Are you less excited about this year's GF?

Rate your grand final excitement level

• Same as usual

Votes: 41 15.0%
  • Less than usual

Votes: 186 68.1%
  • More than usual

Votes: 46 16.8%

Winning this year's grand final is like winning the big bash grand final. You've done well and all but it's nothing like winning an Ashes series.

Not a bad description of the season.

Big Bash v Ashes.

This season there is no interstate rivalry which is a loss.

The two teams in it I don't really like and the supporters of both.............well that's another story but again, not much time for either.

I am really struggling to decide who I'd rather win. The only positive is the loser will be be a team / fans I don't like or respect much.

The whole season was pointing towards a bit of a meh GF. Hopefully it's a close game so we at least get a contest.

Let me guess, your interest in the season dropped off when North won only one game in the last 15 rounds.

Yeah there is no reason that quarters couldn't have gone back to the normal length for finals, saying you can't make changes during the season is a copout when there are plenty of other examples of the AFL making rule changes during the season.

I think the real reason the AFL didn't want to go back to normal length quarters for finals is that they want to keep the shorter quarters permanently, if they went back to normal length quarters for finals and everyone said how much better the games were it would make it harder for them to keep the shorter quarters.

It hard to keep shorter quarters when Gill comes out and says 16 minutes is too short.

Ultimately, we could NOT be having a grand final at all. So I think it's terrific that we've not only been able to have a SEASON, we are also being able to host a Grand Final in front of people. Ok so it's not the 100,000 we are used to. And yes, the lead up is going to be a bit s**t for the players (no parade or presenting of teams to their adoring public). As much as holding the footy in QLD has been a bit of a political nightmare, it has also been a bit of a boon to the State in terms of the income generated from the hubs etc. I know I've loved the chance to see my team play up here so many times this year (yes, even though we finished stone motherless last!). But in the end, it IS a Grand Final. I would have preferred Brissie to be in it (because the atmosphere would have been awesome), but I still think it'll be worth watching.

I think its the teams who are playing in it, a Richmond vs Geelong final was the most boring option.

Also this game lacks the hype and fun, last year we had the Big Big sound memes, 2018 had Pies vs West Coast, 2017 had tigers first gf since 1982, 2016 had dogs first gf since 1960 odd, ect ect

Lol, most boring option?

4 x Brownlow Medalists
14 x All Australians
3 x Coleman Medalists
5 x Jack Dyer Medalists
5 x Carji Greeves Medalists

Pretty sure that's one of the most star-studded line ups you'll ever see on a field at the same time. Quality everywhere, gonna be a ripper

Its clearly not ideal but I'm pumped up because the Cats are in it and because the footy has been one of the things that has gotten me through this trainwreck of a year.

I'm hoping enough people aren't interested so that the ratings are so abysmal that the AFL will shelve the idea of another night GF forever.

Massively. I think the main reason being the teams in it. Both have had good runs recently so there isn't a "peoples" team to get behind. I'll still go for Geelong considering Richmond's transition to the arrogant team this year I'd rather not see rewarded.

Horrid match up. Tigers playing for their third and to claim a dynasty, and the cats have been up there for the last several years and only finished a dynasty of their own not even a decade ago. There is no underdog team a neutral can jump onto. The only worse match up would have been Hawks and Richmond. Also factor in the night game, the location, the fireworks and the thirty minute half time break. I'm just not feeling it this year. Either Port or Brisbane winning last week would have made it watchable for the neutral.

The match up is the only good thing about it since it could go either way. Last year, it was obvious GWS were going to lose. I really don't mind Geelong winning it.

Your team didn't make the GF and now you are having a sook.

It has nothing to do with the GF itself.

Nah not really. I usually get super excited about the
Your team didn't make the GF and now you are having a sook.

It has nothing to do with the GF itself.

Not really, I get pretty excited for the GF most years.

I actually think this is an exciting grand final. Geelong vs Richmond sees the two best teams go at it. Dusty vs Danger, Selwood vs Cotchin, Hawkins vs Lynch.

Last year's one was a dud as everyone knew Richmond would smash GWS.

I will say the matchup couldn't be better, objectively. Just a shame I hate these two teams.

A little less interested because I couldn't care less who wins, and because of the timeslot. Being at the Gabba makes no difference in and of itself.
I voted as "same as usual". Its probably slightly lower care factor, and if there had been a "slightly less" option the poll I would have gone there.
At least its happening, which was not such a sure thing in March.

But if its not your team, its almost never a spectacle. If I watch with mates, I would only end up seeing about half of it, most of the rest of the time is spent socialising, most people dont sit there glued to the TV.

Not for me. I can get into it almost as much, e.g. the Bulldogs in 2016. Living in Footscray it sure has hell is. Buildings everywhere painted blue and white.

85 percent of people stay home on a saturday night. those who go out to pubs and parties are a very small proportion of the population. Mostly 18-35 year olds.

however 50 percent of people are out on a saturday afternoon going shopping, chores, playing sport, catching up with friends.

Meh, if you can't suspend your usual activities for one day or night you're not a true footy fan. I hope it stays a day GF, but keep it for the fans. Also kick out most of these corporates and have it mostly for the fans.

Definitely less of a build up and it will be less of a spectacle but overall just grateful they got a season done this year.