Army Reserve

• Thread starter Thread starter Mead

I have relos who have done national service for Singapore, Italy and Switzerland (over the last 8 years) - all loved it. Though not sure what they did. All they talk about is all the women they met throughout Europe and Asia. Helped plenty with their studies also. Allowed them to delay their career choices for 2 years which I think is invaluable.

Australia doesn't have the $$ to fund it now.

Originally posted by CharlieG
Rohan, answer this one question.

Would you be happy, at this current point in time, to be conscripted into the army for 2 years?

I'm 24, spent 4 years at University and recently secured a graduate position. At 18 if I was conscripted I would have no problem with it whatsoever.

At 24 no.

Originally posted by Rohan_
And hence why there are so many dole bludgers in Australia. Hey I sound like Pauline. :p

being forced to go into the armed forces is not the way to solve this Rohan, it is going back to the bad old days of conscription - I think you will find that it would be a losing battle to get this approved in the parliament.

Some people seem to have a very outdated view of the armed forces. Yes, basic training is harsh - just like pre season footy training. The aim is to push you beyond where you think you can get.

There is a need for "blind obedience" at times. When under fire there is no time to have a committee meeting to discuss what is to be done, and yes some bastardisation takes place. Like here on Big Footy, what soem people see as a bit of fun and p-taking, others see as abuse.

Generally the modern armed forces are highly trained, technically savvy people with a high degree of collaboration and discussion, esp between NCO's and officers.

As for peacetime conscription, the people most against it are the army themselves. The last thing they want are a pack of soft whiners who don't want to be there, and will leave as soon as they have attained a basic level of competency.

The reserves are OK, but they are still "chockos" as far as the regulars are concerned.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
This is just not true.

You will usually find that people who respond to being treated like this are puppets who are easily exploited.

Most people (young people) who enter the workforce are generally treated like puppets. Some of the things that happend to my mates as apprentices make the going ons in the army seem tame.

Originally posted by catgirl2002
, it is going back to the bad old days of conscription

Being conscipted to the army in the 60's with Vietnam and spending a year in the reserve during peacetime is hardly comparable.

It won't happen anyway as the country can't afford it.......unless everybody prepared to pay another 5% on top of their current tax rate.

Even the regular army has been cut back severely over the last 10 years.

If conscription did come in (not that it will unless there is an old style war) only those over 30 would have a chance at avoiding it.............

Does it occur to you that people have lives at 18 as well? Just because they don't have uni degrees doesn't mean they don't have opportunities and priorities.

Looking back, you realise you have alot more going for you now at 24 than you did at 18. But if I asked you that question in 1996, I think you would still have said no. Your view of life was different then, but no doubt you were as self-involved then as now (there's nothing wrong with being self-involved by the way in this context).

I'm 16. When I'm 18, uni is what's on my agenda. Even though I'd be excluded from conscription anyway through my diabetes, the fact is noone would have the right to make my life decisions for me. I'll be 18, an adult. I'm not a resource to be plundered by the government and the Army.

If Rohan is the character he portrays on BigFooty (and I've heard he isn't) there's no way he would carry a pack and rifle through the mud for a couple of years. Blah blah to that debate either way.

Back to the subject at hand. The beautiful tank on which Mead could be a crew-member. I couldn't get the original pic to post. Try this one:

leo1a1_002.jpg

Now that's a sweetheart. Highly reminiscent of the PzKw V Panther.

Peace,

Mooster you into tanks? My father drove a Centurion for the First Armoured Regiment.

Very much so. It's a passion. Sports, Guitars, History, Military History, Tanks & Breathing. Those are my interests.

The Centurion was/is a fine number. The Challenger 2 is a babe on wheels. My favorite of the modern MBT's is the Abrams, but I'm being a homer. The Israelis did a fine and interesting job with the Merkava. As much as I hate to admit it, the French LeClerc is a battle winner.

Peace,

My personal fave is the APC.

The Aussie Light Armored Vehicle (ASLAV) is a very nice piece. I think the design was based upon the USMC LAV although it looks more like the Russian BMP.

Does Australia still field the tracked APC? Last I knew, you guys were using a variant of the M113? I don't find it listed in the Australian inventory in the CIA Source book. I was certain you had these. Anyone know?

Peace,

Originally posted by Mooster7
Last I knew, you guys were using a variant of the M113?

We still have ones along the lines of a M113. I think it's powered by a Ford motor and travels with a bit of toe.

The Americans and Australians used the M113 in Vietnam as I recall.

P.S Mooster see the 49er's and Jeff Garcia in action yesterday? Terrell Owens is a juggernaut.

I don't know how the Australian Reserves are, but the US Reserves are junk.

I was out of the US Regular Army for a few months, and I thought I missed it. I didn't want to go back in, so I signed up with a reserve unit. It sucked. They were absolute idiots, and I got out the very second my time was up. I would have deserted before going to war with these complete morons. I've heard the Aussie Reserve is good.

Australians have had famously excellent Infantry since 1788. However, if you want to be a real soldier be a tanker. Imagine yourself in a Leopard:

leopard2ta

That's a German one, but you get the idea. Good luck with whatever you decide.

They're getting busy now:

US mobilises 20,000 reservists
Tuesday 7 January 2003, 16:05PM

The Pentagon said it was mobilising nearly 20,000 reservists and national guards in the first major call-up of citizen soldiers in the United States' mounting confrontation with Iraq.

A massive hospital ship set sail for the region from Baltimore, Maryland, while an amphibious assault force with 2,200 Marines aboard left San Diego, California for the Gulf.

Analysts say the swell of US forces converging on the Gulf could be in place by early February, the optimal month weatherwise for military action if US President George W Bush opts for the use of force to disarm Iraq.

But only one army division - the 3rd Infantry Division from Fort Stewart, Georgia - has acknowledged receiving deployment orders, still well short of the 200,000 to 250,000 troops that officials say are called for by US war plans.

Other units widely believed to be in line to deploy - the 1st Cavalry Division from Fort Hood Texas, the 101st Airborne Division from Fort Campbell, Kentucky; and the 1st Infantry and 1st Armoured Divisions in Germany - say they are still awaiting orders.

Don't let anyone interupt you guys who are batting off over tanks.:D Has anyone got the centrefold to last month's TANK magazine?

Originally posted by knuckles
the 101st Airborne Division

"They traded in their horses for choppers" "I like the smell of napalm in the morning, it smells like victory"

Wonder if 101 Airborne still play classical music when they attack a village?

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Don't let anyone interupt you guys who are batting off over tanks.:D Has anyone got the centrefold to last month's TANK magazine?

I do, but the pages are stuck together.

Rohan, the unit you are talking about from 'Apocalypse Now' is the 1/9 Cav, 1st Cavalry Division (my alma mater). Although they have Blackhawks, and Apaches, they've traded most of their choppers for Abrams & Bradleys.

Peace,

The Aussie Light Armored Vehicle (ASLAV) is a very nice piece. I think the design was based upon the USMC LAV although it looks more like the Russian BMP.

Does Australia still field the tracked APC? Last I knew, you guys were using a variant of the M113? I don't find it listed in the Australian inventory in the CIA Source book. I was certain you had these. Anyone know?

Peace,

Only problem with the Armored Light vehicle is when they moved them up to Darwin with the Army's shift north things were getting a little hot for the boys so they fitted air conditioning which then caused the motors to over heat...........they were fine down on the south coast but took them a couple of years to get used to the heat up here.

Not sure it's an APC but the army still have plenty of tracked vehicles besides the tanks - they bring them out on show for each Anzac Day parade up here - with the addition of rubber tracks to prevents the bitumen from being chewed up........

Originally posted by TigerCraig
As for peacetime conscription, the people most against it are the army themselves. The last thing they want are a pack of soft whiners who don't want to be there, and will leave as soon as they have attained a basic level of competency.
As the sort of soft whiner that wouldn't want to be there, I think this is probably on the money. The negative press from our isolationist media would make the minimal positive effects of such a scheme not worthwhile.

Originally posted by Mead

Anyone here ever had anything to do with the Army Reserve, or know anything at all about it? Any horror stories I should be aware of?

"To do some Army Combat you must blend into your natural surroundings. It's called Camouflage, NOW GET BACK OUT THERE AND HIDE!"

Stay... Just a little bit longer...

Mate, I doubt the Army would be like that!

My sister's an Army Captain, been in the regular Army about 7 years now, beforehand 5 years as a reserve during uni, she loves it. It all started when she went to an Army base for work experience then took up cadets and so on. She's had 2 tours to East Timor, lived in Puckapunyal, Darwin, Townsville and Sydney with her postings.

I contemplated joining the Reserves a couple of times during uni, glad I didn't but it's not really my cup of tea. Most of the guys I've met from the Army who are friends with my sister, are good blokes, a lot of country boys join the Army it seems.

She seems to have a pretty cruisy job, far away from the frontline even in East Timor, she seems to do a lot of logistical work and frankly, by the sounds of it, it's pretty bludgy!

I agree with TigerCraig and Mooster saying there'd be nothing worse than having an Army where a large number are conscripts who don't want to be there, it doesn't make a terribly effective Army!

Re: Re: Army Reserve

Originally posted by GoEagles
"To so some Army Combat you must blend into your natural surroundings. It's called Camouflage, NOW GET BACK OUT THERE AND HIDE!"

Stay... Just a little bit longer...

Mate, I doubt the Army would be like that!

If only it were :)

If Rohan is the character he portrays on BigFooty (and I've heard he isn't) there's no way he would carry a pack and rifle through the mud for a couple of years. Blah blah to that debate either way.

Back to the subject at hand. The beautiful tank on which Mead could be a crew-member. I couldn't get the original pic to post. Try this one:

leo1a1_002.jpg

Now that's a sweetheart. Highly reminiscent of the PzKw V Panther.

Peace,

Thanks for the advice Mooster (you shocking tread-head you) I do have ocassionally have dark thoughts about big heavy things which go clank when they move, but at the moment i'm probably leaning more towards the infantry side of things, because I want something which motivates me to stay fit- besides, I'm guessing that the army wouldn't let reservists anywhere near the Leopards, more's the pity :(

Actually, I'm curious, does anyone know how the australian army is organised as far as tanks, armored vehicles, and whatnot go? Do we have calvary battalions with all the tanks, apcs, blackhawks and so on lumped together like the yanks do, or are they divvied up and assigned to each infantry battalion?

Originally posted by Mead
I'm seriously thinking about joining th reserve , because I could do with a bit more spare cash, and I suppose it looks like a pretty entertaining part time job.

Anyone here ever had anything to do with the Army Reserve, or know anything at all about it? Any horror stories I should be aware of?

I was in the army reserve. Don't do it for the money, it really isn't much. No real horror stories to report, sure they are big on discipline, but that is hardly surprising. What really sucks is the loss of the weekends, always on when there is a big match on. If you don't mind roughing it and spending countless hours polishing boots and cleaning rifles, it is a good experience.