Opinion Arrogant Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

Other than grand finals, my favorite game from the last decade was the 2011 preliminary final, earnt a lot of respect.
Always enjoy playing you guys, had a good rivalry just a couple years ago. I hope we can pick that up again real soon, as it produces some great games of footy.
that was a ripper game and is a fav of mine re watched it up to our last goal could not watch that last couple of minutes back then but it was sitting on the edge of your seat stuff all game and the noise was awesome

Hawthorn have the most @sshole supporters at games.
I apologize to any normal Hawthorn supporters.
I developed a hate for them a couple of years ago.
I had a couple of smart @ss little khunts behind me provoking all Pies supporters even when they were 4 goals down.
Then when they started winning, they started whistling in my ears so loud that I was seeing stars.
I warned them, but they kept on getting worse.
If I belted them, I would have probably lost my AFL Membership and ended up in court.
I just did the sensible thing and moved.
Then after the game as i was leaving, they saw me and started whistling at me and laughing their heads off.
Spewing the game was not at Etihad that day because my mate (Collingwood supporter) was head of security.
They would have been grabbed by the ear and escorted outside.
I don't mind anyone fairly supporting their club, but antagonizing other supporters is out of bounds.
i would have smsed a pest number thats wrong what they did to you copped a dog supporter like that he nearly got me kicked out cause i had turned around and first time ever at a game i swore at him to support his team and i will mine with the expletives in it sadly 2 cops near by one did the talking and was a stiff old git most i have talked to been good even had one in tassie who thought i was swearing i wasnt but he was good about it laughing too at that but this one did not even want to hear my side or to tell the dog supporter to back off just got told if i do it again i'm out the kids he mentioned that were around me were friends and have heard worse then the one i used and know not to swear anyways

I remember literally thousands of Hawthorn supporters singing the Carlton theme song at Cloke in 2012. I don't know of any other supporters who would do that.
richmond ones i am sure were doing that to buddy but yes remember that the media beat ups etc bugged me no end they should stay out of stuff like that and let the player tell them when ready not be asked every time they get the chance to ask that player are they signing up or going else where etc , cloke proved those hawks wrong so just laugh at them best way to deal with that if you ask me

For mine Hawthorn represent a greater challenge than playing Freo in the west.

They've been our bogey side since the 2011 PF and we're yet to beat them under Buckley.

Hell you could argue they've been our bogey side for a good portion of the last 30 years and you feel that this current crop make an extra effort when coming up against us since that PF.

I actually believe they think we are a bit vulnerable physically to there brand of football and I think it was Hodge a few weeks back who had a sly little dig at Pendles in this regard.

To be honest he probably has a point.

To often I've felt our group of blue chip midfielders have been found out for hardness at the contest compared to there's in Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge and Burgoyne.

That needs to stop this week if we're any chance to beat them and I so want to beat them.

For mine Hawthorn represent a greater challenge than playing Freo in the west.

They've been our bogey side since the 2011 PF and we're yet to beat them under Buckley.

Hell you could argue they've been our bogey side for a good portion of the last 30 years and you feel that this current crop make an extra effort when coming up against us since that PF.

I actually believe they think we are a bit vulnerable physically to there brand of football and I think it was Hodge a few weeks back who had a sly little dig at Pendles in this regard.

To be honest he probably has a point.

To often I've felt our group of blue chip midfielders have been found out for hardness at the contest compared to there's in Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge and Burgoyne.

That needs to stop this week if we're any chance to beat them and I so want to beat them.

Well They Play Dirty and Hard to play Fair against them

We do have some bandwagoners.. One of my best mates who loves his footy switched from the Dogs to Hawthorn about 5 years back and we've been to the last 3 gfs... He's mad hawthorn now and I love it lol..

Every club wants to growth their support, the stronger brand awareness the more corporate dollars and sponsorship. We have a foot hold in tassie and the East of Melbourne is majority Hawthorn and with the move to Dingley you'd expect a lot of migrants to jump on board. Over the next 5-10 years we'll probably see a lot of Indian/Sri Lankan supporters at our games, it's great to have these people integrate into our culture via footy.
Sorry that is just wrong unless you guys are about to reach double figures. Happy birthday if you are.

I've been hawthorn since I was born... I showed my boy the light now he's a member
It's not you that is wrong it's your 5 yo old mate

I've never been fond of Hawthorn, they've had the wood on us for the better part of 30 years.

And they do have a stench of white collar elitism/spoilt brat syndrome that is unpleasant. But they're not as unbearable as Essendon supporters were during their reign of dominance in the late 1990s early 2000s.

Having said that, I do admire Hawthorn. I've always seen them as Collingwood #2 in Victoria with the way they go about their business - very professional, adapted to the modern demands of AFL. Can always count on the Hawks to back up Eddie in his fight against the AFL re taxes/favouritism to the northern clubs.

As for arrogance - we're arrogant too. We think we own the competition, we're the biggest club in the land etc.

I don't seem them as a rival, just another strong club going through a dream run.

So hypothetical, Do we sacrifice a player this week to KO Mitchell out of the game and bring joy to the rest of the AFL? Love to see it, Marley could be the man I reckon?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Hawks play great footy and love their hard edge. Mitchell is a gun, have no problem with his antics yesterday. I am happy to follow their lead ands see our boys intimidate the opposition. I am sick of them beating us though but still not confident for this week

I just hope we can Compete with the Hawks for 4 Qtrs

richmond ones i am sure were doing that to buddy but yes remember that the media beat ups etc bugged me no end they should stay out of stuff like that and let the player tell them when ready not be asked every time they get the chance to ask that player are they signing up or going else where etc , cloke proved those hawks wrong so just laugh at them best way to deal with that if you ask me

My point was that it is another example of Hawthorn arrogance.

So hypothetical, Do we sacrifice a player this week to KO Mitchell out of the game and bring joy to the rest of the AFL? Love to see it, Marley could be the man I reckon?

Yeah. Make sure he does it behind the ball with a clenched fist.

The all expenses holiday paid by the government will be worth it.

Essendon deserved the playful jab Mitchell dispensed.
thank you.

I haven't come here to cause trouble. Someone told me this thread existed and I was curious as to what was being said.

My uncle was an essenden supporter and he took me to my first AFL game. It was a demo match between Hawthorn and Noth melbourne.. just before the swans came to Sydney. i was 11 at t he time

The whole family seemed to have adopted norf.......... without rhyme or reason I just yelled out " Come on the hawks."........ Dad said "how do you know they a re the hawks.". "what else would you call t hem" i asked. I will never forget the sneer in my uncle's voice. "I told you this one was a changeling..Hawks supporters are born that way".. For mine i support them win or lose and remember there have been a lot of losses too.

Hopefully i was polite and not in the least bit arrogant

Here I was thinking Collingwood and Hawthorn supporters had some mutual respect for each other... Those that dislike our arrogance only need to look to the Melb merger days where our club was on its knees, the turn around has been beyond anything any of us could have expected.

Our club was a complete minnow off the field, useless in terms of administration. To go from a debt ridden rabble to a corporate beast is something we are proud about, maybe there is some arrogance due to our success but we've come from the lowest of lows.

As far as Collingwood - never had an issue with your club, it's supporters or anyone on BF.. To be honest you guys are generally some of the better posters.

Friday night will be brilliant, expecting a tough game and either way just hope for no injuries and a huge crowd.

Haha mate people are just sick of being belted by your mob and a bit of penis envy comes into how you guys play the game from bits of brilliance Bruce/Rioli to your "unsociable" footy (which some say thugs but bet my balls if the jumpers were black and white doing it would stand proud by the way they play).

Every club has idiot supporters. Those supporters tend to be loudest and most obnoxious when their team is winning....and Hawthorn do a lot of winning
I like Hawthorn (well as much as I can like another team) I like the way they play. I like the culture that has been built upon since Kennedy's commandos. Most of my favourite opposition players have come from Hawthorn. Brereton, Matthews, Knights, Crimmins, Hodge. Just great uncompromising players. I like the fact that Hawthorn beat Geelong in 2008. (I loathe Geelong so much- I think its bordering on some sort of mental illness)
BUT: Hawthorn have attracted a lot of bandwagoners. They're the people I can't stand. WE've had a few in our time but not in as many numbers.
FWIW I didn't mind MItchell's action yesterday. The guy's as tough as nails. Yes he's cheeky, we've had a couple of rovers like that over the years. I wish he played for us.
Shit i loved reading this post !! Great read fella ....:thumbsu::thumbsu:

You idiot... I
My point was that it is another example of Hawthorn arrogance.

I think that dude is illiterate and very young

Haha mate people are just sick of being belted by your mob and a bit of penis envy comes into how you guys play the game from bits of brilliance Bruce/Rioli to your "unsociable" footy (which some say thugs but bet my balls if the jumpers were black and white doing it would stand proud by the way they play).

Whilst I hope we belt you blokes on Friday, I'm kinda like well the Pies stand with us about everything that is wrong with the AFL ( cola, academies, equalisation tax, compromised drafts ) so there's not a lot of hate there, plus we as a footy club and supporters have the most deepest hatred for that shit stain cheating football club in red and black and the fact you guys hate them to makes it easy for us to be sweet with Collingwood.

Every club has idiots, you want to read our match day thread... Some of the funniest stuff you'll ever see, I probably play a big part to lol

I don't hold any special animosity toward the Hawks, I just hate everyone equally!

In all seriousness, I find there's pretty much a fixed ratio of arseholes in the world, so if you look at say, GWS members, they may have "12,000" members, so if the fixed percentage is 10%, 1200 of them will be tossers. For the likes of Collingwood and Hawthorn with near enough 80,000 members, 8000 will be the aforementioned arses.Of course, volume isn't linear, it's exponential, so those 8000 idiots will sound like 80000, therefore all members will be tarred with the same brush.

There's also the internet factor to consider, where pimply 5 ft 180kg morons turn into 6' 4" 95kg balls of muscle, with 3 PhD's in whatever field your discussing - which explains why all U.S. citizens are know it all pricks:)

edit - Oh yeah, I forgot - Hawthorn suck

I don't hate the hawks like I do carlton and essendon .just sick of being flog by then