Opinion Arrogant Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

Here I was thinking Collingwood and Hawthorn supporters had some mutual respect for each other... Those that dislike our arrogance only need to look to the Melb merger days where our club was on its knees, the turn around has been beyond anything any of us could have expected.

Our club was a complete minnow off the field, useless in terms of administration. To go from a debt ridden rabble to a corporate beast is something we are proud about, maybe there is some arrogance due to our success but we've come from the lowest of lows.

As far as Collingwood - never had an issue with your club, it's supporters or anyone on BF.. To be honest you guys are generally some of the better posters.

Friday night will be brilliant, expecting a tough game and either way just hope for no injuries and a huge crowd.

I actually don’t mind the Hawks Supporters that Post on Here.

It’s just the few I have had around me at AFL Games and On the Train that Rubbed me the Wrong Way

Here I was thinking Collingwood and Hawthorn supporters had some mutual respect for each other... Those that dislike our arrogance only need to look to the Melb merger days where our club was on its knees, the turn around has been beyond anything any of us could have expected.

Our club was a complete minnow off the field, useless in terms of administration. To go from a debt ridden rabble to a corporate beast is something we are proud about, maybe there is some arrogance due to our success but we've come from the lowest of lows.

As far as Collingwood - never had an issue with your club, it's supporters or anyone on BF.. To be honest you guys are generally some of the better posters.

Friday night will be brilliant, expecting a tough game and either way just hope for no injuries and a huge crowd.
Great post

tige19 Collingwood was bit like you guys in the 80’s and 90’s. Hell in 86(I Think) we just about Dyed and since then we had been Poor bit that was Fixed when Eddie came in and made us the Biggest Club in Australia:D

I actually don’t mind the Hawks Supporters that Post on Here.

It’s just the few I have had around me at AFL Games and On the Train that Rubbed me the Wrong Way
they are the ones that give the good ones a bad name , have had no problems in most cases with opposition supporters from all teams bar for the odd few idiots like the ones you copped on the train etc that rub stuff in i don't think they know the meaning of being gracious winners etc anyways may next week be an awesome game no injuries reports and if we are lucky fair and consistent umpiring

When your successful for so long, arrogance among supporters naturally occurs, and in our case, is quite evident.
I think the idea that our players are arrogant and disrespectful though, is completely blown out of proportion and fuelled by hatred/jealousy of us. The amount we cop recently is probably a small taste of what you guys have known for years.

Other than grand finals, my favorite game from the last decade was the 2011 preliminary final, earnt a lot of respect.
Always enjoy playing you guys, had a good rivalry just a couple years ago. I hope we can pick that up again real soon, as it produces some great games of footy.

Hawthorn have the most @sshole supporters at games.
I apologize to any normal Hawthorn supporters.
I developed a hate for them a couple of years ago.
I had a couple of smart @ss little khunts behind me provoking all Pies supporters even when they were 4 goals down.
Then when they started winning, they started whistling in my ears so loud that I was seeing stars.
I warned them, but they kept on getting worse.
If I belted them, I would have probably lost my AFL Membership and ended up in court.
I just did the sensible thing and moved.
Then after the game as i was leaving, they saw me and started whistling at me and laughing their heads off.
Spewing the game was not at Etihad that day because my mate (Collingwood supporter) was head of security.
They would have been grabbed by the ear and escorted outside.
I don't mind anyone fairly supporting their club, but antagonizing other supporters is out of bounds.

I myself see a fair few similarities between the two teams in recent times.

Both had young premiership teams (2008 and 2010)

And both had 2 pretty poor seasons following such success (2009-2010, 2013-2014)

And I see some similarities now, the 2011 Hawks were a young squad with point to prove, as others have mentioned, that prelim was a fantastic contest between 2 proud clubs and one of my all
time favourites, in hindsight that game was the changing of the guard.

Now the 2015 pies are a proud, young squad trying to prove a point, the Freo game was a step in the right direction, and whilst this game certainly isn't a prelim, it's a game which could and will prove a lot about the two teams. The Hawks trying to squeeze every last ounce of success out of their ageing stars, and a young team, with a young coach trying to prove the ultimate point.

Slightly dramatic write up by myself, but it's games like these that are the makings of certain teams, and a foundation to build the future on, perhaps I'm being a touch too optimistic to think that like 2011, this game could symbolise the changing of the guard.
Regardless of the outcome, I certainly hope I can be as proud of our boys as the Hawks supporters were of their boys when they just fell short in 2011, that was a brave effort.

Slightly dramatic write up by myself, but it's games like these that are the makings of certain teams, and a foundation to build the future on, perhaps I'm being a touch too optimistic to think that like 2011, this game could symbolise the changing of the guard.
Regardless of the outcome, I certainly hope I can be as proud of our boys as the Hawks supporters were of their boys when they just fell short in 2011, that was a brave effort.
Very nicely written, I'd say. The changing of the guard is coming, though Hawthorn have been superb for quite a few years now they are aging and probably can't go on for too much longer. Our young team is developing rapidly and I've rarely been more excited about the future than I am now.

Very good times ahead for Collingwood fans, can't wait for the future. I don't know whether we can win this week, probably not, but it won't change anything in my mind as to where we are heading.

Honestly they have a couple arrogant players but Geelong when winning flags were much worse

I think the Hawks are a fantastic football side and believe they will win achieve the three peat.

What I don't understand or like about Hawthorn is their arrogance. Little cheap shots and sledging are a consistent part of their approach. Mitchell's injection taunts today were a prime example of their attitude. The media are calling it "unsocialable football" but it is more than that. They have been the most arrogant club for a long time and it is embraced and reflected by their supporters.

Collingwood are the opposite. We go in hard but we respect our opposition. We don't resort to cheap insults to gain an advantage. That win in the 2011 PF was one of the most satisfying football experiences of my life because we shoved their sense of entitlement back down their throats. We will probably lose on Friday but the day is coming when we will go past them and I for one intend to enjoy every minute of it!

Yeah, our players aren't like that, but some of our fans certainly are.

I think the Hawks are a fantastic football side and believe they will win achieve the three peat.

What I don't understand or like about Hawthorn is their arrogance. Little cheap shots and sledging are a consistent part of their approach. Mitchell's injection taunts today were a prime example of their attitude. The media are calling it "unsocialable football" but it is more than that. They have been the most arrogant club for a long time and it is embraced and reflected by their supporters.

Collingwood are the opposite. We go in hard but we respect our opposition. We don't resort to cheap insults to gain an advantage. That win in the 2011 PF was one of the most satisfying football experiences of my life because we shoved their sense of entitlement back down their throats. We will probably lose on Friday but the day is coming when we will go past them and I for one intend to enjoy every minute of it!

totally agree there.. their supporters remind me of some sect.. when you want to discuss how good collingwood is going or when you criticize their side its in 1 ear out the other. they refuse to listen. i hate this club more than ess carl rich. i even have a few hawks supporters as mates who think swan butchers the ball and thats all he does.. pompous f

I remember literally thousands of Hawthorn supporters singing the Carlton theme song at Cloke in 2012. I don't know of any other supporters who would do that.

Haven't found this at all. For all their success Hawks fans I know have been pretty low key. If they gloat they d o it quietly. They don't live the same world as Carlton and Essendon who are the flogs

God you whinge, that was a thought based on the idea he's hurt himself seriously again - in relation to the damage his absence does to the team and in-turn salary cap

Except that he is not injured...

Not all Hawthorn supporters are bad. :D

The current Collingwood team remind me of the Hawks of 2007. We finished 5th that year and won the flag the following year. Collingwood are also currently 5th. Pies for the 2016 flag? :p

A lot of talented young kids coming threw for the Pies and trading away some of those experienced players over the past two years in exchange for youth/high draft picks is why Collingwood are building a really strong list heading into the future.

The two teams have had some great battles over the years. Remember that 2007 twilight match at Etihad? That was a classic game of footy. The 2011 Preliminary Final was also brilliant game to watch.

I'm jealous of Hawthorns success over the past 8 years.

The last half century no other club has had our success..
It's funny, when I think of the pies and our club there are many simularities in a sense influence and power. I like Eddie, I love the fact he backs Newbold up and vice versa, it almost feels like our 2 clubs are the only 2 who have the balls to stand up against the amatuer boys club that runs our league.

Collingwood are a club comfortable in their own skin and what they represent, I think that's where we are getting to. You absolutely can't say the same about Richmond, they are forever like that middle brother whos not as well liked as the older one and not quite as good as the younger one, just that awkward kid in the middle who struggles through life.

I wasn't alive in the 70s and 80s but the way the Hawks & their supporters act now is how I imagine Carlton were back then.

Correct :thumbsu:

Respect Hawthorn 100% as a club. Successful, well run and play hard footy. The slight hatred towards them is jealousy. They just keep winning, it goes with the territory. I hated Geelong from 08-12, Brisbane from 03-07. You tend to dislike the successful team 95% of the time.

What I don't like are Hawthorn supporters. Not all of them, but I know a fair few and only 2 or 3 are good sports winging or losing. The others are arrogant flogs that seem to have wiped 1996 from their memory. Though you get that with all supporter bases.

My view is that I have enormous respect for Hawthorn, the club, and for what they have achieved over the last 8 or so years.

Re the 'unsociable football' style, I dont like the careless/deliberate use of elbows and knees, and the sniping 'taps' to ribs. Its just not needed. Play hard and fair is the way it should be done. I also cant forgive Brian Lake for trying to choke Drew Petrie last year. That was the act of a deranged man, and unlike some famous king hits over the years (e.g. Barry Hall on Brent Staker) which can be put down to a brain snap, Lake maintained his grip on Petrie's throat for seconds, seriously endangering Petire. It was one of the worst acts of violence I have seen on a footy field.

Re their fans, I understand the arrogance, its goes with the territory. The real test will come when the Hawks commence their inevitable slide.

But one last point re the fans. As an MCC member, our games versus the Hawks are the least enjoyable for me. The members area fills up with thousands of entitled ex-Boroondara private school boys. Just saying...