Opinion Arrogant Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

I don't mind Hawthorn. I don't like losing to them either, but that will turn in time. They are probably entitled to a little arrogance. They are good and they know it. Mitchell is a cheeky little bastard, and so is Lewis. I can live with that though. For some reason the thing that irks me the most about the Hawks is Suckling. Can't cop him at all. Takes the "I'm an elite kick' thing too far. Tries to make things look harder than they should. Even yesterday, a simple straight kick at goal, he had to run around and kick around his body and he stuffed it up. Just kick the bloody thing like a normal person FFS!

I think they will win it again which will put them up there with the greatest teams of the modern era. Nobody does that without being disliked by some. I'll save my hatred for the likes of Carlton and Essendon though.

Of the Hawthorn supporters that I know, there is really only one or two that shit me. They are mates but I will actually avoid them on issues of football. Actually they are probably the only two opposition supporters that I can't deal with re footy. Perhaps we do need to start putting them back in their box:p

I respect Hawthorn as a club for what they have done through the 80's and onwards but in regards to their fans im not so.
Sure there will always be bad supporters of clubs, we have them. The thing with me is i rate supporters on what they do when their team isn't winning and this is where i lose some respect for them. Back in the early to mid 2000's before the Buddy/Roughie draft they had one of the smaller memberships in the AFL and game day attendances where before that in the 80's and early 90's and now it was the total opposite.
To me Hawk fans are the ultimate bandwagoners in the AFL. I apologise to the ones who aren't but most are.

Every club has idiot supporters. Those supporters tend to be loudest and most obnoxious when their team is winning....and Hawthorn do a lot of winning
I like Hawthorn (well as much as I can like another team) I like the way they play. I like the culture that has been built upon since Kennedy's commandos. Most of my favourite opposition players have come from Hawthorn. Brereton, Matthews, Knights, Crimmins, Hodge. Just great uncompromising players. I like the fact that Hawthorn beat Geelong in 2008. (I loathe Geelong so much- I think its bordering on some sort of mental illness)
BUT: Hawthorn have attracted a lot of bandwagoners. They're the people I can't stand. WE've had a few in our time but not in as many numbers.
FWIW I didn't mind MItchell's action yesterday. The guy's as tough as nails. Yes he's cheeky, we've had a couple of rovers like that over the years. I wish he played for us.

I'd like to be arrogant like them, they win flags in bunches, we win won ever 25 years or so on average now.

Do their players and fans sometimes act like tossers? Hell yes, does it take away from winning flags? Hell no.

Sam Mitchell gave us a glimpse into what the AFL footballers actually thing about the Essendon supplements saga.
The players involved have been given an armchair ride by the media. But the facts are that the players signed a piece of paper absolving the club from any duty of care.
Why did they do this? Did they think that they were taking placebos? Not likely,
But they certainty bought into the "whatever it takes" mantra that was around at that time.
And of course Jobe won a Brownlow in the year the "supplements" we're administered. Then he goes on TV and admits to being administers with a substance that was banned.
Not a whisper on at lingering stain from the media.

Jab Watson won his Brownlow ahead of Mitchell didn't he? Can't imagine Sam likes that the players have got off scot free so far. Good on him. I'd be dirty having to play against ****ing cheats too.

For some reason the thing that irks me the most about the Hawks is Suckling. Can't cop him at all. Takes the "I'm an elite kick' thing too far. Tries to make things look harder than they should. Even yesterday, a simple straight kick at goal, he had to run around and kick around his body and he stuffed it up. Just kick the bloody thing like a normal person FFS!
Suckling frustrates Hawthorn fans too, would like to se him kick a normal drop punt.

Brisbane were arrogant around 2003/4
Hawks are arrogant now

I wonder if they have anything in common?

Brisbane would win that one.....best (most uncompromising) side of the past 50 years.....the 80's Hawks would have had more chance.

I wish we were more like Hawthorn. I quite admire them and they win a lot and they do it playing great footy. I like the unsociable stuff. Those players are winners.

I have no issues with Mitchell's actions, after all, the Dons did have a proven injection program in place. Do people forget this???

We do have some bandwagoners.. One of my best mates who loves his footy switched from the Dogs to Hawthorn about 5 years back and we've been to the last 3 gfs... He's mad hawthorn now and I love it lol..

Every club wants to growth their support, the stronger brand awareness the more corporate dollars and sponsorship. We have a foot hold in tassie and the East of Melbourne is majority Hawthorn and with the move to Dingley you'd expect a lot of migrants to jump on board. Over the next 5-10 years we'll probably see a lot of Indian/Sri Lankan supporters at our games, it's great to have these people integrate into our culture via footy.

I think this said more about Sam Mitchell than anything. Always thought he was a smug little prick, has a face you'd love to punch. Just his true colours coming out yesterday I reckon.
The rest of the team just have Clarkson written all over them, angry little ****er he is.

Sure some of them are arrogant but they've got nothing on Carlton supporters in the 1980's.

If Collingwood win 1 of every 4 Premierships for the next 4 decades we'll probably have a few arrogant supporters amongst our base too.

A lot of us weren't totally humble winners when we were dominating in 2011. Success can lead to arrogance. I'd be happy if we were hated for our success again.

I think this said more about Sam Mitchell than anything. Always thought he was a smug little prick, has a face you'd love to punch. Just his true colours coming out yesterday I reckon.
The rest of the team just have Clarkson written all over them, angry little goose he is.
I've never loved him more. Wish more players did the same

Other teams have been successful but don't carry on like them. It is a part of their culture and it stems from the coach.

Name one in the last 20 years. Go on, I dare you.

Seriously trying to paint this one incident where Hibberd was a dickhead for elbowing Mitchell in the back when he wasn't expecting it as some sort of show of "strength" as he was running the other way as indicative of the player or the club is a furphy at best.

Someone said it above - success always breeds some degree of arrogance on a sporting field and everyone falls victim to it. The Hawks have it, the Swans have it, the Power had it (but have now lost it), hell even the Eagles and Dockers constantly niggle and get into the opposition.

It really wasn't that long ago that we were the bully boys (could a team have possibly been hated more than we were during the 2010-2012 period?) and before that it was the Cats, the Swans, the Power, the Lions, the Crows, the Kangas, the Eagles - hell you can even heark back to the Hawks and Bombers teams of the 80's if you'd like to go back that far.

They're okay, but they should realise how lucky they've been.

They got a ridiculously good zone back in the day (Matthews, Brereton, Knights, Tuck and a heap of others which played in multiple flags) and they basically won three premierships on the back of two brilliant years of drafting (2001 and 2004).

We do have some bandwagoners.. One of my best mates who loves his footy switched from the Dogs to Hawthorn about 5 years back and we've been to the last 3 gfs... He's mad hawthorn now and I love it lol..

Every club wants to growth their support, the stronger brand awareness the more corporate dollars and sponsorship. We have a foot hold in tassie and the East of Melbourne is majority Hawthorn and with the move to Dingley you'd expect a lot of migrants to jump on board. Over the next 5-10 years we'll probably see a lot of Indian/Sri Lankan supporters at our games, it's great to have these people integrate into our culture via footy.

and Lot Kids want to be Hawks fan because they Win nearlly all the Time

for what it's worth, i agree that our players can be a bit arrogant (our performances against teams perceived to be ordinary, can sometimes be proof of that). i don't see how mitchell's sledge comes under "arrogance" though?

supposed cheap shots/unsociableness/sledges isn't arrogance, it's playing to win. if it helps you win the game, do you really give a shit? i don't. i want the 4 points and the silverware.

funnily enough i always found the 2010-11 coooooooolllllllingwooooooood chant pretty arrogant :p but you guys were nigh on unstoppable then and who could blame your fans revelling in it?

good luck on friday, i desperately hope our boys' arrogance is absent, we'll need to be up and about to win. pies have really impressed this year!

They are arrogant,i don't know how anyone could argue otherwise.But as long as they keep winning premierships they can get away with it.