McVeigh was taken off but put back on way too soon.
I am sure posters will say that I am judging the team too harshly but I think I am judging the composition of our side and its ability to play 2007 style footy more so than criticising individual players. I just reckon we are fair way off the pace and need to make some pretty firm decisions about how we move forward.
Comments?

I agree with a lot of what you say there foj1

We can not expect to play Lloyd and Johns in the forward line imo and have much sucess with it.
I will go further, as i have in the past, and say that Johns is a very average 1 dimensional player.

To all those that say we are being too negative, i think you are missing the point.

We have sprouted off all pre season that we are "supposedly" the best ever team to finish 15th.
We will improve dramatically and have had players publicly stating we WILL make the finals.

YET, we dished up exactly the same things as last year, against the wooden spooners of last year.
Same players turning the ball over, getting smashed at stoppages again, missing very easy goals and spoiling great build up from the backline with inept choices/disposal.

We can improve and i'm sure we will, but i also think we have some frauds in our team, and until we make some hard decisions on them, we won't move forward quick enough.

I actually really believe that the fresh start will be next year.
Starting from head coach down.
Sheeds has been magnificent but I am not sure he is the answer forward.
Can I preface that by saying that Wallis and Ayres both strike me as coaching traditionalists as well.
I would love to see some fresh ideas from the top down.
Can anyone say Chris Bond?
Maybe Sheeds is playing his cards close to his chest and is ready to prove us wrong once more.
Sadly, I dont think he is:(

Are we seriously that bad!!