Arguments for Christmas

Sep 15, 2011
A handy list of arguments to have this Christmas, starting with the classic:

Is Die Hard a Christmas movie? But also;
Is Love Actually actually good or actually bad?
Real tree vs fake tree.
Is fruit cake delicious or disgusting?
When should the decorations go up?
Merry Christmas or happy holidays?
Elf on the Shelf: delightful or creepy?

Go to it.

A handy list of arguments to have this Christmas, starting with the classic:

Is Die Hard a Christmas movie? But also;
Real tree vs fake tree.

Go to it.

Never seen DH
Good
Either. Real is a pain tho
Disgusting
Dec 1
Merry Christmas
Creep af

Yes
Neither
Either
December 1
If anyone said happy holidays around me they would die
Do you really have to ask this?

Is Die Hard a Christmas movie?
No - National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation, Home Alone, The Santa Claus, they are true Christmas movies. Die Hard is not

Actually Bad - confusing plot, slow, boring

Real tree vs fake tree.
Fake - the smell of a real tree is nice, but buying a new one every year is expensive, they make a huge mess and bugs go everywhere

In between - depends on whether it is full of fruit or skimpy on fruit, whether it's been burned or cooked just right, size of the portion

Either last week of November or the first week of December - sometime around December 1st

Merry Christmas

Creepy - so glad they became a thing after I got older. I would have had nightmares having that thing stare at me

More a pudding kinda guy myself.

Also, there ought to be a bit of tinsel around the tree & a bauble or 2, for some layered texture & atmosphere.

As for arguments?.....Same old family ghosts & demons as ever.

Finally, Bad Santa is the go to moofy for Chrissy.

Some more:

Star or angel (on top of the tree)
Ham or Turkey
Away in a manger or silent night
Vouchers or cash
Xmas Vacation or Xmas Vacation

Kram

For me:

Star (angel can go * herself)
Turkey (ham can go * itself)
Silent Night
Cash (im a wog i want cesh)
Clark is king.

What is all this bullshit about bugs going everywhere with a real tree. We had a real tree EVERY year when I was a kid and I don't remember seeing any bugs

I too had real christmas trees (for about a 5 year period until mum got sick of it) and no bugs.

I always say Happy Christmas because growing up my mum didn't like merry because of the association with alcohol.

Thats nothing.. at my aunties one year she did stuffed chickens. I almost had a fit right there in front of the whole family.

**** chicken.
Back in the day (way back..) I think a lot of people may have only had roast chicken because it wasn't cheap like it is now.

Mum has gone to my brother's place not once but twice and all they have had is seafood is and ham, neither which she eats at all, had to just eat crap like party pies that kids have lol. They reckon they forgot the second time but I thought it was pretty ordinary.

Back in the day (way back..) I think a lot of people may have only had roast chicken because it wasn't cheap like it is now.

Mum has gone to my brother's place not once but twice and all they have had is seafood is and ham, neither which she eats at all, had to just eat crap like party pies that kids have lol. They reckon they forgot the second time but I thought it was pretty ordinary.

A normal greek xmas we would have turkey, prawns, pastisio, dolmades, stuffed tomatoes, maybe saganaki, xmas pudding/fruit desserts. Maybe lamb on a spit, but not every time.

Some more:

Ham or Turkey
Vouchers or cash

Star - looks heaps better

Ham or Turkey

Don't really eat either (I prefer chicken, lamb and pork), but if I had to pick I'd say Turkey

Silent Night - mostly because of this scene from The Simpsons

Vouchers or cash

Vouchers - cash is always nice but I like heading somewhere specific to buy something

My goal in life is to become the Australian Clark Griswold