Big deal means nothing

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Just sometime the recruiters stuff up. Jordon Russell Hasn't shown much, Luke Blackwell hasn't shown much apart from one game, Josh Kennedy traded back to WC Carlton would have never traded him if they thought highly of him. Adam Hartlett has been injured but still when he does play hasn't shown much. Paul Bower they're are ? marks about him. Jake Edwards hasn't played a game yet. Recruited Cain Ackland and Dylan McClaren to the club do you want me to go on.
They are all safe picks. Armfield isn't, and I think that's why he has a chance to stand out. He's not the same type of person we've been going for in other drafts, therefore hopefully he should bring a little bit of difference. Besides, he's not that old. A couple of years over 18 won't cause any harm.Dan Mckenna, Gourdis or Gaertner
These 2 weren't drafted at all. Ratten seemed pretty excited about Armfield but what would he know. Lou73 to head up recruiting at Carlton next year.Dan Mckenna, Gourdis or Gaertner
Blackwell was father/son selection wasnt he? Often clubs will give sons of greats a better chance (ie Geelong and N. Ablett), so I don't reckon we can judge them on picking him. He showed enough to warrant a f/s selection
"Josh Kennedy traded back to WC Carlton would have never traded him if they thought highly of him" - that's really stupid mate. We traded him for CHRIS JUDD - the best player in the comp. It doesn't matter how highly we rated him, of course you'd trade him for the best player, who still has 10 odd years left in him, and will provide great leadership and marketing advantages. As well as that, obviously West Coast Eages rated JK VERY highly or otherwise he wouldn't have been the key to the deal going through.
And fwiw, just because you don't rate some blokes, doesn't mean nobody else does. I really rate Paul Bower, i think he'll be an absolute star. And regarding Ackland and McLaren, what do you expect us to get from the PSD? - most PSD picks are crap considering they're usually just another clubs leftovers and rejects
You also have to remember how young and crap our side has been mate, and how big an impact that has on kids development. Look at sides like Geelong with kids like Joel Selwood. Because they're side is so good, Selwood gets a free ride, and can get game experience without any pressure whatsover. on the other hand, in our shit side, blokes like Murph were getting the opposition tag when he'd only played 15 odd games. I have no doubt some of our kids in more successful teams would be goign a lot better as they're development would have been completely different. A lot of kids who we pick up are forced to play roles in our senior side before they are ready
An absolute spud of a pick.
I honestly cannot fathom this selection. How this pick wasn't used to try and develop a key forward is absolutely beyond me. This bloke will not get senior games. His pace is obviously a big plus, but his hardness is being grossly exaggerated. Who will he usurp in our midfield?
In my opinion this is the most ridiculous selection in the entire draft, and just because Carlton picked him up doesn't mean that we all have to automatically assume that he's a 'diamond in the rough'.
Good luck to the bloke, I hope he proves me wrong, but I just cannot see this turning out positively.
(Also, it is somewhat concerning drafting somebody whose nickname is 'Pinhead').
Feel free to call me cynical, but I feel this pick has been truly and utterly wasted.
I won't call you cynical, but I will call you a peanut.An absolute spud of a pick.
I honestly cannot fathom this selection. How this pick wasn't used to try and develop a key forward is absolutely beyond me. This bloke will not get senior games. His pace is obviously a big plus, but his hardness is being grossly exaggerated. Who will he usurp in our midfield?
In my opinion this is the most ridiculous selection in the entire draft, and just because Carlton picked him up doesn't mean that we all have to automatically assume that he's a 'diamond in the rough'.
Good luck to the bloke, I hope he proves me wrong, but I just cannot see this turning out positively.
(Also, it is somewhat concerning drafting somebody whose nickname is 'Pinhead').
Feel free to call me cynical, but I feel this pick has been truly and utterly wasted.
An absolute spud of a pick.
I cant believe people bagging this guy when they are yet to see him play.
Its not as if he is some vanilla kid with no pace.
Our staff regards him highly, Parkin reckons he is ready go to into senior football this year.
What is the point of picking a KPP that they dont rate, to spend 3-4 years on the list and most likely be delisted, when they have a mid/back pocket who they rate much higher and is ready to play now.
We really do need a small back with great pace.
Also Scotty was moved into the midfield by Ratts for the last few games.
He is a bit loose to play down back, and they may want to move Hoops up the ground also.
Army, Ando and and Browne are all likely to spend time down back and give Ratts more options.
Thanks for all the moral support. It is appreciated muchly.![]()
when you think Browne think midfielder who can play defence.
The WA side was pretty chocka block full of talent in the middle so they thought Browne should take a defensive midfielder role...He did a bloody good job!!!...
Hes a bit of a X between C Johnston and Jed Adcock... either can play in the midfield effectively.
It probably helped us for WA to play him in defence as there was less buzz on him.
He is the player we were looking for...
Armfield will be the back pocket .... has the smarts..the hardness... the skills.. the speed.. the discupline and the tackling nouse to do a job on all those little ****s that tear us a new one when we play them.
You haven't actually told us why he is "the most ridiculous selection in the entire draft" or why we have "truly and utterly wasted" our pick... have you doubts over his kicking? Smarts? Endurance? Or do you have absolutely no idea how good (or bad) he is?An absolute spud of a pick.
Might be too big a call and I admit I am lousy at player comparisons, but I can see Browne having some potential to develop into a poor man's Tyson Edwards....perhaps not the tank and the same ball winning ability yet, but he is a terrier and scoots around the park with a similar short steps, and is clean and has good vision, good decision making and is good in traffic.
Yeah see i like how he can come off his man and chop off a thrust forward with a mark or a spoil....
I see him a different player to T-E... i reckon in an AFL system he is going to really flourish... mind you ive only seen him play on highlights....![]()
Yu always argue with me ...![]()
I wasn't really referring to his overall game, but if/when he moves into the midfield, I think they have some similar football characteristics.